Mega Thread All Australian Watch: 2011 Cont'd...

Re: All Australian Watch: 2011

Lol, coming from the flog who said cloke wasn't fit to lick rougheads bootlaces last year, good call that one bud. :thumbsu:

There's really no need for the tanty, you're just a compulsive liar who got owned, and you're at it again, take your medicine. :thumbsu:

Wow, did you even read my post.

This one do you mean?

Originally Posted by Pj,Rj,Hj
And if Steven Milne has managed to run on the ball kicked by Lenny Hayes, St Kilda would be premiers. The reality is Josh Kennedy kicked the 10 goals as the biggest contributer to a 120 point massacre not because of it. I find it funny that you are so happy to dismiss such as an achievement nor do you seem aware how it weakens your argument. If Peter Sumich has kicked a goal rather than point in the 1990 QF, Collingwood may not have gone on to the flag. See how stupid it sounds.

Yeah, i did read it, what's your point?

If you can't see the very basic point that you can't excuse reality to back your own agenda then it would be futile explaining it but I'll give it a go.

You dismiss Kennedy kicking 10 goals in a game, yet no one dismisses what Cloke has achieved so far. Let Clokes record peak for itself rather than pissing on Kennedy's record to make Cloke look better. No ordinary player kicks 10 goal in a game this day of age. Cloke may very well turnout to be this years AA CHF but Kennedy is very much in the mix and so far ahead.

If you can't see the very basic point that you can't excuse reality to back your own agenda then it would be futile explaining it but I'll give it a go.

You dismiss Kennedy kicking 10 goals in a game, yet no one dismisses what Cloke has achieved so far. Let Clokes record peak for itself rather than pissing on Kennedy's record to make Cloke look better. No ordinary player kicks 10 goal in a game this day of age. Cloke may very well turnout to be this years AA CHF but Kennedy is very much in the mix and so far ahead.

The games ive seen mate Kennedy has played at FF, lynch has been the lead up CHF (from the games ive watched), so your your saying because your FF is currently the 2nd/3rd what ever best in the comp he should gain AA entry at CHF?

Against Collingwood kennedy was a stay at home FF, when he kicked 10 against the dogs he was a stay at home FF, do you know the difference between the 2 postions?

Fact is mate and it is a fact, kennedy spends a lot more time at FF compared to cloke, and he's averaging 1 goal per game more.

Steve Johnson no where near All Australian at this stage, yes has a good few weeks but was very average in the first part of the season. May be in team at seasons end but just to put it in to perspective, he has kicked just 16 goals. The same as Dane Swan who has been percieved to be out of form/not in the team.

Jake bloody King has kicked more then him. Shouldn't be close in my opinion.

The games ive seen mate Kennedy has played at FF, lynch has been the lead up CHF (from the games ive watched), so your your saying because your FF is currently the 2nd/3rd what ever best in the comp he should gain AA entry at CHF?

Against Collingwood kennedy was a stay at home FF, when he kicked 10 against the dogs he was a stay at home FF, do you know the difference between the 2 postions?

Fact is mate and it is a fact, kennedy spends a lot more time at FF compared to cloke, and he's averaging 1 goal per game more.

Neither are likely to pip Franklin for the FF AA position and both are more than able CHF's, so I don't see what the problem is. It certainly dosn't invalidate my original point. lets leave it till the end of the season to continue the bitch.

Not sure how people are saying Travis Cloke is a lock, I'd have Josh Kennedy ahead at this stage in the year.

Neither are likely to pip Franklin for the FF AA position and both are more than able CHF's, so I don't see what the problem is. It certainly dosn't invalidate my original point. lets leave it till the end of the season to continue the bitch.

Franklin is a CHF.

Still think they'll pick 3 KPFs, franklin plays more as a flanker but he has been the best fwd this year and deserves the CHF spot, cloke in a pkt i suppose ATM.

Pffft. Each player is or should be played according to their strengths and the requirements of the team. If Lance Franklin is a tall flanker (which IMO he isn't) then he is the best by a wide margin. Likewise if he is a CHF, only Riedwoldt could be classified as a better FF (again IMO)

Morris Mcpharlin Shaw
Deledio Fisher Scotland
Murphy Selwood Pendleburry
Fyfe Franklin S.Thompson
Kennedy J.Riewoldt Johnson
Cox Judd Ablett
Sandilands Griffen Thomas Bolton

Both are close enough imo. Griffen easily squad material. I'd have Morris in the top 15 defenders for the year. Selectors picked 11? last year for the squad, so borderline at this stage.

Dogs form isn't helping either though.

Both are close enough imo. Griffen easily squad material. I'd have Morris in the top 15 defenders for the year. Selectors picked 11? last year for the squad, so borderline at this stage.

Dogs form isn't helping either though.

squad is more realistic. usually only 3 tall key defenders get chosen and none on the bench and morris is behind scarlett, jamison, mcpharlin, rutten, glass and maybe fletcher. griffen is behind moloney, judd, pendlebury, thomas, murphy, watson, fyfe, bartel, selwood, swallow, ablett, bolton, boyd, priddis and thompson just off the top of my head. and yes dogs form is another factor altogether.

Hahahaha get your hand off it mate.

i never said they're not having good seasons. i said they aren't currently going to make the AA team, barring major improvement in the second half of the season. btw murphy is leading coach's votes 6 clear, i rate their opinion slightly higher than yours.

Anyone who thinks this guy isn't currently the best CHF in the game needs to watch a bit more football.

cloke_main-200x0.jpg
"The good contested-mark players through the eras have been really strong through the legs and the core. And Travis Cloke’s no different," says Danny Frawley. Photo: Getty Images

Travis Cloke is setting a record-breaking pace.

TRAVIS Cloke is on track for the best season haul of contested marks since this modern measurement of mastery was first recorded. Yet his domination of the air is not simply a matter of the modern game playing into his gifted hands.

As noted by Anthony Rocca, who tutors his marking, and Danny Frawley, who spent a career trying to stop the Clokes of the day, his arms are merely reaping the rewards for the power of his legs.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...of-the-pack-20110608-1ft6w.html#ixzz1OjyYeB1W

''The good contested-mark players through the eras have been really strong through the legs and the core,'' Frawley says, citing former teammates Tony Lockett and Stewart Loewe, and sparring partners Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett snr and Wayne Carey as players who held their man at bay using strength rooted more in their lower than upper bodies. ''And Travis Cloke's no different.''
Rocca sees a ''big, strong man'' with endurance who ranks up with the best at the AFL's premier club. ''That helps him immensely, being able to maintain that power and energy needed to get his opponent out of position,'' he says.
Cloke is doing so better than ever. Having led all-comers last season - his 57 beat Jack Riewoldt by three, despite playing two fewer games - he has 42 from 10 games this year, on pace to smash Matthew Richardson's 1999 haul of 75 and threaten triple figures for the season.
Richo remembers a five-or-six-week stretch in that winter of '99 when ''it felt like I could mark anything''. He sees the same belief in Cloke, a footballer who marries natural marking ability to enormous aerial confidence. ''It's hitting his hands and going in, and you do get in form like that, where everything seems to stick,'' says Richardson, who led the AFL in ''clunking'' the ball under pressure on four occasions.
Frawley rates Cloke and Jonathan Brown the two best marks in the competition, the Lions' captain despite a paucity of opportunities relative to his Magpie foe. Brown works on his marking with Jade Rawlings, who used to mentor Richardson at Punt Road; even for the best in the business, there is always room for improvement.
''It's just repetition at training, all about making sure that once you get your hands to the ball it sticks in your hands, no matter what pressure you have on you,'' Richardson says. ''The more balls you get in your hands the better, and come game day they'd stick, you wouldn't double-grab anything.''
Rocca admits modern practices have tempered the big blokes going head-to-head on the training track, but the pair still put time into beefing up Cloke's asset. When Rocca jokes that his own competition-best 58 contested grabs in his career twilight of 2007 came ''because I couldn't get around'', he hits upon a point Richardson makes about the game's biggest marks: the more contests you're in, the more you're going to take.
In this regard, Collingwood and Cloke are a perfect match. ''They're prepared to kick to contests in their forward line more than most teams. They kick to a spot and let [Chris] Dawes and Cloke have an opportunity to compete,'' Richardson says.
Leigh Brown can be in the mix too, yet Rocca says the Pie forwards have their ''starting positions'' down pat and know how to stay out of each other's way. ''There's not a third man up, and he [Cloke] can compete one-on-one a lot.''
The Magpies' great benefit of sharing the aerial load eases the target man's mind. ''The world isn't on your shoulders thinking, 'If the ball comes in, it's only me who can mark it'.''
The power to mark makes a player predictable to teammates, who trust that only one of two things will happen when you are on the end of an attack: a mark, or a spillage that brings the crumbers to the fore. In this, Frawley wonders if someone like Andrew Krakouer would actually be playing even better if only Cloke would drop more marks.
Frawley thinks an improved team like Melbourne could win four more games a season if it had a Travis Cloke, a player who can win or halve a contest on the end of a ''bail-out'' kick down the line. He knows from brow-furrowing experience how hard they are to play on. ''You've actually got to play off them a little bit, like a boxer who's sparring, keeping arm's length away, on your toes,'' he says.
''They want to engage, and you don't want to engage, so that at the last second you can use a leap and a spoil to get the ball away.''
Trouble is, as Cloke and Brown show today, and the forward athletes like Loewe and Carey did so well before them, defenders need similarly big engines lest they be run off their legs by an opponent who senses weakness, seeks body contact, and moves in for the kill.
''They basically just engage you, and they're so good at reading the drop of the ball and protecting the drop zone,'' Frawley says. ''Once they've engaged you in a war of body strength, there's not much you can do.''

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/clokes-the-leader-of-the-pack-20110608-1ft6w.html

Anyone who thinks this guy isn't currently the best CHF in the game needs to watch a bit more football.

He's the best contested mark for a long time. Doesn't mean his the best CHF. Franklin plays CHF and is superior to Cloke in almost every statistical category, to go along with 4 more BOGs this year than Cloke.

Nick Riewoldt & Johnno Brown are much, much better players than Cloke when fit and in form. Josh Kennedy is about Clokes equal currently, but would prefer Kennedy as he has more scoreboard impact, a lot more.

cloke_main-200x0.jpg
"The good contested-mark players through the eras have been really strong through the legs and the core. And Travis Cloke’s no different," says Danny Frawley. Photo: Getty Images

Travis Cloke is setting a record-breaking pace.

TRAVIS Cloke is on track for the best season haul of contested marks since this modern measurement of mastery was first recorded. Yet his domination of the air is not simply a matter of the modern game playing into his gifted hands.

As noted by Anthony Rocca, who tutors his marking, and Danny Frawley, who spent a career trying to stop the Clokes of the day, his arms are merely reaping the rewards for the power of his legs.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...of-the-pack-20110608-1ft6w.html#ixzz1OjyYeB1W

''The good contested-mark players through the eras have been really strong through the legs and the core,'' Frawley says, citing former teammates Tony Lockett and Stewart Loewe, and sparring partners Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett snr and Wayne Carey as players who held their man at bay using strength rooted more in their lower than upper bodies. ''And Travis Cloke's no different.''
Rocca sees a ''big, strong man'' with endurance who ranks up with the best at the AFL's premier club. ''That helps him immensely, being able to maintain that power and energy needed to get his opponent out of position,'' he says.
Cloke is doing so better than ever. Having led all-comers last season - his 57 beat Jack Riewoldt by three, despite playing two fewer games - he has 42 from 10 games this year, on pace to smash Matthew Richardson's 1999 haul of 75 and threaten triple figures for the season.
Richo remembers a five-or-six-week stretch in that winter of '99 when ''it felt like I could mark anything''. He sees the same belief in Cloke, a footballer who marries natural marking ability to enormous aerial confidence. ''It's hitting his hands and going in, and you do get in form like that, where everything seems to stick,'' says Richardson, who led the AFL in ''clunking'' the ball under pressure on four occasions.
Frawley rates Cloke and Jonathan Brown the two best marks in the competition, the Lions' captain despite a paucity of opportunities relative to his Magpie foe. Brown works on his marking with Jade Rawlings, who used to mentor Richardson at Punt Road; even for the best in the business, there is always room for improvement.
''It's just repetition at training, all about making sure that once you get your hands to the ball it sticks in your hands, no matter what pressure you have on you,'' Richardson says. ''The more balls you get in your hands the better, and come game day they'd stick, you wouldn't double-grab anything.''
Rocca admits modern practices have tempered the big blokes going head-to-head on the training track, but the pair still put time into beefing up Cloke's asset. When Rocca jokes that his own competition-best 58 contested grabs in his career twilight of 2007 came ''because I couldn't get around'', he hits upon a point Richardson makes about the game's biggest marks: the more contests you're in, the more you're going to take.
In this regard, Collingwood and Cloke are a perfect match. ''They're prepared to kick to contests in their forward line more than most teams. They kick to a spot and let [Chris] Dawes and Cloke have an opportunity to compete,'' Richardson says.
Leigh Brown can be in the mix too, yet Rocca says the Pie forwards have their ''starting positions'' down pat and know how to stay out of each other's way. ''There's not a third man up, and he [Cloke] can compete one-on-one a lot.''
The Magpies' great benefit of sharing the aerial load eases the target man's mind. ''The world isn't on your shoulders thinking, 'If the ball comes in, it's only me who can mark it'.''
The power to mark makes a player predictable to teammates, who trust that only one of two things will happen when you are on the end of an attack: a mark, or a spillage that brings the crumbers to the fore. In this, Frawley wonders if someone like Andrew Krakouer would actually be playing even better if only Cloke would drop more marks.
Frawley thinks an improved team like Melbourne could win four more games a season if it had a Travis Cloke, a player who can win or halve a contest on the end of a ''bail-out'' kick down the line. He knows from brow-furrowing experience how hard they are to play on. ''You've actually got to play off them a little bit, like a boxer who's sparring, keeping arm's length away, on your toes,'' he says.
''They want to engage, and you don't want to engage, so that at the last second you can use a leap and a spoil to get the ball away.''
Trouble is, as Cloke and Brown show today, and the forward athletes like Loewe and Carey did so well before them, defenders need similarly big engines lest they be run off their legs by an opponent who senses weakness, seeks body contact, and moves in for the kill.
''They basically just engage you, and they're so good at reading the drop of the ball and protecting the drop zone,'' Frawley says. ''Once they've engaged you in a war of body strength, there's not much you can do.''

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/clokes-the-leader-of-the-pack-20110608-1ft6w.html

Seems to have shut up all the haters.

On track to beat the all time record for contested marks, but apparently Kennedy is still having a better season. pfft.

What a joke!