Unofficial Preview Best 22! Who’s in the team Round 1, 2023?

Looks about right to me - just need to bold Greene who is the fourth addition.

It is a competitive and well-balanced team IMO. If Brockman has a good pre-season he will be a contender and I reckon Morris is a chance.

Post draft and based on what I’ve seen at training, not much change.

FB: Hardwick Blanck DGB
HB: Jiath Sicily Scrimshaw
C: Day Nash Amon
HF: Breust Lewis Moore
FF: Wingard Greene Meek

FOLL: Reeves, Newcombe, Ward

Inter from: Maginness, Worpel, Stephens, MacDonald
Sub: Impey

Emerg from: Frost, Morrison, Lynch, Koschitske, Butler, MacKenzie, Weddle
Nash in the middle will explode a few of the hater's heads.

Looks about right to me - just need to bold Greene who is the fourth addition.

It is a competitive and well-balanced team IMO. If Brockman has a good pre-season he will be a contender and I reckon Morris is a chance.
Morris is a bit forgotten, but also behind a heap of others it seems. Injuries will play a part in him getting a spot.

Greene was the one I questioned probably the most, but going by his VFL form and how much we already seem to look for him on the track I think he might just pip Kosi for the spot. But it’s a flip of the coin really, as I don’t know whether the footy dept see it that way, if they see Greene as just depth or if they hold Kosi in much higher regard.

Is Ward really ready to be a starting /primary inside mid for round 1? See him named there in a lot of teams but thats a big ask for a 2nd year player. I expect ward and McDonald to be part of the rotation but more secondary roles (at least for round 1).

That forward 6 would have to be one of the slowest in the afl. Defensive pressure would be f-all once ball hit the ground. Any semi quick opposition hand could take off with confidence that none of our forwards would catch them. Expect butler to be given chances and maybe impey again up forward.

Is Ward really ready to be a starting /primary inside mid for round 1? See him named there in a lot of teams but thats a big ask for a 2nd year player. I expect ward and McDonald to be part of the rotation but more secondary roles (at least for round 1).

That forward 6 would have to be one of the slowest in the afl. Defensive pressure would be f-all once ball hit the ground. Any semi quick opposition hand could take off with confidence that none of our forwards would catch them. Expect butler to be given chances and maybe impey again up forward.

I think Ward is ready to spend more time in the middle. He certainly looks more solid in the flesh this preseason.

The last six rounds Ward attended the following amount of CBA's, in comparison to the recently departed JOM and Mitchell:

JOM - 15 of 24
Mitchell - 11 of 24
Ward - 12 of 24 (third highest)

JOM - 23 of 32
Mitchell - 14 of 32
Ward - 10 of 32 (fourth highest)

JOM - 15 of 22
Mitchell - 8 of 22
Ward - 6 of 22 (fifth highest)

JOM - 14 of 22
Mitchell - 13 of 22
Ward - 6 of 22 (equal fifth highest)

JOM - 16 of 32
Mitchell - 14 of 32
Ward - 10 of 32 (sixth highest)

JOM - 18 of 31
Mitchell - 11 of 31
Ward - 6 of 31 (sixth highest)

This was the block of games that he really announced himself as AFL ready contributor (and that he was a legit gun). During this period he averaged 23.83 touches, 5 marks and 4.6 tackles.

That last game on the list there was his game against WCE - which was his best game to date.

I suppose, ultimately, that this shows that Ward can play really well even without spending the majority of his time in the middle.

Though we will have to replace the CBA's that JOM and Mitchell would have otherwise attended. CBA numbers for replacing in the same period:

26 of 72 (CBA's in total)

27 of 96

23 of 66

27 of 66

30 of 96

29 of 93

It will be interesting to see if Worpel and/or Stephens come in and take a significant portion of those CBA's, or whether that's spread across Ward, Day, MacDonald, Nash and Finn.

I suspect we'll only have room for one of Worpel or Stephens and the CBA's will be spread across those other five players.

Essendon and the saints were the ones exploiting it the most

Any chance Wingard spends meaningful time up the ground??
I think we'll be conservative. Definitely HFF, floating up to the Centreline - maybe a few CBA, but I doubt he'll follow it all over the park like a Rover.

B Hardwick (VC) Frost Blanck
HB Jiath Sicily (C) Scrimshaw
C Amon Worpel Morrison
HF Moore Kosi MacDonald
F Wingard Lewis Bruest
R Reeves Newcombe Ward
I Lynch Day Maginess Nash
Sub Impey

I have a very similar side accept I have Morrison on the wing and Day in the guts.

I think Mitchell will sqeeze Mackenzie in the side. I can't see him in the reserves possibly Weddle as well depending on form.

Nash, Maginness,Worpel,Stephens will turn into 3.

From an outsiders view, of what i reckon

Worpel as more the bonafide onballer, maybe only 2nd behind Newcombe

Morrison a lock, he will be picked ahead of Mckenzie imo

As for the forward setup i think maybe theyre looking at picking Greene and its between Kozi and a genuine 2nd ruck as the decision

Its hard to know how they rate Meek vs Reeves

I think Ward is also inside the 3 main onballers with Worp and Newc. He will rotate out to a wing a bit when Amon goes inside for his small patches

From an outsiders view, of what i reckon

Worpel as more the bonafide onballer, maybe only 2nd behind Newcombe

Morrison a lock, he will be picked ahead of Mckenzie imo

As for the forward setup i think maybe theyre looking at picking Greene and its between Kozi and a genuine 2nd ruck as the decision

I think Ward is also inside the 3 main onballers with Worp and Newc. He will rotate out to a wing a bit when Amon goes inside for his small patches
I'm almost certain we play both rucks.

Not sure Reeves is fit enough to go it alone, and we don't wanna burn him out.

Plus Meek is ready to go/ gives us a ruck advantage.
No doubt eased through the season as even the best rucks in the comp are at stages

I think Meek could surprise a few if his work at freo and in the wafl was anything to go by

They rate Meek as a number 1 ruckman.
A lot of clubs did, as he reportedly had 10 clubs enquire with his manager.

We’re lucky that we also have Reeves, and between the two of them they will alternate forward and really should trouble some sides.

They rate Meek as a number 1 ruckman.
A lot of clubs did, as he reportedly had 10 clubs enquire with his manager.

We’re lucky that we also have Reeves, and between the two of them they will alternate forward and really should trouble some sides.
It's so nice to think that the area that I perceived as our greatest weakness last season will now be one of our greatest strengths. Really looking forward to seeing how these guys work in tandem with our yet-to-be-tested midfield.

We were clearly better when we played 2 rucks. I think Reeves is a given and the second is a battle between Lynch and Meek. Would have said Meek comfortably, but sounds like Lynch is taking it to him in training.

I can't see it being Lynch and Meek, as I think Reeves gives us something the other two don't. Also think Reeves has the higher ceiling.

Still a fair bit of water to go under the bridge before our midfield is consolidated. The only two certainties at this stage are Newk and Amon. Ward, through natural progression would be next in line. The rest is a bit of a chook raffle, through a combination talent limitations (Nash and Finn), familiarity with the role, (Day, MacDonald and Morrison), form (Worpel) and experience at the level (Stephens, McKenzie, Long and Weddle). Really hoping Weddle comes on, big bodied mids ala Cripps and Fyfe give a midfield group some bite.

Need Moore midfield minutes.

Hardwick Blanc Scrimshaw
CJ Sicily Day
Amon Jai Morrison
Wingard Kosi Moore
Bruest Lewis McDonald

Rucks Ned Ward Worpell

Maginess Impey Meek DGB
Sub Nash

Ready to go back up

Frost Bramble, Butler, Morris Stephens, Mackenzie, Lynch, Brockman, Greene, Jecka, Weddle.

That's 36 players likely to feature.

Developing
Ramsden Serong plus draftees

For a team widely tipped to finish last there is actually a fair bit of competing depth, players returning from injury and players with scope for rapid development. It will be interesting to see if the forward line works with Kosi, Lewis and Meek. They might want to include Tyler or Butler for speed.