Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency X - Club has elected not to fill list spot - Davey returning from injury?

It's classic dodo really...he loses a failed top ten pick so replaces him with someone else's failed top ten pick, everything is still kosher in his mind. We still haven't failed we just pivoted on that draft.

The other thing that strikes me about weid and setters is they have size but zero intensity or aggression. It's actually makes your size moot. We need players with aggressive tendencies, with bloody minded ball focus to balance out the hint of softness our list his...this has just added two more.

But you can see why they are coming in, need to stay relevant and active in the period. Anyone pls come in, anyone?

Cool, you'll do. And being top tens we can massage the message as a trade coup. Dress them up as 2mp.

Think we lack a bit of depth still certainly in middle and up forward. We lose a couple and we look quite short. Look at our midfield this season when Caldwell and Langford were out…looked too small.

Up forward Stewart and Jones still inconsistent and if we lose Wright we’re in a bit of trouble especially as neither of our young rucks are good forwards.

Curious to see if Weideman could make it as a defender.

Bingo. My sentiments exactly & was only just suggesting that to a dees mate only recently. A change of lens on the game might be the tonic ala Patty McCartin.

Could be that stop gap we need until Reid finds his feet??

If we are able to bring in Setterfield and Weideman for cheap then it’s good business. At the very least they create some selection pressure and much needed depth.

Pick 22 still worries me with regard to Davey, I wonder if GWS would be open to trading 12 or 15 for 22 plus a future second if there’s someone on the board were keen on and worried about a bid. Probably keep it up our sleeve for draft night
22 & F2 for 12 would be a nice pick up if there's no one on the board they like at that spot. I suspect we monitor the way the draft goes with 22 now
Can't see anything else happening on that front now

Sorry but there’s nothing powerful about him and he loses confidence when he drops a mark. He’s played his best footy as a leading CHF
If that's the case then perfect. Jones being injured/down on confidence hurt us big time this year. If we can get them both up and running as tall leadup options, it'll help us limit the amount of times we breakdown across half-forward.

What it would mean is that our need for high pressure, small forwards becomes even more necessary. Ball slingshots out of F50 far too easily as it is.

Happy with this.

Do wonder what it means for Eyre/Brand’s list spots though.
I think one was going to be in trouble regardless of this. Both are key defenders rather than key forwards and we have a backlog of those two, Zerk, Reid, Cox and McBride all 24 or under back there.

I am concerned that we might be too tall and slow up front.

Weidemann is a gamble, but F3 is probably worth it.

It gives Baldwin more time to develop. since he missed 2 year's I'd be more than happy with him gaining form, confidence and fitness in the VFL and see how is doing midyear.

So basically that gives that time to Weidemann/Stewart to try and lock down a spot though I suspect Stewart will be down back a lot agian should he be fit.

I think one was going to be in trouble regardless of this. Both are key defenders rather than key forwards and we have a backlog of those two, Zerk, Reid, Cox and McBride all 24 or under back there.

I am concerned that we might be too tall and slow up front.
suspect all of Weideman, Wright, Jones & Stringer play, with Guelfi as our main small option & probably a mid resting (Hobbs, Caldwell, Durham, Langford, Martin, Perkins)

Fact is our smalls are all young
Menzie, Tex, Davey's - they'll all need time. Even Mass if that experiment continues.
Maybe Sheezel comes in early if we draft him.

It's classic dodo really...he loses a failed top ten pick so replaces him with someone else's failed top ten pick, everything is still kosher in his mind. We still haven't failed we just pivoted on that draft.

The other thing that strikes me about weid and setters is they have size but zero intensity or aggression. It's actually makes your size moot. We need players with aggressive tendencies, with bloody minded ball focus to balance out the hint of softness our list his...this has just added two more.

But you can see why they are coming in, need to stay relevant and active in the period. Anyone pls come in, anyone?

Cool, you'll do. And being top tens we can massage the message as a trade coup. Dress them up as 2mp.
I get where you are coming from but you have to weigh it up with what we would be drafting in the 3rd round (or later). You don't just pluck tough competitive beasts who can play footy from thin air.

im sure we wouldn't be drafting anyone after the 3rd but aren't we effectively drafting davey/davey/munkara with the points that make up those picks

They're not the kind of trades that necessarily improve our best-22 when the list is fully fit, but it does improve our best-30 to provide better cover for injury and some selection pressure.

If Wright goes down with injury our next most mature KPFs are Stewart and Jones. Weidemann fills a gap and provides healthy competition for Stewart / Jones / Baldwin with a mature body that at worst improves our VFL forward structure.

Setterfield similar. Adds a genuine midfielder instead of relying on a VFL midfield playing guys like Ham on-ball at VFL level, who at worst covers for injury for our midfielders and adds pressure for selection on guys in the AFL side.

Both are young enough that IF they show signs of life they've got 5+ years ahead of them, can play AFL from R1 next season, and give us some useful depth and competition for spots.

Given our current list profile is extremely young and inexperienced, improving our best-30 is just as important as improving our best-22. We'll already be adding a Top-5 pick player and Davey Jnr who's also rated as a late first round talent by most which would be expected to improve our future best-22.

Those names tell me it’s absolutely worth it tbh
Agreed
im sure we wouldn't be drafting anyone after the 3rd but aren't we effectively drafting davey/davey/munkara with the points that make up those picks
Depends where the bid comes in for Davey and what happens with pick 22. I would assume Dodoro has a plan for pick 22 and the points if we need them.

2021: Alastair Lord, Garrett McDonagh
2020: No pick, R4 Cody Brand
2019: No pick, R4 Ned Cahill, R5 Lachlan Johnson
2018: No pick, R4 Noah Gown, R5 Brayden Ham
2017: Jordan Houlahan, R4 BZT, R5 Guelfi
2016: Kobe Mutch, R4 Dylan Clarke
2015: Mitch Brown, R5 Yestin Eades, R6, Michael Hartley
2014: No pick, R4 Connor McKenna
2013: Orazio Fantasia, R4 Lauchlan Dalgleish
2012: Marty Gleeson, Dylan Van Unen, R4 Nick Kommer, R5 Sean Gregory

I’m glad someone bought this up, there is certainly some player development, strength and conditioning and I would also say utilisation stuff at play there because there were certainly players in that cohort that could have made it and made it well with a bit of TLC, but having said that if our record with picks in that bracket is so bad there’s very little practical downside in trading that selection for a known commodity.

Getting a readymade key position player in and getting Francis to his desired destination with a minimum of fuss is a win.

Like the Setterfield deal… you only have to look at the depth of midfielders we had running around the in the 2s to know some more competition for playing spots in the guts is a must. Also it gives Caldwell and Hobbs a chop out so we don’t cook their bodies so young… both so combative with their styles.

But Weids I don’t get. Baldwin, Jones, Voss, Cox, Eyre, Reid, Brand and Bryan. We are stocked with developing talls, both forward/back and ruck.

Like the Setterfield deal… you only have to look at the depth of midfielders we had running around the in the 2s to know some more competition for playing spots in the guts is a must. Also it gives Caldwell and Hobbs a chop out so we don’t cook their bodies so young… both so combative with their styles.

But Weids I don’t get. Baldwin, Jones, Voss, Cox, Eyre, Reid, Brand and Bryan. We are stocked with developing talls, both forward/back and ruck.
Yeah, was surprised with Weids. Maybe a backup for Jones when he needs a break, or taking Waterman's spot.

I have Langers as my third fwd.

Anyway, hope we get the small forwards we desperately need.

Those names tell me it’s absolutely worth it tbh
based on our old recruiting regime.
I'd be keen to see what happens with RFK & Mahoney largely in the seat now.

With the trades, I'd be pushing for 42 -> 54 for Weideman & 54 for Setterfield
Keep the F3 from the Swans & our picks intact.

if memory serves, dodo was a part of a small group of recruiters who asked for a special look at Weid draft year because he missed the combine through injury?

Hes like an elephant

im hoping we look at a few DFA options to bolster the VFL midfield.
Don't mind Stocker & Narkle as freebie's.
Bytel also but that link seems to have cooled (could be a late move though)

based on our old recruiting regime.
I'd be keen to see what happens with RFK & Mahoney largely in the seat now.

With the trades, I'd be pushing for 42 -> 54 for Weideman & 54 for Setterfield
Keep the F3 from the Swans & our picks intact.
Nah.

Swans F3 for Francis
Swans F3 for Setterfield, 66 and 68
Our F3 for Weideman and 67

Allows us to potentially trade up to 14/15 with 22 and our F2 or trade into next year come draft night.

In all reality, how many 3rd rounders become serviceable league players?

We lose nothing getting Setterfield and Weideman. At best the change of scenery, role, gameplan (when we get one) will see them in the 22, at worst they provide reasonable depth.

Top 40 draft picks are generally really talented and worth hanging onto.

After that it's a major lottery. More than worth trading.

How do you know if Eyre, brand, mcbride, bryan or Voss are ready unless you TRY THEM
Melbourne tried weideman on many occasions and on most occasions he was not up to it with a lot of footy going inside 50
i hope I am wrong and I sound like a cranky negative bugger which I can be but when will we work out that other Teams off cuts are usually off cuts for a reason? Our coach said we would be the youngest list in the league yet we look to bring in two hack 25 year olds
i would rather throw a round 2 and 3 at Richmond for Jack graham
he would add infinitely more to our side and would honestly be in our top 3 leaders

Well I guess my thoughts are we would have tried them if they were ready.

Weideman has shown a bit. It's not easy to perform consistently when you know you're not getting a regular senior game in the best 22. Wright is testament to that.

I agree with you that Setterfield is a dud, I just think Weideman is worth a punt for a third rounder.

Nah.

Swans F3 for Francis
Swans F3 for Setterfield, 66 and 68
Our F3 for Weideman and 67

Allows us to potentially trade up to 14/15 with 22 and our F2 or trade into next year come draft night.
would anyone trade back now given Brisbane look to have set themselves up for Ashcroft and Fletcher. Not sure how many more picks they can legitimately take to the draft.

Well I guess my thoughts are we would have tried them if they were ready.

Weideman has shown a bit. It's not easy to perform consistently when you know you're not getting a regular senior game in the best 22. Wright is testament to that.

I agree with you that Setterfield is a dud, I just think Weideman is worth a punt for a third rounder.
I reckon both play roles. Do we get 2 Wright-style redemption arcs....I doubt it (Wright was always a super talent)
But I can see Setterfield playing a bit of footy in a role we sorely need him in next year.
Weideman - comes down to where Jones plays and how we structure the fwd line. But he's the semi-mature CHF/2nd ruck we've been looking for (Marshall, Lobb plan C)

Give them both a solid run at it, with support and faith and their confidence will come back.