List Mgmt. Best 22 for 2014 + structures and strategies

Hey Peanut, let me dumb this shit down for you because you seem to have a simplistic view of footy:

Always a good way to start a post.

Can we try to keep the debate at a reasonably civil level, cheers.

Hey Peanut, let me dumb this shit down for you because you seem to have a simplistic view of footy:

1. Has Shepard done anything so far to suggest he is a better player? Answer: No
2. Is Shepard soft? Answer: Yes, to date. needs to improve similar to where Rosa was 3-4 seasons back.
3. Do I think Shepard will be a better player in the long run? Answer: Yes, but no confident.
4. Then why do people people pick him ahead of Hutchings and Cripps?

Answer: Balance. Hutchings is a similar player to Priddis and Selwood. We can't have too many of this type. Shepard has speed and a history of good foot skills.

2 slow ball magnets with average foot skills + 1 quick outside with good footskills >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 3 slow ball magnets with average foot skills

I'm not saying Shepard is going to be up to AFL standard. In fact we don't know yet. but if he comes good he will be valuable. More valuable than another player we have plenty of already.

This player X is better than player Y so must play theory you have is rubbish. We need some toe and that's why I have both Schoey and Shepard in my starting 22. Have a look at the difference Wojinnski, Isaac Smith, Motlop etc make to their respective sides. A quick player or two adds an extra dimension.

Thanks for the abuse mate. Its obvious you cant have a discussion and back it up with anything so you've started to attack the person. Well done. ;)
As for the rest of your post above. You've listed more reasons not to have him in the side over reasons to have him in the side, and you're calling others a peanut? Cripps is fast, as fast as Sheppard, and Sheppard missed a fair few of his targets on tuesday. Hutch is not slow, nor is Selwood. Priddis is slow, so you have 3 ball magnets, 2 with pace, 1 that is slow opposed to one guy who is soft, gets hardly any possessions, cant always hit a target, but you think he could be something special despite 4 or 5 seasons doing absolutely nothing.

Nice reasoning mate.

Hutchings is definitely on the fast side. I would gladly have him in our top 8 mids well over Sheppard/Cripps. He could easily get up to S Selwoods level. I really like what he brings and I think his draft position affects what you think of him.

He is definitely better than he gets credit for. He's not our best mid, but he does bring things to our side that we need, being defensive capabilities, ball winning skills and he has the capability to hit targets when in space which we need. he's also fairly adaptable in that he could play as a half fwd, a wing, a tagger or a mid.
I just think he is one of those players that flies under the radar and so what he does doesnt get noticed.
Dont get me wrong, i'd love for guys like Sheppard, Smith, McGovern and all these young guys with ability to live up to thier potential but you cant keep waiting forever and i believe in earning your spot and rewarding form.

FB: Yeo Emac Glass
HB: Ellis Brown Hurn
MID: Rosa Priddis Masten
HF: Wellingham Kennedy Darling
FF: LeCras Cox Hill
Ruck: Natanui Selwood Shuey

Interchange: Bennell, Gaff, Schofield
Sub: Cripps

I believe these our best 22 players and gives balance to the side in all positions.

Emg: Hutchings, Butler, Sheed, Lycett, Wilson, Sheppard

Schofield used as a utility to go forward/back, along with M Brown, will give Kennedy, Darling and Cox a chance for rest at stages with less rotations available.

Bennell will be used as small defender rotation when Yeo or Ellis, or even Hurn, is pushed up the ground into the middle or need rest.

Gaff will be used as that midfield rotation and maybe small HF rotation.

Cripps pushed out to sub because of guys like Masto, Wellers, LeCras and Hill rotating up forward and midfield.

Players rotating through midfield and wings are Yeo, Ellis, Hurn, Rosa, Priddis, Masten, Wellers, Darling, LeCras, Hill, Selwood, Shuey, Gaff.

Yeo - Mckenzie - Glass

Ellis - Schofield - Hurn

Rosa - Wellingham - Gaff

Masten - Darling - Lecras

J.Hill - J.Kennedy - Cox

NicNat - Priddis - S.Selwood

Shuey, Cripps,

The last 2 positions when Waters isnt playing(if he was it would just be one) will be fought out between Sheed, Sheppard and Hutchings. One will be the sub. Thats how i see your team. Edit: Also add Butler to that lot aswell.

Yeo - Mckenzie - Glass

Ellis - Schofield - Hurn

Rosa - Wellingham - Gaff

Masten - Darling - Lecras

J.Hill - J.Kennedy - Cox

NicNat - Priddis - S.Selwood

Shuey, Cripps,

The last 2 positions when Waters isnt playing(if he was it would just be one) will be fought out between Sheed, Sheppard and Hutchings. One will be the sub. Thats how i see your team. Edit: Also add Butler to that lot aswell.

Pretty close for mine. I think Brown's gone past Schofield as the second key tall (with Glass playing as the third tall these days, and Schofield not really able to take a key forward). Don't think Cripps is a lock. So I'd put Brown at CHB and have Cripps and Schofield battling for the last two/three positions with the other guys you mentioned.

It was good to see Brown not look horrible at CHF. He has been such a bad forward, but who knows, maybe simplifying his task to "just lead up to the wings and contest" when he is forward he could be servicable. This would really help with team balance and dynamic.

My team at the moment, which is pretty similar to most.

Yeo Mackenzie Glass
Hurn Brown Ellis
Rosa Priddis Gaff
Masten Darling Wellingham
LeCras Kennedy Cox

Naitanui Selwood Shuey

I: Schofield Hutchings Hill
S: Cripps

E: Sheppard Sheed Butler

Edit: assuming Waters and Tunbridge not available for selection

Pretty close for mine. I think Brown's gone past Schofield as the second key tall (with Glass playing as the third tall these days, and Schofield not really able to take a key forward). Don't think Cripps is a lock. So I'd put Brown at CHB and have Cripps and Schofield battling for the last two/three positions with the other guys you mentioned.

Yeh i probably shouldve changed Cripps in with those other 4 as a fight for those last 3 positions but i feel the way he plays and his more attacking goal kicking side would mean hed at worse be a great sub option over Butler, Sheppard ect. I think Cripps is in the lead at of the 5 because he can add to the small forward line allowing Lecras to push up potentially also Darling and also have himself go through the middle. He also has offensive capabilities.

Every Nab cup i see Brown named in the eagles side only for a few weeks into season proper for him to be playing back in the blue and white. I just did a dogs best 22 there forward line will involve L.Jones, Crameri and a resting ruck Campbell or Ayce Cordy. Campbell in the lead id suspect after his performance. When you look at that 3 Brown is certainly not required. Schoey can play on any 3 probs worst suited to Resting ruck.

Melbourne might me more suited to him with potentially a resting ruck, Howe, M.Clark and Dawes - all 4 may be required but if there are only 3 i can see Schoey playing on Howe as a nice matchup.

Saints have Stanley as resting ruck, NRoo in which youd think Mckenzie would get and just one more tall as they lack in that area maybe Maister.

Every Nab cup i see Brown named in the eagles side only for a few weeks into season proper for him to be playing back in the blue and white.

Well I can 100% guarantee you that won't happen this year.

(because he'll have shifted from East Freo to East Perth)

After NAB 1.

Yeo Glass Schofield
Ellis Mackenzie Hurn
Rosa Priddis Gaff
Masten Kennedy Wellingham
Lecras Cox Darling

Int: Cripps Sheed Bennell Sub: Sheppard

Emg: Hill Brown Butler

Brown's a decent CHF as far as leading and marking goes. Just his nous around the goals is non existent. Freaks it when he's got the ball anywhere near the 50

We could try I suppose. The NAB cup would be the time to find out. The only problem is both Lycett and Cox are not incredibly great below their knees. We would probably drop Kennedy and Cox deep and leave Darling and Lycett to lead up to the wings.

Just sounds like too much. I am sure Lycett will get his chance. At worst, its Coxys last season.

People listing Brown out and Schofield in are really just living in their own fantasy land.

When Glass retires, we need Brown to be ready (i.e more advanced than he is now).

Schofield will never be one of our genuine 2 KPDs.

Saying all of the above, I value Schofield as a B22 utility.

People listing Brown out and Schofield in are really just living in their own fantasy land.

When Glass retires, we need Brown to be ready (i.e more advanced than he is now).

Looking forward to seeing Barass develop - we need to be developing a young key defender. There's not many on our list.

Yeah i reckon keep giving games to Brown until his contract expires again, then sell him off to St K for an early second rounder, and then play Barrass/Gov/McInness.

Use St Kilda's second rounder on a Maginness type.

I think schofield is fine a KPD just has different attributes than brown . Schofield is much better suited to mobile KPF like roughhead , Cameron or Westoff . With brown suited to Cloke , johnno brown or Hawkins . Horses for courses . As soon as a fwd has a big work rate , pace or agility brown has struggled . Brown also needs to kill the contest with his spoils . To often his spoils go front and centre . I'm hoping mitch can get to the level his brother is at .

Yeo Glass Mackenzie
Ellis Brown Hurn
Rosa Priddis Gaff
Masten Kennedy Wellingham
Lecras Cox Darling

Int: Hill Hutchings Schofield Sub: Cripps

Tough to pick the last few spots. Honestly the starting 18 pretty much pick themselves at the moment. Bit of movement in spots but those 18 will be up I think.

For the bench: We usually like to have a flexible tall so that man will be Schofield I assume. Hoping he is on track. Hutchings has proven himself to be of decent size, speed and hunger. His skill level is a step up on McGinnity and is more damaging so he is an upgrade there. Really iffy on Hill as the final spot. Cripps given the sub so he can use his pace and endurance towards the end of matches to his advantage.

In Contention:
Sheppard
Bennell
Tunbridge
Waters - if he gets right, he will be back in the team no doubt.
Butler?

List Mgmt. Best 22 for 2014 + structures and strategies