Unofficial Preview Best 22! Who’s in the team Round 1, 2023?

B: Hardwick, Blanc, DGB
HB: Scrimmers, Webble, Day
C: CJ, CMac, Amon
HF: Moore, Siss, Greene
F: Bruest, Lewis, Wingard
Foll: Reeves, Newk, Ward

Int: Meek, Finn, Nash, McKenzie, Stephens

Em: Worps, Morris, Frost, Morrison, Impey, Bramble, Butler, Long, Jeka, Ramma, Lynch

We are starting to bat deep and believe Sam when he said recently that we now have the nucleus of a team that will get us back to the top. This World Cup soccer s**t is screwing around with my sleep patterns ….. posting at stupid times

B: Hardwick Blanck DGB
HB: Jiath Sicily Scrimshaw
C: Day Newcombe Amon
HF: Moore Lewis Wingard
F: Breust Reeves MacDonald
R: Meek Ward Worpel
Int: Mackenzie Impey Maginness Kosi Morrison
Em: Nash Bramble Frost

DGB Blanck Hardwick

CJ Sicily Day

Amon Duke McDonald

Moore Meek Bruest

Brockman Lewis Wingard

Reeves Ward Nash

Scrimshaw, McKenzie, Stephens, Finn

Emergency Jeka Morrison Impey Frost

DGB Blanck Hardwick

CJ Sicily Day

Amon Duke McDonald

Moore Meek Bruest

Brockman Lewis Wingard

Reeves Ward Nash

Scrimshaw, McKenzie, Stephens, Finn

Emergency Jeka Morrison Impey Frost
I like your team. Would love to find a spot for Morris - maybe at the expense of Brockman. Weddle for Stephens could be another - but I reckon you have the balance right - as long as Meek and Reeves can genuinely command a tall forward role, which means 2 goals between them per game on average.

I like Morris and Weddle is definitely the future.

I went for Brockman because I believe he can be a difference maker this year based on what he's shown so far, while Morris is a little behind him on that front.

If Weddle goes well in the VFL, and Stephens doesn't show something quickly, then I'd have no problem switching them around. I believe Weddle will be the better player long term.

I share your thoughts on Meek and Reeves too. I'm hopeful Meek is ready for the bulk of the responsibility there. Reeves has shown he can kick a goal also.

Geeze, a good problem to have with plenty of young talent vying for spots

The way I see it:

7 x backs
8 x mids (incl. 1 x sub)
7 x fwds
1 x ruck*

*with 2nd ruck possibly counting as a fwd

Backs (7):
Lock: Sicily, Hardwick, Blanck, Scrimshaw, CJ
TBC: DGB, Jeka, Morris, Frost

Mids (8):
Lock: Newcombe, Amon, Ward, Day
TBC: Worpel, MaGinness, Morrison, MacKenzie, Weddle*1, Bramble*2, Stephens, Hustwaite, Nash, Long

Fwds (7):
Lock: Lewis, Bruest, Moore*3, MacDonald*3,
TBC: Wingard, Brockman, Kosi, Impey, Butler, Greene, Serong, Ramsden, O’Sullivan

Ruck (1):
TBC: Reeves vs Meek as starting ruck, with a good chance No. 2 rotates through as a fwd if Sam’s confident they have enough craft/ability.
Lynchy as the alternative option

Really tough to refine it to best 22(23) at this stage.

*1 Weddle being called a utility but training with the mids and expected to start on a wing
*2 noting Sam mentioned in an interview he was excited for Bramble to come back to play mid/wing - so whilst Simpson also said he was excited about him (as the backline coach), I’m really intrigued to see what he ends up doing.
*3 both expected to get decent mid minutes, but I strongly suspect they’ll rotate through fwd/mid

In terms of the ‘TBCs’, I note:
Backs, I like the combo of Morris and DGB at this stage, but more options could open up if Scrim switches forward.

Mids, this is the hardest line to pick for me as I can genuinely see them all having an opportunity next year. One of the really exciting things to look forward to I guess! I’m leaning towards MaGinness, MacKenzie, Worpel, with Weddle as the sub due to versatility.

Forwards, you’d think Wingard plays if fit, and based on the commentary about Greene likely getting a game last year in our side, I’d assume he makes it also. Reeves/Meek to rotate through.

This would mean:
B: Hardwick | Blanck | DGB
HB: Scrimshaw | Sicily | CJ
C: Amon | Newcombe | Day
HF: Moore | Greene | MacDonald
F: Bruest | Lewis | Wingard
FOLL: Reeves | Ward | MacKenzie
INT: Morris | Worpel | MaGinness | Meek
Sub: Weddle

I think Frost will go forward as it will be his best chance of getting in the side. Blanck, DGB and Jeka they will go with back there (or 2 of them). I rate Frost and he has pace and toughness to play forward with Lewis and relieving ruckmen. Great thing is we are building one of the fittest teams out there just need to get more years into them. Butler is the forgotten guy at the minute but he is a talent too

Frost has played 140 of 141 AFL games as a key defender.

He only missed games for us due to injury. Never been dropped or played for Box Hill.

Blanck replaced him due to injury alone because we had no one else aside from Hartigan. If Frost didn’t hurt his knee, Blanck wouldn’t have been playing AFL.

What has Frost done to warrant not coming straight back in? He is our most experienced defender.

No way known is he not back playing KPD round 1.

Surprised how few of you had Morrison in the team. Coming off a top 10 BnF year and one of Sam’s faves. Surely one of the first picked every week.
Frost & Morrison are in our back 6 all season as far as I’m concerned

For a team that apparently doesn’t have much depth I’m struggling big time to fit people in.

Hardwick - Blanck - Sicily
CJ - Frost/DGB - Morris

Day - Worpel - Amon

Wingard - Scrimshaw - Moore
Greene - Lewis - Breust

Reeves - Newcombe - Ward

McDonald - Impey - Mackenzie - Meek
Sub: Maginess

Emergencies/on the cusp:
Morrison
Nash
Kosi
Jeka
Frost/DGB
Brockman
Bramble
Stephens
Butler
Weddle
Lynch

Developing:
Ramsden
Hustwaite
Long
O’Sullivan
Bennetts
Seamus

Surprised how few of you had Morrison in the team. Coming off a top 10 BnF year and one of Sam’s faves. Surely one of the first picked every week.
Please don't feed the trolls mate - it's very disruptive to them trading footy cards and blowing bubblegum.

There are going to be weeks where developing players get games over regulars. I love Morrison, his is a great story, and he's a credit to himself and an asset to the team.

Is there absolute certainty that he's going to be picked every week over a younger player who tears it up in the VFL?

I'll bet we see some kind of rotation of our regular players to trial young kids. With so much youth on the list, you're wanting to try them out at AFL level once they look like they're ready. It's the whole point of bringing so many in.

If we were more advanced in the rebuild I woudn't be so confident of this. But the next few years is all about finding the kids who will become regulars to go with what we already have.

There are going to be weeks where developing players get games over regulars. I love Morrison, his is a great story, and he's a credit to himself and an asset to the team.

Is there absolute certainty that he's going to be picked every week over a younger player who tears it up in the VFL?

I'll bet we see some kind of rotation of our regular players to trial young kids. With so much youth on the list, you're wanting to try them out at AFL level once they look like they're ready. It's the whole point of bringing so many in.

If we were more advanced in the rebuild I woudn't be so confident of this. But the next few years is all about finding the kids who will become regulars to go with what we already have.
If he’s playing like he did last year theres just no way he’s getting dropped and it would send the wrong message to the playing group if he was. Particularly as he matures into an age group where we’re notably thin.

Regardless, this is a best 22 thread, and he even if he is rotated with the younger ones at some point, we’re talking “round 1 2023”.

If he’s playing like he did last year theres just no way he’s getting dropped and it would send the wrong message to the playing group if he was. Particularly as he matures into an age group where we’re notably thin.

Regardless, this is a best 22 thread, and he even if he is rotated with the younger ones at some point, we’re talking “round 1 2023”.

I agree but didn't have him in for round 1, along with other players who I personally rate highly from that age bracket. I don't mean he'd be dropped, just rotated out of the team to give new blood some exposure, or rested.

Good problem to have though, I think the battle for flankers and midfield spots/wing is wide open for a heap of players this year given the broom that we've run through the place the past two years.

Great arguments on here about a likely best 23 for round one. A few players missing in some hypothetical teams are Morris, Morrison, Impey & Frost.

I feel all will get a nod for round 1 but I cannot work out who goes out! What a great situation for the club and competition for spots.

Super excited about Reeves & Meek and Lynch will keep them honest.

I think the first few rounds will have the above players as much for experience as anything. We will need to manage the younger guys very carefully to help development and we cant afford to throw them to the wolves and get smashed.

Sammy will work hard to keep some balance in the team. its going to be exciting, frustrating at times and delirious at others. Cant wait.

FB: Morris - Blanck - DGB
HB: Hardwick - Sicily - Day
C: Jiath - Worpel - Amon
HF: Moore - Serong - Brockman
FF: Reeves - Lewis - Breust
R: Meek - Ward - Newcombe
IC: Wingard - Scrimshaw - C MacDonald - Morrison - Impey

Lots of interesting options.

Ramsden v Serong v Kosi v Greene. I think without injuries it only makes sense to have one marking forward with Reeves and Lewis.

Brockman v Butler. Hard to squeeze both in with Moore, Breust and Wingard as locks.

DGB v Blanck v Frost v Jeka. Only makes sense to select two of them with Sic.

Glut of small/med defenders. I like Morris releasing Hardwick enough to select him here. Jiath up to the wing with Impey and Scrim filling the bench. Is it too much? This is without Frost, Bramble, Weddle.

Fringe mids are a huge toss up.

Best 22 for round 1 without 'playing the kids' over experienced performers.

B. Hardwick Frost DGB
HB. Jiath Sicily Scrimshaw
C. Day Newcombe Amon
HF. Moore Reeves Macdonald
F. Breust Lewis Wingard

Foll: Meek Ward Worpel
IC: Impey Mackenzie Morrison Maginness
Sub: Nash

Gee, the depth has gone through the roof in two off-seasons.

Josh Weddle is the perfect sub. If someone gets injured then he can cover almost any position bar ruck. If no-one gets injured then we can bench one of our 2 rucks halfway through the 3rd quarter and inject his speed and running power. Ned long, while not as fast, could also get a few AFL games as a sub utility.

Best 22 for round 1 without 'playing the kids' over experienced performers.

B. Hardwick Frost DGB
HB. Jiath Sicily Scrimshaw
C. Day Newcombe Amon
HF. Moore Reeves Macdonald
F. Breust Lewis Wingard

Foll: Meek Ward Worpel
IC: Impey Mackenzie Morrison Maginness
Sub: Nash

Gee, the depth has gone through the roof in two off-seasons.
That will be pretty close to round 1 team i reckon.

I'm pretty bullish on Mackenzie playing round 1, fills so many of our immediate needs in the midfield.

I think Green will be knocking to door down for a half forward spot as well.