Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne

People have always spoken about the mid-week comedown and New Order told me about Blue Monday, but for me it was a combined comedown/mid-week dullness all crammed into about two days. Usually started by the time I was nearly home from a 10am tram ride and then I'd be emotionally and physically cactus for another 30ish hours. After that I was pretty much right.

Drinking makes me feel like total shit the next day, hangover aside. The feelings of shame and guilt are so heavy. Quite often I'll have spent only $80 and only stayed out until 2 or so, spoken to no one except my friends, and kept the topics to footy and chicks, and even then I'll end up feeling like I've done something terrible.

I don't get how some people have never gotten this, not even once, but maybe it's about being in tune with your emotions or something. Lots of people get one bad thought and think they're ******* depressed these days so who knows.

Then again I've had amazing nights just drinking beers. You meet people, you feel connected, you feel like you're living youth the way it should be, you make mates, you have a laugh, everything just goes well... I met a band and hung out with them the other month and had a similar experience: the next few days just seem so dull and boring, you have nothing left in the good vieebzzz chapter of your brain and instead just think about how grey and pedestrian every day of your life is.

I know then have to go to work the next day. (Which I don't mind)

Booze is easy thou. In a sense the lazy choice.It is available your body processes it (eventually) it is a good digestive with a meal. And you can gain a shit load of energy the next day.

But that period just before you get up. holy hell. And to really over do it. You could actually really die.

It is so cold. And Melbourne summers are literally like the desert. So the drop is significant. It is cold, damp wet and miserable (without truly raining top end style where you can still go outside and do something to spite getting a bit wet).

I'm depressed. Nothing to do except work and pay bills.

There's nothing better to cure a hangover than a spliff though. I've never found hangovers to be too terrible though, and at best it gives you a reason to be lazy and then have a sesh at 3 in the arvo.

Cannabis is good for coming down from MDMA. Or proper hangovers. Or when you get home from work on Friday with a pre-rolled joint sitting in the cupboard to be lit immediately and 8 beers waiting in the fridge. And yes, on occasion, when smoking it in an alley with your friend or friends the illegality does feel just a little bit cool.

Where do you get it? Unless you know a dealer. You'd have more luck breaking into the Illuminati.

Coming down from most things really. Especially sickness

Where do you get it? Unless you know a dealer. You'd have more luck breaking into the Illuminati.

Through a friend at the moment. Only have to buy it every 2-3 months, usually only smoke one joint each Friday and Saturday night (my 'ZOMG it's awesome do it every night!' stage ended years ago).

Cracking open a few beers now to finish off a day after a financial derivatives exam.

Feels good mane

People have always spoken about the mid-week comedown and New Order told me about Blue Monday, but for me it was a combined comedown/mid-week dullness all crammed into about two days. Usually started by the time I was nearly home from a 10am tram ride and then I'd be emotionally and physically cactus for another 30ish hours. After that I was pretty much right.

Drinking makes me feel like total shit the next day, hangover aside. The feelings of shame and guilt are so heavy. Quite often I'll have spent only $80 and only stayed out until 2 or so, spoken to no one except my friends, and kept the topics to footy and chicks, and even then I'll end up feeling like I've done something terrible.

I don't get how some people have never gotten this, not even once, but maybe it's about being in tune with your emotions or something. Lots of people get one bad thought and think they're ******* depressed these days so who knows.

Then again I've had amazing nights just drinking beers. You meet people, you feel connected, you feel like you're living youth the way it should be, you make mates, you have a laugh, everything just goes well... I met a band and hung out with them the other month and had a similar experience: the next few days just seem so dull and boring, you have nothing left in the good vieebzzz chapter of your brain and instead just think about how grey and pedestrian every day of your life is.
Yeah I'm with ya. I probably feel more embarrassed the next day than I would normally. For example, if I say something stupid to a girl when I'm sober I'll probably just brush it off the next day and not worry about it. But if I wake up hungover I keep imagining what I said to be so much worse and more embarrassing than it probably was.

Probably moreso now that I'm older and thus more forgetful when I'm drinking. When I was 18 I could get so hammered that I'd forget my name and then wake up feeling awesome and remember everything.

Now that I'm older as soon as I wake up I panic about what I might have done, or if I spent too much money. This is partly due to being more forgetful, but I think it's more a sign of mental and emotional maturity.

When you're young, you think you're invincible and don't give a shit.

Interesting. I used to work most Sundays after being out. That was brutal enough, and standing in a store for hours led to me feeling pretty shitty at times. I ended up going home and doing **** all after. I'd watch a movie, play a game or nap. Found that to work pretty well.

By Monday my biggest issue was being down that another week was ahead. During my biggest MDMA periods though I was probably heading out multiple times a week as a first year uni student so there was always booze and friends to look forward to. Didn't have to wait a week long for a session and it was awesome. That whole year is a blur but lately I've found myself wishing I could go back.

Yeah, I've always got this more than the MDMA stuff. I think it sort of led to me going down the gear path for a fair while. I could go out, look like a bit of a mess but typically I'd just be dancing and harming nobody. With alcohol big nights are always likely as is me doing stupid shit that I'm going to regret in the morning. The last few months it has gotten even worse, some things I've done drunk still bother me.

It's not even alcohol related when it comes to the mid-week down period I don't think. I always felt the same way as a kid looking forward to footy season, the NBA, summer or whatever. It came and went and things sucked for a while. It's the same with going out and socialising. It sucks but it's just how life is. The times with your mates etc are great, but there's nothing you can really do to escape the mid-week blues. As a uni student I find it depressing to think I'll end up with a bland job somewhere, spending 40 years looking forward to the weekend and that being the continuous cycle.

I think it comes down to weekdays being pretty ****ing boring. Your mates are very unlikely to want a beer, if you're working you've got to get home early and wake up early and there's hardly anything event related on.

Heading to Melbourne this weekend, haven't been for a couple of years. Is Rats still a thing/good?

If not, any recommendations for a Saturday night? Anywhere that's fairly busy and doesn't charge an exorbitant entry fee is good enough for me. Bonus points if they play rock/indie/rap/R&B as opposed to house, techno etc but not too fussy.

Heading to Melbourne this weekend, haven't been for a couple of years. Is Rats still a thing/good?

If not, any recommendations for a Saturday night? Anywhere that's fairly busy and doesn't charge an exorbitant entry fee is good enough for me. Bonus points if they play rock/indie/rap/R&B as opposed to house, techno etc but not too fussy.
I don't have a good recommendation but steer very far away from rats.

Depends how old you are, it's really a club for the fresh out of school kids.

Ding Dong

Depends how old you are, it's really a club for the fresh out of school kids.
23... Yeah I don't really have fun in those kinda places anymore

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Oh Rats... I think my last night there was nearly eight months ago and even a year ago we went there because we were poor and it was cheap. I would honestly love to know if it's still busy at all. No one seems to talk about it but even when I was 21 and my youngest friends et al were 19, they were all getting over it. So I couldn't tell you.

If you're into that sort of thing Anyway is probably still around and tends to get slightly skankier chicks who'll let loose – not to be crude but...

On a Friday, head to Yah Yahs on the corner of Gertrude and Smith and they play a heap of stuff like indie rock, pop, accessible shit that was trendy ten years ago – Arctic Monkeys, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Franz Ferdinand. I remember going there as a young turk when I lived down the corner and it was a dingy dive full of chicks who bought retro clothes and now it's more akin to your Amps/Caps crowd but less busy I think. Three years ago they never had a cover charge, they might ask for a tenner at most now.

If you're still hanging around on a Monday and drink $2 pots/middies, $4 pints, and $8 jugs down at The Workers Club on Gertrude/Brunswick and wait until the dancefloor starts at 11:45 and they kick everyone out before 1, even though everyone dances on the bright light pub floor and not the band room which should really become a good dance floor at 1am until their license of 3/4.

Otherwise sit down a nice warm pub in Fitzroy, watch the footy, and drink some good ales with your mates.

If you are struggling to get cannabis there is obviously something very wrong with you.

Can easily see how someone would struggle.

A 45 or 55 years old parent living in a nondescript suburb. Haven't touched anything wilder than alcohol since they were about 30. Their old housemate's friend or old friend's housemate they half-knew in 1992 is but a memory. Probably don't have twentysomethings in their social circle. Unlikely to outright ask their nephew or youngest co-worker where to get some.

They could find some eventually if they really wanted but it wouldn't be simple.

Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne