Strategy Blair Hartley Project 2015 III - Linked to Treloar / Yarran / Stevie J / Kreuzer

Disagree. There was a reason why the Hampson deal was done day 1 of trade week. It was worked before the week that's why. TW mentioned this very topic today, even mentioning a heads of agreement deals. Yes technically not allowed but the AFL are fully aware of this and do nothing, so why stop the practice? They even have done the same on 'their' teams ie the suns/giants, so it would be a bit rich for them to pull up clubs about it, plus all of this type of practice in the past. The rules are, you arent allowed to sign with another team, but you can talk to them, and in doing so you come to an agreement. The injury aspect was talked about last year, and its still not been decided I think.
I agree. But it's also feasible that RFC walked in at 9am offering a 2nd rounder and 9:01 Carlton were bolting to the fax :D

I doubt any clubs will go after Griff - it will be Ty and McBean who get mentioned - Griff has shown nothing but glimpses of ability to date.
Freo were very keen on Griff last year. He'd have plenty of suitors. I hope we keep him, will continue to improve.

I reckon we can afford to lose one but I guess it depends on the kid we expect to be available at that pick
We can't afford to lose any talls unless we are getting others in.

One I agree is workable, but some are talking Treloar, Motlop, AND Yarran

We have Lambert, Lennon, McBean, Vlastuin, Conca, Vickery, C Ellis, Griff, Ivvy, Houli, Batchelor, Edwards, Grigg, and Grimes coming out of contract either this year or next, and these are the ones we would be looking to retain and all will be looking for a reasonable pay kick (to varying degrees).

Even if the average is just $50k, there is $700k of your $2m gone.

Make it $100k average (probably closer to the truth given many are coming off noob and low level contracts), and there is $1.4m gone.

But yeah, we can afford three guys who will cost us in excess of $2m a season
Conca won't be getting a pay rise, he got one last time and hasn't played since. Maric won't get another contract. Vickery and Houli are already on good money, not sure they'll get much more.

Let's call it a million.

From the article.

"Clearly frustrated with the club leading up to this week’s move on James Hird, Carlisle let rip against the Giants.
After he walked through the interchange lines, Carlisle screamed: “This club is f---ed.’’"

"Against the Dogs at Etihad Stadium, a match the Bombers lost by 87 points, Carlisle told at least one Bulldogs forward that he was counting down the matches before leaving at the end of the season."

"Carlisle’s teammate have been told of a conversation between Carlisle and Crows forwards, where Carlisle went even further and said he didn’t care about the result because he would not be at the club next year."
Sounds like he's one of the few Essendon people with a realistic view of where they're at. :p

You're missing the medium sized, classy half forward. We dont need another key back.
We've got medium classy forwards, we need a fast small one.

Danger should be our number 1 priority.
Correct.

Wonder if Henderson leaving makes Astbury for Yarran more viable as they'll need some talls.
Carlton will get Carlisle.

Ability ? Have you seen him play ??

Yarran is silk, the issue he has this year is that his natural run and attacking mindset has been destroyed with Malthouse game plan. Given freedom to roam HHF for us, to tackle, chase and also run into goal, it makes me moist. he is exactly what we need. a Medium who can both play forward and back with elite speed and disposal. For those that knock him, go check out his games in 2012-2013.

He is a icing player, not a work horse. I just think its a great type of player the club has been chasing and hope they can pull it off. Now we need another inside mid, and a small defender.
Agree, but he's not a medium, he's a small. 180. Small. Have you ever seen him mark overhead? Or jump?

yep, 2 x 2nd rounders, this yr's and next
There will be good mids in the second round next year, but you'd probably do it.

Hearing word from pretty good sources about a young Port Adelaide player pretty much being a done deal to the Tiges. Would think a late pick would get it done, possibly a PSD or rookie selection though.
White? ;)

Aaron Young.
Shit player. :thumbsdown:

Could somebody tell me what sort of midfielder James Aish is?
Outside and one-paced. Neat kick, nice hands.

One that avoids contact and the ball.
Half right. He gets the ball.

for a mid, we lost two of the better key forwards of the 1980's

people bitch about trading a tall for a mid, one centre man cost us one centre men, one winger, and KPP talls. one gun isnt worth 2 good mids and 2 very good forwards
The problem was not getting Maurice, it was GR being a campaigner when it came to the others' contracts.

Good player, not sure he's really a need however with Miles and Lambert in the side
Those two are sub-180. Redden is 190. I'd have him.

Can't believe Tomlinsons name doesn't come up.
Would love him.

Harley Bennell should be our number 1 priority.
Number 2, after Danger.

Looks like we're getting Yarran. I reckon we might get one or two others. Danger is probably done to Geelong - I hear Costa will help him out with some premo Moggs Creek property. Leuey as a free agent maybe.

I don't think so being a professional sport, but would the prospect of Kruezer going to Richmond be helped because he is/was best mates with Cotchin?

Yarran in full flight is easily worth a first round pick.
Those who don't agree need to watch more footy.
His value has dropped this year, but the fact he remains contracted for next year still gives Carlton the upper hand in regards to wanting a first round pick.
I'd happily give up our first pick for Yarran, although Carlton would also have to agree to swap 2nd round picks.
I think that's more than fair.
Yarran is exactly the type of player we need running off half back or kicking miracle goals up forward.
Even though he looks 40, he is only 24 years old.

Forget Treloar, he's gone to Collingwood.
Forget Dangerfield, he's been at Geelong for the best part of 2 years.
Motlop would be great, but he wants to stay at the Cats.
I'd be very interested in Leuenberger from Brisbane, especially with Maric on his last legs.
We will be very busy this off season I think.

Yarran in full flight is easily worth a first round pick.
Those who don't agree need to watch more footy.
His value has dropped this year, but the fact he remains contracted for next year still gives Carlton the upper hand in regards to wanting a first round pick.
I'd happily give up our first pick for Yarran, although Carlton would also have to agree to swap 2nd round picks.
I think that's more than fair.
Yarran is exactly the type of player we need running off half back or kicking miracle goals up forward.
Even though he looks 40, he is only 24 years old.

Forget Treloar, he's gone to Collingwood.
Forget Dangerfield, he's been at Geelong for the best part of 2 years.
Motlop would be great, but he wants to stay at the Cats.
I'd be very interested in Leuenberger from Brisbane, especially with Maric on his last legs.
We will be very busy this off season I think.
at his best yes he is worth a first but why pay it our second isn't that bad of an offer bloke doesn't want to be there and if they say no we can get him next year for free. have to see what falls into place I have faith that we will be a stronger side then this year and if we don't get motlop or yarran then we will get a gun with our first anyway

Next year he will be a free agent, and it will be open slather in regards to clubs who will chase him.
The draft is very weak this year according to people in the know, so you'd rather get rid of your picks this year and focus on another free agent next year.
With our pay structure, I can guarantee someone will outbid us for Yarran if it came to free agency (which is not a bad thing mind you).
So much can change in a year.
Remember when Dom Tyson wanted to come to us and ended up at Melbourne?
How about Josh Caddy when he wanted Essendon but went to Geelong the next year?

Things change.
Get him now, he will be a good pick up for us.

If Jack Redden is even considering a move, and isn't set on going back to SA, we should be all over that. Would just about complete our midfield. Injury history is a bit of a concern but I wouldn't hesitate to give up our first if it was on the cards. They'd want more. Is very good mates with Rockliff though so I would imagine he'll stay.

Just read an article saying Carlton wanting a 1st round pick for yarran. Surely we wouldn't give up our 1st rounder for him.
What's he worth?
I'd consider it with their second pick coming along, similar to the Trengove deal we tried last year. Then use that pick on Dunkley if he nominated for the draft.

HF: Deledio, Vickery, Edwards
F: Yarran, Reiwoldt, Lennon

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
I don't share the love many have for Yarran. I think of him as a flashy forward who in the last year or so has played off the back flank but not really done anything special. To think of him as a FP and his best return so far in a season is 26 goals where a player like Nahas best season was 34 but we got rid of him.

Just don't see all the upside some do for Yarran. Can he play midfield & win his own ball or just an outside receiver that will roll fwd and skirt packs???

Better options out there IMO

I'd consider it with their second pick coming along, similar to the Trengove deal we tried last year. Then use that pick on Dunkley if he nominated for the draft.

If I have this correct, that would effectively be Yarran for a 1 (GF win) to 6 or 7 pick upgrade. Not sure they would go for that.

The middle ground to this might be our first and second for Yarran and their second

If we finish 6th for arguments sake, we lose around Picks 13 and 31 (excluding priority picks) and receive Yarran and Pick 19. Effectively our first and a material round 2 upgrade.

Still not sure I love this, but also not sure a Pick in the low 30's will work.

Just read the article in the paper today about Hugh Greenwood who is an NBL player who played college basket ball and tried out with the Utah Jazz is seeking to move to AFL. Give he has just signed a 3 year deal with the Wildcats would suggest to me he is already set with a club and maybe just testing the waters.

http://www.theage.com.au/sport/bask...ats-to-pursue-afl-career-20150820-gj46vy.html

FYI, he is a Tasmanian who is 190cm tall, captained the Aussie U17 team and played in the U19 world champs making the all U19 first team for the tournament. He played for the University of New Mexico in the US and won their MVP (joint last year) and subsequently had a try out with the Utah Jazz so must be a gun on the court.

Question is, at 23 and not having played serious footy for 7+ years can he transition to AFL standard?

When having a look on the net for some info on him came across the link from the Crows BigFooty page saying they think he is heading there. One comment that followed brought a smile to my face:

"A cricketer and now a basketballer.

Can't we be linked to a gun footballer?"

[http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/hugh-greenwood.1108403/]

Carlton want Yarran gone; that devalues his worth come trade time.

Yarran goes you want me gone, I want to go to club X.

Then Carlton no longer hold the bargaining hand otherwise he stays for another year and Carlton loose a year of development for a new player.

Seedsman will get both deals done :rolleyes:

They'll need much more than Seedsman. He's hardly a star.

Why would you think that GWS and Brisbane will play nicely with these 2?

Regardless of where they elect to go, they are both highly rated low draft picks that have development in them - both GWS and Brisbane will want MORE than the daft pick they were taken in. Especially Brisbane - who have all the power if PSD is threatened.

Just go through his posts and you will see he has already said some stuff that has come true.
In regards to asking for peoples sources its just wrong. Why would he get his source in trouble on a public forum?

I wasn't asking him to reveal his source mate, just a bit more info that's all... More so cause I want to get excited at the prospect of getting Aish that's all...

I'd even be interested in Adcock - Quality person, a former captain who would add some leadership after Newman & even Foley moving on. Also another small defender which is something we could do with. Even if he is not a regular senior player, having someone like him competition week in, week out on the track and in the VFL side would be very valuable.

Hmmm not sure. You would think that if his leadership qualities were that good they would be keeping him on for another year given what's happening up there. I think the fact that Leppa has shown him the door is telling.