Injury All things COVID-19 - including the impact on Season 2020

What’s with the mixed messaging from federal and state governments?
This is where the feds need to be the central voice of authority, not the states.

All the states are so different , from the date of school holidays to population location. The hospitals are all run by the states, I presume they are doing their own projections on what they may face in 2 , 4 weeks time. As it stands it seems NSW and Vic have the biggest numbers.

From a legislative POV , I don't think the fed gov has the last say atm. It will be something that gets looked at after this ...

For all the retailers and fat cats at the top end of town there are as many fat cat trade unionists wanting their slice of ill gotten gains when Labor get in. Both as corrupt as each other.

What's the difference between union corruption verses white collar corruption? Millions verses billions. That's a big difference.

This is where the feds need to be the central voice of authority, not the states.

I'm figuring the states were waiting on the federal government to do something similar, but since they were dragging their heels, the states thought "Stuff it, we'll do it ourselves."

The Federal government was dragging their feet so the State governments decided it was time to take control of their states

Guessing that the Federal governments rules are the minimum we'll see across the country - what all states just abide by, but the states are taking steps further when they don't believe that the national ones are going far enough

Reports this morning suggest that Victoria will still be implementing further shutdown measures from Wednesday then what was said last night - so it's a wait & see at the moment

The Federal government was dragging their feet so the State governments decided it was time to take control of their states

Guessing that the Federal governments rules are the minimum we'll see across the country - what all states just abide by, but the states are taking steps further when they don't believe that the national ones are going far enough

Reports this morning suggest that Victoria will still be implementing further shutdown measures from Wednesday then what was said last night - so it's a wait & see at the moment
Looks like victoria is now following what the government said last night. No state lock down. Did the federal government step in and smack down the state government?

This isn't the time for mixed messaging. The federal government should be controlling what is happening here with the coronavirus, not individual states pushing forward with their own ideas. All it has done is resulted in confusion. Heaps of people wondering if they will need to go to work on tuesday.

The newspapers are running with statewide lockdown headlines when that's not even true. It's getting ridiculous and confusing.

It's only restaurants, cafes, bars, pubs, gyms, movie theaters etc that are closing. Exemptions are for those restaurants and cafes that do take away and home delivery, and bottleshops.

Normally can't stand the guy, but credit where credits due and at the moment Clive Palmer has stepped up & using his wealth to help Australians -

Clive Palmer has pledged to fund the manufacturing or purchase of one million doses of a malaria drug that, according to early studies, could help to prevent or reduce the severity of Covid-19.

In a statement released today the billionaire, who had his assets frozen by the Supreme Court in 2018 after Queensland Nickel collapsed, said he agreed to fund the drug called Hydroxychloroquine.

Palmer has enlisted Brisbane pharmacist Jeremey Sheridan to lead the effort in which he will oversee the large-scale manufacturing of Hydroxychloroquine in Australia and the acquisition of the drug as soon as possible...

...Palmer said the move would result in over 30,000,000 doses being placed in the National Health Stockpile.

“I will spend whatever it takes and do the best that I can to ensure that when the time comes, we as Australians can respond to the challenge that faces us all," he said.

He then underscored that there are many other Australians besides him who can help provide financial support to the medical and health care industry.

When asked if he was concerned that the millions of dollars he was committing to fight Covid-19 might not achieve all that he hoped, Palmer said: “If we are wrong, I lose some money, but if we are right we may save the lives of thousands of our citizens. Australia must move now with urgency.”

I know right. Dunno what's going on. Was getting ready for lockdown yesterday.
Now is allright?

They are useless spazz lol

All I think of now is that labour ad "Scott Morrison Top End of Town" 😂😂😂😂😂

It's just full confusion across the board, was speaking to the vic manager of a recycling company yesterday and he doesn't even know if they close down or stay open. His assumption was if the tradies kept going so would they. So much non-essential work happening lol drove past centrelink and assumed a comet was coming directly for Australia and everyone needed cash to relocate to the other side of the world

Anyone else get a phone call from the footy club asking for money for a raffle ticket.
I am shocked they would do this. I understand they are going to be hurt by this. But there plenty of people out there like myself who are being hit hard financially by this. I’ve paid a lot of money for a membership that I may not even get to use now they want more.
I think it a poor look and a bit insensitive. Poor timing.

Well so far I know that I still have my job to go back to & all staff have just been stood down for the next 4 weeks, Who know's how long it could go for & I'm pretty grateful I'll be able to receive an income through the government to cover any lost income for up to the next 6 months if it's drawn out longer.

It's crazy seeing how long some of the line's are back on the mainland compared to what was happening in Launceston this morning, It only took about 40 mins before I was assisted by a Centrelink staff member.

One last point before washing the hands - today's announcement that those in hardship can touch up to $20,000 of super.

This has always been the wishes of those in power - the banks, the corps, the 1% the landowners, the IPA - to drain the coffers of worker's retirements.

Beware of those in power who use a crisis to benefit their own pockets.
You forget those in power like Labor here and many states. Politics doesn't matter anymore just power

Probably a very silly idea but here goes:
We play the 2020 fixtures with replays of games from say the last 20 years, so for round 2 the home side official from Richmond picks out of a hat one game of Richmond V Collingwood that has been played over the past 20 years The same for Sydney V Essendon , Carlton V Bulldogs and so on. The games could be replayed at their normal broadcast times by Foxtel and Ch 7, the results could make up a fantasy ladder.
Would be very good for the elderly like me who are battling to remember games from last year!

From the AFL:

On Monday, less than 24 hours after Gillon McLachlan announced the season would be suspended for at least 10 weeks, the AFL took its first steps to see out the period.

Up to 80 per cent of staff at the league’s headquarters and its 18 clubs will be forced to take leave - unpaid for a large majority - or lose their jobs entirely.

The 20 per cent who will continue to work will suffer pay cuts.

Each club retains some control over their staffing choices but the AFL will influence decisions, while football departments and administration staff are expected to be equally affected.

AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan has confirmed the league will seek lines of credit with its financial partners after acknowledging the $60 million believed to be in its ‘future fund’ will not last.

Players will be asked to take pay cuts but to what extent remains unknown, while the 18 senior coaches have already volunteered to slice 20 per cent off their wages.

Expect announcements from the NRL & A-league today or tomorrow that their seasons are suspended - QLD the latest state to close their borders

Time to shut up shop and spend time at home with the family

No coincidence that both the NRL and A-League are on extremely shaky ground financially, and are both now dragged kicking and screaming to the table to potentially embrace some common sense and a scintilla of community spirit.

The way the craven financial interests of these codes has been elevated above public safety is frankly embarrassing. But certainly not unexpected.

I see it as entirely apt that the NRL has a club called the Cowboys. If it wasn't the name of a particular club, it would be a very fitting name for the entire organisation.

Expect announcements from the NRL & A-league today or tomorrow that their seasons are suspended - QLD the latest state to close their borders

Time to shut up shop and spend time at home with the family

Seriously...

Considering that BT is meant to be in isolation this isn't a good look and even worse to be promoted by 7AFL

If anyone on here ends up in isolation as a precaution, please don't be a dick like BT

and everyday life is trying to get away from him too just like everyone else does.

GO Catters

Normally can't stand the guy, but credit where credits due and at the moment Clive Palmer has stepped up & using his wealth to help Australians -

Clive Palmer has pledged to fund the manufacturing or purchase of one million doses of a malaria drug that, according to early studies, could help to prevent or reduce the severity of Covid-19.

In a statement released today the billionaire, who had his assets frozen by the Supreme Court in 2018 after Queensland Nickel collapsed, said he agreed to fund the drug called Hydroxychloroquine.

Palmer has enlisted Brisbane pharmacist Jeremey Sheridan to lead the effort in which he will oversee the large-scale manufacturing of Hydroxychloroquine in Australia and the acquisition of the drug as soon as possible...

...Palmer said the move would result in over 30,000,000 doses being placed in the National Health Stockpile.

“I will spend whatever it takes and do the best that I can to ensure that when the time comes, we as Australians can respond to the challenge that faces us all," he said.

He then underscored that there are many other Australians besides him who can help provide financial support to the medical and health care industry.

When asked if he was concerned that the millions of dollars he was committing to fight Covid-19 might not achieve all that he hoped, Palmer said: “If we are wrong, I lose some money, but if we are right we may save the lives of thousands of our citizens. Australia must move now with urgency.”

Maybe he has been thinking about Gates and Buffett or Carneggie or Rockefeller etc.. you can't take it with you.

Anyone else get a phone call from the footy club asking for money for a raffle ticket.
I am shocked they would do this. I understand they are going to be hurt by this. But there plenty of people out there like myself who are being hit hard financially by this. I’ve paid a lot of money for a membership that I may not even get to use now they want more.
I think it a poor look and a bit insensitive. Poor timing.
Wow. They're forcing you to buy a raffle ticket. That's terrible.

The NRL is set imminently suspend the 2020 season sources confirm.

The NRL were thrashing out a variety of options on Monday including splitting the competition into conferences.

In the end, the Queensland Government closing the borders and the advice of the Federal Government chief medical officer Brendan Murphy forced the NRL’s hand.