Bluemour Melting Pot XXX - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

Report on AFL.com.au from Riley Beveridge this morning, a few things to note since Riley is pretty well connected at the Blues:

1) SPS & LOB almost certain to not receive contract extensions. I’m assuming they will be traded. Dow also mentioned as a potential trade if a suitor is found which defies logic to me. We’d want at least a top 10 pick for Dow IMO but I’d prefer to hold onto him. He showed this year he could become a very special player. Brodie Kemp is also closing in on a new contract.

Insane. Think it was very much more that they wanted out, and at least 2 of them may have changed their minds given the events of this week.
Be batshit for the Club to ship them off.

The Saad vs Hind sh*t is very annoying.

At the time of the trade we were after proven experience in the back half who could be in the leadership group, we got it.

Essendon wanted to draft a player to replace the one they just lost and he seems to have turned out well so far but at the time of the draft was still an unknown to an extent.

Seems like another one of those win/win trades to me.

Also there's no guarantee we'd have drafted Hind and had the same net result with him.
The most ironic part of all of this is that the player they drafted with our pick hasn’t played a game and been sidelined all year. The curse continues…

Insane. Think it was very much more that they wanted out, and at least 2 of them may have changed their minds given the events of this week.
Be batshit for the Club to ship them off.

In addition. On what planet would we honestly get a top 10 pick for Dow?

The Saad vs Hind sh*t is very annoying.

At the time of the trade we were after proven experience in the back half who could be in the leadership group, we got it.

Essendon wanted to draft a player to replace the one they just lost and he seems to have turned out well so far but at the time of the draft was still an unknown to an extent.

Seems like another one of those win/win trades to me.

Also there's no guarantee we'd have drafted Hind and had the same net result with him.

It’s a false comparison.

I wouldn’t buy in to the media pile on - it is biased and highly agenda driven.
Here are some facts as we know them:
- the media hammer and question Teague for the majority of the season for having no definitive game plan
- Sayers calls for a long overdue review of a seriously underperforming football department
- Sayers says we will not provide a running commentary on the review. We don’t provide a running commentary on the review
- Report is handed to the board for consideration with 1-2 weeks left in the season
- Teague says I don’t want to discuss the findings until post round 23. The board comply with his wishes
- Management are given the findings of the report and a right to respond by way of due process from Monday
- Conversations are had at all levels of the club based on the review early in the week
- Media start crying foul that the coach they campaigned to have removed and mocked for lack of sensible game plan is being treated unfairly and the whole situation is a shambles. No mention of Teague asking to only see the report post Rd 23 and the right of reply given to management and Teague
- Board finalises decision to remove Teague on Wednesday night and notifies him first thing on Thursday

Sayers outlined a process and stuck to it. An underperforming coach and some assistants were removed. Nothing about this is particularly sensational but the media continue to nit pick and find issues.

I think the media are always brutal with us but I think we are sort of doing the same thing with Liddle and Lloyd. I am not sure who leaked the less than 50% of the players supported Teague; but if it was us then that was a big mistake. The soft cap thing with Clarko could have also been better managed but I think his mind was already made up anyway.

I just hope the coaching process is not rushed and prospective coaches are given time to respond to the specific needs of the club.

In addition. On what planet would we honestly get a top 10 pick for Dow?

You may get a late second.
Same with Samo, LOB etc.

Better to retain unless the pick is used to manufacture something else that gets you into the first round.

Even so, I think Dow is worth persisting with but will need to demonstrate some serious gains in fitness.

you wanted to know why a coach needs so much support - every coach needs support surely? will you hire someone with the idea to let him work alone? it's no slight on dt that he needed more support.......

Point missed completely.

My point was Teague had a whole team of assistant coaches.

They ought to be his support team - he was not asked to do the job on his own.

IMHO if a Senior Coach needs a Worsfold to coach/explain how to do his job??????

The club has hired the wrong person.

FFS, these 'Carlton Now' clowns are ruining our footy club.

Caroline Wilson is a respected journalist who confirmed that was the reason that Clarko walked away. I reckon there is a fair amount of truth it in.

With our history over the past 20 years, and the way we have treated coaches, why would he risk his alternate legendary status ? Carlton has ultimately put a stain on how people view Malthouse and Pagan.

FFS, these 'Carlton Now' clowns are ruining our footy club.

Perhaps, on the other hand I think it's healthy we have a board challenge, if only to keep the current regime on their toes. There has to be some kind of accountability at board level for our team constantly underperforming on field.

Doesn't sound to me that Clarkson's heart was fully set on coaching us in the first place. I wouldn't lose sleep over it mate.

Caroline Wilson is a respected journalist who confirmed that was the reason that Clarko walked away. I reckon there is a fair amount of truth it in.

With our history over the past 20 years, and the way we have treated coaches, why would he risk his alternate legendary status ? Carlton has ultimately put a stain on how people view Malthouse and Pagan.

Give me a f***ing break.

Respected journalist my arse.

Wilson has had the axe into Carlton ever since her “source” Trigg got the boot.

If you give Caro info she loves you - if you don’t she bags you.

Very, very simple to understand.

I’ve heard from someone ITK (at another club) that Clarko was very close to accepting our offer until The Big House intervened and made us include the $900k Hawks we’re going to pay in our soft cap as well as averaging out the backed ended deal into next year and 2023. Combined with Teague’s payout it was going to blow our soft cap so we had to walk away from Clarko.

I think everyone’s missing something here.The REAL reason why Clarkson isn’t coaching us is that Gill said NO!

Give me a f***ing break.

Respected journalist my arse.

Wilson has had the axe into Carlton ever since her “source” Trigg got the boot.

If you give Caro info she loves you - if you don’t she bags you.

Very, very simple to understand.

She has been spot on with the Clarko situation all year. There is good respect between the 2 of them. Wouldn’t surprise me if it is coming directly from the horses mouth.

Why are we judging Hind v Saad after one season?

Saad is the proven performer across multiple seasons. Hind has only stepped up this year.

Reminds me of the Dan Butler melts...

Yet you stated we paid to much for Saad, now you want to hedge your bets, hilarious

As for Betts V Butler, one of those players are still in the system, both cost similar in trade value