Bendigo FL Thread 2010

yep terrible loss by the tiges boys from all accounts.
but might have been evn worse loss by maryborough troops. didn't flat hammer them after the magpies had been the favorites around town.
i hear m'b didn't get in front the whole nite

What I had heard was from Maryborough team source, Ill listen in tonight for your interview with Fisher then hey?? lol I doubt you guys would have moved!!
And last time I checked, 3BO is a business! Thats advertisng, like Fresh do to, is the broadcasting box heritage listed?? Geez, you would hope not, ever been up those stairs...dear god!!!

Any word on the treatment of Daniel Geary??

I enjoy this, I am only rattling your cage BG because you come in every time!! :thumbsu:

Haha...only "rattling" mate is the rocks in your bonce, with the sound gently softened by what can only be described as a massive chip on your shoulder.

For a bloke clearly furious with the station, I thought Fisher sounded quite chatty tonight on BO, on both occasions Sammy Hargreaves spoke to him...hopefully you caught it? :rolleyes:

You seem to know plenty aboute "heritage listing"...so you tell me mate?
As for Daniel, he didnt answer his phone, so they spoke to the Huntly president instead...whats the treatment issue? :confused:

Was a great game out at Canterbury today, South showed they wont just make up the numbers in 2010 with a gutsy late finish, Bergin and Hardinge add plenty of class and grunt.

Locky reported, from what Im told it was pretty soft and he'll get off? No doubt again a case of an umpire going on a reputation instead of officiating the incident on its merits.

Good also to see the Flat not so reliant on Maddern tonight for the first time this year, and finally give there home fans something to cheer about! :thumbsu:

Haha...only "rattling" mate is the rocks in your bonce, with the sound gently softened by what can only be described as a massive chip on your shoulder.

For a bloke clearly furious with the station, I thought Fisher sounded quite chatty tonight on BO, on both occasions Sammy Hargreaves spoke to him...hopefully you caught it? :rolleyes:

As for Daniel, he didnt answer his phone, so they spoke to the Huntly president instead...whats the treatment issue? :confused:

Was a great game out at Canterbury today, South showed they wont just make up the numbers in 2010 with a gutsy late finish, Bergin and Hardinge add plenty of class and grunt.

Locky reported, from what Im told it was pretty soft and he'll get off? No doubt again a case of an umpire going on a reputation instead of officiating the incident on its merits.

Good also to see the Flat not so reliant on Maddern tonight for the first time this year, and finally give there home fans something to cheer about! :thumbsu:

Perhaps we start a new thread "3BO vs the Fresh" and even have one of those fancy polls to see who rates who the better ;)

What's 'pretty soft' about a deliberate round arm punch to an opponents head?
He'll get 3 to 4.

Perhaps we start a new thread "3BO vs the Fresh" and even have one of those fancy polls to see who rates who the better ;)

Beat me to it as well doona, how about you knobs take your petty talk about your radio stations and start a new thread instead of clogging up this one with your same repetitive arguments.

No need for any poll Doona....as theres far more interesting topics/talking points happening in the BFNL anyway ;)

The Interleague side being one of them, depending on how you look at things, Joffa Brennan must have one of the toughest jobs in coaching, narrowing a squad of 53 very, very good footballers down to the final 24-25 he takes into May 22.

On the flipside its probably also a gig most coaches would love to have aswell, working with the cream of the crop.

So who rucks, who starts at CHF, FF and FB? Would have thought these are the key posts for most sides...and will they focus on youth and speed a la 2009?

any chance ur boys can snaffle a win in 2010 maineman or r the c'm pies going to be 0-18 by August 22nd :confused:

i wood say this week vs. a pumped up flat is a no go --- maybe kynton in round 11 is a chance but then again its @ the Showgrounds

on the radio kerfuffle zack harvey, jonesy and poops mcconnell go all right, don't they, on the local u know ??

any chance ur boys can snaffle a win in 2010 maineman or r the c'm pies going to be 0-18 by August 22nd :confused:

i wood say this week vs. a pumped up flat is a no go --- maybe kynton in round 11 is a chance but then again its @ the Showgrounds

on the radio kerfuffle zack harvey, jonesy and poops mcconnell go all right, don't they, on the local u know ??

They are hopeless as well I reckon, RR.

As for your first question, it is a very real possibility, although history shows we usually catch someone unawares at the Camp.

We would love the second half against Kyneton back again that's for sure!

I must say though that considering the results the spirit around the place is pretty good, I'd rather lose every week under Eylesy than have things the way they were last season. At least footy is enjoyable this year - as much as it can be when you're getting beaten every week of course.

Lavington in the O&M have just reappointed their coach Tim Sanson for the 2011 season in what will be his 14th year as the club's coach. This is a very stable club.

The longest serving coach (of one club) in the Bendigo League that I can recall would be Derrick Filo. I think this would be about his 8th year at Eaglehawk. As a long time Sandhurst supporter the longest serving Dragon coach I can personally remember would be Ron Best for five years in the 1970's - (73 to 78).

I also remember Bill Bonney coaching Golden Square in the 1970's for a fair while - perhaps a Square supporter could advise exacty how long.

Can anyone advise other (past) long serving coaches in the Bendigo League - does anyone have a record approaching Tim Sansons?

yep terrible loss by the tiges boys from all accounts.
but might have been evn worse loss by maryborough troops. didn't flat hammer them after the magpies had been the favorites around town.
i hear m'b didn't get in front the whole nite

Maryborough were very ordinary for the third week in a row. They need to get back to basics. Season on the line this weekend against Gisborne.

Somebody said re Dan Geary that the jokes you made whilst trying to contatc him were pretty degrading and unprofessional is all. I did listen in at the game on (Saturday night, knowing full well you would go after Shane). 1.Seemed to me to give very short answers for a well spoken polished media performer 2. Spoke to him re the coaches box and he isnt impressed.
Well, its been fun, this may pop up again when BO come back in finals time.....lol:rolleyes:
Also, no chip on my shoulder BG, but for a guy who claims no involvment with BO you defend them alot, nobody weighed in from Fresh when I first questioned the coverage, then again, they may not have the internet there yet...

early round 7 tips, b4 we even know the ins n outs:-

strath v kyn ... storm boys to bounce back at home after almost getting the job done at the graveyard;
maine v flat .... green boys got their mojo back last sat nite and should be too polished for struggling pies;
ehawk v square ... square has a wealth of riches with a few still to cum back in. hawks will b better if herdman plays;
maryboro v gizzy ... magpies lost their way last sat. nite and look top heavy, not enuf runners to bak up j. hind. still good enuf tho' to beat travelling gizzy, and;
south v hurst at qeo: in match of traditional rivals south's edge in experience should get the red boys home. dragons miss too many easy pings on goal.

having said all this have to improve personal tips record. got only 3 out of 5 last weekend.

Somebody said re Dan Geary that the jokes you made whilst trying to contatc him were pretty degrading and unprofessional is all. I did listen in at the game on (Saturday night, knowing full well you would go after Shane). 1.Seemed to me to give very short answers for a well spoken polished media performer 2. Spoke to him re the coaches box and he isnt impressed.
Well, its been fun, this may pop up again when BO come back in finals time.....lol:rolleyes:
Also, no chip on my shoulder BG, but for a guy who claims no involvment with BO you defend them alot, nobody weighed in from Fresh when I first questioned the coverage, then again, they may not have the internet there yet...

This is the last thing I'm going to say on this rubbish because you clearly have lost the plot, we all know you work for the fresh and that you have a very unhealthy obsession with 3BO........ most of the rot you put on hear you put on your facebook site as well so your not fooling anyone. As for Shane yeah he looked really upset when he approached me before the game shook my hand and had a chat, he also asked "whats this Cr@p about me being annoyed with you blokes?" I let him know where it came from hoops so good luck with that!! Shane and Gav both told me directly that they had no issue with 3BO at all. He was unhappy at 3qtr time during his interview because his side was getting well beaten, what did you want him to do crack a few gags and sing a song?? Shane is an honest and upfront bloke, if he didn't want to talk to us he wouldn't have so get your story straight.

And finally mate, instead of continually attacking 3BO to make your own station look better why don't you just let your product and programming do the talking?? Its great that you guys cover the whole local footy season and thats the great thing about community radio! 3BO is a commercial station that has commercial agreements in place to put AFL to air on local radio. We were lucky enough to be able to cover the BFL night matches and really enjoyed doing it, unfortunately for us there are no other night matches til finals so we will look forward to that and the interleague game! 3BO have never said anything to attack, degrade or undermine the Fresh......why......because we are professional, you might want to look up that word in the dictionary pal. Variety is the spice of life and I'm sure people have enjoyed having a choice of who they listen to for their local footy coverage for the last 6 weeks. Good luck for the rest of the season, we will see you come finals time!. No more arguing with you from me...as a wise man once said “He who argues with a fool only proves there are two!”

3BO have never said anything to attack, degrade or undermine the Fresh......why......because we are professional, you might want to look up that word in the dictionary pal. Variety is the spice of life and I'm sure people have enjoyed having a choice of who they listen to for their local footy coverage for the last 6 weeks.

Meow!

Have you guys ever actually surveyed your listeners (assuming you have any) and asked if they are actually want to hear local footy of a night?

I would have thought that most of your 'listeners' would prefer you to be playing music rather than having half cocked amateurs who lets face it are largely there to stroke their own egos. As a BFL player I also think it is very ordinary that you have jumped in when CCC/Fresh have been doing it for years. I would like to see the BFL say Fresh has first call and if 3BO wants to do a different game then fine, not double up.

You can get on your high horse as much as you like about professionalism but the fact is the Fresh dedicate many hours of airtime to local footy and have for a very long time. You guys jump in and start your token after game show which again is more of an ego stroke for a bunch of AFL media expert wannabes. Maybe that is why their ads are touching a nerve?

And you say that 3BO is a commercial station and can't do games because of other reasons. That's fine but don't try and have your cake and eat it too. The listeners already have some ordinary commentators to hear, I don't think they would really value the option of choosing another set of ordinary commentators doing the same game.

And before you say it I have no connection to the Fresh, but I must say it is great now they are on air full time with a signal that is strong to be able to listen to a station where the DJ's aren't full of their own sense of importance and the music has some variety. Maybe 3BO is getting touchy because they finally have some real competition and they are starting to take a hit in audience numbers?

Can you pansies please stop talking about radio coverage please??? Tit-for-tat crap that only detracts from your already ordinary credibility. Noone takes either station seriously, but there's nothing else to listen to.

On REAL football news, Lock from Eaglehawk got 2 matches for a love-tap on R Connaughton, depending on which side of the fence you sit of course. Locky will be hitting the Universal dancefloor harder than normal this week ;)

Big game this week for the Dragons against South. Have to win to gain some finals credibilty. Will be a great game to watch!

Fitzgerald, Walsh still out with injury. Good to see Carrott Wilkinson from Echuca finally make his senior BFL debut after some injury problems. Will only get better. And Matty Thornton with his first bag of 5 in senior footy. When he puts on some size, he will be a big star at BFL level.

Can you pansies please stop talking about radio coverage please??? Tit-for-tat crap that only detracts from your already ordinary credibility. Noone takes either station seriously, but there's nothing else to listen to.

On REAL football news, Lock from Eaglehawk got 2 matches for a love-tap on R Connaughton, depending on which side of the fence you sit of course. Locky will be hitting the Universal dancefloor harder than normal this week ;)

Big game this week for the Dragons against South. Have to win to gain some finals credibilty. Will be a great game to watch!

I'll assume you are talking about Hoops, bloodhound etc... as my credibility is beyond reproach I'm sure.

Just on the tribunal, I'm not sure why they even have one. Why not just let the umpires decide who is guilty and how many weeks they get on the spot, as the hearings are a sham anyway. At least it would save everyone coming out for the night.

OH, I dunno Kenny. Quite entertaining, especially early in the week before the team ins and outs filter in.
Early this week we've only had the stories on the Storm bloke being taken to the Graveyard front gate and waved goodbye and Locky copping a fortnight's holiday.

Why not let them go at it. All part of the media coverage of the BFL. And on that how about the Bendy Magazine [the glossy one which comes out maybe 4 to 6 times a year] giving the print media No. 1 mantle to the Bendigo Weekly over the Advertiser.

One day a week versus 6. C'mon folks. That was ridiculous.

Why not let them go at it. All part of the media coverage of the BFL. And on that how about the Bendy Magazine [the glossy one which comes out maybe 4 to 6 times a year] giving the print media No. 1 mantle to the Bendigo Weekly over the Advertiser.

One day a week versus 6. C'mon folks. That was ridiculous.

I reckon the Weekly is a better paper. The old quantity versus quality debate I guess.

Did I hear correctly on radio this morning that the CEO is going to stand for the Nationals at the next election?????

Your are right he is running for the National Party in the state election to be held in November.

If he is elected he wont be any loss to the Football in this region.

Football has gone backwards since he has fiiled the role as CEO of football in this region.

Has anyone ever heard of Luke Stockdale? I think he played in the Bendigo League last year...what's his history and does he go alright?

Just on the tribunal, I'm not sure why they even have one. Why not just let the umpires decide who is guilty and how many weeks they get on the spot, as the hearings are a sham anyway. At least it would save everyone coming out for the night.

Agree maineman....what a disgrace!
From 4 different people I spoke to who saw the incident on Saturday (3 of which were Sth Bendigo reserves players or supporters) they all agreed there was nothing in it at all.
Even Connaughton said contact was minor?!
Now, we have the biggest game of the year this weekend (outside the GF) a showcase for the BFL, and its been robbed of a major drawcard in one of the key players for the Burra!
Its players word against umpires...and its an arguament the player is never going to win.
So your right maineman, why bother? Just send the club an email and tell them how long there player will be suspended...and stop wasting peoples time.
Or...heres an idea! Stop rubbing out players when the incident is minor, nobody gets hurt, and the player struck/hit etc says theres nothing or little in it! The yellow card and 15 minutes off the field should be punishment enough!

Has anyone ever heard of Luke Stockdale? I think he played in the Bendigo League last year...what's his history and does he go alright?

Pretty sure he's a real estate agent.

Agree maineman....what a disgrace!
Its players word against umpires...and its an arguament the player is never going to win.
So your right maineman, why bother? Just send the club an email and tell them how long there player will be suspended...and stop wasting peoples time.
Or...heres an idea! Stop rubbing out players when the incident is minor, nobody gets hurt, and the player struck/hit etc says theres nothing or little in it! The yellow card and 15 minutes off the field should be punishment enough!

Just ask Daniel Christmas who was crucified by an umpire who for whatever reason decided to squeeze as much attention out of being at the tribunal as he could.

Guy Marshall is much the same this week. Minor contact last week although a little late, free kick, 50 and sent off.

Now he also has to miss a week.

Just another example of the BFL getting above its station and thinking it needs to act like the AFL.