Atmosphere at the soccer better?

I dont think the atmosphere can be compared.

Two completely different atmospheres and for different reasons.
At the A-league games there is chanting and cheering uncomparable to that of An Afl game yet you only see that kind of chanting in teh cheersqauds - the rest of the stadium was silent

Silence is something taht will never be seen in an AFL game because at all stages of the game, every minute and every second there is somehting to cheer about. Making it impossible to do teh chants they do in the soccer because you need to be focused on what happens in every play in the AFL.

Conclusion: The atmosphere at the A-league soccer games is much better than that of one at an Afl game but the general sense and feeling and passion is felt throughout an AFL game.

The atmosphere created by the cheer squad at Victory games is incredibly contrived.

The game itself is actually very dull.

nothing beats the Atmosphere at the old NSL matches at BJS.

Go South Melbourne

No South No APL

And what is it with Sydney calling themselves 'FC'. What the is an FC? Pretentious?
Sydney Football Club
Adelaide United Football Club
Queensland Roar Football Club
Perth Glory Football Club
Newcastle Jets Football Club
Central Coast Mariners Football Club
Melbourne Victory Football Club
New Zealand Knights Football Club

See that pattern, yeah?

Don't they all wear shin guards? AFL has nothing to worry about EVER!!!!.......:D
You seriously believe that the AFL <s******> has nothing to worry about because footballers wear shin pads? Boganism at its best....ARF!

alansmith_narrowweb__300x383,0.jpg

Here is Manchester United football Alan Smith.
He's just broken his leg and dislocated his ankle, all at once.

injury%20Cisse.jpg

Here is Djibril Cisse, as you can see, he's completely snapped his tibia and fibula.

So much for shin pads, you muppet.

You've never been to an A-League finals match, have you? A football World Cup qualifer? A World Cup match?
More passion?
Get yer hand off it, "doggies05"!

Lazlo get off your high horse. Soccer more passion than AFL, when soccer goes through many periods where virtually nothing happens.

If soccer is so good, why don't they get average crowds anywhere near what the AFL do? And don't play the 50,000 Victory crowd, that was a one-off, what crowds did the other games for the round get; between 8,000 and 12,000.

AFL consistently averages around 36,000 per game, Soccer averages 12,000 (up from 10,000) the previous year. So three-times more people go and see AFL than soccer.

Also Victorian based AFL memberships are around 250,000 minimum, the Victory has 11,000.

If soccer has so much passion, where are the crowds? One decent crowd doesn't make soccer better than AFL.

While I don't mind watching soccer, it has nothing on AFL in Australia.

Average crowds from major Australian Sports as follows;

1. 35,439 AFL
2. 24,376 Rubgy Union
3. 21,144 International Cricket
4. 16,399 Rugby League
5. 12,111 A-League
6. 3,633 Basketball

Wow, Soccer is so strong it only ranks above basketball:eek:

AFL crowds are 2.9 times greater than soccer.:D

AFL is that much better than soccer its not funny. I couldn't care two hoots if Soccer is the 'world game'. Go try saying that to an American with respect to NFL.

Gee, I wonder why soccer chose a summer season? Mabye so that it doesn't have to compete with AFL:p . AFL can even claim a longer lineage then soccer in terms of using the term football. In Australia, Football refers to AFL, soccer is soccer and will always be soccer.

Sydney Football Club
Adelaide United Football Club
Queensland Roar Football Club
Perth Glory Football Club
Newcastle Jets Football Club
Central Coast Mariners Football Club
Melbourne Victory Football Club
New Zealand Knights Football Club

See that pattern, yeah?

As I said......... too pretentious to have a Mascot.
No one calls Victory Melbourne FC, Nor Roar Brisbane FC.
See that pattern, yeah?

Lazlo get off your high horse. Soccer more passion than AFL, when soccer goes through many periods where virtually nothing happens.

There is something always happening. The passion is evident during all periods. Try going to a match some time.

If soccer is so good, why don't they get average crowds anywhere near what the AFL do? And don't play the 50,000 Victory crowd, that was a one-off, what crowds did the other games for the round get; between 8,000 and 12,000.

Firstly, i'll respond to your silly crowd claims.

Code:
25.08.2006, Fri 20:00: 15,781 - Olympic Park Stadium (2-0 v Adelaide United)
02.09.2006, Sat 19:00: 39,730 - Docklands Stadium (3-2 v Sydney FC) [3rd v 4th]
17.09.2006, Sun 17:00: 17,617 - Olympic Park Stadium (1-0 v Central Coast Mariners) [2nd v 8th]
01.10.2006, Sun 17:00: 25,921 - Docklands Stadium (4-1 v Queensland Roar) [1st v 2nd]
15.10.2006, Sun 17:00: 32,368 - Docklands Stadium (0-1 v Adelaide United) [1st v 4th]
03.11.2006, Fri 20:00: 28,118 - Docklands Stadium (3-3 v Central Coast Mariners) [1st v 5th]
09.11.2006, Thu 20:00: 22,890 - Docklands Stadium (1-0 v Perth Glory) [1st v 7th]
26.11.2006, Sun 17:00: 27,753 - Docklands Stadium (0-1 v Newcastle United Jets) [1st v 6th]
08.12.2006, Fri 20:00: 50,333 - Docklands Stadium (0-0 v Sydney FC) [1st v 2nd]

AFL consistently averages around 36,000 per game, Soccer averages 12,000 (up from 10,000) the previous year. So three-times more people go and see AFL than soccer.

2nd year League mate. How can you ever try to compare a game only played in Australia for over 100 years, to a club that is only in it's second season?

Get your hand off it mate.

Also Victorian based AFL memberships are around 250,000 minimum, the Victory has 11,000.

Refer to the above.

We are only in our second season and already have 11k members. I think that is an amazing number that will only continue to rise.

If soccer has so much passion, where are the crowds? One decent crowd doesn't make soccer better than AFL.

We have the crowds and we have the passion. One crowd? pfft...read the facts before you spuik baseless claims of which you have no understanding about. Be very scared mate, because it is only getting bigger

You seriously believe that the AFL <s******> has nothing to worry about because footballers wear shin pads? Boganism at its best....ARF!

alansmith_narrowweb__300x383,0.jpg

Here is Manchester United football Alan Smith.
He's just broken his leg and dislocated his ankle, all at once.

injury%20Cisse.jpg

Here is Djibril Cisse, as you can see, he's completely snapped his tibia and fibula.

So much for shin pads, you muppet.

That's not a break..........
This is a break!
wbnathanbrown_narrowweb__200x270.jpg

1. 35,439 AFL
2. 24,376 Rubgy Union
4. 16,399 Rugby League
5. 12,111 A-League
6. 3,633 Basketball

AFL is that much better than soccer its not funny. I couldn't care two hoots if Soccer is the 'world game'. Go try saying that to an American with respect to NFL.

Gee, I wonder why soccer chose a summer season? Mabye so that it doesn't have to compete with AFL:p . AFL can even claim a longer lineage then soccer in terms of using the term football. In Australia, Football refers to AFL, soccer is soccer and will always be soccer.

This is the second year of the A league. The VFL/AFL has been in existance since 1897. Of course A league teams are not going to average 45,000 crowds in their first couple of years. This crazy comparison is as valid as comparing this years A league average with the 1898 VFL average ie. not valid at all.

Why does this thread turn into a type of internet penis envy - except the catch is we all have to compare each other's 'break'.

This is the second year of the A league. The VFL/AFL has been in existance since 1897. Of course A league teams are not going to average 45,000 crowds in their first couple of years. This crazy comparison is as valid as comparing this years A league average with the 1898 VFL average ie. not valid at all.

Well said Musty :D

We are progressing nicely and it will only get bigger and better

Coming from a passionate AFL fan, i must say football beats AFL for atmosphere hands down. A 20,000 crowd at Telstra Dome would beat a 40,000 AFL crowd, no ********, I've been to both. All AFL do is clap and cheer when a goal is scored or something good happens in play and occassionaly they belt out the *insert club name* clap clap clap (which is pretty embarrassing after experiencing what football crowds are like).

Joffa has even said he is in awe of Melbourne Victory crowds and the passion we have for the game, people who bag it have no idea. Footy will always be my number one sport, and I will continue playing footy with my club over football because I enjoy playing footy more but you can't deny the fact that football in this country is growing and the crowds anhialate AFL crowds.

Those soccer crowds are a joke considering the games aren't even on FTA and the only way for many to see the games is live. The reason the crowds chant is because the game is so boring that they have to make their own entertainment. If they are getting these crowds so soon after the Soccerroos national success then imagine what the crowds will be like if the national team fades. AFL has a lot more substance about it, the crowd and TV figures are always pretty constant.

Soccer crowds aren't made up of people who actually like sport, they're made up of

1. Yuppie and bandwaggoning types

2. IQ challenged immigrants, including Poms. Mainly bogans.

1. 35,439 AFL
2. 24,376 Rubgy Union
4. 16,399 Rugby League
5. 12,111 A-League
6. 3,633 Basketball

If you don't count the New Zealand Knights (who will be gone in a year or two anyway), the average for this season is 15,117. That is almost as big as rugby league, and this is before the finals series, which will probably boost this by another couple of thousand - considering that Melbourne will probably get two sellouts a the dome (maybe even a much bigger crowd if they play the grand final at the MCG, which has been discussed as a potential option).

After two years, this is a huge amount of growth, and if this growth continues then AFL could be less popular than football within 10 years (although the growth will no doubts slow.)

Already Melbourne Victory averages as much as most AFL clubs (despite the handicap of few away fans at matches), and with finals around the corner, the Melbourne Victory average will easily go up above the AFL average.

If you look at that list, Rugby Union numbers are good, but when you consider there are only 4 Australian clubs, the figures are less impressive - if Rugby Union also had smaller clubs in places like Newcastle and on the Central Coast (or even a team in Melbourne/Adelaide) , the average would drop below the A-league. I could also point out here that the A-league gets much bigger TV ratings than the Australian Super 14 games.

International Cricket is irrelevant, and you should never have put that in the list - International Soccer (Socceroos) has an average of about 60,000 for this year. International Cricket figures are obviously big because there are only a handful of matches in each city, each year.

Sure, AFL is still quite a long way above the A-league, but there is not as much of a gap as you would think.

If you don't count the New Zealand Knights (who will be gone in a year or two anyway), the average for this season is 15,117. .

Wow, I didn't know it was acceptable to completely manipulate statisitcs to make poor arguments seem a little more credible.

"And if we take out the crowds of every A-League match which are not very good, and if I just simply count the crowd from last weekends Victory-Sydney match as the yearly average for the A-League, jee wizz, the A-League's crowds are BETTER then any other sport in Australia...this 'soccer' thing is taking over!"

you need to look up the definition of passion, it has nothing to do with the number of people there, but the way they feel... Football fans have much more passion than AFL fans in general.

you do seem like the kind of person who is criticizeing something you don't actually know much about. If you'd seen many games of football, you'd realise that there is far more too it than goals and shots - I'm not going to go any further into this, but once you watch a few games, you begin to understand the tactics of it and realise how action packed the games are - like AFL of course, there can be some games that are more boring than others, but in the main it is edge of your seat stuff.

Wow, I didn't know it was acceptable to completely manipulate statisitcs to make poor arguments seem a little more credible.

"And if we take out the crowds of every A-League match which are not very good, and if I just simply count the crowd from last weekends Victory-Sydney match as the yearly average for the A-League, jee wizz, the A-League's crowds are BETTER then any other sport in Australia...this 'soccer' thing is taking over!"

The New Zealand Knights are a club in another country, where there is no AFL therefore they are not a competitor of AFL and their crowds are irrelevant. The only reason they are in the league was to extend a helping hand to New Zealand football, and the way they are going they are expected to be replaced by an 8th Australian club within a year or two.

Their crowds are an outlier, any statistician could tell you that it would be perfectly acceptable to take their figures out of the equation.