thank Christ the GFC have common sense, if he gets off tonight there can be know repeat of the stupid headbutt from last time we played failmantle
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
WE ARE CHALLENGING!
Brave call...or stupid? Hope we win
I'm pretty sure it was on Footy Classified (one of last night's panel shows anyway), because the inference was that North's medical report must have put Johnson in, it was being said that North was denying that was an accurate version. And I could have this wrong, but the way I remember it, they were even saying North wasn't even asked to provide a report. We shall see.
I think it can also be appealed on the basis that Johnson had clearly tried to get away a couple of times and Thompson kept pulling him back. I think if he can convince the tribunal that Thompson made contact to his leg immediately before, causing him to lose balance, combined with the mystery surrounding North's medical report, that's not a bad case at all.
Would be very interesting (and a huge story) if the MRP claimed they had a medical report that they never had. I don't buy the excuse that Thompson kept pulling Steve back into the wrestle. If Steve wanted to extricate himself he could have. He was playing for a free.
that's it for me VC.... the last two are easy... it is low impact and it is body contact, so it comes down to the conduct and I would argue it is reckless, but even if it was negligent the carry over points and his loading would still see him suspended... when you're in the situation SJ is in you have to be very careful... you can't afford even the slightest slip up.Sorry mate. That is garbage.
"Based on the video evidence available and a medical report from the North Melbourne Football Club, the incident was assessed as reckless conduct (two points), low impact (one point) and body contact (one point). This is a total of four activation points, resulting in a classification of a Level One Offence, drawing 125 demerit points and a one-match sanction."
If SJ was a cleanskin he could have got that down to 94.
If the MRP were to remove the loading, they'd need to remove the option of an early plea for balance.
And he'd still be on 125 !
The Ballantyne incident has seen similar incidents with no case to answer. Mitchell twice, Hannerbury (I think) and other players who've escaped my memory. My 6 year old daughter has thrown harder punches. Let's not forget Ballantyne keeled over like he'd been shot. The bump on Hanley never made contact with his head, it was a disgraceful suspension.
Care to explain how Goodes got off then?
That's what I said earlier.Lets get one thing strait this system of carry over points was adopted from the NRL back in the day when in that code the minimum charge was manslaughter,now we are using the same points to suspend players for clowning around,I'm happy for thugs to carry some sort of extra penalty as a deterrent,but that tag doesn't fit SJ,Fyth and so many other great footballers.No club and no supporters are happy with this part of the system time to f--k the points off for good.
I'm not super confident, but I think given the ridiculousness of the charge, we'd be wimps to just sit there and take it.
One of my (many) gripes with the system is that if you are going to use outcomes (i.e. the extent of injury) as a proxy for force - which they do - you have to apply that when there is no injury to conclude that there is insufficient force. It has to go both ways to be a fair system.I reckon he'll be found guilty. I think one of his 'knees' actually gets Thompson with some decent force, and considering the rib cage is pretty fragile it is a dangerous action (disregarding the outcome). Ribs can break pretty easily, you can't really have people going around doing what he did.
Good point.One of my (many) gripes with the system is that if you are going to use outcomes (i.e. the extent of injury) as a proxy for force - which they do - you have to apply that when there is no injury to conclude that there is insufficient force. It has to go both ways to be a fair system.
I reckon he'll be found guilty. I think one of his 'knees' actually gets Thompson with some decent force, and considering the rib cage is pretty fragile it is a dangerous action (disregarding the outcome). Ribs can break pretty easily, you can't really have people going around doing what he did.
Great post and i agree totally.I will preface this by saying that I have never defended Steve Johnson. He is the most infuriating player on our list by a long way. For every match winning performance he has given us over his career, he's given us an undisciplined act or poor game because he's played the man not the ball.
He has several times the natural ability of Joel Selwood, but Joel's leadership, work ethic, discipline and consistency makes him a far, far more valuable footballer.
BUT - in this case I cannot fathom that was considered a reportable offence. Headbutting Crowley - however soft the contact - was. Kneeing Nathan Jones last year was a poor act and he deserved his suspension.
But this one was not a 'kneeing offence' - to do that, don't you have to drop your knees into someone instead of basically lean on them as you're being prevented from standing up?
It certainly wasn't a 'reckless' act either. Brett Deledio ran past Mathew Stokes and deliberately elbowed him in the back of the head and his suspension was downgraded to a reprimand.
We simply must appeal this shocking decision.
Insufficient force I guess.that's it for me VC.... the last two are easy... it is low impact and it is body contact, so it comes down to the conduct and I would argue it is reckless, but even if it was negligent the carry over points and his loading would still see him suspended... when you're in the situation SJ is in you have to be very careful... you can't afford even the slightest slip up.
It will be interesting to see what argument they use in the challenge, you would think it would be to have the charge thrown out?? as downgrading to negligent will probably still be a week without the plea, as reckless was with a plea.... Personally I don't like his chances I don't see what solid argument they have
Bull - Ballas or Crowley would get pinged for that so let him miss. I hope he gets the 2, they lose both and we stay a game clear on the ladder. Peace and love Cats fans.Surely he gets off. Let them play the game ffs, nothing in it.
Oh, right. As I hadn't read the previous 15 pages, I was lacking context.We had just been discussing the advantages of the system.
Why is it poor? What is wrong with serving the 'left over' parts of your previous charge next time? If anything, it's lenient.
Both the freo players you have mentioned are the biggest campaigners and literally the skid marks on this great game.Bull - Ballas or Crowley would get pinged for that so let him miss. I hope he gets the 2, they lose both and we stay a game clear on the ladder. Peace and love Cats fans.