AFL Second Semi Final Western Bulldogs V Brisbane Lions Official Thread

rich16.jpg

I don't think there is one person here who could be dissappointed with our season......This one is now over, but wow, how far has Vossy brought the team this year?!....we have enjoyed ourselves, had lots of heart pumping thrills...couldn't have asked for more

I feel so very proud of Vossy + Brown for how they have turned the young ones around, and led the team back from the last few dark years..

Well done boys...roll on 2010:thumbsu:

Listening to SEN...Dermie giving Timmy a huge rap on his career:)

We were simply outclassed by a more experienced, faster and more skilled team.

I was hoping it wouldn't happen by this much but still, this was always on the books as optimistic as we were this week after that amazing effort against Carlton.

Still, next year is going to be awesome.

well done lions. need to go from the start. to strong the bulldogs on this occasion but in yrs to come we will be smashing them and geelong and all the teams that have had it over us. LIONS 2010.

now for the dogs supporters...:S

I don't think there is one person here who could be dissappointed with our season......This one is now over, but wow, how far has Vossy brought the team this year?!....we have enjoyed ourselves, had lots of heart pumping thrills...couldn't have asked for more

I feel so very proud of Vossy + Brown for how they have turned the young ones around, and led the team back from the last few dark years..

Well done boys...roll on 2010:thumbsu:

Listening to SEN...Dermie giving Timmy a huge rap on his career:)
:thumbsu:
We have come so far - so proud of all the guys. How well did our young guns cope with the occasion tonight?

I am proud, happy,but feeling for our guys. I hope tomorrow they realise how well they have done this year

great win by the dogs, we are still a couple of seasons away from being a major threat. Did Vossy err by giving Possum a game, i doubt it, Vossy rates loyalty and Poss had earnt the opportunity.

Where to from now

Henderson must be given every opportunity to develop himself as a key position player, down back or up forward.

Clearance work and increasing the scoring ability of our midfield is vital.

The big Berger coming into the ruck and allowing Brennan to play a midfielder and forward will change our structure bigtime.

Vossy may decide to use Clark as a CHB next year andtry the Berger and Charman in the ruck. Regardless we have an exciting future.

We need to keep our 1st and 2nd round picks in the draft but after that i am willing to trade.

Very good season, big off season in the gym. The boys should be proud of their season and let's hope they enjoy a beer or two over the next few days.

Great season lads. Punched far above your weight, and that finals experience is priceless. Uncovered a couple of gems too.

No way could you see your season as anything but a success.

Great season lads. Punched far above your weight, and that finals experience is priceless. Uncovered a couple of gems too.

Thanks for that. Good luck and all the best to the Crows, last non-vics cummon you Crows!

Thanks for that - agree 100% about the finals experience.

Good luck tomorrow - would love to see the Crows take the flag.

We exceeded most expectations but there are areas we must address if we are going to go further.

1) We are predictable going forward.........badly need a small leading option and /or crumbing forward

2) Clearances....the smashing we got in that area tonight is symptomatic of all of our poorer losses....if Black gets contained , we are in serious trouble ...we need Rich to develop further and also need another in and under to take the weights off Black.

3)Ruck...as good as Mitch has been, we badly need for him to get some real backup, rather than part -timers lending a hand here and there.....a fully fit and firing Luey would be a big bonus:thumbsu:

Just a few thoughts ......feel free to add to/ disagree/criticise

Go lions in 2010:thumbsu:

big off season kicking the footy, I reckon! :) - disposal has been our biggest let down all year.

nah mate the gym is a where a lot of our boys need to be. Kicking the footy is vital, but if we can continue to recruit skilled footballers like Rich and Redden then we are going to improve our kicking enormously.

We exceeded most expectations but there are areas we must address if we are going to go further.

1) We are predictable going forward.........badly need a small leading option and /or crumbing forward

2) Clearances....the smashing we got in that area tonight is symptomatic of all of our poorer losses....if Black gets contained , we are in serious trouble ...we need Rich to develop further and also need another in and under to take the weights off Black.

3)Ruck...as good as Mitch has been, we badly need for him to get some real backup, rather than part -timers lending a hand here and there.....a fully fit and firing Luey would be a big bonus:thumbsu:

Nope you sum it up pretty well. Our youngsters did very well this year and it is a long year for them.

Only thing I can add is some obvious skill improvements.

I'd like to say i'm not dissappointed because we had such a great year but after a loss like that i'm not sure how anyone could be satisfied. So many silly bloody mistakes in the backline. The troll in me sayd that a good team wouldn't give away so many rubbish goals in their back half but ****!!!!....
How many rubbish goals did we give away? and how many gimme goals did we miss in the first half?

The bloke I've been going to the footy with has been saying it for a while and I reckon he is spot on...we are a very low-skilled side (Carlton were so much more skillful than us). We have done amazingly well considering the amount of unskilled players we have. We rely on guts and tackling and big forwards which is not a bad thing but to win a flag we really need to either recruit some players or change our tactics (or maybe Vossy is planning for all this) so we can win some clearances and we need some slick finishers like the bulldogs...if we wanna win a premiership.

In a nut case, er, shell, luthors. Raised the same three points with Beausgirl43 in our traditional post-game review.

nah mate the gym is a where a lot of our boys need to be. Kicking the footy is vital, but if we can continue to recruit skilled footballers like Rich and Redden then we are going to improve our kicking enormously.
They can lug the weights around while working on their skills, Nino. :p

I'm not gonna let this sour the season for me. I personally didnt expect much from us this year, and to make it this far is fantastic. Great season, alot of young up coming superstars.

Rich, Redden, The Incredible Polk, Sheldon, Austin, Clark, Hawksley, Cornelius.

I'm going to go to sleep tonight a happy man, and look out for us next year, we will be tough to beat.

So many silly bloody mistakes in the backline. The troll in me sayd that a good team wouldn't give away so many rubbish goals in their back half but ****!!!!....
How many rubbish goals did we give away? and how many gimme goals did we miss in the first half?

With regards to the backline, if you are constantly under the pump, it's only a matter of time before the mistakes and turnovers come.

I'm not disappointed that our backline coughed it up a few times....what I'm disappointed about is the number of times our defenders were under the pump directly from the center clearances.

If the opposition are smashing you out of the center, your defenders are invariably going to have to do a lot of work to try to turn the ball back the other way....and they invariably are going to make some errors in the process.

As for the "gimme goals" we missed......that's life... in the final wash-up, the dogs missed a number of gimmes of their own.

IMO, our problems don't stem from our backline....the problems stem from the ball living in our back half due to our inability to compete adequately in the clearances around the center of the ground.

Better skills and bigger bodies. The final result was pretty average but overall through the year we've done bloody well. So many good youngsters and for the first time in a long time it's hard to name people to delist.

AFL Second Semi Final Western Bulldogs V Brisbane Lions Official Thread