Are St.Bede's U19's really that good?

Is this team really that good or is there opposition just pathetic?

Could they match it with the top 3 teams of the U19's premier division?
Whilst St Bedes U19s are very good I've heard that other teams are compounding the problem.

Rumour has it that other teams in their division are promoting players to the seniors when playing St Bedes as they concede they can't win.

In addition, apparently coaches are playing 3-4 guys behind the ball to stop the scoring, players aren't trying and tackles aren't even being laid as St Bedes are given a free run of the game. Opposition teams aren't scoring because all the play happens in the St Bedes forward 50 and they have no one up the ground to kick it to!

St Bedes are on fire! its not that the opposistion is that bad.. its more of the fact that st bedes are just so so good. They have kept a majority of the team that played in last years 19s section 3 flag.. and they have lost a few to senior footy. From what i can see St Bedes 19s are only getting started..be afraid!

seems like they have been graded wrong.....shouldnt be winning by those sort of margins (45 goals to 1). If the club had known they were going to be this good they should have insisted they be put into the Premier Division before the season. Bit late now

A better question would be, does this topic really deserve its own thread? I think we have had enough of this st bedes garbage. They have already littered the U19 premier thread with this crap. Just be happy with thrashing muppets in U19 second division.

seems like they have been graded wrong.....shouldnt be winning by those sort of margins (45 goals to 1). If the club had known they were going to be this good they should have insisted they be put into the Premier Division before the season. Bit late now

I hate to admit this but it just seems like St Bogans Mentone have really got their act together and are dedicated to heading in the right direction since their relagation to C grade in 2006. The seniors made the trip to Keilor Hill a few weeks ago and they were an extremely professional outfit in terms of off field support (ie. stats, video footage, coahing staff).

They say success breeds success and staying in Div 2 will only make the club stronger. The publicity they are receiving in radio and local & mainstream press will lead to more kids wanting to jump on the bandwagon. They already have 2 under 19 teams and a club 18 team. With such a strong structure there is no reason why the seniors won't find themselves in A grade next year and the under 19s in premier division.

In my opinion, and I might not like it, but they absolutely deserve it because the hard work is paying off. Every other VAFA club could take a leaf out of their book.

St Bedes made a real push for Premier Division before the sesaon! and were knocked back.

I hate to admit this but it just seems like St Bogans Mentone have really got their act together and are dedicated to heading in the right direction since their relagation to C grade in 2006. The seniors made the trip to Keilor Hill a few weeks ago and they were an extremely professional outfit in terms of off field support (ie. stats, video footage, coahing staff).

They say success breeds success and staying in Div 2 will only make the club stronger. The publicity they are receiving in radio and local & mainstream press will lead to more kids wanting to jump on the bandwagon. They already have 2 under 19 teams and a club 18 team. With such a strong structure there is no reason why the seniors won't find themselves in A grade next year and the under 19s in premier division.

In my opinion, and I might not like it, but they absolutely deserve it because the hard work is paying off. Every other VAFA club could take a leaf out of their book.

That may be so and regularly winning by 10-15 goals is one thing but their margins are averaging 25 goals. Good luck to them, they are obviously doing the right things as a club

St Bedes made a real push for Premier Division before the sesaon! and were knocked back.

I haven't sceen the results until just then on the VAFA website. It is stupied to keep a side in this competition who are winning like they are. Aren't U/19's supposted to get them ready for senior football? They should be promoted straight away and the bottom side in Premier be relegated!

I've sceen in the past that players in dominating junior sides lose interest in footy after that sides year of success. And with St Bedes emerging power through the ranks of the VAFA at the moment, where are these kids going to go?? Not all will play in the starting senior 22 next year or evan the starting 44.

I would love to know how many of the kids playing in this side will be 1. playing at the club in 3 years time and 2. playing any footy altogether??

you must watch this team...
Best coach in the under 19's does his homework about every team and knows other teams more than most coaches knows their own team
Great feeder clubs from a strong junior team...
The players are committed and have a good reserves and senior u19's thing going on... with their second team in 19's south...
Their players can play... no real slouches...
Theyre the best u19's team in the VAFA don't be fooled just because theyre in section 2

That may be so and regularly winning by 10-15 goals is one thing but their margins are averaging 25 goals. Good luck to them, they are obviously doing the right things as a club

I think for all clubs in Div 2 - when they are scheduled to play them, its akin to having too dance with your Mother-In-Law, "you hate doing it, but you have too"

Like TBP I loath rather than love the Bogans, however one can't deny how well they are travelling at the moment in all facets.

So the debate begins; Will the VAFA let them play A-Grade at the worst ground in Melbourne? (the one thing they haven't got going for them!!)

Lets gets things straight, they will not be promoted mid season - they are not the best U/19 side in the ammos or they would be in premier divi and on top of the ladder.

Lets see what they are like if they get promoted next year and lose a majority of players that they have so called "retained" from last years premiership.

When they can keep teams scoreless in premier (like De La and Xavs past few years) then they may be spoken about in the same sentence.

Still living in the shadow of the boys from Dairy Bell.

Like TBP I loath rather than love the Bogans, however one can't deny how well they are travelling at the moment in all facets.

So the debate begins; Will the VAFA let them play A-Grade at the worst ground in Melbourne? (the one thing they haven't got going for them!!)

Well I reckon its a great ground for watching local Football. You can actually see whats happening on the other side of the ground, and who's kicking goals at each end, without moving from one end to the other.

And the facilities are magnificient. They just upgraded them. And you get
hot showers after the match.

i agree totally.
there after match at st bedes are fantastic, and unlike every other 19's (well most anyway) they have and encourage the 19's to hang round.
there video footage is awesome, and is what they use at afl clubs (not all afl clubs even have this program)... a very impressive unit. why wouldn't you want to play for them.

the other thing they dont have going for them are their jumpers, they look very gay, but otherwise a very strong club and an emerging force in the ammos.

I agree with most of what has been said on here, but emplore you all to remember that this sort of thing has happened before. Some of the over zealous comments on here (declaring the coach as the best in the 19's and the team as the best in the 19's, for example) are simply unfounded as there is little basis for comparison.

No doubt St Bedes are 'that good' in division 2, but just settle down a bit gents; i can hear the horns from the other side of town.

could actually have something to do with a super strong senior team. Many clubs (like mine) don't have the luxury of leaving the under 19's to play in their own team. We currently have 6 playing in the main event each weekend.

I agree Dermie.

Last year at Keilor Hill there was 3 or 4 under 19's playing seniors and now there is only 1. No surprise to see the under 19's are now undeafeated and having their best year in 3-4 years.

I agree Dermie.

Last year at Keilor Hill there was 3 or 4 under 19's playing seniors and now there is only 1. No surprise to see the under 19's are now undeafeated and having their best year in 3-4 years.

The scary thing is there are between 3 - 5 under 19's playing 1's every week at the tigers. The 19's are yet to put their strongest team on the park, and i doubt they'll get the chance as the young guys are playing good footy in the 1's.

I'll agree that St Bedes U/19 coach is one of the best in all of the U/19 divisions. He knows his opposition in and out and he knows he own team like he fathered all 22 of the boys who take the field for him each Saturday.

As to say they are the best team in U/19s, well i suppose we will never know. It is highly highly doubtful that the league will promote, the chances becoming increasingly slimmer as the season continues. All these premier division tragics who keep cutting down the Tigers, give it a rest. All it sounds like your doing is whinging about the fact that these divvy 2 destroyers are stealing the limelight away from your precious glamour boys like Xavs and De La.

Credit where credit is due, these boys from Brindisi are imensely impressive, talented and well coached. The Tigers really are going places.​

No-one has disagreed that the coach isn't one of the best in the 19s divions. But definitively saying that he's the best, period, is a little much... But seeing as everyone here obviously has an extensive knowledge of the 19's coaches it's fair to make such comments I guess. (Perhaps 'fantastic' would be a better description?)

You have to understand, also, that it is hardly premier league tragics cutting down the 'boys from Brindisi', but rather those with years of VAFA knowledge putting some context on all this hype around St Bedes/Mentone. Call the top-tier premier division teams 'glamour boys' all you want, the fact is that it's far more appropriate for people to be reminding those on here with heads in the clouds that they're in division 2, and that there is further to go on the road to the top (where these other people come from), than it is for people to be making claims that they are "the best team under 19s team in the VAFA". This is all I'm, and surely anyone with knowledge and no bias, is saying on here. Not that they're not going places and not that they wouldn't be competetive in premier. Just calling for it to settle down a bit.

No-one has disagreed that the coach isn't one of the best in the 19s divions. But definitively saying that he's the best, period, is a little much... But seeing as everyone here obviously has an extensive knowledge of the 19's coaches it's fair to make such comments I guess. (Perhaps 'fantastic' would be a better description?)

You have to understand, also, that it is hardly premier league tragics cutting down the 'boys from Brindisi', but rather those with years of VAFA knowledge putting some context on all this hype around St Bedes/Mentone. Call the top-tier premier division teams 'glamour boys' all you want, the fact is that it's far more appropriate for people to be reminding those on here with heads in the clouds that they're in division 2, and that there is further to go on the road to the top (where these other people come from), than it is for people to be making claims that they are "the best team under 19s team in the VAFA". This is all I'm, and surely anyone with knowledge and no bias, is saying on here. Not that they're not going places and not that they wouldn't be competetive in premier. Just calling for it to settle down a bit.
How about everyone gets their head out of the clouds and realise that Premier division doesn't always mean the best teams are in that division!

U19s change from year to year and certain teams across all other divisions would be competitive with the Premier division clubs.

Finally, how do you measure a coach? By the number of wins or his ability to get the best from his players? Blind freddy by the sounds of it could coach that St Bedes side, but it takes a far better man to get the best from a group of average footballers.

I'll agree that St Bedes U/19 coach is one of the best in all of the U/19 divisions. He knows his opposition in and out and he knows he own team like he fathered all 22 of the boys who take the field for him each Saturday.​

As to say they are the best team in U/19s, well i suppose we will never know. It is highly highly doubtful that the league will promote, the chances becoming increasingly slimmer as the season continues. All these premier division tragics who keep cutting down the Tigers, give it a rest. All it sounds like your doing is whinging about the fact that these divvy 2 destroyers are stealing the limelight away from your precious glamour boys like Xavs and De La.​

Credit where credit is due, these boys from Brindisi are imensely impressive, talented and well coached. The Tigers really are going places.​

Johnny ...lets just go with the well coached bit can we. Any coach worth his 2 bob with the cattle Owen has would still have the team sitting where they are.

For you to say he is the best across all divisions is an insult to all U19 coaches out there having a crack - as I pose this question...have you see, heard or been in the presence of every other U19 coach in every division?...I would say not, so lets rest that tripe please.

With all respect to Owen, far better coaches going around than him, especially in Div 1.

Are St.Bede's U19's really that good?