AFL Round 9 St Kilda V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

I’ve actually been reasonably encouraged by Harding over the past couple of weeks. Think he has been taking small steps forward.

thats the problem.

When he takes small steps, he gets tackled.... bigger steps Scott, bigger steps:D

Hey guys i was there today too gutsy effort by the cubs but if we are talking about changes for the kangas Harding has had too many chances just cannot kick well enough and misses too many targets.​
I hate to say this too but Risca just is not getting enough of the ball and misses targets also and Timmy Notting is past it in my opinion so therefore my changes would b this
Henderson for Notting
Proud for Harding
Hooper for Risca

I must say i have a serious man crush on Polks his hands in close and under pressure are terriffic for a young kid.

One more thing please stop going to Browny so much we are getting a good spread of goalkickers now so lets take our best option when coming thru the corridor.

1. Go Cubs :D

Speaking of kicking...

What about Drummonds kick to Sherman who was about 10 metres short of the centre circle. Superb... reminded me of my days down the park.:D

We should be doing more of this.

Drummond is such a beautiful kick... why waste his undeniable kicking skills with ****y little 25 meter kicks to the back pocket?

Although I believe that Dustbin Fletcher is a highly overrated defender, I have nevertheless always admired his willingness to go the big bomb straight down the corridor from the kick-ins.

In Fletcher's case they are more like lottery torpedoes, but in Dummond's case, he does actually possess the ability to hit a target on the chest from 65 meters away.

Would just love to see us use Drummond more this way.

Heard someone say it's not only his accuracy and distance, but the ball also travels to the its destination quicker than anyone elses.

Drummond is just a freak. Its that simple. His decision making is right 9 out of 10 times as well, which is what makes his kicking so dangerous. long kick like that is useless unless its getting kicked to the right option. I dont think he needs to go long every time, and he can't, because there isn't always something to kick to. Also by kicking short it keeps the defenders off balance of not knowing what he will do. They seem to have a set play, kicking it long and wide to the 50m, where a player seems to 'hide' out of bounds.

Cut to the chase... who the hell is going to beat these 2 teams come September, I wonder??

Well based on the evidence of yesterday, we'll beat the Saints at least, if we have several or all of Merrett, Dalziell, or Patfull.

We were just 2 kpp's short against the Saints- it was unfair to ask Macdonald to take a monster, particularly when Macca is quite a bit short of top form, and asking Cornelius to do the same was tantamount to cruel and unusual punishment. None of this was avoidable in the circumstances, however.

Overall, a tremendous full-court effort against a team that has blown away just about everyone else they have come up against.

How good was it to see Polkinghorne towel up Baker- he was at his wits end against this kid who didn't know fear. Same with Cornelius, Clark, Brennan, Bradshaw, Black, Power.

I know this will attract criticism, and ok he kicked 3, but I think Brown needs to do more. It's of course ridiculous to put our loss down to him alone, but if he had taken that mark with a few to go who knows.

My Biggest beef today is actually directed at some fellow Lions fans. I was on level 1 today just left of the wing, on the broadcast side and I was screaming my lungs out from go to woe to support the boys. We were well outnumbered as we always are down here but there were a few brisbane fans around me and they didn't make too much noise all day, even when the boys kicked 9pts in front in the last term. I had my best mate with me who isn't even a lions man and even he was out of his seat making some noise a few times. I think all of us should make as much noise as possible to really spur the boys on when they are playing in a hostile environment!!!! If today's efforts don't get you aroused, then you are a tough nut to crack!!

Don't worry, I was yelling. I was on the wing too, but the other one. You BTW were in a sea of Saints over there, it's always STK's wing that one.

I see were you guys are coming from, but I really want Notting to play his 200th next weekend. It'd be best to get it out the way for him.

They mentioned last night at the after match function about his 200th next week, and you could tell by the look on his face he was thinking "yeah right, if i play"

A mighty effort from the boys and you just have to wonder what if merret & patfull had played. The first game i have watched for a while were i havent been dreading a fade out as per last year, they are really impressing with their determination finishing out the games this year. Have to say that the media write up shits me though, mike sheahan classing it Kotshtizke's best game and talking up his form. If he cant take marks on a first gamer who gives both height and kilos away then get a day job i reckon. Would have loved a win but great signs from the youth brigade and loving the consistency from Sherman. Good to see we a finally getting a consistent spread of goal kickers week to week add a fit and hungry Hooper and who knows how well we can go.;)

Forgot to mention Drummond- what a game, probably his best for the Lions to date.

Not only is his kicking about the best in the AFL [how about that kick that nearly reached the wing halfway] but his marking has come on in leaps and bounds.

Unfortunately he is beginning to be noticed- like Hodge though he'll be hard to tag.

Forgot to mention Drummond- what a game, probably his best for the Lions to date.

Not only is his kicking about the best in the AFL [how about that kick that nearly reached the wing halfway] but his marking has come on in leaps and bounds.

Unfortunately he is beginning to be noticed- like Hodge though he'll be hard to tag.

Teams are generally starting to play defensive half forwards on him. Collingwood did it with Dale Thomas and it nullified him pretty well.

He was able to play loose yesterday because St Kilda also had a loose man in defense for some of the game. Another impact of Brown that people don't tend to notice

Don't worry, I was yelling. I was on the wing too, but the other one. You BTW were in a sea of Saints over there, it's always STK's wing that one.

Hehe they were sick of me by the end of the day, I was determined not to shutup as long as the boys kept their endeavour up which they did!!

Have to say that the media write up shits me though, mike sheahan classing it Kotshtizke's best game and talking up his form

He did not?! What game was he watching? Koschitzke dropped 2 very gettable marks right before 3/4 time which allowed us to keep the lead at the last break. He had minimal impact considering the young and short opposition he had. I personally believe that both Riewoldt and Koschitzke are hugely overrated. I'm glad we didn't play Hawthorn yesterday, I find their twin towers much more imposing.

^^^^^^^^

What he said.

Riewoldt was virtually unsighted once Bradshaw want down back.

That cut hand couldn't have come at a worse time for us.

On the subject of Bradshaw, I tried to argue the case before this game, that he should have been played on Reiwoldt from the outset....and got no love for my views.

Well, I hate to say I told you...but I did tell you.

A first -gamer (Cornelius) in a KPP defensive role was always going to be a lamb to the slaughter.

Yeah...yeah...I know Braddy kicked two 50 meter bombs for 2 goals up forward....but Cornelius kicked two once the roles were reversed anyway.

Rant over.

Come on Luther. That is a bit beneath you. I mean, playing "I told you so" with your successful predictions/suggestions opens you up to people bringing up your posts that are less accurate.

But, on the topic, I still disagree with the original proposal to play Bradshaw in defence, until at least other options had been exhausted. I think you have glossed over the influence that Bradshaw had in the first half. Those two goals gave us belief and kept us in the game - and supported my contention that the thing St Kilda would have feared most was our tall forwards. No-one in our side, perhaps Brown excepted, could have taken those strong marks and then gone back and converted from 50m+ distance. We were dysfunctional going forward - no Bradshaw in the forward would, IMO, have achieved exactly what I feared would occur - that we would take an overly defensive approach to the game.

That we started to win some contested footy and moved the ball a little better is the reason why our forward line seemed to function a lot better sans Bradshaw. I would also contend that Braddy did not need to deal with the frequency and quality of delivery that Riewoldt's other opponents faced.

The mistake, IMO, was selecting a "too short" side in the first place. I think they probably thought Cornelius had a greater capability to play "tall and strong" than he does. The calls made by other posters that he looks like he might be a decent 3rd tall forward are spot on IMO - but I don't think he's yet a FF/CHF/CHB/FB just yet - not unusual for a 1st year player. Hendo should have been selected - either in addition to or instead of Cornelius. If "instead of", I would have preferred to see the superior aerial ability of Roe over the experience and run of Notting.

But that is all 20/20 hindsight. I applaud Voss for taking the chance on Cornelius and I don't believe JMac was necessarily a bad option on Riewoldt (in fact, I would not have been totally surprised if he got the role at some point even if Patfull and Merrett were included - with Patfull going to a Goddard). I thought Voss and co. coached quite well and plenty of things went right in that regard.

I just went through the fixture for the year so far and realised that we kicked the highest score against the saints so far, something else to hang our hats on.:D

Hehe they were sick of me by the end of the day, I was determined not to shutup as long as the boys kept their endeavour up which they did!!
Was that you I saw on TV - one really happy Lions supporter among a crowd of people who didn't look anywhere near as pleased? :D

Just looking at the stats and one C Stiller had the highest number of tackles for round 9.

great effort, but the burning question for me is:
will our tackling, comittment and being the best bunch of battlers in the AFL be enough to get us to the elusive final eight?

this Vossy side gives its all, 100%.

injuries to key players really worry me and this may see us string a few losses together.

It's time to bite the bullet and bring in Henderson - and let him stay for awhile. We just fell short due to lack of big bodies .. and we did take him before Rioli , so let's not die wondering.

i think hendo should defiantly come in....especially with all of norths big men
but who goes out?? notting who did nothing.....or maybe even rischitelli who i think is under-performing.....does anyone know why....is he tagging or something

first time poster
long time reader haha

i think hendo should defiantly come in....especially with all of norths big men
but who goes out?? notting who did nothing.....or maybe even rischitelli who i think is under-performing.....does anyone know why....is he tagging or something

first time poster
long time reader haha

Welcome aboard Phants. :thumbsu:

Just to let everybody know the game thread is going to be late this week. Our intrepid preview writer is promising something a bit different this week, but the magic won’t happen until tomorrow night.

I went to the player function after the game on the weekend. After reading this thread I've noticed a lot of people have been disappointed with Rischitelli's quiet performances, however at the function, Voss didn't seem concerned at all. He said himself he's been trying Rischitelli in a new role up forward, sort of a Hooper-like role as a defensive forward.

Stats can be very misleading, and I don't think he's been as bad as the 4 supercoach points he got yesterday :confused:

He is playing out of position, but still provides a contest.

AFL Round 9 St Kilda V Brisbane Lions Official Thread