Best 23 in 2025

collingwood.jpg

The addition of two-time All-Australian Dan Houston and Harry Perryman will boost Collingwood’s backline in 2025, with the former Giant also set for more midfield time in black and white. Collingwood didn’t find a readymade replacement for Nathan Murphy in the trade period and will rely on Jeremy Howe and Billy Frampton again next year. Tim Membrey provides an extra layer of coverage in attack. Tom Mitchell hasn’t played since Anzac Day but showed how important he is in 2023. Can the Brownlow medallist return to that level? Ed Allan is gunning for more opportunity, as is Fin Macrae. - Josh Gabelich

B: Brayden Maynard, Darcy Moore, Isaac Quaynor
HB: Dan Houston, Billy Frampton, Harry Perryman
C: Josh Daicos, Nick Daicos, Steele Sidebottom
HF: Beau McCreery, Dan McStay, Jordan De Goey
F: Bobby Hill, Brody Mihocek, Jamie Elliott
Foll: Darcy Cameron, Jack Crisp, Scott Pendlebury
I/C: Jeremy Howe, Pat Lipinski, Will Hoskin-Elliott, Lachie Schultz

Emerg:
Mason Cox, Tom Mitchell, Tim Membrey, Fin Macrae

collingwood.jpg

The addition of two-time All-Australian Dan Houston and Harry Perryman will boost Collingwood’s backline in 2025, with the former Giant also set for more midfield time in black and white. Collingwood didn’t find a readymade replacement for Nathan Murphy in the trade period and will rely on Jeremy Howe and Billy Frampton again next year. Tim Membrey provides an extra layer of coverage in attack. Tom Mitchell hasn’t played since Anzac Day but showed how important he is in 2023. Can the Brownlow medallist return to that level? Ed Allan is gunning for more opportunity, as is Fin Macrae. - Josh Gabelich

B: Brayden Maynard, Darcy Moore, Isaac Quaynor
HB: Dan Houston, Billy Frampton, Harry Perryman
C: Josh Daicos, Nick Daicos, Steele Sidebottom
HF: Beau McCreery, Dan McStay, Jordan De Goey
F: Bobby Hill, Brody Mihocek, Jamie Elliott
Foll: Darcy Cameron, Jack Crisp, Scott Pendlebury
I/C: Jeremy Howe, Pat Lipinski, Will Hoskin-Elliott, Lachie Schultz

Emerg:
Mason Cox, Tom Mitchell, Tim Membrey, Fin Macrae

Going by your videos Jen, i think Reef will be a big contender for Murphys position, he looks comfortable back there. Would like to see Lippa take Steeles place and see our forward line with Membrey, Mihocek and McStay (just to see how it would function). Also a fully fit Mitchell is in the best 23. But who do you take out?!?!?

I agree re:Reef.
He'll make this position his. Even Houston is talking him up.

Re: Mitchell.
Maybe just rotate the sub. Starting with WHE?

I know it would break up the Triple M combo, but I wonder if we would consider using any of Mihocek, McStay or Membrey down back?

Leaving us with the other two + Cox playing tall forward and freeing up Moore and Howe a little bit.

I get that we could’ve instead picked up a typical defender if that was the plan (sounds like we did try) but maybe they didn’t think any of the attainable players would be any better than McStay/Checkers for example and thought Membrey could free one of them up?

I suppose just trialling Reef in this role sacrifices the least firepower from attack.

I know it would break up the Triple M combo, but I wonder if we would consider using any of Mihocek, McStay or Membrey down back?

Leaving us with the other two + Cox playing tall forward and freeing up Moore and Howe a little bit.

I get that we could’ve instead picked up a typical defender if that was the plan (sounds like we did try) but maybe they didn’t think any of the attainable players would be any better than McStay/Checkers for example and thought Membrey could free one of them up?

I suppose just trialling Reef in this role sacrifices the least firepower from attack.

Haven't seen any evidence at training to suggest they'll do this.

Odd question and I know how ridiculous it might be, but how would Cox go as a floating high defender? Roams between the wing and 50 metre arc, almost a floating CHB.
It may free up defender or give our running half backs a chance for a ground ball.
I'm all about stratergy and finding a weakness and either working on it, or turning it into a strength. Our defense can be weak on occassions.
Please be gentle...I like to think outside the box.

Odd question and I know how ridiculous it might be, but how would Cox go as a floating high defender? Roams between the wing and 50 metre arc, almost a floating CHB.
It may free up defender or give our running half backs a chance for a ground ball.
I'm all about stratergy and finding a weakness and either working on it, or turning it into a strength. Our defense can be weak on occassions.
AFL has no place for strategy and thinking outside the box.

I'd play them all forward, but I'd play McInness back alongside Moore and Maynard. Then switch Markov to a wing and McCreery into the midfield alongside Mitchell.

We've got a rare opportunity for Triple M in all areas of the ground. Surely we've got to take it.

I'd play them all forward, but I'd play McInness back alongside Moore and Maynard. Then switch Markov to a wing and McCreery into the midfield alongside Mitchell.

We've got a rare opportunity for Triple M in all areas of the ground. Surely we've got to take it.
Now this is some strategic thinking if I’ve ever seen it.

If only McInness could’ve pulled his finger out as a forward. Could have pulled off the Triple Mc which I believe trumps the M Flush.

I can see a lot of problems with that but there are more learned analysts that could explain it better. The main one would be that we would have to alter our defensive structures around Cox

It's pretty much what Cameron and Cox do when they're rucking.

It’s an interesting best 23 for us in 2025.

The 2 main questions I think to be answered when drafting your 23:

1. Who partners Moore as our 2nd KPD?
Frampton, Dean, Reef or someone else?

2. Who is the 2nd Ruck behind to help chop out Cameron?
Cox like it’s been for the majority of 2022-2024 or someone else (McStay, Frampton…)

Injuries aside, I reckon Lippa will be lucky to play Seniors next season.

All of DeGoey, Mitchell, Mihochek, McStay, Perryman, Houston and Membrey will be INs from our Rd24 side this year. Richards and Noble create two openings but another five will be OUTs to free up the necessary spots. Hard to imagine Lippa is not in that five, IMO. Crisp has way more job security.

DeGoey, Mitchell, Mihochek, and Membrey are question marks for me. Injury or age makes it uncertain.

Cox like it’s been for the majority of 2022-2024 or someone else (McStay, Frampton…)
Like every other year, our best 23 at the start of the year will be different to our best at the end of the year. At the start of the year I'd say that:
1. 2nd KPD will be either Frampton or Dean depending on the opponent, e.g., Frampton plays on McKay, Dean plays on Cadman. Whilst McInnes hones his skills and gets confidence in the VFL. By the end of the year I'd hope that McInnes can take that spot.
2. 2nd Ruck will be Cox. As we move through the year I'd hope that one of: Steene, Smit or Condon forces Cox out. Frampton to take on more first ruck duties in the VFL as insurance and to allow the other talls to hone their forward skills. Definitely don't like key forwards as relief ruckman other than occasional forward line ruck duties.

A full Macca forward line would be confusing to defenders also. “Whos on Macca?”
I think we've really stuffed the development of McInness and Macrae by calling them by the wrong names. It's scientifically proven that Maccas are better at footy than blokes with strange nautical names

Is there a world where Pendles doesn’t get a game? Or Howe?
Yeah for sure. We have 4 of the oldest 15 players in the comp. Look at old players retrospectively and the commonest end for them is one season that are best 22, next season they drop off the perch and struggle. Even if they play most games they drop right off.

Its likely that happens to a couple of our oldies. Even Pendles.

Howe and Cox.

Injuries aside, I reckon Lippa will be lucky to play Seniors next season.

All of DeGoey, Mitchell, Mihochek, McStay, Perryman, Houston and Membrey will be INs from our Rd24 side this year. Richards and Noble create two openings but another five will be OUTs to free up the necessary spots. Hard to imagine Lippa is not in that five, IMO. Crisp has way more job security.

I will be there in 2029 when Crisp plays his 400th consecutive game.

Best 23 in 2025