Bluemour Melting Pot XXXI - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

Tend to agree. Would expect much more noise about it from solid ITK players, plus it would make our "process" look like a sham. 100% Clarkson doesnt go though the full process, but we also wont just dump the panel with no warning.
The process is for untried or “out of the game for a while” coaches…Clarkson is seen to be without peer. Walk up start. 👍🏻

Unless we call out Essendon for being the drug cheats they are, no-one else is - the current AFL Old boys Media mafia don’t call them out as cheats, either does the News Corporation owned Herald-Sun, either does Channel 7 or SEN.

So by all means we should throw as many stones as we can.

Will forever love Sam Mitchell for his piss-take on *.

And IIRC the AFL fined him for it - tells you everything you need to know about the AFL Management and their priorities!!!!

AFL are considering implementing a set proportion of the head coaches salary to sit outside the cap instead of raising the overall cap -- reducing the cap has been a way to streamline clubs support staff to reduce running costs as they couldn't sustain the current budgets league wide with or without COVID..
Yep, understood. My concern is the AFL's reaction to us choosing to smash the soft cap by a significant amount for many years in succession. Yes, we will be taxed but I reckon the AFL would still be pissed off. We would be showing a complete disregard for their other key intention, which is equalisation

Richmond were ordinary this season. It is not much of a step up to beat them first round next season.
I'd be upset if we could not put them away, round one , next season no matter what coach we have.
Harry McKay, Charlie Curnow and Jack Silvagni as the three marketing targets up forward would be too much for Richmond imo.
I'd be way more excited if we can beat teams up top this season like Melbourne and Dogs. Then I'd know we finally improving where we should be.
I just think that they’ve had to wood in us for so long that I associate our poor performance on the ladder with Richmond beating us round 1. Just feel the the boys would be buoyed by nailing the tigers - regardless of how they’ve performed - would be a huge confidence boost

Do people really think clarko won’t be able to travel?? He can walk up to about any sporting organisation world wide and get a job there so he will be on a working vacation. People holding onto the pandemic as a reason for him not to travel are kidding themselves. He’ll get around whatever hurdles are in his way to make it happen. On top of that, most countries are out of lockdown and basically open as long as they’re vaccinated. He said he wants to travel and take a break from footy and I believe him.
He can get an exemption for work/study I think. If he can demonstrate the course he is undertaking is not offered here, he will get the exemption. He will need to stay more than 3 months which he would have to for any sort of course he'd be considering I would have thought.
Of course, I could be totally wrong he will be coaching us.

Yep, understood. My concern is the AFL's reaction to us choosing to smash the soft cap by a significant amount for many years in succession. Yes, we will be taxed but I reckon the AFL would still be pissed off. We would be showing a complete disregard for their other key intention, which is equalisation
Not at all -- Covid has been the greatest thing for the AFL -- yes maybe one to three seasons get wiped but that is a short term thing -- it has enabled them to gain control of all clubs financials (expenditures 50% of problem)-- streamline there own office - they have been fighting over inflation ever since the first major media deal -- they know the media money runs the competition the crowd is the sideshow - financially makes sense to give leeway to the coach as he will be payed close to median highest paid players on your list . This has very little to do with carlton . There is no way we over shoot the budget dramatically the same as collingwood we're never going to even though Ed postured they could .. you don't run an efficient system going to far outside the parameters -- bend not break is how you win ..

The only way we pull any of this off will be copping significant soft cap tax for many, many years. I'm fine with that though. Let's see how the AFL respond. Changing the rules without notice is pretty standard for them.

Liddle’s free dog memberships will be $200 next year to pay for all of this.

I just think that they’ve had to wood in us for so long that I associate our poor performance on the ladder with Richmond beating us round 1. Just feel the the boys would be buoyed by nailing the tigers - regardless of how they’ve performed - would be a huge confidence boost

110% agree with this, we aren’t going anywhere until we beat these pricks in round 1

Is an absolute FIGJAM flog.

We should stick to our no dickheads rule.
Belief is he rejected Sos's contract put before him, and moved to Cats for a lousy $50k extra. That was after we brought him over from Ireland, and taught him the skills of the AFL game, and developed him into the player he is today. Very ordinary imo. :mad:

Do people really think clarko won’t be able to travel?? He can walk up to about any sporting organisation world wide and get a job there so he will be on a working vacation. People holding onto the pandemic as a reason for him not to travel are kidding themselves. He’ll get around whatever hurdles are in his way to make it happen. On top of that, most countries are out of lockdown and basically open as long as they’re vaccinated. He said he wants to travel and take a break from footy and I believe him.
It's not that simple.

If he moves to say the US, he would be a covid risk every time he switches organisation unless they break procedure. Then there's the vacation part as he moves around a country where the delta variant is rife, in a climate where there are other variants that are emerging. By the time he's probably leaving for the US, he will have a 30-40% chance of getting sick from the delta variant despite two vaccine doses.

International travel in the context of holidaying through a continent is completely unrealistic for the next 18 months, because the issues we have with vaccine effectiveness right now requires everyone to be getting a third shot next year, and that's before you even tackle the problem of clusters of populations in the world that are largely unvaccinated, and the potential for new variants to emerge there due to limited immune response.

Read up a little here:

There might be people who let him break and bend the rules, but he would be risking his own health quite substantially, which is extremely foolish to do for someone who has a history of cardiac issues, and years of working in a high stress environment.

Belief is he rejected Sos's contract put before him, and moved to Cats for a lousy $50k extra. That was after we brought him over from Ireland, and taught him AFL game, and developed him into the player he is today. Very ordinary imo. :mad:

It was more than that.

We didn't have any other trade assets that year and SOS had work to do.

But don't let facts get in the way of a good player trashing.