Roast Bevo pull your ******* head in

The Libba Kennedy for all we know is a time he did listen and take it on board.

We will never know how many times assistant coaches suggestions have been over ruled/disregarded/ignored and vice versa

Don't think they're yes men but to what extent their opinions are taken on board is anyone guess.

I don’t think that should be used as the basis for believing that Beveridge doesn’t take on any suggestions or input from assistant coaches.

Would you believe that Santa Claus is likely real because you can’t say for certain that he’s not?

We’ve had assistant coaches hang around for much longer than most do at other clubs. I think that suggests that the working environment within the coaching group was/is pretty good. Would you agree?

I don’t think that should be used as the basis for believing that Beveridge doesn’t take on any suggestions or input from assistant coaches.

Would you believe that Santa Claus is likely real because you can’t say for certain that he’s not?

We’ve had assistant coaches hang around for much longer than most do at other clubs. I think that suggests that the working environment within the coaching group was/is pretty good. Would you agree?

Having Assistant coaches hang around for a long time does not allow someone to deduce as to whether there is a good or bad working environment.

Can you say our inability to attract a decent assistant coach is maybe due to the industry is thinking or assuming that Bev does not allow for much delegation etc etc to assistants.

What I am saying is I would not know whether Bev takes on and what he allows his assistants to do and input they can have.

Times have changed haven’t they? Unfortunately nowadays, supporters don’t have the access opportunities that were available back in the day. Even just getting in to the rooms to watch them sing the song, is almost impossible to do. Unless you know someone, or have won some sort of raffle prize.

Thanks for sharing. There’s a lot of these type stories floating around in here, but we certainly don’t hear them enough.
Apologies in advance for going off thread topic, but very much agree. Love these stories.

Been into the rooms a few times after games.

Once after a pretty heavy loss at the G to Melbourne, where Moz played the 2nd half as a key forward. The next time was toward the end of the same season where we beat North in Moz's 250th. Came from about 6 goals down to win. Fair to say it was a happy change room.

Managed to get in after the Elim Final loss to GWS. All our boys looked absolutely physically smashed.

Having Assistant coaches hang around for a long time does not allow someone to deduce as to whether there is a good or bad working environment.

Can you say our inability to attract a decent assistant coach is maybe due to the industry is thinking or assuming that Bev does not allow for much delegation etc etc to assistants.

What I am saying is I would not know whether Bev takes on and what he allows his assistants to do and input they can have.

I’d say having long term employees in an industry that can have regular turnover is a pretty good indicator that it’s a healthy work environment. Could be wrong though.

Where’s the info you’re getting that we’ve unsuccessfully chased other assistants? Has there been something shared in the media or similar? I may have missed it.

I can’t say for certain that what you’re saying is true re incoming assistant coaches not wanting to join us, because there’s nothing to go on. What we do know is that we’ve been able to hold on to assistants long term. These same assistants have since been poached by opposition clubs for various roles with one making his senior coaching debut at Carlton earlier this year.

We’ve had talented coaches stay onboard for longer periods than others normally would. Thats suggests we’ve been happy with their output and they’ve been happy in their roles. Does that sound more likely than the alternative that you’ve suggested?

I’d say having long term employees in an industry that can have regular turnover is a pretty good indicator that it’s a healthy work environment. Could be wrong though.

Where’s the info you’re getting that we’ve unsuccessfully chased other assistants? Has there been something shared in the media or similar? I may have missed it.

No info I have no intel (not at the Dogs anyway) maybe I should have worded it as I am assuming.

I would hope we have chased some decent assistants and if we haven't that is a bigger problem in itself.

It seems that quite a few teams, e.g. Geelong, Collingwood, Sydney, Richmond, etc, have become more direct in their ball movement this year. Whether a response to the manning the mark change or whatever.

I can't judge Bev harshly for not anticipating that change, but the adjustments made over the season (seemingly around the bye/GWS game, but probably progressively), have helped our scoring tick up but haven't improved our ability to defend end to end transition, which is still a killer for us. Given it’s largely the same personnel as last year, he seems a bit bereft (similar to the ongoing centre square issues). Plugging in a slightly better KPD like Jones isn’t going to fix our problems.

Hopefully he can resolve or better mitigate this issue in the clear air of preseason. If not, the buck is eventually going to have to stop with him next year on some of this stuff.

No info I have no intel (not at the Dogs anyway) maybe I should have worded it as I am assuming.

I would hope we have chased some decent assistants and if we haven't that is a bigger problem in itself.

Yeah, possibly.

Bev seems to like having the club run pretty tightly so we may not have gone hard chasing other assistants.

Yeah, possibly.

Bev seems to like having the club run pretty tightly so we may not have gone hard chasing other assistants.

Not sure if its Bev or someone else but I look at some assistants at other clubs and it makes me wonder why we are not attracting these types of assistants we have a list that assistants should be excited about

Melbourne - Alan Richardson and Mark Williams (both ex coaches)
Sydney Swans - Don Pyke (ex coach)
Geelong - Nigel Lappin (highly regarded and will coach as soon as he wants imo)
Collingwood - Leppitsch and Bolton (both ex coaches)

you get the idea.... some of the other clubs have assistants that have been considered or were close to getting a snr job such as Kingsley, Bruce etc etc

Good assistants would be better for Bev as at times he looks like he is carrying a huge burden.

Is Bev is a very loyal and compassionate person and will take heaps on, accommodate others, take others burdens out of care? (I could be way off)

Someone has to be able some cold hard decisions

Can Bev work with an senior assistant coach ?
It’s been all his way for some time now and I wonder if he could easily delegate decisions when it’s been all him . I am not so sure but hope things improve both within the coaching ranks and game plan’s as our defensive systems are awful .

Can Bev work with an senior assistant coach ?
It’s been all his way for some time now and I just not sure that he could easily delegate decisions when it’s been all him . I am not so sure but hope things improve both within the coaching ranks and game plan’s as our defensive systems are awful .
It shouldn’t be his choice. He is employed by the board to get the best out of this talented group of men. That means working with whoever the board feels they think will achieve that goal.
We have all created this problem because we worshiped him for taking us to the promised land. Human nature can’t adequately deal with such adulation for what was far from just his effort but a whole of club effort.

I might also add, 90% of what determines player performance, which in turn determines results isn’t done during the the game play. It’s done during pre season, pre game, during breaks and in post game reviews. So reading the rubbish that fill these threads that focuses on the other 10% is getting f*****g boring.
Charlie, just wanted an update to modern coaching ideas.
What is the main focus of midfielders at the CB's? Do they track the path of the ball, watch the hand of the ruck or lock onto their opponent or do each of the three in there have a different role?
After a great start we were thumped again out of the middle on saturday night, how important is the ruckman?
Thx.

A...

Managed to get in after the Elim Final loss to GWS. All our boys looked absolutely physically smashed.
You must know somebody. In the late 90's the Club introduced a limited number of passes to get into the 'rooms, invariably given to officials, players' family & friends, some coterie members and the Press. I once got into the 'rooms at half time at Victoria Park. I couldn't see into the inner sanctum where Malthouse was addressing the players but I could hear Malthouse ripping into Hawkins. Make a sailor blush.

It shouldn’t be his choice. He is employed by the board to get the best out of this talented group of men. That means working with whoever the board feels they think will achieve that goal.
We have all created this problem because we worshiped him for taking us to the promised land. Human nature can’t adequately deal with such adulation for what was far from just his effort but a whole of club effort.
Yep I totally agree with you it should not be his choice . Our former President gave Bev the controls post GF and that’s hard to fault given that the ultimate was achieved at that time and it looked like a period of sustained success . Things have played out now that require some sort of change management to try and reel things in a little but that’s my humble opinion of course .
My gut feel is that he wouldn’t and couldn’t do it . He is a Clarko type of head coach .

Charlie, just wanted an update to modern coaching ideas.
What is the main focus of midfielders at the CB's? Do they track the path of the ball, watch the hand of the ruck or lock onto their opponent or do each of the three in there have a different role?
After a great start we were thumped again out of the middle on saturday night, how important is the ruckman?
Thx.

If you’re wanting to know the exact mechanics of a modern AFL midfield set up, you’ve come to the wrong place old mate.

But, you’ve made the effort to ask the question so I’ll respond.

It can differ depending on your midfields capabilities and what you want them to achieve. I’d always have goal side contact on your opponent until you know you can move away to contribute offensively. But, if you’re a sweeper, then it’s follow the ball or opponent, which ever needs your attention. If your midfield don’t have control of the contest, then you remain defensive minded. That goes for all 3. You don’t always see this in the AFL, but at local level, you don’t see many midfields, in the better local leagues, that don’t have goal side contact at every centre bounce.

As far as your specific question, It can be a combination of all three most of the time, although locking on is a pretty negative approach and you’d only use if your midfield were inferior and you were conceding that you weren’t going to get get attacking control of the ball. So you want to force a contest at ground level.

Around the ground stoppages are different because you have more players available to impact the contest. First possession and a quick handball can see you exit the contest pretty quickly.

I see our midfield concede some of the defensive side of things because we’re so effective at winning the ball at the source and getting first use. Something we’ve been consistent at, up until a few weeks ago. Something we were very poor at on Saturday night.

As for the ruckman the ruckmans role. How longs a piece of string. You always want them to give the mids the best opportunity to get first possession, but what that is differs for each team. I’d say, ours are instructed to half the contest and allow our more often than not better midfield to make the most of it. If you’ve got an inferior midfield and a good tap ruckman, you probably want the ball out in space or wherever is best to get first hands on it. But generally, it’s just giving your mids best chance of first disposal.

Around the ground is different again. Depends on what kind of ruckman you have. The expectations for Jarrod Witts would be completely different to what Tom English’s would be. So I can’t say.

As for our midfield on Saturday night. There’s no doubt we could have gone full lockdown during Geelongs run-on. But what does that look like for our midfields offensive game. You aren’t going to get much of a look at moving the ball forward if your sole focus is stopping the opposition. We should have been better at our own game, and that would have been more than sufficient to not only stop Geelong at the source, but also give ourselves a chance to get the ball moving towards our own goal. Seeing as we have the midfield capable of keeping the contest on our terms, I understand why drastic changes like completely locking down on the oppo mids wasn’t the coaches choice. We should have been better, it’s as simple as that. We weren’t, and Geelong capitalised by stepping it up a gear. Blame should be on the players in that moment, and the coaches in general for allowing the team to drop away so badly in games. This is just how I see what happened on Saturday night.

I hope this helps and hasn’t created any confusion.

Like I said, I can’t explain the mechanics or specific details of how AFL teams specifically set up. I’m just a local footy hack compared to those involved at the elite level.

I’ve heard Bevo is going to have a motion moved on the FFC board that he be made coach for life. If it’s good enough for Xi Jinping, Kim Jong-Un and Vladimir Putin then it’s good enough for Bevo.

If it involves him making a move on the rebel states of Tullamarine and Fremantle where there are many Bulldogs-speaking people...

The Melbourne win gave some credits back, but the last 2 weeks have shown he has already taken us as far as he can.

Please step aside at the end of the season Bevo, thanks and good luck

He cited Che Guevara as an inspiration for his gameplan before the season started so you might not be far off the mark.

If beveridge was a farmer he’d plant corn and then be surprised he didn’t get sugar canes.

The bloke has lost the plot and thinks he’s reinventing the game when all he is doing is pissing away the year
We’ve underperformed for 5 of his 8 years - he ****ing genuinely sucks as a coach lmao

Roast Bevo pull your ******* head in