Review AFL Round 13 - Sydney defeat Geelong by 6 points.

Wanna go have a big sook right about now. We dominated that last quarter I felt but we struggled to get the score on the board which is really all that matters. The worst part is knowing that sometimes we can come out and play like that 2nd half but why we aren't doing it for the full 4 qtrs is irritating.
Bartel BOG.

the hardest part of this all is that a win makes us a shot for top 4 but now we could seriously be in trouble just making the 8...if ever there was an 8 point game, tonight was it in every sense of the word

I can only hope we are positioning ourself for 7th position at the end of the home and away and a tilt at immortality from winning the flag from there. We are so spasmodic it is farcical.

Like I said earlier we still have it, just taking to long to find it. Age shall not weary us is the old saying but I am thinking that is the problem. Once we get going look out, but it is being left too late to too few. Bundy great tonight, what a star he will be. Thunt looked good. West stood up late. Not over yet ...

Wanna know why we lost? Wasn't just the pathetic first quarter by itself.
When it mattered to turn the game, all we saw were turnovers. Crazy, continuous turnovers at so many crucial moments, not just late in the 4th.

Something needs to be done. Drills, old fashioned kick-to-kick, whatever it takes.
The turnovers have to stop. Especially into the midfield or forward 50.

Christensen sub was a disaster. Just cant have him off the ground for that long.

Simpson is a very talented player but was not ready, we made the same mistake with Smedts on two occasions this year. Why are young players being played without doing a proper apprenticeship in VFL? There is two perfect games for him to play coming right up.

Simpson was culpable in a lot of that first quarter disaster.

I am not happy with Scott's coaching at all this year. He is obviously a good coach but is making some terrible errors.

I don't care how much fitness work Tommy does on the track from here on out for the rest of the year I want all his training time spent on goal kicking.

We can't continually have our Full Forward missing set shots from 20-45m out on less than 30 degree angles

Next 4 weeks:

v PORT = W
v GCS = W
v COLL = L
v ESS = W

Ok, so if we win 3/4 in the next month ( we'll either lose to bombers and beat pies or lose to pies and beat bombers) then we will be 10-6, which will have us around 6th-7th.

4 weeks after that:

v ADEL = W
v HAW = W
v WCE = L
v STK = W

Again, we'll go 3/4 after these 4 games (hopefully). Which will put us 13-7, which will have us, around 6th-7th still.

Remaining games for the season:

v WB = W
v SYD = w

Finish the season 15-7, around 5th-7th, by that time i think we'll be playing our very best footy, and we'll be a threat.

I just want to throw blame darts at everyone right now.
What can I say about our kicking for goal that hasn't been said. We lost GF because of it and still it ignored so what the hell , obvious we just say nothing and hope it improves with confidence. When you live by so few chances , every chance become more vital. We are not developing 30-40 shots at goal anymore . Those days are done.
We would have only been covering up our deficiencies if we won.

Christiansen makes us a better side, instant effect when he came on.

Thought Simpson showed a bit IMO, good effort for the # of games he has.

Was very much like the Fremantle game, gave the opposition a big head start and just struggled to get it back.

Really struggling to score ATM, despite the forwards clacking their fair share of marks, just having trouble converting on all fronts.

Bartel did play very very well, but am beginning to think if we need him to influence things in the back half.... what does that say for Enright and Scarlett, who have previously gotten that done? Them and Mackie are usually the prime drivers out of the back line...

Selwood is amazing.

Serious question: has anyone actually enjoyed watching a single one of our games this year? Because for me the answer is no. Even in our wins it's been painful, we are not pleasing on the eye anymore. Harlem Globetrotters to the Washington Generals in the space of 12 months.

yeah most def, very hard to watch. i'm almost at the point where i cringe when i can actually get time to watch a game

Nice comeback by the boys, but never should've been that far behind in the first place.

This. You don't give teams a 6 goal head start and wonder why you can't quite get there in the last.

The good:
Bartel. Nothing more needs to be said.
If not for Harry, the margin would have been ten goals before quarter time.
Motlop's lively and seems intelligent.
Simpson didn't look out of place.

The bad:
The first quarter.
Corey. VFL time.
Umps. Again. Sydney's best three players tonight. And who was the douchebag who spent the first half constantly yakking to Pods in a patronizing way? You reckon a bloke might be a bit cranky if he's had his arms chopped all night right in front of you, and then you start talking down to him about a bit of jostling off the ball?
All the bloody fumbling. Geez it shits me.
Something's wrong with our setups around the stoppages. How often do we see the opposition run forward three abreast unopposed?

Scott really needs to find a way to make sure we at the very least don't concede such huge early scores against better teams.

It took us a while to click into gear, but once we did, we were by far the better team, it's just that the early lead we gave them meant we were starting from too far back. We simply can't allow the opposition to kick 7 goals to 1 against us in the first quarter and expect to come out winners.

So crushing to come back like that and still lose. I imagine Essendon supporters felt the same way, but we really needed this win if we were to make an assault on the top 4 this year. The talent and ability is there, that was evident tonight, we just consistently fail to show it for a full game.

Brave but futile attempt. Just have trouble converting the reduced chances we give ourselves now compared to our heyday. Was not really an issue butchering 25% or more of our chances when we gave ourselves 40 shots at goal circa 2007-2009 to some extent, but when you have just 20 scoring shots or thereabouts, you have to make them count. Lots of hard work done in the defence and midfield unrewarded by wasteful and inefficient forward play. Ted Richard's two or three marks late in the game were poor, when even a contest would have sufficed.

Just have to set the bar down now....i guess the key is to develop a group of players in the next tier who can play brave running spread footy. Early in many games this year we've been blasted out of the water by sides who make us look treacle slow early in the game. Later on we grind back, but too often it's in vain. Ergo, we will probably wobble into the lower reaches of the 8 and see what can happen from there. Tonight's game is probably as vital a result and as big a blow as Rd 17 2002 was when we lost to Adelaide when 10-6 on the ladder and pressing for top-4. At 7-5 now and a torrid run to finish the year with, top 4 is now totally out of the question.

I'm glad to see Bundy's name is popping up here. He's easily one of our best players, and he can run out 4 quarters. Why make him the sub? Wojo would be so much better as a late starter. Bundy is close to Selwood .. just hard at it and he lifts everyone (players, supporters) ... The MC is wise, I know, but .... man. I am sure we wouldn't have played like that if the young fella had been there from the start.

The Hawk took a very nice grab to put us in front, and I was so happy to see him kick a cute goal. But he's not Stevie. The round the corner stuff is a worry. It's just a really bad habit and it will let him down. Why on earth does he kick so close to the mark? He's a huge kick of the ball! The beast that kicked 6 in a cloudburst in Brisbane is starting to become a distant memory.

Tell you what, we played some good footy tonight. The result sucks cos we no longer are so ruthless, but there were definite shades of the old Geelong there. If Motlop could just be a presence for a little longer ....

Christensen sub was a disaster. Just cant have him off the ground for that long.

Simpson is a very talented player but was not ready, we made the same mistake with Smedts on two occasions this year. Why are young players being played without doing a proper apprenticeship in VFL? There is two perfect games for him to play coming right up.

Simpson was culpable in a lot of that first quarter disaster.

I am not happy with Scott's coaching at all this year. He is obviously a good coach but is making some terrible errors.

I agree on Simpson, although to be fair with Orren struggling last week I can see why they rolled the dice, but he clearly wasn't ready as I feared he wouldn't be. Should have played next week as you say.

Bundy just cannot be the sub, he gives us so much run and creativity. I don't care if Stokes has to be, or even Corey if he keeps turning the ball over, but no Bundy as sub.

I do agree the coaches need to examine what they did in this game because the run and stun that Sydney were going to try and bring was obvious to predict, and yet we had no answer to it early, but every answer after half time. The question is why did it take that long?

Unforunately that loss costs us any real chance at top 4 more than likely, will have to play 4 quarters each week to have a chance to make the 8.

Review AFL Round 13 - Sydney defeat Geelong by 6 points.