Not-a-cluey Best FOOTBALL RELATED RUMOUR you have heard from someone you trust Part Deux - Many lies and bullshit in here. Please read OP before posting.

Heritier Lumumba was called the chimp, because of the way he danced.

It had nothing to do with the way he looked. He actively encouraged it.

You guys know what culture is, don’t you?

It is ideas, customs, and social behaviour of a particular people or society.

Just because Lamumba thought it was ok and went along with for a time, does not mean it was not racism.

When I was a young bloke it was part of our culture at school that we’d hang sh*t on indigenous kids and make fun of their skin color and their culture, trash talking them in sport about living in a humpy or how they’d be better to go chase a goanna than playing sport. They were still our mates, but man we treated them like sh*t in hindsight.
To this effect I have an under 18 premiership shirt with the nicknames of all players printed on the back. One of the names on that shirt, obviously agreed to at the time as the nickname he wanted printed, is “n**ga”. All letters printed though, not censored like on BF.

Are people here suggesting that if that 18yr old grew to realize that it wasn’t a term of endearment and that it was actually an example of systemic racism within his community, that he is wrong? Or just milking it?

Clearly the nickname “chimp” is just part of the story of the culture that existed, that Lamumba came to realise was just an example of how racism was readily accepted as part of the environment.

I was always here this excuse it is like saying I grew up in Broadmeadows and when we were 18 we used to rob old lady's and we thought it was okay because every one in Broadmeadows was doing it but I am now 30 and realise it is wrong I am suing the city of hume now

[QUOTE="SammyC, post: 68718819, member: 2
. Goodes shone a light on the issues that remained, and was driven out of the game. That is fact, whether you agree with him or not,
[/QUOTE]

Goodes was in his 17th season and clearly was finished as a player he just milked that racism led him to retire why didn't he retire in 2005 then

[QUOTE="SammyC, post: 68719690, member: 202971"

goodes was being booed (yes by hawks fans too) for essentially racist reasons. Mostly because he was a black man trying to educate us of his experience, and us not wanting to hear it. Champion player, champion human.
[/QUOTE]

Wow people are brainwashed he was booed because he was diving how come Eddie Betts Alwyn Davey Aaron Davey Lewis Jetta etc weren't being booed they weren't diving . Callan ward dived this year and got booed but nah I think people are racist agianst people from Williamstown that's why Callan ward was booed

yes, Goodes was booed for a couple of seasons because he staged for a free a few times. We see this sort of continual booing of specific players who staged for a free literally all the time, no matter who they are playing, don’t we?

Nothing to do with being an outspoken aboriginal.

Good one.

Lumumba can be both the victim of a racist culture at Collingwood and a self-absorbed headcase at the same time, the two aren't mutually exclusive.

In the end he's very fortunate that his stopped clock moment is of greater significance than his string of idiocy throughout that period. Now he'll get some sort of of settlement and can paint hinself as a Kaepernick type figure, rather than a Ricky Nixon style train wreck.

Regardless of Lumumba's individual character though, Eddie and Collingwood's racial reckoning has clearly been long overdue.

Maybe he got the nickname Chimp because he 'helped out' Glasscott ?!

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thread is back on track. :thumbsu:

Lumumba can be both the victim of a racist culture at Collingwood and a self-absorbed headcase at the same time, the two aren't mutually exclusive.

In the end he's very fortunate that his stopped clock moment is of greater significance than his string of idiocy throughout that period. Now he'll get some sort of of settlement and can paint hinself as a Kaepernick type figure, rather than a Ricky Nixon style train wreck.

Thread is back on track. :thumbsu:
If he doesn't get a settlement, will he have to cough up for legal fees? What if Pendles testifies that he gave him permission to use the nickname? What if Simon Buckley testifies the substance of his tweet the other day? He's living with a rich wife in LA. He can't claim that he has been hurt financially.

yes, Goodes was booed for a couple of seasons because he staged for a free a few times. We see this sort of continual booing of specific players who staged for a free literally all the time, no matter who they are playing, don’t we?

Nothing to do with being an outspoken aboriginal.

Good one.

Buckley , Hird Carey got booed always champion players get booed Goodes was a champion that was another reason he was booed Nicky winmar was an outspoken aboriginal I can't recall him being booed after 1993 when he called it out everyone respected him for it after that I recall going to a Saints vs pies game in 97 and pies fans were cheering for winmar

I reckon that Goodes also got booed for leading with his spikes when going for marks. No doubt some booing was racist though.

Not a footy rumour but Andrew O'Keefe was seen by a mate of mine paralytic, crawling in a Sydney gutter some time ago after a few too many sherbets.

My guess is that Harry suddenly decided that "Chimp" was no good after that American player told him it was racist. Not Mason Cox, it was another guy. I'm not sure if he played a senior match. He was on radio talking about it last year.

Glascott’s MonkeyPrimate also considering his options.

I reckon that Goodes also got booed for leading with his spikes when going for marks. No doubt some booing was racist though.

Not a footy rumour but Andrew O'Keefe was seen by a mate of mine paralytic, crawling in a Sydney gutter some time ago after a few too many sherbets.
Seen by your mate or read it in the paper?

You guys know what culture is, don’t you?

It is ideas, customs, and social behaviour of a particular people or society.

Just because Lamumba thought it was ok and went along with for a time, does not mean it was not racism.

When I was a young bloke it was part of our culture at school that we’d hang sh*t on indigenous kids and make fun of their skin color and their culture, trash talking them in sport about living in a humpy or how they’d be better to go chase a goanna than playing sport. They were still our mates, but man we treated them like sh*t in hindsight.
To this effect I have an under 18 premiership shirt with the nicknames of all players printed on the back. One of the names on that shirt, obviously agreed to at the time as the nickname he wanted printed, is “n**ga”. All letters printed though, not censored like on BF.

Are people here suggesting that if that 18yr old grew to realize that it wasn’t a term of endearment and that it was actually an example of systemic racism within his community, that he is wrong? Or just milking it?

Clearly the nickname “chimp” is just part of the story of the culture that existed, that Lamumba came to realise was just an example of how racism was readily accepted as part of the environment.

If you were in the public spotlight, you'd now be erased, or cancelled for that. But you're just a mod on BF, no profile so no army coming to attack you.

Would be appreciated if you could take the Heritier/Collingwood discussions here ⬇️ or any of the other threads dedicated to the topic.

Please steer this thread back to its intended purpose

Wosh please save us from this
Im gonna start cleaning up from now.
Take the racism issues to the appropriate threads provided guys and gals. Thanks.

2 pages cleaned up since I asked nicely to take the racism discussions to the appropriate threads. I wont be sitting here doing this all day sorry, I guess threadbans it will have to be.

Not-a-cluey Best FOOTBALL RELATED RUMOUR you have heard from someone you trust Part Deux - Many lies and bullshit in here. Please read OP before posting.