B Gibcus Balta Vlaustin
HB D.Rioli Grimes Short
C Banks Hopper Ross
HF Bolton Lynch Baker
F Clarke Kozi Martin
FOLL- Nankervis Taranto Prestia
I/C- Broad, Ryan,Sonsie, Dow, Cumberland
Gunna be interesting to see if Yze brings Melbourne FC style dropping of senior players and the mantra is foot skills I believe.
Not sure we can field a 22 with footskills

I hope.
Backline:
Grimes doesn't start. Broad for Grimes and Brown/Tresise bench.

I don't want to rush Gibcus. So Young for a while.
Rioli and Short?

Wings: I actually think Pickett is our best winger.

The other wing Short/Banks/Ross

I/C Ryan or Bauer. Sonsie unavailable for a few games, McAuliffe?

Midfield mix didn't work last year. No Cotch or Graham is a better look. too many mid half fwds. Not enough pure mids and lack of pure fwds cost us.

Grimes Balta broad

Vlastuin Gibcus. Rioli

Short Taranto. Ralphsmith

Bolton. Kozi. Clarke

Rioli jr. Lynch. Martin

Nanvervis. Hopper baker

Young. Ross coultard prestia

Ryan

Grimes Balta broad

Vlastuin Gibcus. Rioli

Short Taranto. Ralphsmith

Bolton. Kozi. Clarke

Rioli jr. Lynch. Martin

Nanvervis. Hopper baker

Young. Ross coultard prestia

Ryan
If MRJ gets a spot we are stuffed.

not really...... looks mean and trim now. and is getting a good body shape and manly rig.............if he performs in the praccies, he's and auto in for mine........ if same/same as last year's mixbag, he can keep polishing his craft in the 2s

If he applies forward pressure at an elite level he’s in. I remember a game 2 years ago against hawks, he was brilliant, tackling and getting involved in the game. Could be a break out year for him.
Settle down Stubby, that two posts in a day, nearly equal to your 3 posts since 2011.

not really...... looks mean and trim now. and is getting a good body shape and manly rig.............if he performs in the praccies, he's and auto in for mine........ if same/same as last year's mixbag, he can keep polishing his craft in the 2s
Yze wants foot skills? MRJ can't kick over a jam tin. Fitness and 2022 pressure not enough IMO.

B: ??? ??? Gibcus
HB: ??? ??? ???
C: ??? Sonsie (C) Conti
HF: kozi ??? ???
F: M.Rioli Hayes-Brown Bauer
R: Colina Taranto McAuliffe
INT: Naismith Colina Clarke ???

COACH: Yze

Making a few changes:
  • Taranto wins TT, comes straight into the team
  • Sonsie rewarded with captaincy because he's lookin' big
  • Clarke onto the bench after previously being RR (havent heard him blitzing it for a while)
  • Colina coming fifth in the TT probably half a dozen times by now, gotta stick him on the bench
  • Fawcett out (injured)
  • Martin not considered yet (too many monos / bad boy attitude)
  • Conti onto a wing after Brownlow win
Nafe Brown sub

2365.jpg

I reckon those writing Grimes off will end up with some egg on their face. Tipping him to return to solid form.

Might also end up with egg on my face, but I’m backing the champion in.
Grimes deserves the chance to show he still can be a very valuable player. I also think renewed enthusiasm with a new coaching team will be just the injection required for our older players. I’m also backing him in.

I reckon those writing Grimes off will end up with some egg on their face. Tipping him to return to solid form.

Might also end up with egg on my face, but I’m backing the champion in.
yep, Taylor - Walker at 30, he was washed up ....injuries, captaincy stress, being a flog, family and work overload, but at 34 Taylor - Walker has redeemed and threw the monkey off his back. and is a star again. grimes can do similar, already relieved of the captaincy and looks stress and niggle free. he can 100% get his mojo back too.

is he still a flog though?

Worry with Grimes is his decline is due to things that won't get better. His reaction times are not as good, he's slower, less agile, larger turning circle than he had. Where he would previously use elite closing speed and coordination to contort his body running back with the flight to get a fist in, he's now half a second late and either concedes the mark or gives away the free kick.

I think losing those physical attributes has hit him harder than most.

Worry with Grimes is his decline is due to things that won't get better. His reaction times are not as good, he's slower, less agile, larger turning circle than he had. Where he would previously use elite closing speed and coordination to contort his body running back with the flight to get a fist in, he's now half a second late and either concedes the mark or gives away the free kick.

Think the possibility of Balta going forward would help him
Because Young and Balta took the bigger guys grimes was forced to match up on the smaller guys who tend to be a lot more dynamic in the way they move and are quicker
He was also forced to play more of a lockdown role with Balta being the main guy who played free

When playing on the bigger guys speed isn’t as much as a factor it’s more about positioning

Balta also played as the spare a lot to play as the main interceptor (the role Grimes mainly played between 2019 - 2021 when he played his best footy so Grimes would probably play more of that role again instead of lockdown type role he has played over the last few years

You can see the change reflected in his stats, I have marks ranked from best to worst seasons and the decline in the stat over the last two seasons after the role change compared to his best years

IMG_0292.jpeg

Think the possibility of Balta going forward would help him
Because Young and Balta took the bigger guys grimes was forced to match up on the smaller guys who tend to be a lot more dynamic in the way they move and are quicker
He was also forced to play more of a lockdown role with Balta being the main guy who played free

When playing on the bigger guys speed isn’t as much as a factor it’s more about positioning

Balta also played as the spare a lot to play as the main interceptor (the role Grimes mainly played between 2019 - 2021 when he played his best footy so Grimes would probably play more of that role again instead of lockdown type role he has played over the last few years

You can see the change reflected in his stats, I have marks ranked from best to worst seasons and the decline in the stat over the last two seasons after the role change compared to his best years

View attachment 1870192
2 genuine KPDs in the backline since 22. Gibcus and Tarrant meant Grimes having to play on small fwds exclusively, He's too tall for his role.

Bingo
It something that seems to be overlooked a **** ton when talking about grimes over the last few seasons and being critical of his output

His role has very much changed to one that doesn’t quite suit him as much

Bingo
It something that seems to be overlooked a * ton when talking about grimes over the last few seasons and being critical of his output

His role has very much changed to one that doesn’t quite suit him as much
TBH we made finals in 22 with Grimes missing with injury.

Astbury & Rance as our KPDs were shortish.

Grimes & Broad on Cameron and Hipwood for example. Lions Couldn't beat us Until 2020.

Balta comes along. Gibcus, Miller are taller but faster, Balta 194, Young 196.

TBH we made finals in 22 with Grimes missing with injury.

Astbury & Rance as our KPDs were shortish.

Grimes & Broad on Cameron and Hipwood for example. Lions Couldn't beat us Until 2020.

Balta comes along. Gibcus, Miller are taller but faster, Balta 194, Young 196.
We also had a lot better pressure up the ground that made life a lot easier for our back 6

They defended a lot more dump kicks or had time to set up the zone more effectively

Our forward/ midfield pressure has been more lacklustre over the fast few seasons as we tried to transition to a more aggressive play style so the counter rebounds against us have been faster putting our defenders under the pump

Highlights how guys like Cumbo who I do like will need to lift his game and be a lot more accountable for his man

No point kicking 2 goals if his man can get a free run and set up chains that result in 5 goals for the opposition

Likewise for Dusty and Bolton

We lack those effective defensive role players who sacrificed thier games who have either retired or simply aren’t as effective as they once were so that Dusty and Bolton had the leeway to not really worry about it
With a younger side it’s a luxury we don’t really have anymore so everyone will need to take more accountability

that was his role in 2017-19 though

He used to take Eddie Betts, Charlie Cameron and the like, so it's not new for him, just at his age he now struggles to do it.

that was his role in 2017-19 though

He used to take Eddie Betts, Charlie Cameron and the like, so it's not new for him, just at his age he now struggles to do it.
His main role wasn’t exclusively smalls

He would just take the oppos most dangerous or deepest playing forward
Those same years he also played on Franklin, Cameron (GWS/Geelong) ect

His main role wasn’t exclusively smalls

He would just take the oppos most dangerous or deepest playing forward
Those same years he also played on Franklin, Cameron (GWS/Geelong) ect
I know, my point was, it's not as if he hasn't pplayed with 2 KPD in the past, for a long time he had Astbury and Rance, then Astbury and Balta... so it's not new for him now either. Whether the body or father time will let him is another discussion

I think it’s more a difference in role like I highlighted with the stats of his dramatic decrease in marks per game
He was previously given a licence to play off his man a lot more and take a lot more intercept marks and that had been Baltas over the past few seasons

That has a compound effect because now instead of being the guy who makes the first kick after a intercept mark he had time to assess the best option to generate the counter attack where now he was also used a lot more as an outlet handball option either 2nd or 3rd in the chain instead of the guy starting it putting him under pressure to make quicker decisions when even when he was younger it was never a particularly strong part of his game

Also taking a lot less kick ins once again instead of being the player who starts the offensive chain he’s being used as an outlet for those stupid short handballs we did last year out of d50

List Mgmt. Best 23 for 2024