Review Autopsy v Cats

I don't think so. Think back to 2008 or even way back to 1997, nobody really gave us a chance in either season, but we defied expectations. Yes, we're young, but like the coach said, there's no ceiling, so why not aim high?
Both our 2008 and 1997 sides were about to hit their primes. We're nowhere near it now.
9 and 6 is amazing.
Nope. The Flag Will Wag.

Why Not Now? Why Not Us? etc etc

Not even kidding.
Love for you to be right mate but I think we will struggle to win 2-3 more this year.
Don't confuse this with negativity just the journey of a young side.

Really disappointing to let a great opportunity slip. We had a chance to have a rare win down at Geelong and to shore up our ladder position, but didn't take it.

Like a lot of others I was worried after seeing the team selections, and the vulnerabilities in the selected team were further compounded with the late withdrawal of Stevens.

Simply too many players that are far from established in either the team or even their positions to ensure a win even against what was pretty mediocre opposition. Injuries have hurt but we didn't select our best potential side today in my opinion.

If Talia was fit he simply had to be selected considering both Roberts and Hamling were out.
Redpath and Tom Boyd together in the same forward line clearly isn't working, and the effects are particularly bad for Boyd who only really got into the game when he went into the ruck.

I also think we need Macrae to be accountable for an opponent if he plays in the midfield or he should be shifted to half forward. Although he did a couple of good things late in the game, he doesn't do enough damage for us gamble on him to do more than any opposition midfielder head to head. He also looks like an accident waiting to happen when he gets the ball in defence at the moment. Watching him slowly (ignoring good leads) take one of his midrange kicks from the back pocket/flank and see it end up in an opposition goal yet again like it did in the final quarter was like watching a B-grade horror movie that you have seen too many times and it has stopped being funny.

On the guernsey, why aren't we wearing the white one with the new Bulldog logo? It would have been ideal yesterday. The red one and the red shorts are rubbish.
The white one with the Bulldog logo is a training jumper.

The match day guernseys all feature the plain hoops (as it should be), and we have to wear each at least once a year.

I agree though, the red kit is horrendous.

That game was not easy to watch especially against a vulnerable team at home this year like Geelong. A year ago I would have been satisfied with the 8 point loss and would have expected a loss by a lot more. My expectations are a bit higher this year, but the team is still so young and some players just had a bad day. Has anyone seen Murphy play so poorly in the last decade?

I'm really liking Caleb Daniel from what I've seen so far. There are so many young ones with so much potential that the future really looks bright.

If we beat Collingwood next week, I shall grant the team a plenary indulgence from today's loss.

In all seriousness, people are reacting the same they do on every other board after a loss

go look
And ... the reaction by most 'supporters' after a loss is just as irritating, even acknowledging that every other slub's supporters do the same.

God knows what the MC, players, or Bevo would make of the comments on this board. Well, I'll make a wild guess and say that they would groan and just move on to winning the next game.

I wonder what would happen if supporters applied for a match committee role, and what their CVs would look like?

No better or worse a performance than recent weeks in a lot of ways, the only difference being the result. We were due and finally got rolled for not playing to our best. Still a huge chance with 2 minutes to go if we could have managed to get the ball in the right hands and show a bit of poise. Not too worried but obviously it is disappointing to not get the points.

Geelong outmatched us all day and roved the packs well. Our tackling was poor. None played terribly, but none played terribly well either. Motlop's couple of goals the difference IMO.

I think this is a wonderful summary. I really don't think we were any worse in that game today than we have been for large stretches of the previous 3 games. We are in terrible form - and personally i thought we could have easily been 0-4 throughout this period rather than 3-1. Not that I am suggesting we shouldn't be upset at how poorly we are playing. I just find the gnashing of teeth in this thread weird, given we have been diabolical for a month (and actually much of the 6 weeks before that too). Do people simply react to Ws and Ls without watching the game or something? What we have really learnt this year is how to win when playing badly - 5 of our 9 wins fall under that banner. And that is a great thing to learn. The fact we didn't quite get there today doesn't change that.

But you can't win them all (especially when you're playing shit). So if we're going to drop a game, this is a reasonable one to drop - and by only 8 points. I'll take that (without excusing it.)

More specific observations:

- I'm certainly excited about Caleb Daniel too. But I feel like people are ignoring that he delivers his own share of handpasses to someone under more pressure than he is. He, like most of our team, needs to cut that out. And he also needs to learn to tackle - no shortage of effort there, but his tackles are just too easy to break. (And I don't count his height as an excuse. Big Libba's height didn't hurt his tackling too much.)

- Massive massive effort from Dal. We need another one of him for the forwardline.

- The dropping of marks is becoming terminal. It's been a problem the whole last month. If we need to carry out marking drills at training, then so be it. But we would have won had we not constantly placed ourselves under extra pressure through dropped marks.

- I still can't quite believe we won the clearances. From my perspective we got towelled in the midfield - especially after centre bounces. Koby and Will can't get back quick enough. It seems I was either too emotionally invested in the match, or the stats in that regard deceived.

- Setshot kicking still an issue. Although it was more of an issue for Geelong. They really beat us by a lot more than 8 points. Their inaccuracy flattered us.

We really need to snap out of this shit patch. If we beat Collingwood next week, we will be overwhelmingly likely to make the 8. But if we lose, we might find ourselves on a nasty slide.

Busy first quarter. Very quiet in the second but came back into it in the second half.

He is listed as only (!) 78.9% DE for his 9 kicks and 10 HBs but it just seemed every time he had the ball he thought his way through it - what was the best thing to do with it? Most of the time it was not just an effective disposal but one that put the recipient into a position where he had an even better chance at an effective disposal, i.e. to launch an attack. He is listed as having 5 CPs and 13 UPs (that's only 18 - not sure where his 19th "P" came from!) but he was regularly working in the guts, so even with a UP he was usually delivering it under pressure.

For a comparison, the sort of thought/execution that goes into his disposal is characteristic of Stevey J when he has space. If he can regularly deliver like that he'll be great value for us. His 19 disposals were worth maybe 25 from most other players.

On the negative side he missed a few tackles according to the Game Day thread (I missed seeing that but I'll believe it).

He also failed to record any HOs. :thumbsdown:

But to finish on a positive: on a day when we only kicked 9 goals he is credited with 2 GAs. (5 others in the side had 1 GA, no-one else had 2).

All in all, a pretty handy outing for a 19yo third gamer. (Copying in footy4ever who was interested in CD's progress)
Excellent! Thank you:thumbsu:

Really disappointing to let a great opportunity slip. We had a chance to have a rare win down at Geelong and to shore up our ladder position, but didn't take it.

Simply too many players that are far from established in either the team or even their positions to ensure a win even against what was pretty mediocre opposition.

Definitely another winnable game that got away and team selections and structure was bad.. Using Crameri in the midfield and Roughie in defence weren't the way to go. I don't see why Talia was dropped when we lost Hamling and Fletch when Roughead is better suited to a ruck role. I would rather have used Hunter as a start than using Crameri

Then we get back to Macrae and his ordinary disposals which continue to hurt us and breakdown our fw50 entries.

Probably the best kick into a leading F50 target is Stringer. Unfortunately can't have him up the field when he is also the best in front of goal. Maybe put Crameri deep and bring Stringer up the ground for a try. Crameri as a mid doesn't work.

The white one with the Bulldog logo is a training jumper.

The match day guernseys all feature the plain hoops (as it should be), and we have to wear each at least once a year.

I agree though, the red kit is horrendous.

Can we just weari the ****ing thing in Round 1 and get it over with or can we somehow change it so it isn't that one? We need an exorcism. I almost reckon the fine for not wearing it would cost us less than losing the 4pts

Probably the best kick into a leading F50 target is Stringer. Unfortunately can't have him up the field when he is also the best in front of goal. Maybe put Crameri deep and bring Stringer up the ground for a try. Crameri as a mid doesn't work.
I'd say our draftees from last year dale Daniel Webb and McLean are by far the best at delivering the ball inside our 50, thank **** we recruited skillfull players last draft

Halfway through the last quarter Stringer kick ball forward to Geelong player deep in forward alone marks when Redpath was alone should passed to him.Mitch Wallis missing a tackle on Duncan with 6 minutes left in the game they go forward Motlop marks and goal.

I can't see Prudden making it he's too slow and doesn't seem to have any real strengths other than being a neat kick. There's not really a spot for him in the midfield with slower types such as Macrae, Stevens, Wallis and eventually Libba already in there. I would rather see the classy young players such as Daniel, Webb, McLean and Dale move through the midfield first.

Last years draft was a good step in bringing in more class hopefully there's more of it this year, when Daniel had the ball yesterday things happened.

We really need to snap out of this shit patch. If we beat Collingwood next week, we will be overwhelmingly likely to make the 8. But if we lose, we might find ourselves on a nasty slide.
This......

If ever there was an 8 point game then this is it.

We win next week then we are 10-6 and still have room for a loss or two and Collingwood becomes 8-8 and well behind us and have a number of 50-50 games still to come against Sydney, Richmond and Geelong which they have been losing most of this year. We lose to Collingwood, then they go ahead of us on percentage come back to 9-7 like us and we are out of the 8 again probably and looking uphill, we have been 10-8 in the past and have failed to make finals like in 2001 IIRC and 9-7 with 2007 obviously.

Must win game, might decide the fate of both clubs this year.

I can't see Prudden making it he's too slow and doesn't seem to have any real strengths other than being a neat kick. There's not really a spot for him in the midfield with slower types such as Macrae, Stevens, Wallis and eventually Libba already in there. I would rather see the classy young players such as Daniel, Webb, McLean and Dale move through the midfield first.

Last years draft was a good step in bringing in more class hopefully there's more of it this year, when Daniel had the ball yesterday things happened.

Agreed. Gather this is a chance to look and see if there's anything missed with him that wasn't already plainly obvious. If he's on the list next year in any other form than as a rookie I'd be surprised and disappointed. Unsure of his contract status but his spot is wasted on the primary list.

All young players need to have a genuine ability that is either obvious or that can be developed - most if not all on our list have either a physical or footballing strength. I don't believe Prudden has any of these categories that translate to AFL requirements.

Review Autopsy v Cats