Bluemour Melting Pot XXXI - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

So you pronounce Alastair - Alice + Stair

Alice in Italian is Alice. Stair in Italian is Scala.

If you google Alice Scala, you will find a Twitter page.

It's all coming together now.

Is an absolute FIGJAM flog.

We should stick to our no dickheads rule.

Just on Zac Tuohy, for what it's worth, he used to live in my neck of the woods when he played with us, and I ran into him, his partner (and their bub!) a few times out and about, and at the local shops.

Only said g'day and engaged in smalltalk, but on what was probably the third time we crossed paths, he said hello first, and was as friendly and 'normal' as could be, I thought. He and his family couldn't have been any less 'FIGJAM-y', really - didn't give even the vaguest hint of that.

I was only the slightest bit acquainted, obviously, but I'd be very surprised if he's a 'flog', particularly given Geelong themselves have something of a 'no dickheads', character-first policy.

Just on Zac Tuohy, for what it's worth, he used to live in my neck of the woods when he played with us, and I ran into him, his partner (and their bub!) a few times out and about, and at the local shops.

Only said g'day and engaged in smalltalk, but on what was probably the third time we crossed paths, he said hello first, and was as friendly and 'normal' as could be, I thought. He and his family couldn't have been any less 'FIGJAM-y', really - didn't give even the vaguest hint of that.

I was only the slightest bit acquainted, obviously, but I'd be very surprised if he's a 'flog', particularly given Geelong themselves have something of a 'no dickheads', character-first policy.

That's fine.

We've had people try to deal with him, FIGJAM.

Doesn’t matter, especially if you have a visa elsewhere - which he could get.

One of my guys just resigned and is moving to Canada. No problems at all for him.
I've read that if leaving you need to sign a stat dec saying you wont return for at least 12 months. Fine for people moving for work, less so for those wanting a holiday

Tend to agree. Would expect much more noise about it from solid ITK players, plus it would make our "process" look like a sham. 100% Clarkson doesnt go though the full process, but we also wont just dump the panel with no warning.

There may be credence in these Clarkson rumours from a few different posters in the past couple of days.
  • You could argue none on the "coaching sub-committee" would be best suited to pick a "Training Wheels" coach along with assistants. Diesel yes, but even he has been out of inner sanctum of the modern game. Hasn't played for 25 years. But as a director probably yes. Lloyd & Liddle oversaw the current disturbance. Parkin hasn't coached for 20 years. But is a Carlton man with Hawthorn connections. Kinnersly, Lincoln not doubting their abilities but picking coaches & assistants not sure. Even diesel going for his mate Healy seemed strange. Seems to me an in-house Carlton rubber stamping committee.
  • Sayers stated they wanted an experienced coach. Any experienced coach would want to be involved in selecting their assistants. Clarkson has Russell & Bruce already there. Murmurings of Cooke. Cooke too with his reputation would want to be involved. You would think someone like Cooke with his success would want to know that something big with coaching appointment is happening. With his age, hit the ground running.
  • As much as some on here were a little apprehensive with talk of Lyon. Lyon pulled out quite quickly. Sayers must have hinted something. Sayers would never burn any bridges with someone he sourced. Think this would probably only happen because they think they can get Clarkson.
But having said that, Clarko has said via his manager no twice. Although he was saying conflicting things in the Hawks succession plan.

If we get Clarko (my view is won't happen), the rest of the clubs will loathe us! Not because we got him, but because we've just screwed the soft cap changes the AFL would have made in 2023 to accomodate them poaching him to GC17. Unlike players don't think coaches fall into marketing pools and such so the AFL would've magically increased the soft cap or reduced tax %.

Time will tell.

You’re probably right. Gil doesn’t like us and would never want to see us succeed!

While I know you lot are getting excited, I am mentally preparing myself for Brad Scott and anyone or anything else is an unexpected bonus.

Usually a good idea to set your Carlton expectations very low...

Not at all -- Covid has been the greatest thing for the AFL -- yes maybe one to three seasons get wiped but that is a short term thing -- it has enabled them to gain control of all clubs financials (expenditures 50% of problem)-- streamline there own office - they have been fighting over inflation ever since the first major media deal -- they know the media money runs the competition the crowd is the sideshow - financially makes sense to give leeway to the coach as he will be payed close to median highest paid players on your list . This has very little to do with carlton . There is no way we over shoot the budget dramatically the same as collingwood we're never going to even though Ed postured they could .. you don't run an efficient system going to far outside the parameters -- bend not break is how you win ..

I think the AFL would have preferred not dropping ~600 MILLION in revenue than implementing financial caps :D