B Section B Section Amateur Football

Memo to U23 state selectors - Pick Bishop and Plugga Lynch in the U23 state side!!

Both were sensational again yesterday. Bishop taking on Skurrie & Cooper. With Plugga killing the Ammo glamour boy Baddeley & Tim Biggs.........

To the PEGS players - the aftermatch was upstairs you must have got lost???

They didnt get lost,the sign on the door said "NO CHOKERS ALLOWED".
Have the finals come early for oeg

Very, very dissapointing effort from the OEG boys not to attend the aftermatch, bad sportsmanship doesn't reflect well on them as a club and as individuals...Heres hoping for a non OEG Grand Final berth.

When I left the ground on Saturday I found a memo from the OEG coach to the players regarding what they will be working on at training this week. I have been kind enough to post it below

Dear Players

Choking
is the mechanical obstruction of the flow of air from the football ground into the lungs. Choking prevents pefromance on the field, and can be partial or complete, with partial choking allowing some, although inadequate, flow of air into the lungs. Prolonged or complete choking results in embarrasment which leads to game loss and surely this year will be potentially fatal.

To combat this ongoing problem we will be training in the following which can be performed mid game when required. We must and I say must have this perfected for the 2nd semi and the prelim.

Heimlich Maneuver

Abdominal thrusts lift the diaphragm and force enough air from the lungs to create an artificial cough. The cough is intended to move and expel an obstructing foreign body in an airway. Each thrust should be given with the intent of removing the obstruction in the hope that you will be able to perform at a level that will enable us to make it through finals one day.

The Coach

Geez for a side that won't play finals you're all pretty lippy. Well done to the way you played on Saturday though. OEG never looked winning and SKOB did everything right. I thought the grandfinal-like celebrations were a little over the top though?

Seriously...win lose or draw. and SKOB have had a bit of luck in winning a few close one on foundation day I have never seen an opposition not turn up to the after match function. Much much prouder and better clubs i.e. who have won plenty of A grade flags and dont have criminals running around have shown up and shown better sportsmanship.

Considering the loss doesnt hurt OEG at all it was odd to have a cry and go home to east kelior. Interested to hear the defence for this type of behavior.

Seriously...win lose or draw. and SKOB have had a bit of luck in winning a few close one on foundation day I have never seen an opposition not turn up to the after match function. Much much prouder and better clubs i.e. who have won plenty of A grade flags and dont have criminals running around have shown up and shown better sportsmanship.

Considering the loss doesnt hurt OEG at all it was odd to have a cry and go home to east kelior. Interested to hear the defence for this type of behavior.

Agreed. Doesn't set the best example and definitely something that needs to be better.

Reckon they should probably serve light beer at next years foundation game. Clearly a few of the grey army on the balcony took advantage of the full strength on offer.

It wasn't a matter of not turning up to the aftermatch at all. We had a meeting after the game where it was only players and coaches allowed in the rooms which took up a lot of time. The players then made their way upstairs after that so to say that OEG players didn't go to the aftermatch function is just plain wrong.

What an offensive post. Your post degrades the spirit of the vafa code of fair play.From what i am told it was a great game,good on Skobs.Oeg is a proud and well respected club.Perhaps they did not feel welcome after the abuse they evidently recieved from the balcony from the well oiled onlookers.Enjoy the day,

To quote the greatest batsmen of all time."Winning is not everthing,it is how you play the game"

I can't see how we were over the top? We just knocked off a pretty much full strength top side who had previously lost one game, I think we were entitled to slap a few backs after the game. Everyone shook the oppositions hand and we sang the song in the rooms and not on the ground so unsure what was wrong here??
As for the balcony section, lets leave that one alone or we will have to bring out the PEGS fathers line again and that will only make Cardio & TP very upset.

much like the OEG windy hill celebrations earlier on this year TBP.....
Footy is an emotional game, good on em for having a good win when not many were picking them (although looking back thru the pages it seems a fair few of us did).
As I said at the start of the year....OH starting to fire at the business end of the season. Bernies back on track and Marcellin had an easy win over the soon to be C Grade Beauy. Finals race is wide open....

I can't see how we were over the top? We just knocked off a pretty much full strength top side who had previously lost one game, I think we were entitled to slap a few backs after the game. Everyone shook the oppositions hand and we sang the song in the rooms and not on the ground so unsure what was wrong here??
As for the balcony section, lets leave that one alone or we will have to bring out the PEGS fathers line again and that will only make Cardio & TP very upset.

Thanks Merc

Actually I'm upset that we have just have a fantastic round of VAFA footy in A & B Grade this weekend with alot of celebrations and tears, and all this thread can stir up is that defeated players didn't come back for a drink - fair dinkum, go and get another drink.

Since we had so many people out there, any chance someone could enlighten the football purists on how SKOB won the game or more importantly how PEGS lost it?

Also what about the great win by OM over OCamb - great result for their relegation deflections.

Also, how can a side that has kicked scores of 14-16 goals this year can only kick 1 Goal in 8 quarters of B GRADE football against 1 Side. Not good enough.

much like the OEG windy hill celebrations earlier on this year TBP.....
Footy is an emotional game, good on em for having a good win when not many were picking them (although looking back thru the pages it seems a fair few of us did).
As I said at the start of the year....OH starting to fire at the business end of the season. Bernies back on track and Marcellin had an easy win over the soon to be C Grade Beauy. Finals race is wide open....

That's rubbish about Windy Hill and to be honest I reckon OEG are getting far too much air time at the moment. SKOB played the game well and won a great game and have come on here talking absolute S about choking, not turning up to the after match etc etc. OEG didn't have their best game and they will move on to their next game in 2 weeks. I would advise SKOB to do the same... or should they just start looking towards 2009?

Thanks Merc

Actually I'm upset that we have just have a fantastic round of VAFA footy in A & B Grade this weekend with alot of celebrations and tears, and all this thread can stir up is that defeated players didn't come back for a drink - fair dinkum, go and get another drink.

Since we had so many people out there, any chance someone could enlighten the football purists on how SKOB won the game or more importantly how PEGS lost it?

Also what about the great win by OM over OCamb - great result for their relegation deflections.

Also, how can a side that has kicked scores of 14-16 goals this year can only kick 1 Goal in 8 quarters of B GRADE football against 1 Side. Not good enough.

The ground is not your standard oval and is more a rectangle, whilst we only play there once a year a bit of local knowledge does help.

Without any disrespect to PEGS I thought are onballers got a bit more of it, our defenders on the big 3 played really well and the playmaking backman of PEGS were dragged out of the play as much as possible.
As has previosuly been stated on here - Lynch & Bishop were very good, but it was a very disciplined effort from the boys.

That's rubbish about Windy Hill and to be honest I reckon OEG are getting far too much air time at the moment. SKOB played the game well and won a great game and have come on here talking absolute S about choking, not turning up to the after match etc etc. OEG didn't have their best game and they will move on to their next game in 2 weeks. I would advise SKOB to do the same... or should they just start looking towards 2009?
Magnum, the bottom line is we all should respect the opposition win, lose or draw, and OEG didnt. As far as SKOB looking to 2009, they are a club rebuilding in B Section after almost a decade in A Section, please let us all know when OEG get to A Section for the first time, if that ever happens.

Since we had so many people out there, any chance someone could enlighten the football purists on how SKOB won the game or more importantly how PEGS lost it?quote]

Simply a matter of winning the contested footy. SKOB wanted it more and didn't have three or four players drift out back or forward of the footy waiting for someone else to go get it and dish it out.

Quick ball movement and having one on one contests in the forward line were the key and kicking the footy between the big sticks also helps - accuracy was good for the second week in a row.

Quick sides who apply continual pressure at the contest over the four quarters will be a chance against Old Essendon - going by their results they might not have come up against a side that can sustain it for the whole match, allowing their class to see them through.

It was a great game and enjoyed by all up on the balcony!

Magnum, the bottom line is we all should respect the opposition win, lose or draw, and OEG didnt. As far as SKOB looking to 2009, they are a club rebuilding in B Section after almost a decade in A Section, please let us all know when OEG get to A Section for the first time, if that ever happens.

C'mon Brian... you're better than that. I'll put my hand up and say I left straight after the game but that's because my lift (a non-player) had to leave. Ralph has since explained that players did make their way up after a long meeting in the rooms. What else has OEG done to disrespect SKOB?

Since we had so many people out there, any chance someone could enlighten the football purists on how SKOB won the game or more importantly how PEGS lost it?quote]

Simply a matter of winning the contested footy. SKOB wanted it more and didn't have three or four players drift out back or forward of the footy waiting for someone else to go get it and dish it out.

Quick ball movement and having one on one contests in the forward line were the key and kicking the footy between the big sticks also helps - accuracy was good for the second week in a row.

Quick sides who apply continual pressure at the contest over the four quarters will be a chance against Old Essendon - going by their results they might not have come up against a side that can sustain it for the whole match, allowing their class to see them through.

It was a great game and enjoyed by all up on the balcony!

Cheers Danny - sounded like a good day.

Thanks Merc

Carl, as I mentioned last week when I saw them for the 1st time play OEG, I just can't believe Beauy's game plan. They seem to have gone from one that had good goal scoring capabilities to one that just wants to shut up shop,flood the backline taking a "don't hurt us too much" situation.

Is this the game plan you need when your facing relegation?..or have they just given up?

In the first 5 rounds they were averaging 13 goals a game.not winning, but at least trying to win it on the scoreboard so scoring skills seemed ok.

In the last 4 rounds (take out OM game as Mifsud I think someone said he was away that game) Mifsud game plan has delivered 4,4,6 and 1 goals .

How can you go from ave. 13 goals/game to less than 4 goals/game in 3-4 weeks in B Grade footy?

Why doesn't he just go man on man accountable footy to give them the chance of kicking some goals and rejuevenate the team.

What an offensive post. Your post degrades the spirit of the vafa code of fair play.From what i am told it was a great game,good on Skobs.Oeg is a proud and well respected club.Perhaps they did not feel welcome after the abuse they evidently recieved from the balcony from the well oiled onlookers.Enjoy the day,

To quote the greatest batsmen of all time."Winning is not everthing,it is how you play the game"

Proud maybe, bit of redeeming to do to gain any respect.

Regarding the celebrations, pot calling the kettle black to suggest they were over the top. I seem to recall the OEG boys having a team photo on the ground after their Round 5 victory.

Also noticed that the goal kickers and best players weren't entered on time to make the morning papers. Perhaps just a little sign that all is not rosy in Avondale Heights...