Big Fish ?...Hawthorn trade news and targets thread(not for trade hypotheticals)

Geelong apparently the front runner for stringer now, fair dinkum were are they getting the money to pay for these blokes? If ablett goes there as well the footy public will bay for blood i rekon. They have had an armchair ride in the media for a long time. Hellbent on never bottoming out by the sounds of it.

What can they trade?

They have pick 20 which would be for Devon Smith.
The Suns will want a player or a future pick for Ablett.
Late second rounders won't be enough for Stringer.

If Hawthorn's hands are tied by lack of trading assets, then I suspect Geelong will be as well.

In order to be the destination club, that club needs to want that player.

Stringer is a massive question mark.

At the right club and not being a limelight player like he wouldn't be at Geelong think he will be fine and a good pick up for them - set him up down near the beach and he will take Motlops spot

Good for him.

We aren't interested for a reason.

What can they trade?

They have pick 20 which would be for Devon Smith.
The Suns will want a player or a future pick for Ablett.
Late second rounders won't be enough for Stringer.

If Hawthorn's hands are tied by lack of trading assets, then I suspect Geelong will be as well.
Depends what they get for Floplots & Menzel

Geelong apparently the front runner for stringer now, fair dinkum were are they getting the money to pay for these blokes? If ablett goes there as well the footy public will bay for blood i rekon. They have had an armchair ride in the media for a long time. Hellbent on never bottoming out by the sounds of it.

Geeong are losing or likely losing:
Lonergan
Mackie
Motlop
Menzel
Horlin-smith

For 2 of ablett/stringer/devon smith

Salaries about even if the other soots taken by draftees

Geeong are losing or likely losing:
Lonergan
Mackie
Motlop
Menzel
Horlin-smith

For 2 of ablett/stringer/devon smith

Salaries about even if the other soots taken by draftees
They will have more trade ins than any other club in the league by a mile. More than we ever have. High risk high reward strategy that doesnt always work out.

S
And besides we have a very good defence with Burch Frawley & Strats to return
Short term yes but lever was the gibbo replacement long term. We can duck and dive around it as much as we want, we were super keen but we werent prepared to pay what he wanted. Think we will settle for 2nd string type players this trade period, ones that can come in and fill a role. Balic or kennedy. Could be still an outside chance at rockliff time will tell.

They will have more trade ins than any other club in the league by a mile. More than we ever have. High risk high reward strategy that doesnt always work out.
Train wreck please

Matthew Kennedy. 188cm flanker. Played 16 games....

What have we seen that I haven't as the excitement is quite baffling.

In regards to a fish size this is a tadpole surely and we have something more substantial up our sleeve.
He is a big bodied midfielder that can kick goals. He is still young with development left in him.

Did lever announce he was going to Melbourne??
I doubt he's announcing his departure in Week 2 of Finals with his team the Flag Favourites.

It's all rumour / supposition & no doubt some inside sources that are suggesting it, but it seems unanimous at the moment.

I doubt he's announcing his departure in Week 2 of Finals with his team the Flag Favourites.

It's all rumour / supposition & no doubt some inside sources that are suggesting it, but it seems unanimous at the moment.
That's what I thought as well. Although I keep hearing the dees at this time are the front runners but there a few reports saying that the hawks are lurking as well.
I can't see lever going for 2 first round picks though. Next years first and second round pick might be enough to get him across the line.

In regards to a fish size this is a tadpole surely and we have something more substantial up our sleeve.
If he's a Half Back Flanker then it's a lock. They either specifically recruit HBF, or we play whoever isn't one there for a bit anyway. hBF experience is a pre-requisite to being in the best 22.

Mate its amazing how excited some are about potentially picking up this bloke.