PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
I've got 2 of them as well, dug them out of storage from my p's place during covid. Once pulled a Michael Jordan Triple Double hologram card from a pack, spewing I traded it.I had 2 Upper Deck Shaq rookies, dozens of Jordan inserts, heaps of other awesome cards and left my folder under a desk at school one day and lost the lot.
heck that's no good. Hopefully he can sort it out.Word around some Dogs circles is mental health and potentially early retirement, kids not in a good head space by any means.
Heady days indeed. I recall card collecting was huge in the 90s. IIRC, the basketball cards were 'Upper deck'?I did a quick Google search and couldn't find anything about it. Hopefully someone can confirm my recollection, I don't even know what station it was on. Because I grew up in a football-loving family and even had memories of watching him in the VFA as playing coach of Prahran, I knew exactly who he was, but not sure if that was common knowledge to most listeners, he was just "BT".
NBA card collecting was a phenomenon for a few years. In Shaq's rookie year, everyone started collecting basketball cards suddenly, even kids who didn't really play basketball. It lasted for two, maybe three years until the mid-90s and then everyone stopped, just as abruptly as they'd begun. But those few years were something else: there were shops in the outer suburbs that specialised in basketball cards and everything.
Card Heaven on Glenferrie road was bonkers. What a time.
Brendan?A few years ago, possibly even when he was dating Fevola, I was told he was quite a deep thinking kid and that keeping up appearances in a hyper masculine footy club environment might be really challenging for him.
Heady days indeed. I recall card collecting was huge in the 90s. IIRC, the basketball cards were 'Upper deck'?
A few years ago, possibly even when he was dating Fevola, I was told he was quite a deep thinking kid and that keeping up appearances in a hyper masculine footy club environment might be really challenging for him.
I did a quick Google search and couldn't find anything about it. Hopefully someone can confirm my recollection, I don't even know what station it was on. Because I grew up in a football-loving family and even had memories of watching him in the VFA as playing coach of Prahran, I knew exactly who he was, but not sure if that was common knowledge to most listeners, he was just "BT".
NBA card collecting was a phenomenon for a few years. In Shaq's rookie year, everyone started collecting basketball cards suddenly, even kids who didn't really play basketball. It lasted for two, maybe three years until the mid-90s and then everyone stopped, just as abruptly as they'd begun. But those few years were something else: there were shops in the outer suburbs that specialised in basketball cards and everything.
He's Buddy off Wish.
A Fleer Jordan rookie was always around $4500 when I was into it. Don’t even look now. High six figuresYeah, that's just scratching the surface though. There was Upper Deck, Hoops, Skybox, Fleer and Topps off the top of my head and almost all of them had 'Super Premium' offerings as well: Fleer Ultra, Tops Stadium Club/Finest, Upper Deck SP (I think they were called), ... I could go on. I think they ultimately ended up cannibalising each other and Skybox now owns like 3-4 of those brands.
I remember the basic Fleer set was my preferred card: they were the cheapest (or equal cheapest), I liked the look and they came with an insert (special card) in every pack.
Loves a good time off the field, probably not going to benefit your mental health.
This is definitely trueSaw him out and about over offseason
Looks a clear case of hanging around with tools
That is incredible if true!He went to Bali the week before the elimination final against the Hawks, missed the Monday session, and then delivered a four-possession performance in that game.
He went to Bali the week before the elimination final against the Hawks, missed the Monday session, and then delivered a four-possession performance in that game.
I have about half a dozen or so full sets of basketball cards from that era sitting in a box in Brisbane. Last I checked, they were worth absolutely **** all as every collector already has those sets!I did a quick Google search and couldn't find anything about it. Hopefully someone can confirm my recollection, I don't even know what station it was on. Because I grew up in a football-loving family and even had memories of watching him in the VFA as playing coach of Prahran, I knew exactly who he was, but not sure if that was common knowledge to most listeners, he was just "BT".
Those were the days, with BT arguing with his hippy mate Rocky, and sometimes Sam Kekovich, when he bothered to show up. I was young, but I remember it well, at least I think I do. BT is still friends with that Rocky bloke, and he's sometimes on his podcast.It was on the old 3uz (sport 927) it was a segment that he used to host with the owners of card heaven. BT was on most night during the week. He used to announce the footy teams on Thursday Nights as well.
Yeah forgot Sam was on it. Some ex vfa guy called Barry McDonald used to read the teams out and constantly got names wrongThose were the days, with BT arguing with his hippy mate Rocky, and sometimes Sam Kekovich, when he bothered to show up. I was young, but I remember it well. BT is still friends with that Rocky bloke, and he's sometimes on his podcast.
Coincidentally. it looks like they've just had a reunion on BT's podcast
Life Of Brian | #64 Sam Kekovich - Australian Sports Legend, Media Personality & ‘Lambassador’ Life Of Brian podcast
Listen to Life Of Brian | #64 Sam Kekovich - Australian Sports Legend, Media Personality & ‘Lambassador’ and sixty-four more episodes by Life Of Brian, free! No signup or install needed. Life of Brian | #64 Sam Kekovich - Australian Sports Legend, Media Personality & ‘Lambassador’. LoB BEST OF...player.fm
View attachment 2208216