Andrew Mackie

Some of the criticism is warranted. However, the brain fried morons that suggested Harley and Stokes are week links really don't know the slighest thing about football.

As for Taylor being suggested as a weak link, I think Thompson gave him a pretty bad match up last night and the guy is in his first season of AFL football. If Taylor played for Collingwood he would consitently mentioned as one of the best young defenders in the AFL. He had a bad night but is certainly not a weak link or a hack as portrayed.

If guys like Stokes (Dream Team player) and Harley (Dream Team Squad) are weak links in Geelong's side, its very easy to argue that 80% of the players in some teams are weak links.

Mackie has had a very up and down season. Sometime he looks great and other times he looks shocking. Mackie is a downhill skier I suppose but thats probably more to do with his role in the team. He plays the type of role that looks good and functions well when the team is up but when it goes bad, he looks bad. I think its more a matter of his role rather than ability.

Despite Collingwood winning last night, there are alot more spuds in Collingwood's side than Geelong's side. It was one match, Collingwood supporters need to worry about making the finals before anything else at this stage.

Some of the criticism is warranted. However, the brain fried morons that suggested Harley and Stokes are week links really don't know the slighest thing about football.

As for Taylor being suggested as a weak link, I think Thompson gave him a pretty bad match up last night and the guy is in his first season of AFL football. If Taylor played for Collingwood he would consitently mentioned as one of the best young defenders in the AFL. He had a bad night but is certainly not a weak link or a hack as portrayed.

If guys like Stokes (Dream Team player) and Harley (Dream Team Squad) are weak links in Geelong's side, its very easy to argue that 80% of the players in some teams are weak links.

Mackie has had a very up and down season. Sometime he looks great and other times he looks shocking. Mackie is a downhill skier I suppose but thats probably more to do with his role in the team. He plays the type of role that looks good and functions well when the team is up but when it goes bad, he looks bad. I think its more a matter of his role rather than ability.

Despite Collingwood winning last night, there are alot more spuds in Collingwood's side than Geelong's side. It was one match, Collingwood supporters need to worry about making the finals before anything else at this stage.
100% agreed. Great post :thumbsu:

Mackie is still fairly young and has a couple more years to try and become more consistant, he needs to be able to keep his composure under pressure.

And of coarse Taylor is a weak link, he's a rookie and a KPP.

Gee, sorry if there is a bit of excitement from our supporters. We did just beat the reigning premiers by 84 points.

Maybe you should worry about your team not choking again on a big stage.

You guys are idiots.

Mackie is a gun.

Time to stop listening to Robert Walls say how much of the ball Mackie has had, and look at what happens when he gets it. Is turning it over way to often and not going hard enough at contests, at the moment.

Geelong have been under-potential all year so far, apart from 15 minute bursts, but Mackie's in the top few of biggest drop in form from last year so far for mine.

Amazes me how the Cats can win the flag this year if their own supporters think Mackie is that bad.

As AngelEyes said, his role is running and setting up off half back. When a side pressures us as much as COllingwood did, that's a tough role to perform.

I seriously despair for the majority of people on these boards. They say you're only as good as your last game, but clowns on here take it to extremes.

Rd 7 the bloke had 34 disposals, 9 marks and a goal, and probably 3 brownlow votes :rolleyes:

me too another over rated geelong player who is held up by scarlett, ablett, bartel, ling, johnson, selwood, ottens and chappy.

most of the others are front runners who are just shit footballers when the pressure is on.

Good stuff, if Geelong supporters commented on the shit footballers in the Collingwood side after every loss, you would have no team left as they would have all necked themselves.

sat there with my flatmate on friday night and he said,"how does mackie get a game in that team,surely theres other blokes"
too which i replied
"the cats have put alot of money into this resource and want to get some value back by playing him"
i think after friday night im not too far wrong
he is truly at best a vfl player, considering how good the cats really are,
friday night excluded

sat there with my flatmate on friday night and he said,"how does mackie get a game in that team,surely theres other blokes"
too which i replied
"the cats have put alot of money into this resource and want to get some value back by playing him"
i think after friday night im not too far wrong
he is truly at best a vfl player, considering how good the cats really are,
friday night excluded

Cutting remarks there. Put a lot of money into this resource hey? What the hell does that even mean? Remind me never to share a couch with you in front of a game of football.

Awww, you can bring the sandwiches,and i'll supply the beers.
sound fair?
back the the thread,i think geelong has poured valuable time and money into this guy and we both agreed(flatmate\myself) that he wasnt worth the effort.
geelong are much better than he is a footballer:)
p.s are you a big drinker?:)

Unbelievable, how many frogs are on this site? Jumping on and off things like a bad smell. Mackie has been down at times but also quite good. Not every player is gonna be playing the same tough role.

The geelong fans here baggin him are idiots. Where were you all earlier? Too scared to say anythin when everything is goin ok. cant have an opinion coz u dont wanna look bad. Soft fans comin on here having an easy shot at someone when they are down at an opportunistic time. If mackie is soft, your a softer fan for baggin him now and not earlier, i bet you only go to games when we are winning and probably left friday at 3 quarter time.

Time to get an opinion and stick with it for more than a week. See you all back here after we have won a few games again. No im not related to Mackie.

As AngelEyes said, his role is running and setting up off half back. When a side pressures us as much as COllingwood did, that's a tough role to perform.

I seriously despair for the majority of people on these boards. They say you're only as good as your last game, but clowns on here take it to extremes.

Rd 7 the bloke had 34 disposals, 9 marks and a goal, and probably 3 brownlow votes :rolleyes:

And a million clangers.

I don't think he was good in this game at all, certainly shouldn't get brownlow votes. All cheap possessions that mostly didn't hit a target.

That being said, he used to be fantastic by foot, hopefully he can get it back soon.

Unbelievable, how many frogs are on this site? Jumping on and off things like a bad smell. Mackie has been down at times but also quite good. Not every player is gonna be playing the same tough role.

The geelong fans here baggin him are idiots. Where were you all earlier? Too scared to say anythin when everything is goin ok. cant have an opinion coz u dont wanna look bad. Soft fans comin on here having an easy shot at someone when they are down at an opportunistic time. If mackie is soft, your a softer fan for baggin him now and not earlier, i bet you only go to games when we are winning and probably left friday at 3 quarter time.

Time to get an opinion and stick with it for more than a week. See you all back here after we have won a few games again. No im not related to Mackie.

Mate I have bagged Mackie for years.

Facts are he never once earned a game in 2005-2006, he would serve up total rubbish every week....turn the ball over continuously and was a massive weak link.

Last year he was okay/good, but it isnt hard to be a link man running out of defence when your team is dominating. If you have ever played footy you would know this. This season he has fallen back into his old ways.

I have contempt for all you supporters who seem to think that we have to stick by our players no matter what. It is that exact attitude that forced the club into a 44 year drought because noone in Geelong would dare bag their beloved cats even though there were playing like shit, but rather treated them like Kings. It gave the players an inflated opinion of themselves and caused us to serve up crap like 1990, 1993, 2006.

Mackie at the moment is weak link, IT IS A FACT....so get over it!!

And a million clangers.

I don't think he was good in this game at all, certainly shouldn't get brownlow votes. All cheap possessions that mostly didn't hit a target.

That being said, he used to be fantastic by foot, hopefully he can get it back soon.

GREAT OBSERVATION....could not agree more on that game....he also racked up about a heap of possies when the game was as good as over

back the the thread,i think geelong has poured valuable time and money into this guy and we both agreed(flatmate\myself) that he wasnt worth the effort.
geelong are much better than he is a footballer:)
p.s are you a big drinker?:)

Have they poured more money and time into him than anyone else? Every player gets drafted and paid, I'm not sure what makes Mackie different, unless you're telling us he's the worst player in the league or something?

Anyway, I will go with Thompson's appraisal, rather than you and your flatmate half pissed on the couch, thanks.

As for my drinking, I've been known to sink a few on the odd occasion :)

Mate I have bagged Mackie for years.

Facts are he never once earned a game in 2005-2006, he would serve up total rubbish every week....turn the ball over continuously and was a massive weak link.

Last year he was okay/good, but it isnt hard to be a link man running out of defence when your team is dominating. If you have ever played footy you would know this. This season he has fallen back into his old ways.

I have contempt for all you supporters who seem to think that we have to stick by our players no matter what. It is that exact attitude that forced the club into a 44 year drought because noone in Geelong would dare bag their beloved cats even though there were playing like shit, but rather treated them like Kings. It gave the players an inflated opinion of themselves and caused us to serve up crap like 1990, 1993, 2006.

Mackie at the moment is weak link, IT IS A FACT....so get over it!!

Oh look out we got a future coach here who knows more than Thompson. Of course your right, Mackie never deserved a game :rolleyes: Bomber should have known this, where were you to tell him? Man you are thick. Not one coach would not have been playing Mackie in the games he has played this year or last and here you are claiming to know more than all of them.

All i see is you here after a really bad loss stickin the boots in and that highlighted part proves you have no idea whatsoever. Do you ever go to games and see our faithful bagging the absolute crap out of players especially in bad times. Yes they get a whole lot of praise when they are doin well but equally opposite when we are poor.

Unlike you i am not going to bag the players into submission after one bad loss and being 8-1. I might start up if it continues to long but your a frog. If Mackie has such an easy job, you do it. Oh no wait your an average player in an average league. This is why i stopped playin you should do the same. Take up Journalism instead and turn small stories and blow them out of all proportion. Maybe you are one already.

Oh look out we got a future coach here who knows more than Thompson. Of course your right, Mackie never deserved a game :rolleyes: Bomber should have known this, where were you to tell him? Man you are thick. Not one coach would not have been playing Mackie in the games he has played this year or last and here you are claiming to know more than all of them.

All i see is you here after a really bad loss stickin the boots in and that highlighted part proves you have no idea whatsoever. Do you ever go to games and see our faithful bagging the absolute crap out of players especially in bad times. Yes they get a whole lot of praise when they are doin well but equally opposite when we are poor.

Unlike you i am not going to bag the players into submission after one bad loss and being 8-1. I might start up if it continues to long but your a frog. If Mackie has such an easy job, you do it. Oh no wait your an average player in an average league. This is why i stopped playin you should do the same. Take up Journalism instead and turn small stories and blow them out of all proportion. Maybe you are one already.

You are living some other universe mate...not sure if you attended the 2006 game vs West Coast when we blew a 50 point lead and the players still got clapped off by the Brownlow stand.

That is what WAS wrong with the footy club and will be again if the supporters start thinking that winning one flag makes all the players on the list untouchable.

There are four players on our list i have issues with, they are Mackie, Kelly, Byrnes and Blake. Apart from them i reckon everyone else has a crack week in /out.

WTF are you on ?
Stokes has been very good.Didn't have a great game on friday,but he had 20 mates.As for Taylor he was playing his 7th game. :rolleyes:

Agree, Stokes has been one of our better players this year and taylor has his one crap game on Friday...he has been great prior to that.

Andrew Mackie