AFL Round 13 Brisbane Lions V Melbourne Official Thread

yes i agree harding has had enough easy games to show and was roes game against hawthorn a fluke or am i being to critical about last night.

Roe had an ordinary game- again, lacked body presence. One of the reasons we folded so badly in the last quarter.

I agree with others here that Tyler had an outstanding game in the 2's, and I don't think body size should be a reason to disqualify someone from promotion. Redden, Rockliffe and Banfield had excellent games as well. One things for sure, we have an excellent back-up 6, maybe 8, who promise a great deal. The sound of the ball hitting Cornelius' hands is outstanding- there's a one grab bloke.

Those arguing the case for Harding in pointing out that even Black, Power etc make mistakes have got to be kidding- surely these dyed in the wool champions have a bit more credit in the bank than Harding.

I think this is the line in the sand game for Hawthorn. If they can beat the Doggies then they can afford to drop 1 other game (assuming St Kilda and Geelong beat them). If the Dogs beat them, then I'd agree that they are going to miss September footy.

Have Bulldogs, Collingwood, Geelong, St Kilda, Adelaide, and Essendon to come and need to win 6 from 9 just to make the 8.

Reckon they are goneskies.

Wow. Thought they were in massive trouble before I saw the draw, that just makes it worse.

Have Bulldogs, Collingwood, Geelong, St Kilda, Adelaide, and Essendon to come and need to win 6 from 9 just to make the 8.

Reckon they are goneskies.

Nah they'll be in there, expect Essendon to drop out should only win 3 out of the last 9 where as Hawthorn should win at least 5

I don't think it's fair to draw comparison between Harding's pass to Brown, and any other kick on the night. That was somethings of it's own, complete bread and butter stuff, and he blew it.

The fact that both he, and Brown, each had at least 10m of space, there was zero pressure, and he JUST had to get it in Brown's area. Not necessarily straight to Brown. Just somewhere 5m either side so that it's mark-able. But he didn't.

He frustrated me every time he got the ball, and either sold one of our players into trouble, or shot off a wobbler of a handball/kick that made it difficult (or impossible in Brown's case) to maintain possession.

He must be doing something I'm not noticing for Voss to keep picking him...he must see something in his, and while I'll continue to vent my frustrations at the TV every week he plays, I'll trust (and hope) in the back of my mind that Vossy is playing him for a reason.

Roe seemed to get stuck far too often when he got the ball, and often ended up either trying to barge through the opposing player, or just stopping, and handballing backwards.

No issues whatsoever with Hendo, Sheldon, or Polks.

Hooper seemed quiet, and we really need him to contribute more.

Polks put in his bit as usual, and I'm really excited to see how he'll be going 12 months from now.:thumbsu:

Brennan's 0.4 surprised me, he's been kicking those goals lately, and they're what kept us in it V Carlton. But he still played a very good game.

Rich continues to ooze class.

Patfull, while he didn't appear as good as he was pre-injury, was still sturdy in the backline, giving off some very important handballs to take the heat off.

I was annoyed at how we were playing all night, just had patches where everything clicked, but for the rest were wasting opportunites with turnovers and errors.

Hopefully we play a much better game this week against Port (not only because we'll lose if we play like we did V Melbourne, but I'm going to the game and do not want to see us lose to Port Adelaide;)).

Good on Vossy for putting the foot down and letting the boys know that a 55 point win doesn't mean squat if we're not playing good footy.:thumbsu:

On Harding, I thought it was his best game of the year, and that he did a lot of good work in and under. He seems to be getting (a little) better every week. Obviously disposal is a significant weakness, and I'm not sure about his long term future, but I can't see him being dropped at this stage.

Noticed Vossy giving him a pat on the head ,think it was 3/4 time ,so he must have been pleased with him.

Harding's is on the improve and i think that the coaching staff would be well aware that he needs to work on his disposal. The main thing is he is an unknown out of the middle and will help alleviate the pressure off our elite midfielders due to his pace off the mark. If the Harding project fails in the next few weeks, it would be nice to see Banfield or Reddan get a game.

Did he? He picked up a shitload of cheap handballs because noone else on the team wanted the ball, but did he have a field day?

Harding had just about as much impact on the game tbh.

Did he? He picked up a shitload of cheap handballs because noone else on the team wanted the ball, but did he have a field day?

Harding had just about as much impact on the game tbh.

I imagine Harding was put on Davey (clearly Melbourne's best player) with the intent of tagging him. Tagged opponents shouldn't be geting cheap anything.

I've probably lost some perspective here, but I am not really seeing the "improvement" everyone is speaking off. Getting more of the ball only means something if you do something good with it.

I don't want him run out of town in shame, I'd love to be proven wrong. I just get the impression that with each week he is kept in the side, people are manufacturing reasons why he is there so they can appear to be on the same page as Voss. ;) People are talking about defensive pressure at stoppages etc, but wouldn't you expect him to have a couple of tackles next to his name on the stat sheet if that is the case?

Team stability after a win is all well and good, but that shouldn't come at the expense of improving the side. I can't remember a season in recent memory where we are having such consistently good performances from multiple players in the reserves. I'd just like to see that rewarded at some stage. Harding will get more of the ball back in the reserves, and more chance to learn what to do with it.

I think you know as well as anyone he's on his last chance. The blokes in the twos you mention aren't going anywhere in a hurry. If they find reason to drop him his top flight career is as good as over. As I've said many times, I'd have dropped him by now, but he did have 19 possies with 0 clangers. He's actually winning the odd clearance now, which he wasn't before. I think he's definitely improved. Enough to say he's AFL standard - well, that's another story.

And no offence mate, but I don't buy the direct opponent argument. Most of Davey's touches are racked up when the zone is in effect when players don't have direct opponents.

I think he's been marginally better than Proud over the past few weeks, yet few are on the warpath to see Albie dropped.

You were backing Shermo in last year under similar circumstances, show Scotty a bit of love! ;):D

Depends how similar you think the circumstances were. One had previously shown an entire season of stellar form. Credit in the bank.

As for Scotty love, I'd love to be proven wrong, but you can only try the experiment for so long. I will point out that I did co-sponsor him 2 years ago.

I'll now enforce a self-imposed ban on further Harding related negativity. I've said my bit.

Have only been following AFL for a short time, unlike so many here on BF, so my POV could be entirely off the mark, but it seemed that during the wilderness period Shermo was trying, but it wasn't working. Harding, on the other hand, just seems to be more of a free rider. Can perform when things are on the up, but can be MIA at other times.

Davey can be a damaging player but was he at all influential the other night?

I really don't think so.

Racked up the possies and DT points (which was good seeing he's in my DT;))

Bit TBH, I really don't think it matters a fig who was tagging him.

The last quarter shambles wasn't due to Davey or any other Melbourne player running riot but solely due to a snoozy, couldn't care less effort by the whole BL side.

Hope we don't start against Port like we finished against the Dees because Port aren't going to be pushovers, especially if they turn up to play.

Tell me why?: We had a 10-goal win....we got no injuries....Browny and Bradshaw kicked 5-goals odd each, Browny's now on top of the coleman medal count, Rich is surpassing all of our expectations but on Saturday night I felt numb in that last quarter?

Tell me why, anyone?

Tell me why?: We had a 10-goal win....we got no injuries....Browny and Bradshaw kicked 5-goals odd each, Browny's now on top of the coleman medal count, Rich is surpassing all of our expectations but on Saturday night I felt numb in that last quarter?

Tell me why, anyone?

I'm guessing alcohol...?

AFL Round 13 Brisbane Lions V Melbourne Official Thread