Ben Cousins and would North want him - merged threads

I don't have much sympathy for Cousins as he's had access to some of the best help available. Having said that though, I don't think the fault lies entirely at his feet.

Just to add to mav's post......

Users are generally dependant and need some form of help to get over it. I know I needed some help. I now like my beer and wine but I'm not an alcoholic. If i had to give it up it would be a struggle.

that said, one of the main reasons Ben went to the US was to please the AFL and the Eagles. If he was really full on about rehab he would have been back the day after footy finished.

1. It was probably very foolish of the Eagles and the AFL to think that Cousins could have overcome his addiction in such a short period of time.

2. As Ken Judge said, he was made aware of the potential for Cousins getting into trouble, but when he brought it up, the Eagles did nothing.

3. The U.S. rehab seemed to be as much about PR as it was about helping Cousins.

4. If they really do accept that Cousins drug addition is a health problem, then surely instead of simply sacking him, they would either put him on the long term injured list OR suspended him for two years. That way, he stays on the list and gets help, the Eagles get punished by having to keep his wages in the salary cap, and it becomes a constant reminder to all other AFL players of the risks they take with drugs. As it is, by sacking him, he becomes someone that everyone can pretty much ignore, and the Eagles can now get on with the business of rebuilding their image.

5. Wait for the legal sh(t fight if it turns out that Cousins is cleared of all charges.

If it comes to that, surely he'd be looking for a club to come back to, so he can stick it up to the Eagles who cut him.

If he was really over his problems and motivated to prove everyone wrong, he'd still be a great pick up at age 30. He could play 2-3 quality years I reckon, if he went to the right club.

If it comes to that, surely he'd be looking for a club to come back to, so he can stick it up to the Eagles who cut him.

Imagine if he did come back. I wonder what sort of reception he'd get in his first game back at Subiaco. It would probably be similar to the weird atmosphere when we saw Carey play in an Adelaide jumper - a mixture of anger and regret, a few boos from North fans but many others staying silent.

I would think that plenty of those Eagles fans who gave him a standing ovation in his comeback game would feel pretty cheated now.

vlad76 said:
If he was really over his problems and motivated to prove everyone wrong, he'd still be a great pick up at age 30. He could play 2-3 quality years I reckon, if he went to the right club.

If Pagan or Sheedy were still coaching, they'd certainly take a risk on Cousins.

But as it is, I don't think any of the coaches have the nerve to take him and his problems on.

Mail just in.

If Cousins isn't in jail, dead or deregistered, expect St Kilda to take him in the PSD.

Stay tuned.

No human being has ever needed to avoid another like he needs to avoid Michael Gardiner.

If we snagged him we could board him at Arch's.:thumbsu:

Any tomfoolery from Ben and it will be into the back yard with the gloves on.;)
l'm sure little Arch will be the first to have a crack (pardon the pun):rolleyes: at him . He's like the old man ......not scared of anything or anyone.:D

I don't have much sympathy for Cousins as he's had access to some of the best help available. Having said that though, I don't think the fault lies entirely at his feet.

Just to add to mav's post......

1. It was probably very foolish of the Eagles and the AFL to think that Cousins could have overcome his addiction in such a short period of time.

2. As Ken Judge said, he was made aware of the potential for Cousins getting into trouble, but when he brought it up, the Eagles did nothing.

3. The U.S. rehab seemed to be as much about PR as it was about helping Cousins.

4. If they really do accept that Cousins drug addition is a health problem, then surely instead of simply sacking him, they would either put him on the long term injured list OR suspended him for two years. That way, he stays on the list and gets help, the Eagles get punished by having to keep his wages in the salary cap, and it becomes a constant reminder to all other AFL players of the risks they take with drugs. As it is, by sacking him, he becomes someone that everyone can pretty much ignore, and the Eagles can now get on with the business of rebuilding their image.

your forgeting something mate, the AFL warned the eagles that if cousins or any other eagles players slipped up again then they could potentially lose draft picks.... if they would have kept cousins and surrendered their draft picks, it would have been as if they got nothing for judd (given that picks 3, 13/12 (dont know which they have of those 2) and 20 were taken from them) Is it really worth giving up 2 possibly 3 potential stars of the future or 1 star of the present who may only have a few years left in him? It was the right decision as he was a bad image for the club and the consequences were dier....

Still, i would love to have him at north.... preferably without drugs... although he most likely won his 2005 brownlow medal on drugs, so maybe he plays better on them:D

cousins to roos=premiers 08'

Benny........come on down son. I never doubted you! :eek:

Yeah great work by the cops! (and my bro is a 'D')!! :rolleyes:

Like when they do a raid on two law abiding pensioners living at 25 Resign Street only to find they should have been raiding a drug lab at 25 Re-sign Street.

your forgeting something mate, the AFL warned the eagles that if cousins or any other eagles players slipped up again then they could potentially lose draft picks.... if they would have kept cousins and surrendered their draft picks, it would have been as if they got nothing for judd (given that picks 3, 13/12 (dont know which they have of those 2) and 20 were taken from them) Is it really worth giving up 2 possibly 3 potential stars of the future or 1 star of the present who may only have a few years left in him? It was the right decision as he was a bad image for the club and the consequences were dier....

I understand what you're saying, but my point is that what would have been (imho) the right course of action couldn't be taken due to the pressure from the AFL and the threats of draft pick/points penalties. The very threat of AFL action meant that the only course of action the Eagles could have taken was to sack Cousins.

If it was any other player at another club, the club would have closed ranks and said that they'd wait for the results of the police investigation before taking any action. In light of the claims that the police will drop one of the charges (the main one of him having a prohibited drug), a different player from a different club would be pretty much scott free now.

So if charges are dropped, what's wrong with him nominating for the draft and moving to Melbourne for a fresh start?

The AFL most likely will stop him nominating for the draft which they have indicated they will do.

Plus its only one of the two charges dropped anyway and having prescription drugs on him without a prescription while not illegal, is probably not a healthy thing for him.

The AFL most likely will stop him nominating for the draft which they have indicated they will do.

Plus its only one of the two charges dropped anyway and having prescription drugs on him without a prescription while not illegal, is probably not a healthy thing for him.

But he's trying to get better isn't he?

You wouldn't want Cousins at your club

He would ruin your Clubs name

Just look what he done to WCE

The may lose all there Draft Picks

How would you feel if he done That To North ?

I just don't see where the AFL gets off with this holier than thou big brother attitude. The charges have been dropped. The guy has undergone rehab for his previous problem, and is continuing rehab. He has been put under the most intense media spotlight, which in the hamlet of Perth goes well beyond reasonable, and it looks like he's been subjected to clear police harrasment (do you reckon anyone else would have got that level of video taped search?) And he's been dumped by his club because they were too gutless to deal wtih the situation two years ago when they should have acted.

If that guy doesn't play football again it will be an absolute fcuking travesty. Considering the guys who are still allowed to play after assault charges, how do you end a career over a refused blood test, an addition for which you have sought - and continue to seek - treatment, and a mountain of rumour and innuendo which makes Today Tonight look like Playschool????

Well done to the WA police.

No wonder all the west coke boys are running a muck over there with that kind of police work.
WCE keep QC'S on retainer just for little problems such as this
Cousins,Kerr etc have never had to answer for stuff like this ever.
No I do not want Cousins at North Melbourne,we can not afford the legal bills

Ben Cousins and would North want him - merged threads