AFL Round 9 St Kilda V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

I know its not ideal, but how good was Bradshaw on Riewoldt! Out positioned and out marked him every time there was a contest between the two. His blood ruling came at the worst time.

I dont think Harding will be dropped - he had a few nervous touches, but so did a few others and he laid 8 tackles. I think Voss will be pleased with that.

Also kudos to Stiller - kept Dal Santo out of the game completely for 3 quarters. And that tackle on Hayes was an absolute beauty.

Plenty of positives to come out of the game today.

I went to the game today and I am as proud as punch and gutted at the same time. I don't think you could have asked for much more from the boys today.

My thoughts on the game:

Positives

Jared Brennan was magnificent. He really got us going in that third term I thought.
Aside from Brennan, I thought Drummond and Black were both very good. I felt the back 6 did a great job without a few generals back there.
Sherman is in hot form at the moment. I really like this boy, when he kicks goals I think the whole team get a boost with his energy and enthusiasm.
All the 1st year kids played their part, there is a great future there. It's only early days but they all look to have plenty of scope for improvement.
The boys endeavour throughout the whole game was fantastic, they threw everything at the saints. If not for a few turnovers we would have caused the upset of the round.

Negatives

Our delivery into the forward line was pretty ordinary. Just a couple of instances stand out for me. Jmac's poor delivery to Brown late in the third that resulted in a St.Kilda goal and Harding's poor delivery again to Brown midway through the last when we had the momentum and a 9pt lead. If he hit him lace out, Big Browny would have been going back for a shot on goal and a potential 15pt lead. Being a young side you have to expect a few turnovers every now and then but boy we could've pinched one there.
Rischitelli needs a week in the Magoos. I rate the bloke I really do, but what impact is he having at the moment? He's better than what he is dishing up and he is becoming one of the senior players in a young side.
Notting and Travis Johnstone hmmm....If they can't dish up consistent footy I would rather go for more kids. Johnstone is too hot and cold for mine, I would rather go without the inconsistency, especially when we are building for the future.

My Biggest beef today is actually directed at some fellow Lions fans. I was on level 1 today just left of the wing, on the broadcast side and I was screaming my lungs out from go to woe to support the boys. We were well outnumbered as we always are down here but there were a few brisbane fans around me and they didn't make too much noise all day, even when the boys kicked 9pts in front in the last term. I had my best mate with me who isn't even a lions man and even he was out of his seat making some noise a few times. I think all of us should make as much noise as possible to really spur the boys on when they are playing in a hostile environment!!!! If today's efforts don't get you aroused, then you are a tough nut to crack!!

It comes with being a Lions fan unfortunately.

I lose my voice at pretty much every game but it takes a lot to get the crowd around me going. A big comeback or a productive quarter usually gets the crowd up but heaven help us if we are behind or its a slow game.

It comes with being a Lions fan unfortunately.

I lose my voice at pretty much every game but it takes a lot to get the crowd around me going. A big comeback or a productive quarter usually gets the crowd up but heaven help us if we are behind or its a slow game.

Yup, pretty much.

The crowd is meant to lift the team, not the other way around.

All you can do is scream your throat raw, make a bit of a dick of yourself, and hope that gradually people start to do the same.

Good effort today guys, dont believe in teams having bad days, but I reckon our boys are quite looking forward to the mid season break.

Thought you guys would run away with it in the last, Saints did something they wouldn't have in previous years with that last 10 minutes...

Did well without a backline or ruck, reckon you're a good show in September...just the slight problem of there being a team named Geelong being present. :p

Anyways good luck for the rest of the year, would much rather see Brisbane in the finals ahead of the likes of Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton!

Yup, pretty much.

The crowd is meant to lift the team, not the other way around.

All you can do is scream your throat raw, make a bit of a dick of yourself, and hope that gradually people start to do the same.

Thats pretty much how we Adelaide Lions fans are, we made complete idiots of ourselves last year and look what happened. We were loud and out there, eventually Power fans left and it was practically like the Gabba for the Lions.

where i was sitting was extremely loud, of course we got louder as the game went on but we were definitely loud all the way up to the last few minutes of the match.

it was a good game, disappointing that we didn't get the win, it would have been nice to be the first team to beat the saints but still a great game. a vast improvement on our game against geelong. It actually gave me faith that we could test a few of the better teams this year Go Lions!! :D

I'm not sure what the vibe was like where you sat Yippyio, but there was plenty of spirit and support for the boys closer to the goals. About 2-3 aisles from the cheersquad. I was immensely proud seeing the fans give the boys a standing ovation as they went off for at half time.

I'll echo the sentiments of many here by saying it was a very proud day for us. Listening to the Triple M on the way in, they were all predicting a 10 goal thumping, to get so close was a credit to the boys and Vossy and co for some astute coaching. What was so evident to me throughout the game was the belief in which we played today. Everyone tried their guts out today, everyone except TJ. Everyone knows he struggles with a tag, not just that his disposal was woeful today, what I find hard to fathom is how someone who has been in the system for so long, fails to do the 1%'rs, the previous week he was prepared to get in and under if need be, but today he waited around and watched guys like Austin and Rich throw themselves recklessly after the pill. I don't think theres much we can do with TJ that coaches haven't tried in the past, perhaps a trip to a pyschiatrist to explain the brain fades.

Someone mentioned earlier that Austin should be dropped, I disagree. He was good today, had good poise and got into space plenty of times, his disposal was no where near as bad as JMac, his decision making was atrocious, it has to be a confidence thing with him. Got plenty of the ball and battled hard, but he's a shade of his 08 self. All in all, a top effort against genuine premiership contenders :thumbsu:

Hi guys... just wanted to say great game from the lions. Well played.

....losing Bradshaw to the blood rule meant Riewoldt got free and got involved in 2 goals.

^^^^^^^^

What he said.

Riewoldt was virtually unsighted once Bradshaw want down back.

That cut hand couldn't have come at a worse time for us.

On the subject of Bradshaw, I tried to argue the case before this game, that he should have been played on Reiwoldt from the outset....and got no love for my views.

Well, I hate to say I told you...but I did tell you.

A first -gamer (Cornelius) in a KPP defensive role was always going to be a lamb to the slaughter.

Yeah...yeah...I know Braddy kicked two 50 meter bombs for 2 goals up forward....but Cornelius kicked two once the roles were reversed anyway.

Rant over.

We were right up in it until Bradshaw was taken off with 5 mins to go, anyone know what the issue was?

I think you'll find Bradshaw leaving the ground didn't happen in the last 5 minutes.

From memory, he was off for about 7 minutes between approximately the 13 and 20 minute mark of the last quarter...then came back on.

The issue was a "blood rule" for a cut hand.

In any case, it was in the period he was off the ground that Reiwoldt suddenly came back to life...and it was during that period that all the damage was done.

I’ve actually been reasonably encouraged by Harding over the past couple of weeks. Think he has been taking small steps forward.

Agree.

Looks to me to be a confidence thing.

It's slowly gathering momentum but he still looks like a player who just needs to have one really good game and it'll all fall into place.

As far as being "run down" by Kosi ( an incident that the commentators went absolutely ape-shit over), my impression was that Kosi didn't actually run him down but came more from the side.

Probably a lack of awareness by Harding, rather than a lack of pace.

In any case, a "fringe" player like Harding should be encouraged to keep taking the game on....stinging criticism and ridicule will only make him go back into his shell.

I'm not sure what the vibe was like where you sat Yippyio, but there was plenty of spirit and support for the boys closer to the goals. About 2-3 aisles from the cheersquad. I was immensely proud seeing the fans give the boys a standing ovation as they went off for at half time.

I gave plenty of positive vibe that's for sure, I've lost my voice tonight!! I did see the support up the lions cheersquad end, I was very happy to see that at half time.
My beef is with the rest of the fans around the wing, they were too quiet for my liking. We kicked 9 pts in front and I was jumping around like a 3 year old. The rest of the fans were like an english cricket crowd that just saw a lovely cover drive hit for 4......find some passion people!!!

Anyways good luck for the rest of the year, would much rather see Brisbane in the finals ahead of the likes of Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton!

Me too :D, and thanks

I thought we played pretty well today, but I must be wrong cos all I've heard and read is how St K were really off.....

Is it usually like that down there when out of towners win? I have noticed that happens on BF too.

I thought the guys did really well today, of course would have loved a win. I read somewhere that for youngsters playing in Melbourne for the first time can be a bit overwhelming, but I thought they did really well today.

And I have to fess up - we usually go home from the games with sore throats too. Although, our section can get pretty vocal at times.

What a great sight it was... Cornelius at the feet of a Brown 3 on 1.. CRUMBING !!!!! :eek:.. JB recognised his presence and tried to bring him into play a few times after that.. great signs !!

^^^^

I've done it for him.

Next!

There was one occassion where he lost possession in a pack, went back and got it and fed it out effectivley by hand, which was good. Also a 2nd occassion where he again lost possession and magically regained possession via lucky bounce or deflection (hard to tell on the stream), and then hoofed it left for a point, could have been good... but wasn't.
Speaking of kicking...
What about Drummonds kick to Sherman who was about 10 metres short of the centre circle. Superb... reminded me of my days down the park.:D

So many young players stepping up...

Sherman
Rich
Sheldon
Dalziell
Clark
Rishka
Hooper

Thats just off the top of my head, in 5 years time we will be unstoppable with these players.

AFL Round 9 St Kilda V Brisbane Lions Official Thread