B Section B Section Amateur Football

congrats to uni blacks on a great effort for their club. although not able to get over the line today they displayed courage, character and style. good luck in 2008! to the tigers a superb effort - fancied favourites, challenged and under siege yet showed enough character to come through in the end with a never say die attitude (take note OE!) not the greatest spectalce of a game but a typical grand final. is elsternick park the worst finals venue in victoria and will the amatuers actually look at doing something about it? third world toilet facilites, second rate player facilities and a ground that defies logic and destroys the atmosphere of what should be show piece finals football. is there any reason they built a ground in a wind tunnel? why is it when it is not windy anywhere in victoria you can guarantee it will be 40 knots at elsternwick. time for a wind farm development!

i agree with the above. was a fantastic game, but yes, elsty park is a shocker of a ground for finals footy. and you have to pay 12 bucks to get in, what a joke. the vafa should not be charging any more than 5 bucks for entry its a joke. the ground is incredibly wide so there is just no atmosphere at all really. the skills today were pretty poor, however the tackling was awesome. well done to st bedes tho, and blacks on getting up to a section. i think st bedes will be a force next year, don't reckon they'll win it tho. i also hope they don't win it.

Can understand you don't want st bedes to win next year. Thing we do know though is OEG won't win B Section.

well what a stinker I had yesterday but at least I wasn't unfortunately cursed with fanta pants like Anstey! Go Tigers
Look guys i know sammy has dirty red hair but don't hold it against him. He's alright. Played just ok. 3 on the fulls!!!!!!!!!
The boy can waddle. How does he run. Play on.

Well Done St Bedes on a great season and well deserved preimership!!!
Good Luck in A Grade. I think you'll find the standard in not a massive step up and I think you guys should be final contenders next year!

Uni Blacks great effort on making it!! I can see a great rivalry next year with you and Blues!!

The VAFA is a disgrace with their pricing policy. I agree, no more than $5 for a finals game and home & away games should be free. How do they seriously expect to get people to games when they charge such ridiculous prices?

I heard a long time ago that part of the VAFA's reasoning behind their pricing it is that they need to raise money to pay the gate & scoreboard attendants!

The VAFA is a disgrace with their pricing policy. I agree, no more than $5 for a finals game and home & away games should be free. How do they seriously expect to get people to games when they charge such ridiculous prices?

I heard a long time ago that part of the VAFA's reasoning behind their pricing it is that they need to raise money to pay the gate & scoreboard attendants!

i concur, $29 for 2 adults and a car, disgrace. And you would think they would throw a record in maybe!!!!!!

Interesting discussion about the prices, its a case of rationalising what price will bring in the most revenue ... I reckon if they paid the score board attendants and gate attendants in the form of beer they could save some money there and get more interest from people to do the job. :D

I take it your not serious, especially having seen majority of Gate Attendants being young kids.

VAFA should bundle the Catering/Events tender together and have 1 business run the canteen (+ 2 vans around the grund) and the gate i.e. in total control of all monies.

Formulate Gate Revenue less Contractor cost+margin to provide benchmark return to VAFA.

By bundling the 2 areas the contractor will provide cost efficiencies /contain costs against reduce gate prices.

Also reckon they should charge $30 a car - this is a premium benefit and price should reflect it (especially if it rains) Of course discount for handicap stickered cars.

i concur, $29 for 2 adults and a car, disgrace. And you would think they would throw a record in maybe!!!!!!
Throw in $8 to park at Sandy on Saturday after paying to park at EP to watch the SKOB ressies smash St Bedes, 2 adults at both venues plus $50 for food, had to park in the flats across from EP yesterday, then fork out another $24. Friday night at the G $97 each for 2 tickets.....damn expensive weekend of footy.

I thought only nuff nuff's still paid for AFL tickets? Surely anyone with half a brain would get corporate tickets?

I was speaking to my former teacher Sholly on Friday night in the MCC, the reasoning was simple. A few years ago (97/99) the amount of guys jumping the fence into the Elsternwick Park toliets during finals was getting beyond a joke. They almost sent the VAFA broke!

The scary thought is these same men are running MNE's around Australia.

I was speaking to my former teacher Sholly on Friday night in the MCC, the reasoning was simple. A few years ago (97/99) the amount of guys jumping the fence into the Elsternwick Park toliets during finals was getting beyond a joke. They almost sent the VAFA broke!

The scary thought is these same men are running MNE's around Australia.
So how does increasing the prices discourage fence jumpers? If anything it encourages people to do it because they know they are being gouged by the VAFA with the high prices they charge.

And there are still a few spots you can jump the fence at EP

So how does increasing the prices discourage fence jumpers? If anything it encourages people to do it because they know they are being gouged by the VAFA with the high prices they charge.

And there are still a few spots you can jump the fence at EP

Agreed - that's what happens when idiots get in positions of influence.

shannahan appointed coach of haileybury. going to be bloody even in b grade next year. caulfield have got some old guns from higher levels coming down too.

Thats my mail. A couple of quality player that used to play for Richmond. I know Chaffey, Kellaway & Rombotis could play.

Back to bed....

Get a new name informer! you are anything but! yeh and steve mckee, andrew ukovic, and rombo are all coming back to skob i heard too hahahah

Is there a petition we can start to send to the VAFA to get games shifted from Elsternwick Park to a decent ground??

Madden re-appointed at St Bernards. What is happening at OEG?? Surely Handles couldn't get the job again... ordinary, ordinary coach.

Thats my mail. A couple of quality player that used to play for Richmond. I know Chaffey, Kellaway & Rombotis could play.

Back to bed....
Yep, back to bed and flog the dolphin. Rombo is committed to coach Kangaroo Flat and his body is stuffed. He also is best mates with half a dozen of SKOB lads whom he won a Premiership with in B Section in 04, when he was Vice Captain. Im also great mates and he aint playing for your blokes mate. As far as kellaway goes, definately not playing. Dont know about Chaff but I doubt it, he was only going to play if Rock went back there and he never did or will.
So, in summary, there is more chance of Brad and Chris Scott playing for my beloved SKOB next year and that isnt going to happen either.

``It's pretty easy for a club to blame the coach, so I think they've taken the easy way out,'' Handley said.
``I coached 40 games in two seasons and we lost 10 of them, but there's an element of weakness at the club that means it can't get over the line (in finals).''
He predicted that some people associated with the club would be disenchanted with the decision.
``I know there are a couple of players who came to the club this year because I was there,'' the former St Bernards assistant coach said.
``I'm not sure where this (my departure) will now leave them.''

No wonder the club is full of sh1t blokes who think they are better than everyone else.. just look at the above!!!! talk about blowing smoke up ones own ar$e..

good on OEG for sacking this twit!

``It's pretty easy for a club to blame the coach, so I think they've taken the easy way out,'' Handley said.
``I coached 40 games in two seasons and we lost 10 of them, but there's an element of weakness at the club that means it can't get over the line (in finals).''
He predicted that some people associated with the club would be disenchanted with the decision.
``I know there are a couple of players who came to the club this year because I was there,'' the former St Bernards assistant coach said.
``I'm not sure where this (my departure) will now leave them.''

No wonder the club is full of sh1t blokes who think they are better than everyone else.. just look at the above!!!! talk about blowing smoke up ones own ar$e..

good on OEG for sacking this twit!
So long love handles...take the Biggs blokes with you, good riddance to all 3, absolute self centred, ego driven morons. PEGS will be stronger no doubt, well done to the OEG hierachy.