Mega Thread All Australian Watch: 2011 Cont'd...

So does Reid, he averages 0.8 less marks a game than McPharlin, exactly the same amount as Fisher and more than Scarlett and Jamison. Given he is also having far more spoils than any of them - thats a pretty good stat.

Stats schmats though, I still reckon McPharlin and Fisher are the standouts and they do lead all key defenders in contested marks, which is more important, Reid is third in that stat.

are the stats on the AFL site reliable?

when you search spoils, Merrett unsurprisingly has a huge lead with 132, Gibson 103 with Reid and Tarrant = 3rd on 82. It features a Top 25, down to 56 spoils and none of McPharlin, Jamison, Scarlett or Fisher feature on the list.

Probably becuase those blokes are good enough to mark the ball instead of spoiling.

How about Johncock? He must be close to selection. The guy is pushing you know what uphill at present and is doing a great job.

Good call. Easy to be a defender when you play for a top team where every forward entry is pressured. Playing for a team like the Crows who get killed in the clearances every game must be a nightmare as a defender.

we're looking at 2011. The top 2 this year are Merrett and Gibson, which doesn't come as a great surprise. The fact that Tarrant and Reid sit equal 3rd kind of puts to bed the argument that they never have to spoil or defend because they play for Collingwood though, especially when you also consider that Reid is #3 for total intercept marks, #2 of key defenders for marks and #3 of key defenders for contested marks.

I wouldn't personally put him in the AA side ahead of Fisher or McPharlin, but basically there isn't a single stat Jamison leads Reid in, except that he has had 5 less goals kicked on him (and has also played 3 less games) - so Carlton flogs declaring him a lock and dismissing Reid are foolish.

As I've said all along, wouldn't personally pick either of them though.

Hahaha, after 40-50 pages of similar debate about the full backs in the other thread, here we all are, 16 pages into the new All-Aust thread and we're still focused on the full backs.

The same thing happens every year: an inordinate number of words written about the least skilled players in contention, the spoilers on the last line of defence.

I've also noticed an absurd number of threads about who is better: Lake or Scarlett, Rutten or Glass, Silvagni or Langford, Scarlett or Fletcher, Fletcher or Silvagni, Scarlett or Silvagni,..... On and on and on

People are fascinated with the full backs here on Big Footy. Pity the poor CHBs who fade into obscurity: Jakovich, Knights, Glendinning, Leppitsch, Mew, Cornes, Roos.... Where is the love for these guys?

Personally, I couldn't much of a toss. McPharlin, Merrett, Rutten, Glass, Jamison, Gibson, Reid, Tarrant, Grundy, Lonergan, Taylor.... They're all okay. I'd be happy to have any of them. They all do a basic job: stay with key forward, punch ball away and stop him from kicking goals.

Along with the midfield taggers, these guys are the least interesting footballers I can think of.

Anyhoo, carry on with the discussion. Don't mind me. :D

Hahaha, after 40-50 pages of similar debate about the full backs in the other thread, here we all are, 16 pages into the new All-Aust thread and we're still focused on the full backs.

The same thing happens every year: an inordinate number of words written about the least skilled players in contention, the spoilers on the last line of defence.

I've also noticed an absurd number of threads about who is better: Lake or Scarlett, Rutten or Glass, Silvagni or Langford, Scarlett or Fletcher, Fletcher or Silvagni, Scarlett or Silvagni,..... On and on and on

People are fascinated with ge full backs here on Big Footy. Personally, I couldn't much of a toss. McPharlin, Merrett, Rutten, Glass, Jamison, Gibson, Reid, Tarrant, Grundy, Lonergan, Taylor.... They're all okay. I'd be happy to have any of them. They all do a basic job: stay with key forward, punch ball away and stop him from kicking goals.

Along with the midfield taggers, these guys are the least interesting footballers I can think of.

Anyhoo, carry on with the discussion. Don't mind me. :D

over-simplistic assessment of a modern KD's brief, Chewy .

I'll have a quick go at it..

B: Shaw Jamison Scarlett
HB: Fisher McPharlin Kelly
C: Thomas Watson Murphy
HF: Ablett Cloke Swan
F: Walker Franklin S Johnson
R: Cox Pendlebury Judd
I: Sandilands Mitchell Fyfe J Riewoldt

E:
Kennedy
Deledio
Swallow

the only saint who could possibly make the cut currently would be Sam Fisher. and that all depends on a few other picks!

I'll have a quick go at it..

B: Shaw Jamison Scarlett
HB: Fisher McPharlin Kelly
C: Thomas Watson Murphy
HF: Ablett Cloke Swan
F: Walker Franklin S Johnson
R: Cox Pendlebury Judd
I: Sandilands Mitchell Fyfe J Riewoldt

E:
Kennedy
Deledio
Swallow

No offence but he would not make the cut on current form. Could easily put himself in during the second half though.

Averaging close to 30 touches a game and has kicked 16 goals. He actually had 3 or 4 BOGs earlier in the year but since then has obviously been hampered by injury but would definitely not look out of place on a HFF even if the team was named now.

God I hope they don't have an All Australian sub. It'll be the 22nd best player and we'll be drowned under a sea of "Jeez he'd be a handy sub".

By his standards no, by AFL standards he wouldn't look out of place in the forward line. 16 goals this year and overall has had a better season than guys like Garlett, Walker, Riewoldt etc.

Probably get shot down but look past the goal tally.

I personally think Watson's on the outer at the moment and has to work his way back in. Which he's clearly good enough to do. This side is taking into account time out in the coming weeks (i.e. Selwood, Mundy, Merrett, Roughead not considered and Sandilands' chances are damaged)

B: M. Scarlett, M. Jamison, C. Enright
HB: S. Fisher, L. McPharlin, H. Shaw
C: M. Murphy, S. Mitchell, G. Ablett
HF: C. Sylvia, T. Cloke, S. Johnson,
F: J. Riewoldt, L. Franklin, A. Walker
R: D. Cox, S. Pendlebury, C. Judd
I/C: B. Ottens, N. Fyfe, D. Thomas, B. Moloney

If they name a sub for the AA team, I will break things.

I personally think Watson's on the outer at the moment and has to work his way back in. Which he's clearly good enough to do. This side is taking into account time out in the coming weeks (i.e. Selwood, Mundy, Merrett, Roughead not considered and Sandilands' chances are damaged)

B: M. Scarlett, M. Jamison, C. Enright
HB: S. Fisher, L. McPharlin, H. Shaw
C: M. Murphy, S. Mitchell, G. Ablett
HF: C. Sylvia, T. Cloke, S. Johnson,
F: J. Riewoldt, L. Franklin, A. Walker
R: D. Cox, S. Pendlebury, C. Judd
I/C: B. Ottens, N. Fyfe, D. Thomas, B. Moloney

If they name a sub for the AA team, I will break things.

Jamison - Been very good this year, but probably your bias showing.

Enright - Was very good early and still been good but having his worst season in years.

Ottens - Probably your worst call, ruckman like Goldy or Mumford would get the nod ahead of him.

Fyfe - Been awesome for a young player but there are many than deserve a spot before him.

Moloney - Once again been awesome but many players that have been just a little bit better.

Enright - Was very good early and still been good but having his worst season in years.

Agree. Wouldn't have him in calculations at this stage. Adcock has been poor lately and looks set to miss a game/games with an injury so he will drop out of the frame. Shaw was really poor on the weekend under a tag, had no influence. Still probably has a spot in the team.

IN: Deledio OUT: Enright

we're looking at 2011. The top 2 this year are Merrett and Gibson, which doesn't come as a great surprise. The fact that Tarrant and Reid sit equal 3rd kind of puts to bed the argument that they never have to spoil or defend because they play for Collingwood though, especially when you also consider that Reid is #3 for total intercept marks, #2 of key defenders for marks and #3 of key defenders for contested marks.

I wouldn't personally put him in the AA side ahead of Fisher or McPharlin, but basically there isn't a single stat Jamison leads Reid in, except that he has had 5 less goals kicked on him (and has also played 3 less games) - so Carlton flogs declaring him a lock and dismissing Reid are foolish.

As I've said all along, wouldn't personally pick either of them though.

Jamison averages 0.1 more contested marks and 1 less 1%ers per game.

Jamison - Been very good this year, but probably your bias showing.
????

Ottens - Probably your worst call, ruckman like Goldy or Mumford would get the nod ahead of him.

Fyfe - Been awesome for a young player but there are many than deserve a spot before him.

Moloney - Once again been awesome but many players that have been just a little bit better.

That's fine...but let's see your team. And if you think Mumford has had a better year than Ottens, well I don't know what to tell you.

I'm not sure what more Fyfe and Moloney have to do to earn a spot. And Enright hasn't had his greatest year, but there aren't that many others who are kicking the door down for a back pocket spot.

Pretending to be a Geelong supporter all these years MC. :p

I feel ashamed for using a smiley...

Fyfe has been awesome this year. Enright bouncing back last week after an average few. Was his usual self early on but Scotland, Deledio and Shaw are the only three I would say are definitely ahead imo. Robert Murphy seems to be getting lost in the big picture, very good year despite the Dogs form.

Ottens, probably 5th in line for me. Mumford missing games is hurting him now, but based on games played I'd still have Mumford ahead. Goldstein as well. Wouldn't even bother with a second ruck at this stage.