Autopsy Autopsy vs Gold Coast

We played like a shell of a side because we are a shell of a side you take Cunnington, Brown, Ziebell out then you take players who showed promise like Taylor, Hayden not to mention talented but perennially injured players like Jacobs and garner and to top it off underperforming senior season layers like Polec and Pittard and no wonder we’re struggling. Hell we aren’t the most talented list at the best of times

None.

If the club has any balls, we should go all in on Simpson next year.
Sure, he is on a pretty good thing out west. But he's a Victorian and they eventually come home. Malthouse, Mitchell, Rawlings.. the list goes on. We should view him as gettable.
Not going to happen, but knock yourself out

I wish before we went up to the hub the AFL gave us the option of sitting out the rest of the season.
The NBA offered the non play off contending sides that option and they all took it up.
I honestly wish we never left Melbourne after that dogs games.

This hub has done absolutely nothing and has had zero purpose.
Season should have been canned that night at Docklands.
I want the next 3 weeks to be over pronto.
Cmon your posts are usually good except this one.

30 tackles is so far from being acceptable.

Larks and Tarrant look like they are cooked and probably should sit out the rest of the year.

cant see any positives tonight, Jed tried hard. That’s about it.

I’ve supported this rabble what was that sh*te they dished up . Honestly I’ve had enough. What happened to that barn storming game from last year . I know injuries but fu** me turn over after turn oveR missed tackles not only younger players but veterans . What is the game plan . Can you please tell me. It’s a complete joke . Not sure how we smashed Adelaide. But this team and coaching is joke . Too many passengers. Not sure about you but 2020 a sh*t year and just gets shitter .
I can hear you smashing the keyboard from here, mate. Time to hit the sack and with the morn will be a new, beautiful day!

If there's one thing worse than our performance tonight, it's the pathetic comments on this thread by those that sook it up with emotional and or on the piss comments about burning their membership! i'm not renewing next season! they can shove it! blah, blah, ficking blah.

Just fu** off then, there are some of us that don't want to hear you sook it up. We all watched it, none of us like it, but nearly all of us will fork out our hard earned again next season, in hope that things improve.

I'm 55, followed this club since i was probably 5-6 years old, if i could still play i would, it nearly killed me at 28. Footy and North are what i live for in sport.

If North's performance is the reason for pulling the pin, don't post again or maybe leave it until later in the week when you've sobered up

Are you sooking about people sooking? :p

I must have missed the posts of people pulling the pin.

We basically sacked Scott and appointed Shaw because Scott said we needed to rebuild and Shaw said we didn't, ironically, it was the same scenario that got Brad the job in the first place.

It was that honeymoon period that got Shaw the job, that period was about manic pressure, hitting players hard, being aggressive. What happened to that brand of football that got him the gig?

We fielded a side that had an average age of 25 years, 10 months vs 23 years and 5 months. Average of 84.4 games vs 63.5 games. We had 9 players with fewer than 50 games, they had 12, we had 6 players 50-99, they had 3. We both had the same number of players with 100+ games.

We got beat up and pushed around by a schoolboy team. If that mediocrity doesn't bother you then I don't think everyone else is the problem. I suspected we would lose, pretty confident actually, but I thought/expected that we would put up a fight. We were meek. 30 tackles, seriously, embarrassing. If you can't put up a fight against a bunch of kids and recycled senior players then when are you?

It is less about tonight and more about where we are going. We must have higher standards.

Took game on.

Better than many others.

He isn't a defender.
Agree.

Just would like him to use players between him and as far as he can kick. I can imagine his manager ready to talk him up to other clubs as a 'Brodie Smith type kick' should he find himself delisted.
Smelt of not team first. Am not going to watch the replay but I think he burnt some team mates in better positions. I can understand his position. Shit year. I wonder what his instructions were? Hard to know if he followed them whether he is in the team next week or not.

When have we ever played those shitful dewy Qld conditions well at night? I don't remember even when we were a reasonably strong side.

Looking forward to (hopefully) only going there once next year.

There's so many outliers this year that folks aren't taking in to account.

You seem pretty sure about that. Why wouldn't it happen?
Multiple reasons,
He has a bloody good list to work with
He has start of the art facilities to work in
He's on top dollar +
He's just built a mini mansion
His kids are both settled in top private schools and are at an age where moving them will be probably isn't a good move.
Basically he has set himself and family up for the long hall, why would you think he would give all that up?

13 game against franklin in Tasi is my yardstick for pathetic.

Sorry to spoil your misery, but this was better than that.

If you can remember that then you can remember rolled by the Pies 3 goals to 22 the year before. Both losses were to teams who had premiership players on every line and who would play in Grand Finals that year.

We lost tonight to a team who have achieved literally nothing in recent years and who will achieve nothing this year. We lost 31 shots to 8. Yes, it ensures #2 and we probably didn’t need to win anyway. But shit. This club stands for something. And that sort of performance, in my opinion, stands against everything our club values.

It‘s a tough year. And it’s a year no one saw coming. But that was as poor a performance I’ve ever seen. If that was acceptable, despite all the hardships 2020 has put to us, then #2 could be Superman and it wouldn’t mean shit. This club is ****ed.

It feels worse than 1972 when we only had one win. It felt like we had won a premiership when we beat South Melbourne at Arden St. We invaded the ground and sang the song for what felt like hours after the game.
I know we are suffering injuries and giving young players experience but geez tonight looked very, very ordinary. Perhaps it’s the times we live in but I wish I could rekindle my youthful positivity and enthusiasm.

Murphy was OK took it on a couple of times, yes agree only 10 possessions, also only his 8th game
Meanwhile our veteran leader, AA, "rolls royce" has 13 possesions on the other wing and did nothing in the guts in the last qtr. Game 234. Disgrace.

We played like a shell of a side because we are a shell of a side you take Cunnington, Brown, Ziebell out then you take players who showed promise like Taylor, Hayden not to mention talented but perennially injured players like Jacobs and garner and to top it off underperforming senior season layers like Polec and Pittard and no wonder we’re struggling. Hell we aren’t the most talented list at the best of times

C'mon mate, we have 200 game senior players who couldn't land a handpass. We gave them so many free hits with just turnovers when under no pressure. We have as much system as a little league game.

When have we ever played those shitful dewy Qld conditions well at night? I don't remember even when we were a reasonably strong side.

Looking forward to (hopefully) only going there once next year.

There's so many outliers this year that folks aren't taking in to account.

I will give you that when we fly in/fly out and only go there once a year. How long have we been stuck in QLD this year?

So I'm not fussed about the score, and despite some of the understandable emotion, even the effort isn't worth commenting on, for a couple reasons - confidence is shot, so soft turnovers mean people are continually chasing tail, and thus the constant trailing of the opposition around the ground looks feeble (when it's not a marker of effort), and second, to my eye, there's some genuinely tired and/or dispirited players - Larkey in particular, even before he turned his ankle, could barely raise a trot.

On that basis, we can just look at the game as an audition, and to that end, here's my pass/fail/maybe scores for the OOC group:

1. Daw - fail. I've been a career-long supporter of Maj for his athletic attributes, but tonight was really poor
2. Wood - pass. I've been firmly in the 'delist' camp, but he was solid tonight; good to see him take a high flying mark (even with a bit of help from the umps) and convert
3. Murphy - fail. I see people rating his performance, but not me - the inability to stick the tackle on Ellis for the first goal, when he had him cold, is not the standard.
4. Hosie - maybe (but probably not). On his VFL form, I thought he would be better, and said so on here, so I'm happy to take the knock from better judges. Took some grabs, goal assist for Zurhaar's first goal, but hard to see what weapons he has for this level
5. Ahern - fail. Better in the second half, but invisible in the first when it mattered. Just not doing enough for someone who's now been on the list for long enough
6. Williams - strong pass. Put the wunderkind Rankine right out of the game went he went onto to him after Rankine got off the leash from LMac. Every team needs a reliable lockdown, and Marley gives an option
7. EVW - pass. Took some marks, composed when he got it. Can't doubt his effort
8. Josh Walker - pass. A further contract is hardly in doubt, but did what he could tonight at both ends
9. Hall - not really OOC, but went okay tonight, and with money tight, I can't see why would we pay him out when he offers credible depth

Chin up fellow Shinboners; even in the darkest hour, there's glimmers of the future

Around and nothing is ever going to keep us down. :stern look

I really did expect more from you... something about painful and inserting objects into orrifces :stern look

Autopsy Autopsy vs Gold Coast