Review Autopsy Thread: Round 1 Adelaide v Hawthorn

Well said GALON. I agree with your post, and the sentiment you are communicating here. I saw some things I liked in that first half, and actually thought to myself at the time, "gee, it might take a while for the players to get used to this gameplan" as there were fumbles and clangers occurring. I thought Sewell was ok, but he just kept running himself into dead ends/tackles. Not sure, probably just rusty. Mitchell was great tonight. I thought Hale did some nice things down back when he popped back there. Stratton and Gibson were very good too. I read in another post, Birchall shouldn't play back. He didn't have a good night tonight, and always plays best when he can burst through the middle and sweep in into our talls down forward. He just couldn't do it tonight, things in the back line seemed congested most of the time.

But yeah, heaps to work on, including countering the fast rebound goal. Accountability (or at least its perception from our point of view) may be something that needs work.

Looking forward to next week against Melbourne.

So many people over-reacting here. Calls for Clarkson to be moved on, players dropped, change the gameplan, etc etc.

Rnd 1, people.

ROUND 1.

At the end of the day, I hate watching my team lose in this manner, especially when I have '71% of possession in the forward half' etched into my memory......

But we come out of this game with no injuries, and the opportunity to take a step forward in the SECOND game of the year. I've never been one to take too much out of the first round of the year, as it's almost an extension of the preseason in many ways, with some players still finding their way, or the structures and ball movements still needing a little tweak.

The way some of you guys are going on though, it's like we've just lost our 7th game in a row.

There's some key things that I'd like us to work on, in the coming weeks. One of which is how to stop the fast-break and free man over the top from occurring so easily.
Secondly I'd like us to start to capitalise on our forward entries, and indeed use Franklin an Roughead better.
Our defence and pressure on the ball carrier was fantastic at times in the first half, and even in the second we were only brought undone by a couple of really basic mistakes that allowed the ball to be turned over.

In short, I thought we did a hell of a lot more attacking than Adelaide did, they just took their chances. Who knows if they'd have had the ticker to fight back had Buddy and Roughs two posters gone through in the 3rd.

Sewell was average, for mine. Was happy enough to see him subbed. Ladson put his hand up early. Savage took his chance. Suckling did some good things. Bateman needs to stop playing for frees. Stratton was a rock early on, as was Gibson. Lewis needed to lift his output. Bruce made some howlers by foot.

Like I said earlier, there's plenty to work on, but there's also some good signs. We just need to put sides to the sword when we dominate the first possessions so much, like we did in that 2nd quarter.

Hopefully everyone gets back on the track this week and we improve our performance against the Dees.

Wonderful summary 'Galon', aside from your point about Chance Bateman. In my opinion he is marvelous. I don't think he "plays for frees". Chance plays solid football, applying pressure constantly.

Wonderful summary 'Galon', aside from your point about Chance Bateman. In my opinion he is marvelous. I don't think he "plays for frees".
He doesn't do it all the time, granted, but even the 2 or 3 times he did it tonight was too much to bare.

So many people over-reacting here. Calls for Clarkson to be moved on, players dropped, change the gameplan, etc etc.

Rnd 1, people.

ROUND 1.

At the end of the day, I hate watching my team lose in this manner, especially when I have '71% of possession in the forward half' etched into my memory......

Hopefully everyone gets back on the track this week and we improve our performance against the Dees.

YES there some things to be thankful for Sheils & Savage..... Hodge returning next week by the sounds of it and being back in Melbourne!

It maybe round one 2011.... but we had two years of under achieving...... Thats the problem, its the same problems. A coach who has no plan b or c for game day and fails to act when the game is turning against us! I can put up with a loss when weve tried our BEST! :(

Of course Clarkson has plan B and C. Ask yourself though, would you throw them all out there tonight?

We really weren't that far off winning this, and that's where a lot of frustration has come from. We simply should've and could've won the game.

Just for some perspective though, if you've got a marathon to run, you don't want to sprint straight up. You do want to hit the ground running, but I don't think the result was that bad that you could honestly say we didn't do that.

I have no doubt in my mind that there were things that happened tonight that Clarkson couldn't counter....and I also believe that there were some things that he chose not to, which may even lend itself to team selection.
That's his prerogative, and in the long run, when the structure of Round 1 meets up with the strategy of Round 5, perhaps we'll have a stellar season.

What we will do is move into Rnd 2 with some clear indications of what did and didn't work, and also the opportunity to go into the next game with a unchanged team, should we want to.

Regardless, I think the referencing of 2009 and 2010 in relation to Rnd 1 of 2011 is obviously why so many are quick to fly off the handle about the loss tonight, and I think it's this that lends itself to people trotting out the 'Nothings changed' slogan, which is especially strange considering how well our preseason had gone.

Of course Clarkson has plan B and C. Ask yourself though, would you throw them all out there tonight?

We really weren't that far off winning this, and that's where a lot of frustration has come from. We simply should've and could've won the game.

Just for some perspective though, if you've got a marathon to run, you don't want to sprint straight up. You do want to hit the ground running, but I don't think the result was that bad that you could honestly say we didn't do that.

I have no doubt in my mind that there were things that happened tonight that Clarkson couldn't counter....and I also believe that there were some things that he chose not to, which may even lend itself to team selection.
That's his prerogative, and in the long run, when the structure of Round 1 meets up with the strategy of Round 5, perhaps we'll have a stellar season.

What we will do is move into Rnd 2 with some clear indications of what did and didn't work, and also the opportunity to go into the next game with a unchanged team, should we want to.

Regardless, I think the referencing of 2009 and 2010 in relation to Rnd 1 of 2011 is obviously why so many are quick to fly off the handle about the loss tonight, and I think it's this that lends itself to people trotting out the 'Nothings changed' slogan, which is especially strange considering how well our preseason had gone.

It didnt even appear as though, he even changed match ups that werent working for us in the second half.... Tambling needed attention as did Dangerfield, Van Berlo.

4 point are up for grabs now and you do what ever you can to grab them, especially when you dominated the first half!

Anyway bring on the DEES and come on down Captain HODGE..............

That is a bit harsh. Every supporter has a right to view their opinion without being talked to like this. I like what you post TAITA you know what you on about and well respected. However this imo is too far. Look at this from his perspective. We won the flag in 2008 and have been pathetic since. At the start of every season we get hyped up and we have not delivered consistently enough. That is fact. "Buddy the Brave" has every right to feel fustrated because you could very well think that after tonight the season could turn bad fast. It was a 50 point turn around after all.

This is not my opinion as I thought we looked good at stages and that the Crows just played a better game then us on the night.

You are correct mate - it is harsh, and the truth is that 'Buddy the Brave' is just a psedenom for every other poster here absolutely paying out on the team.

They've had enough of the team.

They've had enough of the coaches.

They've had enough of the club.

They've had enough of this shit.

Good thing you weren't all around for the first 30 years then.

It is one ****ing game.

There is a reason I love this club, I love the fact that despite adversity for 30 years we shone and dominated, we never drop our heads until the final siren sounds, we have an unique culture, "if you embrace Hawthorn, Hawthorn will embrace you."

And when I see this board light up with know it all (know **** all) comments, slagging off our club and it's people - it's just not Hawthorn.

That is your perogative, it's an open board where you are welcome to say what you want.

But some levity wouldn't go astray.

If our club reflected the way some of the posters go on around here we would be in a constant battle for the wooden spoon with Ritchmond.

Enjoy the ride.

Very frustrated after the game. How can we look so good in the first half and then just fall away in the second like we did. Have to give credit to Adelaide but hawks went back into their 2009-10 shells once the pressure was put back on us.

- I was really happy to see us geting games into Savage, Sheilds and Suckling tonight real positives there. Why persist with some of the older blokes - Blood more youngsters.

- Opposition teams score way too easily on the rebound against us, there alway seems to be loose defenders. Do we have a defensive structure? No way we will win another premiership with our defense leaking like this.

- Decision making/disposal was terrible, too many times we turned it over trying to hit players inside 50 with cute little kicks. With the wind going our way in the last the ball would've tarvelled the distance.
Time and time again I see our players try to kick it to our advantage and instead of pinpointing a pass they dribble it out infront supposedly putting it to advantage but most of the time just put us under the pump.

- I love agression in footy but too many time ours is focused on the man and not the ball, does anyone notice this? Collingwood do this brilliantly (I feel sick complementing them, but they do it well)

- What was Clarko doing in the box all by himself? Not even a phone or headset, did he have bad gas tonight...
Is it just me or does this seem ludacris?

Anyway needed to vent. look forward to next week, its a long season

Another thought on the match before I head to bed-

Time after time Adelaide burned us with run & carry tonight, using it to penetrate our zone with long kicks on the run over the top.

In the first half I thought we went close to matching them in this department but in the second it almost looked like our midfielders were instructed to play safe, preferring to move the ball forward by foot from set kicks mostly.

Burgoyne went missing in the second half, and Young & Savage seemed quieter. Those being the players along with Rioli who I thought gave us the most run & carry through the midfield. Birchall had a poor night which didn't help.

For all our class at stoppages (ruck excepted of course) we desperately need an injection of pace. Bateman is too old for this role, and I'm guessing Issac Smith won't be ready for some time. Hodge's inclusion will help somewhat, but we will always have injuries to cover and it's a bit much to expect every one of our midfielders to be fit & firing for our gameplan to 'click'.

There's some key things that I'd like us to work on, in the coming weeks. One of which is how to stop the fast-break and free man over the top from occurring so easily.
Secondly I'd like us to start to capitalise on our forward entries, and indeed use Franklin an Roughead better.

We had this problem last year, like we are attempting to play an off-side trap in soccer. It occurred numerous times, and Clarkson and the rest of the 'specialist' coaching staff have had all summer to 'work on' a strategy to stop getting caught out so easily.

Playing such a high line in possession requires amazing fitness and great decision-making, both of which we clearly lack.

If they couldn't fix it all summer I don't think they're going to magically solve the problem in the next couple of weeks.

Also, such a strategy is even worse considering the introduction of the sub-rule. Our players were gassed 10 minutes into the third quarter. I don't understand why we'd use our sub on a bit-part half-forward turn over merchant with no decision-making skills. Give me X Ellis any day and use it earlier.

This also leads into your second point, the high line results in clutter, which means we can't get fluent delivery into buddy and roughead from our non-elite kicks (mitchell, sewell etc).

Also lol at the 'infraction'. Sorry Brent or Brent's family if you are reading this, I didn't actually mean you any physical harm. Keep up the good work :thumbsu:.

It didnt even appear as though, he even changed match ups that werent working for us in the second half.... Tambling needed attention as did Dangerfield, Van Berlo.

We'd already sacrificed Lewis to negate Johncock - extremely effectively in the first three quarters where, frankly, we should have won the game easily.

Tambling was playing loose and was effective only defensively until the last quarter. He also had the good fortune of our sloppy delivery inside 50.

Don't know about Danger but he was anonymous first half. What changed and what our response might have been is a question I can't answer - can you?

Van Berlo and Vince are just very good players. When the others around them lifted they stood out.

People defending that loss, are people accepting mediocre efforts. 2011 will be Clarkos last at Hawthorn, amazing defending off that fast break.

We will go 3-2 and might finish 4th, however, we are no chance of winning when it matters against good sides. Pretty Angry.:thumbsdown:

No shit, I think their brand has become so bland and nothing in the modern football landscape, that they are getting their joy from footy watching their bigger and better brother battle it out.

They are the reason North is struggling. They are disinterested in their own team, won't buy memberships and won;t go to their games.

Hawthorn should buy them out, take Swallow off their hands and see what we can salvage from the rest of their steaming pile of shit that once was a proud and universally loved club.

We're millionaires you know? We shall buy this place and sack the lot of you :D

After watching tonight's game all I can say is you'd want to hope this is your round 5 2007.

Like all of the members of the board, I am upset and dissapointed at the loss.

I share everyone's sentiments that our 'fitness' is a concern, this is a team with something like 12 or more players with over 100 games, who were outrun by a young team, with no players (I believe) over 200 games. That can mean that our game plan is extremely exhausting for our players, and just may not be sustainable over 24 rounds PLUS finals.

The forward press is great, but you need to defend and cover. I counted four goals with a long kick on the rebound (usually as a result of an error) to a running forward over our defence. Very concerning.

The biggest positive today, was the fact that our midfielders contributed with goals (more early). Those believing Buddy will kick 100 goals are kidding themselves. The key to success this year will be goals from our midfield.

Further, the quick ball movement in the first 3 quarters was great, with non stop run and play on, with long kicks, particularly using Young's damaging left boot.

Perspective: Rd 1 of 24, its a marathon not a sprint, but again we lose and fade out ON THE ROAD.

Negatives:

Bruce: absolutely aweful. Looked slow and past his time. Hope its nerves, but many critical errors, for a player that is 33 or so is dissapointing, definately not a parmannt part of our back half. Would rather half seen him tag Johncock and release Lewis into the midfield.

Ossie: Absolutely poor. Seeing him chase in the last quarter was a picture of where he is. He is past it. Should not get a game until he earns it. Would much rather see whitecross play his position.

Birch: Huge fan of Birch, but today I felt he was poor. Needs to show more, run run run.

Renouf: I will not criticise him, he just had an off day. Its painful to see him in front of goal.

Positives:

Savage, Shiels: Good to see youngsters blossom with the opportunity

Mitch: Will have a huge season, no baggage over who should be captain.

Burger - kicked goals, that is what we need.

Rioli: went missing in the 3rd, but went into the guts into the last and was extremely influential.

Best for Last: Josh Gibson - he was excellent, hardly beaten, and great by feet. Well done!

The other positive was no injuries.

Remember this would have been a different story if Buddy kicked 6-2 and not 2-6. We missed many easy shots.

Our next four games are could leave us 4-1 at rd 5, with melbourne, richmond, west coat and geelong.

I will save my judgement for rd 5.

the main reason adelaide won was hawthorn in ability to put us away in the first half and instead of leading by about 6-7 goals like they deserved it was only 19 points and when adelaide gained control in the second half they took full advantage. Also they was a crucial five mintute period in the second term for adelaide when we kicked three goals in five mintutes against flow which helps stay in touch.

For **** sake it's only Rd 1 guys, pull your heads in. When do you ever see a team come out and execute at 100% in the opening round? Yeah yeah defensively we got caught out a few times but I for one liked the look of what I saw, particularly in the first half, our run and carry and willingness to play on. Come Round 5 all of you blokes will be eating your words

Re: Sewell Sub Decision

Wouldn't read too much into it. The crows are a very good side this year, you'll see few if any sides bar Collingwood knocking them off at AAMI.

Whole different kettle of fish playing the hawks in Melbourne.

Lets get some perspective

1. We had 4 posters which on another day could easily of been goals. and most of these posters were at crucial times in the 1st half.

If we got up to around 40-50 point lead, Adelaide would of been dead.

2. We hardly EVER win in Adelaide, we just dont travel well. Least wait untill after the Melbourne game next week to see if our game plan is actually piss poor.

3. Its round one, alot of good/great teams in the past have lost their first game, while really shit teams win (Not calling Adelaide crap). Round 1 is always a hoodoo round.

The only thing that really shits me is one man....

Renouf....JESUS CHRIST MAN how f**king dumb are you!, how can you not know how to kick when you play at the highest professional level!

My god, if bailey isnt fit, play Lowden, least he doesnt give away 4 free kicks from center bounces in the first half.

He reminds me of Mr Bean.

Haven't see the game only read the posts here so I have no emotional involvement. Reading between the lines, what happened last night is that we played well for a half, could have been further in front but let them back in due to player fatigue causing turnovers and decision making errors. When we did have chances to score we hit the post and were generally wasteful. They kicked a couple of late ones to flatter the final margin.
The comments about Clarko seem baseless and born out of frustration.
I don't see this a terrible result. Perhaps if we trailed all night it might have been a different story but in reality you would prefer to be in a winning position in all games to give yourself a chance to convert to 4 points.

It's a long season everyone, you need to win 14-15 to make top 4 and give yourself the best chance of playing in a GF, let's not lose sight of that.

Re: We are Hacks

Sorry people. Im over it. To squander 30pts is just not good enough. Look to more of the same as the last two years. I saw nothing that can convince me that we are a better team than the last couple of years.

Couldn't agree more, over it too, I know it's only round one but the writing is on the wall, best part of a 10 goal turnaround, we should have buried them, no where near good enough, all we're looking forward to as supporters is another sub-standard season.

Somethings not right within (hasn't been for nearly 3 years) - we'll hear the usual B.S. from the club though. I am sick of the excuses.

We'll finish 7th -10th this year, if we make the finals we won't win one.

We put up the façade of a good club, good/great list, notable directors/adminitrators, like it not - proven coach/s, but we fail on the field time and time again, why?

NO HEART, NO PASSION, NO PLAN, NO SUBSTANCE, BIG HEADS, SMALL BRAINS???
All or none of the above - take your pick.

I'll be more than happy to be proven wrong though.

Jeez, I hate playing in Adelaide. There's something about that ground. It's like a vortex. It sucks up our decision making and skill execution, turning capable players into fumbling fruitcakes. Seriously. So many goals either missed or conceded due to us stuffing up where we shouldn't. And if it wasn't those things, the ball bounced sideways or over our heads, or the umpires just gave the ball back to the Crowbots with free kicks. Last night's game looked exactly like the Port game last year, and the Freo final. We're much better than that. But if it takes them another five games to find the form we know they're capable of, Clarkson's coaching career at Hawthorn is cooked.

Review Autopsy Thread: Round 1 Adelaide v Hawthorn