Recruiting AFL Trade & Free Agency XI - McKay. Goldstein. Gresham. Duursma!

I thought u couldn’t match after the afl awards compensation? Are north and stkilda wanting to know the contract before hand?
You can still match after AFL nominates the Band worth

Welcome Ben 🤠 trade radio saying gold coast pick 11 up for trade for extra points. Any chance we bundle up some 2nd round pick and send there way? And then maybe 8+11 for north pick 3 or is this a bit delusional.
Even if pick 3 wasn't an option I'd still do it if GC are keen.

Wait to see what happens with BZT, Massimo and possibly Shiel still.

Hey Bombers.

I know there's lots of memes/saltiness floating around today about McKay/Pick 3, etc.

But ignoring that all for a sec, I genuinely want to say I reckon you'll be extremely happy with McKay.

He is legitimately good, and he's entering his prime. I think he can be AA-calibre for your mob.

All the best.

This McKay deal was utterly stupid.

and the only thing stupider is Essendon fans clucking around the farm thinking it was a good get.

This club is going nowhere with deals like this. Cant wait til Martin and Ridleys next contract comes for for negotiation. They will take us to the cleaners.

Prove me wrong Ben.

Hey Bombers.

I know there's lots of memes/saltiness floating around today about McKay/Pick 3, etc.

But ignoring that all for a sec, I genuinely want to say I reckon you'll be extremely happy with McKay.

He is legitimately good, and he's entering his prime. I think he can be AA-calibre for your mob.

All the best.

no hes not and no he isnt.

and the only thing stupider is Essendon fans clucking around the farm thinking it was a good get.

This club is going nowhere with deals like this. Cant wait til Martin and Ridleys next contract comes for for negotiation. They will take us to the cleaners.

Prove me wrong Ben.

Gee your a nice little ray of positivity arnt you. Thanks cobber.

Are you doubting our lord and saviour Adrian Dodoro's word??????????????????????

I'm suggesting that there's a predetermination of the comp before lodgement.

Doesn’t impact us in any way, but it doesn’t make sense.

With Doedee, they announced paper work was in, then that Adelaide wasn’t going to match and then what comp would be.

Ben might be shit, but we severely lack depth on his area. We get him for free other than a list spot and he MAY be good. Seems like a no brainer. Am I missing something?

Prove me wrong Ben.

Ben might be s**t, but we severely lack depth on his area. We get him for free other than a list spot and he MAY be good. Seems like a no brainer. Am I missing something?

paying him 800k is not getting him free

Ben might be s**t, but we severely lack depth on his area. We get him for free other than a list spot and he MAY be good. Seems like a no brainer. Am I missing something?

Where are we getting the 'McKay is shit' stuff from?

One of, if not the best intercept markers in the AFL that can play on a man, in his prime, for nothing?

I know we have incredibly high standards here but ****ing hell, tough crowd.

Mate, that is factually incorrect.

When you’ve been the premier full forward of the league for the best part of a decade, and kicked a career 900+ goals and you have a rookie coach tell you to play high half forward/wing so that Jay Neagle is developed at full forward. Why would you stick around? If it was all about money he would’ve played for another club, he wasn’t that old.
Sort of proves my point doesn’t it?

We sort of ask why our players aren’t willing to sacrifice their game for the betterment of the team and you can really trace that back to Lloyd’s leadership.

Knights would have got sacked on his own, he didn’t need an aging Full Forward having a sook to speed things up. His actions have done a lot of damage in my opinion.

I guess that's the advantage of having ample cap space at this point.

Ben comes in on pretty big coin to fill a sorely needed hole. For all we know he's getting 1.2m this year and 600k for the next couple, then **** knows.

It's certainly not worth throwing the toys out of the cot when he's yet to prove himself for us in any way, good or bad.

We have a bucketload of cap space, the CBA is going up drastically over the next couple of years, and we don't tend to have CBA increase clauses in our player contracts. $800k really won't be that much.

The average wage is going up ~ $140k from memory, which means $800k is the new $650k.

I guess that's the advantage of having ample cap space at this point.

Ben comes in on pretty big coin to fill a sorely needed hole. For all we know he's getting 1.2m this year and 600k for the next couple, then * knows.

It's certainly not worth throwing the toys out of the cot when he's yet to prove himself for us in any way, good or bad.

What happens when every other up and coming player comes off their contract and sees McKay running around on 800k? Sets a terrible precedent at a time when we are supposed to be rebuilding. Not paying crap FA's stupid salaries.

We have a bucketload of cap space, the CBA is going up drastically over the next couple of years, and we don't tend to have CBA increase clauses in our player contracts. $800k really won't be that much.

The average wage is going up ~ $140k from memory, which means $800k is the new $650k.

i wouldn't even be paying McKay 650k now lol.

What happens when every other up and coming player comes off their contract and sees McKay running around on 800k? Sets a terrible precedent at a time when we are supposed to be rebuilding. Not paying crap FA's stupid salaries.
We wanted him, we needed to entice him. We're not good enough to simply say "come to us for success".