Bendigo FL Thread 2010

Thought Maryborough's effort was great on the weekend worked hard after getting a slow start and looked good afterwards. Will be tough this week with South coming off a big loss but the pies should be confident

heavy rain expected fri nite into satday mite suit maryb. magpies. bloods will get stroobants back from bombers, pioneer jake barrack maybe
will phil carroll come up --- seems he was late pullout from last satday
looks like leech n burger bergin gone for season

also in magpies favor. sunday game will be 6th on the qeo bog for the w/end. their big bodies wore the hurst down last sun.

heavy rain expected fri nite into satday mite suit maryb. magpies. bloods will get stroobants back from bombers, pioneer jake barrack maybe
will phil carroll come up --- seems he was late pullout from last satday
looks like leech n burger bergin gone for season

also in magpies favor. sunday game will be 6th on the qeo bog for the w/end. their big bodies wore the hurst down last sun.

Surely they have to get some games of the QEO. There won't be a bloody ground left the way it is going

You have to remember that South have big bodies too. Very big. For all their perceived pace shortcomings, they've had no problems in the wet. Besides, those two are pretty good inclusions.

Good effort by Maryborough to get there though. Pity the Bendigo Addy didn't think so. One small article a few pages in, compared to about 5 full pages on the Hawks v South match. Not really balanced reporting.

Interesting also how the Bombers got big write-ups for winning late in the season and making the finals. Addy previewed the game like the whole city had suddenly got behind them, then gave them the biggest cold-shoulder treatment after they lost on the weekend.

A tame netball feature article got more coverage than the Bombers, Pioneers and BFL Elimination combined. What's going on with that?

Surely they have to get some games of the QEO. There won't be a bloody ground left the way it is going

Totally agree, wouldn't you think they'd be trying to protect the ground until the Grand Final. They'd get more people out at strath anyway.

Geez the league seem stubborn.

Totally agree, wouldn't you think they'd be trying to protect the ground until the Grand Final. They'd get more people out at strath anyway.

Geez the league seem stubborn.

Strath have a pretty good setup, but have you thought about what would happen if it rained? There is next to zero protection for spectators, let alone seating at any time. Besides, anyone can walk in from all around the ground.

Agreed, Strath is a terrible facility for spectators.

I guess it comes down as to what matters more in the finals, the condition of the surface and the quality of the football, or the facilties and amenities for the crowd.

Given the financial implications for the BFL, I'd suggest the latter.

Strath's facilities for watching the games will improve over the next few years. I have heard some improvements will be made at the ground over the summer.

Surface great but yeah, in the Castlemaine game there this year they literally had to help about 10 cars that parked at the fence get out.

I think in 5 years time it will be one of the better football grounds for watching the game in the Bendigo area.

Agreed, Strath is a terrible facility for spectators.

I guess it comes down as to what matters more in the finals, the condition of the surface and the quality of the football, or the facilties and amenities for the crowd.

Given the financial implications for the BFL, I'd suggest the latter.
Well Maineman if the two postposed finals are to be played next Saturday (as stated on the BFNL website) then Maryborough v South 1st Semi should be played at Castlemaine - it would be a good neutral ground and why should both finals matches be played in Bendigo. Maryborough & Castlemaine are also represented in the Reserves & Thirds.

If the 1st Semi cannot be played at Castlemaine then it should be played at Maryborough. South supporters may not like this and might argue they should get the home game as they finished higher on the ladder, but they lost their last final at home and Maryborough won away so now its their turn.

A 1st Semi at either Castlemaine or Maryborough would finally give something back to the BFNL's country supporters.

Well Maineman if the two postposed finals are to be played next Saturday (as stated on the BFNL website) then Maryborough v South 1st Semi should be played at Castlemaine - it would be a good neutral ground and why should both finals matches be played in Bendigo. Maryborough & Castlemaine are also represented in the Reserves & Thirds.

If the 1st Semi cannot be played at Castlemaine then it should be played at Maryborough. South supporters may not like this and might argue they should get the home game as they finished higher on the ladder, but they lost their last final at home and Maryborough won away so now its their turn.

A 1st Semi at either Castlemaine or Maryborough would finally give something back to the BFNL's country supporters.

Its being played at Golden Square

Maryborough's ground is in Terrible nick

Yeah that's fair enough but surely if it's good enough for the VFL to stage games there surely it's good enough for us. Square's centre wicket is a bit of a mess as well.
Not an easy decision

Great idea, pity they didn't go with it.

And as for South supporters not liking it, I'm sure the three of them would have an enjoyable car ride together!

Camp reserve is in great nick, surface would be as good as any other ground in the comp and Castlemaine could sure use the boost after the season they had.

As M.P said though Maryborough is cactus. MCDFL given up holding their final there.

Personally I think there should be more rotation of finals in the first few weeks, regardless of ground conditions.

Great idea, pity they didn't go with it.

And as for South supporters not liking it, I'm sure the three of them would have an enjoyable car ride together!

Camp reserve is in great nick, surface would be as good as any other ground in the comp and Castlemaine could sure use the boost after the season they had.

As M.P said though Maryborough is cactus. MCDFL given up holding their final there.

Personally I think there should be more rotation of finals in the first few weeks, regardless of ground conditions.
So in Bendigo on Saturday there will be Ist & 2nd Semi Finals - and the Loddon Valley Grand Final being played a hop, skip & jump away!

The horse has bolted, but what an opportunity to play the 1st Semi Final at Castlemaine which Maineman states is in great nick - not Square where Max Powers informs the centre wicket is a mess with more rain due later in the week.

In particular, what would have been wrong with the Board giving something back to the BFNL's country clubs and supporters who have done it hard? This was a good opportunity wasted and I say this as a Sandhurst supporter.

So in Bendigo on Saturday there will be Ist & 2nd Semi Finals - and the Loddon Valley Grand Final being played a hop, skip & jump away!

The horse has bolted, but what an opportunity to play the 1st Semi Final at Castlemaine which Maineman states is in great nick - not Square where Max Powers informs the centre wicket is a mess with more rain due later in the week.

In particular, what would have been wrong with the Board giving something back to the BFNL's country clubs and supporters who have done it hard? This was a good opportunity wasted and I say this as a Sandhurst supporter.
The BFL Board has currently ex Golden Square committee men on it. Why would the Board play the final at Castlemaine.

mate happend to look at centre square at square today and does not look too bad to me and i am looking at it from a cricket curator point of view.
I went to footy at Ky on Sunday(to see a real game of footy-Robertson Adem Yze were good but still a long way behind the standard of the other players especially Yze brother number 4 who looked like a walk start to AFL to me-I think his age around 25 may go against him but he is a seriously good player) and Square ground overall is in much better condition -should be a great game on saturday

Max ... how is the square ground looking 2 days out from 1st semi. pics ive seen in paper arent that flash.
and max, talking about ex square committee on bfl board. andy jakubans ex dogs prez is on the board and also chair of hall of fame panel

:thumbsu: and apart from hdfl outfit huntly wot bfl club does paul byrne follow :eek:

Max ... how is the square ground looking 2 days out from 1st semi. pics ive seen in paper arent that flash.
and max, talking about ex square committee on bfl board. andy jakubans ex dogs prez is on the board and also chair of hall of fame panel

:thumbsu: and apart from hdfl outfit huntly wot bfl club does paul byrne follow :eek:

Will find out the state of the ground tonight, as for Andy jakubans i didn't know he was on the BFL board? And the same can be said for paul byrne.
Although i haven't seen Paul at the square footy for years although he was a past president. I doubt very much that these guys would have had to much to do with getting the game at golden square. I think ollie went through the rationale in the addy today.

NO secret whatsoever, BanFL
Just turn to page 1 of your BFL Book each week and there's the list of board members. It's been in the BFL book, every week, for years n years n years !!
So Maxwell, you haven't been reading your copies of the BFL book.

Andrew Jakubans and Paul Byrne, have been discussed above. Also Chris Richards. All 3 with Square backgrounds but board people are impartial.
Other board members, apart from chairman Damian Drum who has NO club affiliations. Does anyone know who his kids play for?
Melissa Ryan: Sandhurst. Dr Carol McKinistry (wife of Sandhurst club medico Dr Rowan Molinaar). Don't think Carol has an allegiance, but not sure.
We all know when Rowan is at a game he attends to whoever is injured, Sandhurst and opponents.

Netball Committee: Melissa Ryan and Kylie Ellis: Sandhurst Third member Justine Fitzgibbon: not sure. [maybe South :confused:]

Six board members. Three netball committee members.

:thumbsu: Get hold of your weekly books, fellas, and have a read !! :)

Seriously What do Golden square get out of hosting the game? Nothing.
It's exactly the same as it being at the QEO or Maryborough. Split revenue between clubs & split working rosters.

Seriously What do Golden square get out of hosting the game? Nothing.
It's exactly the same as it being at the QEO or Maryborough. Split revenue between clubs & split working rosters.
What about supporters Max - particular BFNL supporters who don't live in Bendigo.
There will be two finals on the same day in Bendigo, plus a Loddon Valley Grand Final - how much football do you want, or can get to for that matter?

Castlemaine for example would have made a good neutral venue and given something for supporters to the South & West of Bendigo. If there is a problem with Camp Reserve I withdraw my comments but you would be forgiven of you concluded the Bendigo League was run for the benefit of clubs located in Greater Bendigo and the country clubs are just there to make up the numbers.

The BFNL Board is very very lucky they retained Gisborne.

What about supporters Max - particular BFNL supporters who don't live in Bendigo.
There will be two finals on the same day in Bendigo, plus a Loddon Valley Grand Final - how much football do you want, or can get to for that matter?

Castlemaine for example would have made a good neutral venue and given something for supporters to the South & West of Bendigo. If there is a problem with Camp Reserve I withdraw my comments but you would be forgiven of you concluded the Bendigo League was run for the benefit of clubs located in Greater Bendigo and the country clubs are just there to make up the numbers.

The BFNL Board is very very lucky they retained Gisborne.

Excellent post, Camp Reserve is fine but I can see the arguments when the games are on the same day given the need for support staffs to travel.

When the finals are back to the usual format it would be great.

Another move could be to share the Michelson venue. Pretty boring day today I thought, Josh Bowe worthy winner but you'd reckon 145 goals might have been worth a few more!

As usual the umpires voted for names rather than performances.

Excellent post, Camp Reserve is fine but I can see the arguments when the games are on the same day given the need for support staffs to travel.

When the finals are back to the usual format it would be great.

Another move could be to share the Michelson venue. Pretty boring day today I thought, Josh Bowe worthy winner but you'd reckon 145 goals might have been worth a few more!

As usual the umpires voted for names rather than performances.

Thats probably a little unfair, Josh Bowe was a worthy winner like you said but a Full Forward hasnt won it since Greg Kennedy in 71. If you think of all the wonderful key forwards to have played in the AFL and only Tony Lockett in my lifetime has won a Brownlow. They are very much a midfielders award. I actually spoke to a prominent Bendigo umpire on that topic, and although he sholdnt have, had said he expected Mark Lloyd to poll more than Weeks. (This was a month before the count). He had two points, as an umpire you notice the deliverer more than the forward, secondly, rarely are they aware how many goals a key forward has kicked.
He went on to suggest Weeks would get mainly ones and twos...