Andy Maher future president of Carlton?

Can you quantify this statement at all?

That statement is easily quantified if you've ever listened to SEN. I was doing no favours to my blood pressure when I was driving the ring road and listening to SEN in '09. Glad I cut the ring road and that radio station from my life.

I have no respect for someone who works in the sports industry and simply offers verbal platitudes, no insight and a complete lack of understanding about any sport that isn't AFL (and he only has a general lack of understanding in that sport).

Just another example of how it's harder to get into the industry than it is to be kicked out once in.

I have no respect for someone who works in the sports industry and simply offers verbal platitudes, no insight and a complete lack of understanding about any sport that isn't AFL (and he only has a general lack of understanding in that sport).

+1 on that mate, except I've stuck with SEN coz I quite like Harf and KB. Most importantly Finey who knows way more about other sports than I expected, especially golf.

then you have clowns like Maher who for some reason reckons he's an expert at a number of sports, except he knows little beyond the obvious (Messi is one of the best in the business, oh really?)

That statement is easily quantified if you've ever listened to SEN. I was doing no favours to my blood pressure when I was driving the ring road and listening to SEN in '09. Glad I cut the ring road and that radio station from my life.

Just another example of how it's harder to get into the industry than it is to be kicked out once in.

Hang on - I've asked you to quantify and instead you give some generic rant with absolutely no facts behind it at all.

If you want to get behind a computer and have a crack at someone, then at least have some facts to back up your case.

And I'm not exactly sure what you expect in regards to knowledge from sports broadcasters. Is he supposed to know every player in the EPL, NFL, NBA, MLB ?

Does he have to know every cycling team in the Tour De France plus the members of each team?

Does he need to know the ATP, WTA, PGA and LPGA top 100 rankings in order and backwards?

Can you please clarify what sports knowledge he is meant to have and then give examples how he has failed to live up to these 'expectations' of yours.

Lets also not forget that having sports knowledge is only a small component of being in the sports entertainment business. I guess you're fully up to speed with that as well.

Hang on - I've asked you to quantify and instead you give some generic rant with absolutely no facts behind it at all.

If you want to get behind a computer and have a crack at someone, then at least have some facts to back up your case.

And I'm not exactly sure what you expect in regards to knowledge from sports broadcasters. Is he supposed to know every player in the EPL, NFL, NBA, MLB ?

Does he have to know every cycling team in the Tour De France plus the members of each team?

Does he need to know the ATP, WTA, PGA and LPGA top 100 rankings in order and backwards?

Can you please clarify what sports knowledge he is meant to have and then give examples how he has failed to live up to these 'expectations' of yours.

Lets also not forget that having sports knowledge is only a small component of being in the sports entertainment business. I guess you're fully up to speed with that as well.

Oh, bravo...

What do you expect? Him to quote verbatim every ignorant, obsequious thing Maher says? Maybe add timestamps and footnotes?

I agree with him -- Maher is a twat. My FACT? Listening to him on radio.

You're far too defensive of Maher not to know him in a personal capacity. Is that why you're mad?

I'd be more interested at looking at this debate from your perspective, especially since you're so defensive of any criticism of him. What do you think Andy Maher brings to the table that qualifies him as a sports presenter? As far as I'm aware he offers no analysis, no insight and no knowledge of pretty much every sport and the leagues within. All he offers is cliches and platitudes presented in a god-awful bogan accent. I, or almost anyone else on this site, could do a better job than him on half his salary. God knows if I was paid to sit there, watch a match, keep a general idea of who is injured and think of three questions to ask a player at the end of the game I certainly wouldn't ask Brett Kirk how he was feeling three times in a row.

And yeah, I think what you've listed above is a good start. If you are to offer no insight, no analysis and no thoughts for people to chew on and discuss, you should know almost every (70% is perfectly acceptable) teams and players in the leagues of the main sports. At the very least you can present yourself as somewhat knowledgeable.

It's pathetic how readily we accept mediocrity in Australian sports media. And anyone who questions it is called out on it and is demanded to quantify the statement. I work full-time and still manage to stay abreast of all AFL, MLB, NBA, cricket, and most of NFL and EPL, swimming, tennis, squash, cycling. Is it too much to demand that those who are paid to do so FULL TIME might as well? Even if you were a complete slacker, surely you could watch all 8 matches in a round, watch Sportscenter and FSN and glance at a newspaper every day. Hell, I'd settle for them just browsing BigFooty everyday. We've got more of an idea than You Blokes.

Why should he quantify it? It's obvious why the majority think Maher is a twat.
Obvious - how ???

Because he wears glasses ?
Because he has a job that some of you would kill to have ?

Oh, bravo...

What do you expect? Him to quote verbatim every ignorant, obsequious thing Maher says? Maybe add timestamps and footnotes?

I agree with him -- Maher is a twat. My FACT? Listening to him on radio.

Did I ask that ?
Do you have trouble understanding questions too?

I mean its not that hard to understand, is it?

I asked him to quantify why in his opinion Maher is one of the least educated sports broadcasters in the country. So far, zero, nothing, nada.

Obvious - how ???

Because he wears glasses ?
Because he has a job that some of you would kill to have ?
Because he is a massive tool. And that is being kind. I resent very few in the media and would never lament someone based on their appearance or out of jealousy.

The fact is; I and almost everyone I know who follow footy can't stand the bloke. Accept it and move on.

You're far too defensive of Maher not to know him in a personal capacity. Is that why you're mad?

I'd be more interested at looking at this debate from your perspective, especially since you're so defensive of any criticism of him. What do you think Andy Maher brings to the table that qualifies him as a sports presenter? As far as I'm aware he offers no analysis, no insight and no knowledge of pretty much every sport and the leagues within. All he offers is cliches and platitudes presented in a god-awful bogan accent. I, or almost anyone else on this site, could do a better job than him on half his salary. God knows if I was paid to sit there, watch a match, keep a general idea of who is injured and think of three questions to ask a player at the end of the game I certainly wouldn't ask Brett Kirk how he was feeling three times in a row.

He speaks in a bogan accent ????
Who the f**k do you think you are - an elocution expert.

And if you could do his job on half the salary, then off you go up to Barry Quick's office in Richmond and volunteer. He is not going to knock back a cost savings with no discernable impact to audience.
Maybe we could then hear your lovely, modulated voice and all cast judgement on anonymous forums.

You'd be a quivering mess in an hour.
And yeah, I think what you've listed above is a good start. If you are to offer no insight, no analysis and no thoughts for people to chew on and discuss, you should know almost every (70% is perfectly acceptable) teams and players in the leagues of the main sports. At the very least you can present yourself as somewhat knowledgeable.

FFS - even Bruce McAvaney wouldn't be able to do that.
What a ridiculous set of expectations for little result.
It's pathetic how readily we accept mediocrity in Australian sports media. And anyone who questions it is called out on it and is demanded to quantify the statement. I work full-time and still manage to stay abreast of all AFL, MLB, NBA, cricket, and most of NFL and EPL, swimming, tennis, squash, cycling. Is it too much to demand that those who are paid to do so FULL TIME might as well? Even if you were a complete slacker, surely you could watch all 8 matches in a round, watch Sportscenter and FSN and glance at a newspaper every day. Hell, I'd settle for them just browsing BigFooty everyday. We've got more of an idea than You Blokes.
I don't know - maybe he's got a young family to look out for that he can't spend all 16 waking hours dedicated to his job.

I would love to get you side by side with Maher in a sports trivia contest. Besides you most probably staining your pants at the thought of being forced to speak publicly in front of an audience, he would then most definitely eat you alive when it comes to general sports knowledge.

And if you could do his job on half the salary, then off you go up to Barry Quick's office in Richmond and volunteer. He is not going to knock back a cost savings with no discernable impact to audience.
Maybe we could then hear your lovely, modulated voice and all cast judgement on anonymous forums.

I don't know - maybe he's got a young family to look out for that he can't spend all 16 waking hours dedicated to his job.

I would love to get you side by side with Maher in a sports trivia contest. Besides you most probably staining your pants at the thought of being forced to speak publicly in front of an audience, he would then most definitely eat you alive when it comes to general sports knowledge.

Hi Andy!

It seems to me you're one man fighting against the world.

i just cant cop the blokes commentating on the radio - he is so fundamentally biased it aint funny. I am Collingwood fan and I dont listen to Eddie either. I like my sports guys in the Dwayne Russell, Luke Darcy mould...............Andy aint that.

Does one want to hear about his XMAS holidays, his new girlfriend, his upcoming wife, his baby It was like watching 100 episodes of Days Of Our Lives - And he drags Timmy into his bad habits Absolutely irrelevant and no relevance to the program.

Then again presenters like KB and Finey who have an excellent sporting knowledge are often criticised.

Strange world !

Andy Maher future president of Carlton?