Bluemour Melting Pot XXXI - Feeling Hot, Hot, Hot! 🔥 🔥 🔥

Carlton respects do we need to be reminded continuously? it’s a basic social skill everyone in the community should respect each other irrespective of gender, it’s a no brainer does it need to be politicized to satiate the pure and noble at heart?
Give it a break, let’s get back to the mechanics & fundamentals of running a footy club, simple.
Our Administration has been lost in its own dribble, there’s much to do, get on with it.

Still hasn't won a premiership.

Basket case? Saints had played finals in Grant Thomas last 3 years

YearTeamGamesWinsLossesDrawsWin %
2001​
7​
1​
6​
0​
14.3%​
2002​
22​
5​
16​
1​
22.7%​
2003​
22​
11​
11​
0​
50.0%​
2004​
25​
17​
8​
0​
68.0%​
2005​
24​
15​
9​
0​
62.5%​
2006​
23​
14​
9​
0​
60.9%​

Fremantle 13 wins in 2011 and 9 in 2012

He inherited great playing lists, that were ready to play finals. He never built the lists.

He's a good coach but hasn't achieved the ultimate success.
Sounds like he'd be perfect for us then, does it not?

Again we are talking about sporting coaches would Bellamy be made to go through a process if wanted to coach another Rugby league team no way in hell.

Stop putting Lyon on a pedestal up with Clarkson and Bellamy. Clearly not the same level.

Lyon is less of a sure thing than Malthouse was in 2013. We didn’t do the bare minimum with Malthouse and as it turns out, screwed up the club because the coach and the club weren’t on the same page. No one is saying Lyon has to go through the same process as the untried coaches, as he would likely get fast tracked to the final stage. However he still needs to do the bare minimum to ensure objectives are aligned and that it won’t sink us into another decade of football purgatory.

Straight swap for SPS. Let them try and mould SPS into the next JJ off half back.
Same age, similarly performing (although SPS has had a lot more experience now). Both on the outskirts of their teams.
Agree that would be a good outcome for both clubs, Lipinski at 190cm is versatile Midfielder/Forward, I’ll bolster our engine, nice skill set, just not sure of his aerobic capacity.
A change of scenery may just benefit both players.

What I meant here is that resource support for that ideal outside general mainstream measures already mandated is not feasible for CFC.

Mate your logic and rationale are sound and sensible.

That alone makes you fair game for a sad type of personality type whose purpose on here is to 'virtue signal' themselves into celebrity status in try and shape the narrative of every type of swap of idea into a very narrow and self-serving set of 'correctness'.

What grinds my gears about these cheap 'protestors' is that they think they have a mortgage on wisdom - when in fact they are basically narrow-minded bigots with little to contribute apart from their usual 'schtick' - which is pretty lame and repetitive and divisive.

Carry on and all strength to you.

I reckon when these types of conversations come up, people feel obliged to 'take sides' and a hardline approach in either supporting or criticising things like this. I think in reality, the vast majority of people probably sit fairly neutral/central on these matters.

You won't get any argument out of me that Carlton Respects is a good and worthwhile program. What I do take it massive exception to is when political and ideological viewpoints receive more credence around decision making and detract from what the core business should be, and that is winning games of football. None of these people have jobs or platforms or incomes if this great football club and all it's history existed. I speak for myself I know but know there are plenty out there, who are very sick of politics and idealogies not only creeping into, but in some cases dominating the viewership and operations of the sports we love.

If it has impacted the Lyon decision and that comes to light, I and many others will rightfully be very pissed of to put it mildly. Many of us are totally sick of the over-reaction and crap that goes on in society these days around cancelling people whom you don't agree with as well as conflating and inflating isssues beyond their scope. As you point out, it's speculation at this point though...

Can I ask how you would feel if it was found to be that CR/Kinnersly put the full kibosh on Lyon as coach because of his indiscretion in WA alone?
Can I ask how you would feel if it was your daughter, sister, mother, friend?

Appreciate your point but disagree. If we let a process & the feelings of other candidates get in the way of us landing the best coach of the modern era, then that’s a massive failure.

A senior coaching position of an AFL club is an extremely coveted position. Adding the profile and quality of our list makes it a position in high demand (even if some candidates don’t want to be rejected publicly). There is no shame if they miss out due to Alistair Clarkson making himself available.
My take is we should not begin a process until Clarkson is 100% out. If he needs another week or two thinking time so be it.
Too high a risk that the best candidates will not apply if it's known that AC could still put his hand up at any time. We don't have the luxury of more rejections.
Nothing wrong with sounding prospects out and briefing them on the situation.
Just don't start interviewing etc until we have closure.

That alone makes you fair game for a sad type of personality type whose purpose on here is to 'virtue signal' themselves into celebrity status in try and shape the narrative of every type of swap of idea into a very narrow and self-serving set of 'correctness'.

What grinds my gears about these cheap 'protestors' is that they think they have a mortgage on wisdom - when in fact they are basically narrow-minded bigots with little to contribute apart from their usual 'schtick' - which is pretty lame and repetitive and divisive.

And here's the real poster. Took your time.

It's been badly stage managed. I think. Carlton need to consider hiring a a high end public relations adviser.

Can't cheeky tweet their way out of this mess.
You didn’t like the Abba tweet this morning? lol

Sounds like he'd be perfect for us then, does it not?

No, any good coach should be able to take a good list to finals.
And they should have to interview.

How can he be perfect if he is a sook?

And he never got them the silverware.

So how is he perfect?

I’ll tell you this straight up; when I was approached a year ago by a CEO to change employers and head up the relevant dept, they already knew who I was, my previous experience, skills and people who would act as referees.

The minute I heard “multi-stage interview process” I told them I wasn’t interested.

This is 100% completely normal in any occupation and don’t be surprised when no experienced coach wants to go through the same nonsense.

I don’t disagree with you, that’s how I’ve always moved jobs too via a network, but always went through a interview process anyway as I want to know it’s right for me, not whether it’s right for the employer.

What a complete f/up this is. We have scared off the two best coaching candidates. Put the lame ducks and woke brigade in charge of finding someone else!
New coach will need to make the top 4 or will get thrown to the wolves. Strap in for 5 more years of the mediocre same.

CB
What's "woke brigade" mean? Love your help understanding that term.

Still hasn't won a premiership.

Basket case? Saints had played finals in Grant Thomas last 3 years

YearTeamGamesWinsLossesDrawsWin %
2001​
7​
1​
6​
0​
14.3%​
2002​
22​
5​
16​
1​
22.7%​
2003​
22​
11​
11​
0​
50.0%​
2004​
25​
17​
8​
0​
68.0%​
2005​
24​
15​
9​
0​
62.5%​
2006​
23​
14​
9​
0​
60.9%​

Fremantle 13 wins in 2011 and 9 in 2012

He inherited great playing lists, that were ready to play finals. He never built the lists.

He's a good coach but hasn't achieved the ultimate success.

We never needed Ross for rebuilding purposes...

This "he's fallen short" argument has gotten very old... if that's what you're basing your opinion on, will you support the next coach we bring in if he hasn't won a premiership?

I don’t disagree with you, that’s how I’ve always moved jobs too via a network, but always went through a interview process anyway as I want to know it’s right for me, not whether it’s right for the employer.
The other thing is, some people WOULD have gone through the multi stage interview process and one of them got the job. If the role is an improvement on your current situation, then you can go through the motions to learn more about the role. If you're not willing to do a few interviews, then are you genuinely interested in making the move?

The allegations were just the cherry on top of a pile of questions/red flags surrounding Ross’ ability to be the coach that brings us out of the wilderness. Questions about his culture building, game plan, the lack of long term development at both of his clubs are sufficient on its own for Ross to have to prove himself to the committee, even before you consider the allegations.

Your opinion, like mine, isn’t representative of every single Carlton fan, so don’t parrot this narrative that Lyon is the best coach ever and the only reason you could believe otherwise is because of political correctness.

Spare me your hysteria and hyperbole.
Haha, the cross-coder. Societal progress = virtue signalling and hyperbole. You can get all sorts of illumination for even the darkest caves now.

Carlton respects: the reason why Lyon is not part of the 'process'?

Carlton respects is a tremendous initiate by the club. And I'm sure a very important and sensitive issue for many on this forum.

However, there is a lot speculation on here about the process and why Lyon pulled out. I would be surprised he wouldn't agree sit down with Patty and a couple of others and discuss past issues. I hope he would and clear up any issues. Maybe he is pissed off because terms changed or Blues are confident about someone else.

Let's not forget many on here are very keen on Clarkson.
  • The Coward punch people would not be happy
  • Anger Management would not be happy with punch in wall & the look
  • Abusing an umpire in an under 9 junior game is not great & example
Not saying we don't go after Clarko. I'm sure what Lyon did would already be very well known in the AFL inner circles. Caro has no problem working along side him. Not saying anything he did was acceptable. And let's not forget he is good friends with SOS who many on here obviously respect. We need to keep a little perspective in this overall discussion.