AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
In most cases if you are running to the Salary Cap then the money will run out before the points do. So if your campaigning for more points you should do the same for a higher cap as well.
I think you guys are starting to make some sense now.
The admin of every competition throughout Victoria need to start and implement the points system available.
Strath (for example) have been dominant at the top of the ladder for a long time.
What is stopping them from been restricted to say 32 points and making them bring juniors through rather than recruiting a couple of guns every year?
And yes they do bring juniors through every year but try and restrict the recruitment of ex VFL players and the like.
The points should be access every year and looked at a 3-5 year window of how the team has faired through a period of time.
No one wants to see the same 3-4 teams making up the finals every year.
Admins need to start and stand up to some of these clubs also.
How many times have we seen some points restricted to a club and they appeal and win.
We are all crying out for every club to be competitive.
How many times through the year do you check the fixture (in all comps) and most of the results are known before the game is played?
Tired comp footy will never work in country footy, community clubs rely on community support and that is everyone's at the footy on the same day.It will more likely come in a few years' time when clubs in leagues such as the LV, NC and GR start disappearing. Just like what is happening with some struggling clubs in country areas, some leagues will hold on as long as they can and take in clubs from leagues that are struggling (that is unless AFLV start doing investigations and making recommendations again, remember when they used to do them?).
AFLV probably won't admit to there being any problems with the way things are until clubs actually fold and leagues become unviable.
I reckon we will end up with a Central Victoria Football League with Division 1 (BFNL) and the remainder of the clubs split geographically into Northern and Southern divisions (each with 1-2 grades, depending on numbers).
You are likely to see similar set-ups around Ballarat, Goulburn Murray and Gippsland in the next 10-15 years.
Currently football clubs are not located where people live.
Players live in Bendigo and travel out to clubs such as Mitiamo as an example.
I know it's not this simple but consider the idea of move the club to where the people live.
No club plays at Weroona Oval for example, only one club now plays at QEO
Umpires can train at Epsom
Excellent post.
If they really want to get some competitiveness back then cut the points of the top teams each year. Do the entire competition allocation each year based around their finish that year.
If Gisborne averaged 35 last season cut them to 32, give Strath 34, Golden Square 36, Eaglehawk and South 40 and no limit on the rest.
No doubt demographics play a huge part in the success of clubs. Seems to me the more affluent areas in most leagues enjoy the most success.Ok. I'll play devils advocate.
Does any change/alteration/ideas/initiatives to salary cap, points etc make any difference at all? Are some clubs simply doomed due to population changes, young people's interests and opportunities, volunteer numbers and capabilities and a heap of other factors?
Some clubs might be doomed for sure. But more intelligent rules around the points system would bring clubs closer together. Instead of the current system that sees the top clubs keep all their players due to their success whilst being able to add players due to extra points from the drop retaining players get.Ok. I'll play devils advocate.
Does any change/alteration/ideas/initiatives to salary cap, points etc make any difference at all? Are some clubs simply doomed due to population changes, young people's interests and opportunities, volunteer numbers and capabilities and a heap of other factors?
The points system was always going to serve the strong clubs so well. No surprise almost all the good kids go to strong clubs to get developed, leaving an outrageous imbalance between high-performing clubs and low-performing clubs.
Fixing the points allocation is a step in the right direction but it needs to be universal across all Victoria if not players will leave the leagues that make appropriate changes and go to leagues like metro which currently have much higher points allowances in my opinionSome clubs might be doomed for sure. But more intelligent rules around the points system would bring clubs closer together. Instead of the current system that sees the top clubs keep all their players due to their success whilst being able to add players due to extra points from the drop retaining players get.
Demographics is the biggest issue, just look at the players running around in the malllee league in its last year, those clubs all had plenty of money, just no locals and juniorsOk. I'll play devils advocate.
We have at least 4-5 clubs that are currently on the precipice right now, including Castlemaine, Corowa-Rutherglen, Rushworth and Old Mentonians. Then there is the Upper Murray league, which is living as a shaky year-to-year proposition.
I reckon this time next year, we will be talking about 10-15 clubs in this position and the viability of leagues other than the UMFNL will be raised in the next year or two.
We are only seeing the tip of the iceberg right now and there is no simple fix to the problem, otherwise we'd be doing it.
I've seen leagues with only one team. They don't function well.Time to drop the reserves? Can clubs function with only one senior side?
Time to drop the reserves? Can clubs function with only one senior side?
Hearing South are in big trouble as well, will scrape through this year but unless they land a 100k sponsor or run 3 car raffles it might be curtains in 2024
Finances and fact their junior program has been so poor numbers wise for a few years now!Big trouble in regards to numbers or finances?
A tiered system is the only way forward IMO
Central Vic FNL
Div 1 /2 / 3
Premier division has all netball
With numbers dwindling not sure an u23 is the way to go... most u23 would be playing seniors anyway. Don't think restrictions on players ages would help any club at the moment.I've long said the way forward is 2 senior teams.
Merge under 18s and reserves into a colts competition, an under 23 with a certain number of overage players allowed per team.
Increase under 16s to under 17s.
We lose huge numbers of players out of 16s and 18s, if you made it a younger players competition it would help I think.
Hearing South are in big trouble as well, will scrape through this year but unless they land a 100k sponsor or run 3 car raffles it might be curtains in 202
What a genuine load of shit mate, where are you hearing that rubbish and better yet why are you believing it? The club is in the best shape it has been in a decade on and off the field.Hearing South are in big trouble as well, will scrape through this year but unless they land a 100k sponsor or run 3 car raffles it might be curtains in 2024
South, Sandhurst havent had a following for 25 years, apart from parents and players, bevo, unless they've gone out and paid overs, which they've never done I'd doubt it, south moving to Kennington will help as wellFinances and fact their junior program has been so poor numbers wise for a few years now!
They also need 600 supporters to arrive in town and turn up and drink the bar dry every week! They are in a similar position to Kyneton, Castlemaine, Maryborough and Flat atm when it comes to attracting players as they don’t have and good locals coming through. Unfortunately they don’t have the funds like Kyneton and to some extent Flat to be able to buy in some a graders anymore at what the going price is if you want to bring in some elite players
I think reserves footy will go with mous with minor league clubs, with guys allowed to play at both during the year, with female footy to take the reserves spotTime to drop the reserves? Can clubs function with only one senior side?