Recommitted Andrew Gaff [re-signed]

Not sure Lycett going frees up "plenty of cash"
I dont think our cap is as high as everyone is saying .
Our offer to lycett would be at least 500k .
I doubt our offer to roughead is more than 1mill over 3 years. There is 200k extra to throw at gaff or match an offer .

Our 600k - 700k set aside for natanui next contract (2019) would have dropped at least 300k per year and he may not even come back .

Guys like partington karps and emac will be gone replaced with 60-80k rookies .

Lecras may stay but on less money or they may just let lecca go if they want the cap space.

Plenty of CA$$$$$$$H

Uh huh, see how that pans out.
What would happen if we matched ?
I would be happy to keep gaff but if he leaves its to go back to victoria.
If he still chooses to go North cant just back out of the trade . You will then need to satisfy wce in a trade .

That would be your first + more

What would happen if we matched ?
I would be happy to keep gaff but if he leaves its to go back to victoria.
If he still chooses to go North cant just back out of the trade . You will then need to satisfy wce in a trade .

That would be your first + more

Of course we can back out of a trade. We're offering a premium to a free agent.

Sure but then you look like f#ck witts
I don't think we're too concerned with optics, we're looking at what's best for building a successful playing list.

If you're worried about how you look get yourself a mirror.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

If you are trying to bring a player to your club you need to pay more as part of the attraction. If you are keeping a player shouldn't need to pay as much. You would have re-signed McGovern on some good coin. Also with the 2 players Eagles are heavily chasing you can't spend it all on Gaff.
Who are WC chasing?

Sure but then you look like *******s

For trying to get a free agent for free?

Nah, I imagine we'll put 1.8mil on him and continue to try and get him for free in the draft.

It's a business mate. The club has money to spend on players in the free agency arena. If we wanted to trade for anybody there are other players we could offer that money to to trade for, no slight on Gaff. We'd put a mint into somebody like Shiel. I know it sounds shitty but it's pretty clear to all and sundry we're trying to take advantage of the free agency market, West Coast will know that. Gaff will know that.

For trying to get a free agent for free?

Nah, I imagine we'll put 1.8mil on him and continue to try and get him for free in the draft.

It's a business mate. The club has money to spend on players in the free agency arena. If we wanted to trade for anybody there are other players we could offer that money to to trade for, no slight on Gaff. We'd put a mint into somebody like Shiel. I know it sounds shitty but it's pretty clear to all and sundry we're trying to take advantage of the free agency market, West Coast will know that. Gaff will know that.
I think the 'Free ' in free agent is the freedom to move to the club of choice !

Not we get shit for free .

Seems unlikely to happen.

Why wouldn't you just make your point properly instead?
Well you’re Kelly’s team of choice if a move to Perth does eventuate. So while it may not happen it’s good to be front of the que especially if it doesn’t happen this year then it will another.

As for the SA player. The only clue I’ll give is he was born in South Australia.

I think the 'Free ' in free agent is the freedom to move to the club of choice !

If we weren't prepared to trade for Gaff, he would be well aware of this and would factor it in before making a decision re: his 2019 club.

There's not going to be a situation where we're suddenly scrambling to find a suitable trade because we've been caught blind. List management and footy department guys are working on these deals and hypothetical scenarios all year around with player agents. We'll almost certainly have a good idea of what West Coast are unlikely to match and will have based our offer and discussions around it.

Well you’re Kelly’s team of choice if a move to Perth does eventuate. So while it may not happen it’s good to be front of the que especially if it doesn’t happen this year then it will another..
If it doesn't happen then why is it relevant?

As for the SA player. The only clue I’ll give is he is South Australian.
Like I said, why not just make your point properly? There is no benefit from playing guess who.

You don't think clubs are going to take advantage of the "freedom" in that situation when making big offers?

We're paying big money to the player for them to move to us for the cheapest outcome elsewhere (ie. trade value). If the existing club wants to test it by matching we're well within our rights to pull back on the offer or advise the player to enter the draft with a huge bounty on his head. We won't look like assholes, we're a business that needs to take advantage of our strengths (cap space) where we can.

I think there's this sentimental feeling that goes around too that the player in question will try and ensure their existing club gets the best possible deal out of it. I don't think its real. If a player is being given huge cash to move why would they then weaken the future prospects of their new home to ensure the old one gets a better deal? Gaff will know what we're willing to pay him, he'll also know how deep at any other level we're willing to go. His manager will know and then West Coast will know.

I'm certain we want Gaff but I'd be surprised if we get burned for a guy at the trade table we made an 8mil offer for expecting it would be enough to get him for free. I also reckon West Coast are well aware of this.

Recommitted Andrew Gaff [re-signed]