Mega Thread All Things Tom Scully - Part II: "We can't lose Tom"

I'd rather see him go than pay him 600k per year! If he fulfils his potential I'd be happy for the club to pay him 600k in 3 or 4 years.

Cheers mate.
I for one strongly agree that Tom isnt worth $600k a year atm.. BUT if all the hype and excitment about him eventuates, Tom will be worth $600k per year in 3 years time regardless. So, i would be quite understanding if the club do decide to overpay him for the next few years in return of him staying and becoming the next superstar of the competition. Its a small price to pay.

hahah maybe...

lol, wouldnt be wrapped if i was your husband and u answered 'maybe'

back on topic though if melbourne even pays scully 600000 ill consider changing clubs, because scully is not worth that money and he will no doubt piss of the entire club if he accepts an offer of that much money.. there is no melbourne player worth that much frawley is the closest...

i hate tom scully

back on topic though if melbourne even pays scully 600000 ill consider changing clubs, because scully is not worth that money and he will no doubt piss of the entire club if he accepts an offer of that much money.. there is no melbourne player worth that much frawley is the closest...

i hate tom scully

Hating a Melbourne player, maybe Melbourne doesn't want you

Scully is a freak, players like Judd, N.Riewoldt, J.Brown and Pavlich get paid more than $900000, Sandilands and Goodes get more than $800000, there were 25 players last year that got paid more than $500000, none were from Melbourne, Fev was one of them even with Browns huge contract, $600000 for Scully who is going to be our best player in a couple of years is worth paying, if he turns out as good as Judd then we are probably under paying him.

Sorry Bruce got paid between $500000 and $600000 last year and Scully is better than him, this year we have none.

The article Biff posted is spot on.

Mark Stevens i applaud you.

Ive been saying it since day one, Scully isnt the damaging player a number one pick should be. Martin is damaging. Fyfe is damaging. Watching Scully at U/18 level he never reminded me of anything other than Luke Power with better endurance. (i still shake my head at our recruiting staff, did you know that we didnt even interview Dustin Martin before the draft despite his domination of the under 18 carnival that year! Mind blowing stuff)

His kicking barely falls into the 'good' category. No doubt he is great at winning clearances and can run like few others. But he is 'easily' replaced.

Midfielders are a dime a dozen. If James Frawley was leaving us i would be devastated. Scully isnt worth the money being offered to him by Melbourne let alone GWS, in no way shape or form.

I honestly dont want him here next year, not for the money we are offering, he simply isnt worth it.

Sylvia, Frawley, Jamar, Moloney, Trengove and Watts are the guys who deserve the bigger bucks at our club. Not a guy who has played 27 injury plagued games.

Please Tom, do our club a huge favour and take the cash up north. :thumbsu:

Agree x 100000. It's gotten to the point I want him to leave.

Hating a Melbourne player, maybe Melbourne doesn't want you

Scully is a freak, players like Judd, N.Riewoldt, J.Brown and Pavlich get paid more than $900000, Sandilands and Goodes get more than $800000, there were 25 players last year that got paid more than $500000, none were from Melbourne, Fev was one of them even with Browns huge contract, $600000 for Scully who is going to be our best player in a couple of years is worth paying, if he turns out as good as Judd then we are probably under paying him.

Sorry Bruce got paid between $500000 and $600000 last year and Scully is better than him, this year we have none.

i love melbourne, hate scully, he is not a melbourne player, he is a mercenary wearing the melbourne jumper.. i dont care how 'good' he is supposed to be it saddens me to see all you guys bending over to his demands and i beg and pray the footy club dont make the same **** up

your deluded if ure putting scully in with those guys
trengove is in front of him, as is frawley, and watts is just as important

so now on your logic next yr we are paying scully 600,000, watts 550.000 trenners 700,000 and frawley 900,000... ridicolous

i love melbourne, hate scully, he is not a melbourne player, he is a mercenary wearing the melbourne jumper.. i dont care how 'good' he is supposed to be it saddens me to see all you guys bending over to his demands and i beg and pray the footy club dont make the same **** up

so now on your logic next yr we are paying scully 600,000, watts 550.000 trenners 700,000 and frawley 900,000... ridicolous

LOL what demands? How has Scully done anything wrong? The only thing he has said about this whole affair is the he wants to wait until the end of the year until he negotiates his future.

You're honestly quite pathetic.

LOL what demands? How has Scully done anything wrong? The only thing he has said about this whole affair is the he wants to wait until the end of the year until he negotiates his future.

You're honestly quite pathetic.

he and his manager have allowed gws to push up the melbourne contract offer way above his worth by not denying scullys interest at possibly moving

pathetic? have you seen jack viney today mate? tell us about that again i havent read about it in the last 15 mins

he and his manager have allowed gws to push up the melbourne contract offer way above his worth by not denying scullys interest at possibly moving

pathetic? have you seen jack viney today mate? tell us about that again i havent read about it in the last 15 mins

Yeah because you actually work at the club don't you? How do you know that Melbourne are actually offering Scully 600k behind closed doors? And Scully is entitled to earn whatever the MFC feels he is worth. If they didn't think he should be paid 600k, they wouldn't have supposedly offered it to him. And I much rather their judgement to yours. They won't offer him anymore than they do, and I'll respect their decision as they will have obviously sat down and discussed front loading of payment, etc. They've told Scully that he will earn just as much or more playing for the MFC over his career and he must also be waiting for them to fully explain their proposal to him

Yup typical, call me out for actually showing interest in a young MFC player, which you definitely aren't doing. And all I did was post that in two threads on here anyway.

Each club has shit supporters and unfortunately you happen to be part of ours.

Yeah because you actually work at the club don't you?

How do you know that Melbourne are actually offering Scully 600k behind closed doors? And Scully is entitled to earn whatever the MFC feels he is worth. If they didn't think he should be paid 600k, they wouldn't have supposedly offered it to him. And I much rather their judgement to yours. They won't offer him anymore than they do, and I'll respect their decision as they will have obviously sat down and discussed front loading of payment, etc. They've told Scully that he will earn just as much or more playing for the MFC over his career and he must also be waiting for them to fully explain their proposal to him

Yup typical, call me out for actually showing interest in a young MFC player, which you definitely aren't doing. And all I did was post that in two threads on here anyway.

Each club has shit supporters and unfortunately you happen to be part of ours.

you do 'work experience' good on ya mate youve made that clear in every thread possible

im basing that on the fact that those figures have been posted on the melbourne website and not rejected at any stage by the MFC officials..

im interested in every single melbourne player who is commited to the cause and scully doesnt look like he is one of them,

also despite being told numerous times that scullys character is of the highest order and in his own words why he would stay at melbourne and not take the money' it comes down to your values'
you then go on to say in your post that they are making sure scully is sure he will be financially the same off at melb as he will GWS, the kid wants money simple as that, i would respect him more if he cut the crap and admitted thats what he was looking at, not having his manager leak bullshit about the administration and so on

Haha work experience has nothing to do with it, I'm just not ready to make assumptions about an organisation that I respect. If you had any common sense, you'd realise they wouldn't tell a bunch of teenagers anything about Tom Scully anyway.

Hmm because Tom Scully has been part of our best in each of the games he has played this year coming off a knee injury. He's looked 100% driven to help us win, which is more than I can say for a bunch of our senior players. Oh and he wants to put his contract off to the end of the year. That must mean he isn't 'committed to the cause'.

Of course he wants money, that's why most people work a job. Especially in footy, where a career could be cut short by anything and you have very little training to do anything afterwards.

But I don't expect you to understand any of that. You've clearly made up your mind based off the opinions of attention seeking journalists, and the term propaganda was made to describe people like you.

Trengove and Stynes are happy to take him at his word. That's enough for me too, until Tom says something.

i hate tom scully

Piss of now then. We don't need supporters like you at the club.

Tom Scully = Lose nickgrant69 as a supporter and 600k a year

He's looked 100% driven to help us win, which is more than I can say for a bunch of our senior players

Where do I sign?

lol and then lose frawley, or watts, or trengove or another player in the future when they all request contracts that match scully and the dees cant afford it ... or maybe we wont cuz they dont play for cash

CowboyFromHellRe: All Things Tom Scully - Part II: "We can't lose Tom"
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickgrant69

i hate tom scully

Piss of now then. We don't need supporters like you at the club

not hard to suck one of you blokes in is it

i can agree with ya on the senior blokes, but how can the MFC justify paying scully a higher wage than sylvia as just one of the many examples

That's why you front load contracts. Pay Scully most of his money now so that there's enough to go around later.

lol and then lose frawley, or watts, or trengove or another player in the future when they all request contracts that match scully and the dees cant afford it ... or maybe we wont cuz they dont play for cash

CowboyFromHellRe: All Things Tom Scully - Part II: "We can't lose Tom"
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickgrant69

i hate tom scully

Piss of now then. We don't need supporters like you at the club

not hard to suck one of you blokes in is it

i can agree with ya on the senior blokes, but how can the MFC justify paying scully a higher wage than sylvia as just one of the many examples

You struggle to comprehend the salary cap, front loading and back ending contracts can make the world of difference in retaining players.

Just because Scully would earn $600,000 does not mean we will lose anybody, just that the club would have to maneuver around other players contract payments.

Look at Judd, he's on $900,000 a season not including his Visy deals and yet Carlton have kept Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer, etc.

Sylvia could bitch and moan all he wants about Scully making more than him but that's Col's own fault, if he got some consistency into his game he could get the big pay day. He doesn't warrant $600,000 a season either.

That's why you front load contracts. Pay Scully most of his money now so that there's enough to go around later.

i understand the concept of front loading but heres an example
we front load sculls contract and pay him 1 million in his first year then 2 million over 4, which averages to 600,000

2 things happen from there,
1. even though were underpaying him later, we still have to resign numerous younger players on higher wages and they will all have the right to request contracts in the vicinity of scully.. i mean james frawley when he sits down for his next deal can say he is an AA, sculls doesnt even have a top 5 b n f, so what do we pay frawley??, and its been shown that collingwood and geelong were only able to hold premiership lists together because the majority of the players shaved numbers off there contracts ..

2. its only natural that scully will then be given a pay rise after his next contract , which leaves even less money in the cap to play with later

i went to far saying id leave the club i shouldnt type that sort of thing, but i really dont like this situation at all i just dont believe we should pay anything over the odds for a 2nd year player no matter how much 'potential' he supposedly has..

You love the club that has offered $600k to the player you hate, if you love the club why aren't you behind what they are doing, if the club wants Scully then why don't you. They are the ones that drafted him at number 1, they know after 2 years how good he is going to be, they know if his injury is going to affect his career, they are offering that money for a reason, I guarantee you he will be a f*cking superstar.

He isn't the only one that has put off contract talk, Sylvia has put his talks off, he isn't happy with the contract we have offered him, he wants more money from the club, do you hate him too, maybe he being offered a deal with GWS, Just like at Collingwood Swan, Pendles and Daisy were all approached by GWS at the hope of landing one, I doubt Scully is the only one at Melbourne that has been approached, yes Scully is there number one target but if they can't get him then be prepared to say goodbye to Sylvia or Morton or one of the other players out of contract. Sylvia could be waiting for Scully to sign at Melbourne so he gets the green light to sign with GWS.

The only reason you and so many others are upset with Scully is because everyone is sucked in by the media, they always tell far fetched stories to sell newspapers or get people listening to the radio programs so they they can keep there high paid jobs, just like footy players the people in the media want to make alot of money too so if you can't take Scully's word then you shouldn't take the media's.

He hasn't signed with GWS yet as his management have gone back to them and told them what Melbourne is offering him, they are now thinking of lengthening his contract to $6mil over 6 years, probably because Scully is thinking of staying with the dees.

In the end if he stays with the dees and wins premierships for us and becomes a legend of the club, you will be embarrassed by saying you hate him. Remember Administrators administrate, coaches coach, players play, and supporters support, so support your club and players and don't get caught up with all the bullish*t that you have no idea about.

You struggle to comprehend the salary cap, front loading and back ending contracts can make the world of difference in retaining players.

Just because Scully would earn $600,000 does not mean we will lose anybody, just that the club would have to maneuver around other players contract payments.

Look at Judd, he's on $900,000 a season not including his Visy deals and yet Carlton have kept Murphy, Gibbs, Kreuzer, etc.

Sylvia could bitch and moan all he wants about Scully making more than him but that's Col's own fault, if he got some consistency into his game he could get the big pay day. He doesn't warrant $600,000 a season either.

ok heres the difference, judd is a 2 time brownlow medallist, possibly soon to be 3 time... he is justifiably earning more than the rest, tom scully is not to melbourne what chris judd is to carlton.. the fact is that by the time judds current deal runs out he will take a pay cut because he will be older and therefore they have extra money for the other kids, scullys contract will not come down in fact it will go up again, a 5 yr deal takes him to 25, the prime of his career and a huge pay rise... not worth it

and despite sylvias obvious inconsitencies.. he is still at this moment in time a more valuable player than scully and deserves to be earning more on his contract.. neither contract should be over 500.000.. like i said b4 if scullys worth 600,000, then james frawley is worth 800,000 minimum

You love the club that has offered $600k to the player you hate, if you love the club why aren't you behind what they are doing, if the club wants Scully then why don't you. They are the ones that drafted him at number 1, they know after 2 years how good he is going to be, they know if his injury is going to affect his career, they are offering that money for a reason, I guarantee you he will be a f*cking superstar.

He isn't the only one that has put off contract talk, Sylvia has put his talks off, he isn't happy with the contract we have offered him, he wants more money from the club, do you hate him too, maybe he being offered a deal with GWS, Just like at Collingwood Swan, Pendles and Daisy were all approached by GWS at the hope of landing one, I doubt Scully is the only one at Melbourne that has been approached, yes Scully is there number one target but if they can't get him then be prepared to say goodbye to Sylvia or Morton or one of the other players out of contract. Sylvia could be waiting for Scully to sign at Melbourne so he gets the green light to sign with GWS.

The only reason you and so many others are upset with Scully is because everyone is sucked in by the media, they always tell far fetched stories to sell newspapers or get people listening to the radio programs so they they can keep there high paid jobs, just like footy players the people in the media want to make alot of money too so if you can't take Scully's word then you shouldn't take the media's.

He hasn't signed with GWS yet as his management have gone back to them and told them what Melbourne is offering him, they are now thinking of lengthening his contract to $6mil over 6 years, probably because Scully is thinking of staying with the dees.

In the end if he stays with the dees and wins premierships for us and becomes a legend of the club, you will be embarrassed by saying you hate him. Remember Administrators administrate, coaches coach, players play, and supporters support, so support your club and players and don't get caught up with all the bullish*t that you have no idea about.

1. because i dont agree with the price they are offering him at all i think its wrong an i believe they are putting him up on a pedestal before he has proved anything yet, all i expect from the melbourne footy club is to offer him the best ground in the world, state of the art facilities, the guernsey of a legend in a developing, im not interested in a player who uses money as his deciding factor

2. thats my point its like a dominoe effect, if melbourne give in to scully and then they give in to sylvias demands, were does it end? btw i wouldnt be fussed if sylvia left either another one whos reputation to date has proceeded him and i reckon wed get pretty decent compo

3. im upset with scully because this whole year has been about him, i bet if you added it up there would be more stories on scully than the entire footy club this year, especially when if he had the full intention of remaining at melbourne he could have re iterated that at some stage and put all of this to bed

4. so his management are now forcing GWS to up there offer, which if they do then what happens, do they go back to melboourne and make us up our offer?

5. i wont be embarrassed because we would have won a flag and im not gonna care about crap posted on a forum x amount of yrs ago, i just hope all u supporters of scully are prepared to lose someone because of him

1. because i dont agree with the price they are offering him at all i think its wrong an i believe they are putting him up on a pedestal before he has proved anything yet, all i expect from the melbourne footy club is to offer him the best ground in the world, state of the art facilities, the guernsey of a legend in a developing, im not interested in a player who uses money as his deciding factor

2. thats my point its like a dominoe effect, if melbourne give in to scully and then they give in to sylvias demands, were does it end? btw i wouldnt be fussed if sylvia left either another one whos reputation to date has proceeded him and i reckon wed get pretty decent compo

3. im upset with scully because this whole year has been about him, i bet if you added it up there would be more stories on scully than the entire footy club this year, especially when if he had the full intention of remaining at melbourne he could have re iterated that at some stage and put all of this to bed

4. so his management are now forcing GWS to up there offer, which if they do then what happens, do they go back to melboourne and make us up our offer?

5. i wont be embarrassed because we would have won a flag and im not gonna care about crap posted on a forum x amount of yrs ago, i just hope all u supporters of scully are prepared to lose someone because of him

1. ok we disagree on that, i think he is worth it, yes he probably wouldn't be offered that normally but this is the situation we are in, we are trying to keep one of the best young midfielders in the league, players like him are hard to get, its not his fault there is suddenly a new team in the comp with a lot of cash and they want him, i say best of luck to him what ever he chooses.

2. Most players would understand the unique situation the club and the rest of the league are in, most clubs would be paying a bit more than usual to keep their players, I doubt our players are going to want over the top contracts once all this GWS stuff is finished.

3. Well thats the media that has made this into a massive storm, I dont think Scully wants all this attention, yes he could put this to bed but he has always said he was waiting til the end of season to do his contract so that could be what he is doing, or maybe he is going to GWS, but can you really blame him for taking $5mil

4. Thats what managers are suppossed to do, try and get the best offer for there client, they probably will come back to Melbourne and ask for more, but melbourne will have a limit on what they'll offer, our offer now might be the limit, they might not offer anymore, Scully will then have the choice on what he wants to do. Just like last year when we were in battle to get David Hale from North, we had better draft picks than Hawthorn but we didn't think he was worth it so the Hawks got him, Melbourne won't offer Scully more than we think he is worth.

5. The Club knows we have a young list of future stars to take us through the next 10 years, the players like Trengove, Watts and Frawley will all be looked after as the club would have already planned ahead. If we lose anyone it wont be one of those guys and the player(s) wont be anywhere near as good as Scully

And if anyone else does leave, they will be traded. Meaning we should get what we deserve in return.