Board discussion

Okay so the chat idea hasn't been well received. Therefore any discussion thread has to contain some defined rules so we don't get rebellion occurring.

Here is where we get to say what we are concerned about. You can also use it to ask questions about moderation.

No moderator attacks are acceptable, and repeating or arguing in circles once the question has been answered is not going to win friends.

My current concerns: (I reserve the right to add more when my memory allows me)

1. Abuse.

Ordinarily decent posters starting to let name calling creep into their posts to express their frustration. Tolerance is important and so is the ability to take a deep breath before pressing reply. Your point is made just as well without calling someone a ********, a moron or similar.

This has been happening with fellow Carlton supporters and also opposition supporters who actually haven't posted anything disrespectful to that point. We are loathe to infract Carlton supporters for little spats with each other, and for responding with venom to opposition supporters, but if it starts becoming a pattern.

Hint: If you see your posts disappearing or being edited by a moderator, we may be trying to tell you something.

2. Aliases.

Posters who know more than their username experiences on BF should. Always suspicious of possible alias accounts, especially if their demeanour is by and large negative. Those citing freedom of speech when condemning mods for checking these posters, should remember for all we know it could be Collingwood supporter in disguise that you are defending. If we get things wrong and finger somebody by mistake, at least you know our heart is in the right place.

3. Swear filter evasion.

Some team boards infract for continued abuse of the swear filter. BF policy probably dictates that we join them. Don't say f**k when you can write **** in full and have the filter do its thing. It shows you are deliberately trying to highlight the word.

Yeah yeah, we all use it, but the written word stays a bit longer than those left hanging in the air and we do want new posters to join and we can take on younger supporters, and let's face it, if you have to highlight your swear words to make a point, you posting could do with a shot of imagination.

4. Humour.

Clever humour is great, subtle innuendo has its place, sarcastic humour has its moments ..... however inane humour that is only funny because people believe the humour is unintentional and nonsensical, wears thin pretty quick. Not sure we have to make a cult hero out of everyone who posts mostly rubbish, to a point where half the board thinks our quality has gone down the s-bend.

5. Cliques.

There are a few around. Moderators may even appear to be in them from time to time, though in reality it is just familiarity after you have someone's style pegged and you reach a certain comfort level.

I encourage posters who travel in packs to give some leeway to fledgling posters and those that may just need to hear a different perspective delivered in a non-condescending way. Give them a chance to define themselves before going into attack mode.

6. Superior posters.

We love those who possess knowledge, and are passionate about specialists areas, such as drafting. Let's be careful not to let your passion quell innocent discussion however.

They all have to start somewhere. Having said that, people who seek out these knowledgeable posters in order to show them up, are frowned upon. No baiting or cheap pointscoring please.

The other superior poster are those that do more than just give inside information. They ram it down your throat. It is unsourced and you are considered inferior if you either do not know it, or are sceptical about taking it on board.

If you have less than a 100% strike rate, deliver your information on a 'for what it is worth' basis, and don't try to brow beat others into subscribing. If you keep going with it, it is less about the information and more about your ego.

-----------------------

Hopefully other mods will jump in with their own ideas. Remember we are all individuals and each mod has their own perspective.

This is your board, not ours, and hopefully sensible constructive discussion will enable us to keep checking our own behaviour and take ownership of the board quality.

Cheers

I've got a question, ODN. What is a Spec Mod?
A mod who wears glasses.

Err, practically they are mods that pick up slack in an area of low mod representation as they specialise in a particular area. Sort of mods without full blown powers. Cynically, they are used to fill a gap while we decide if they are trustworthy enough to have the full set of keys handed over to them. ;)

So... point 3 - Swear Filter Evasion.

Whats the point in putting in f**k when you really mean ****.

I grew up blue collar and I have all the mannerisms of a blue collar worker (despite now working in the white collar world) including my language. If you am going to call a spade a thing you dig holes with, you say it... you dont have these cute little ** on the middle of a word to try and let people know what you are saying... if it comes up with **** I am pretty certain that they can work out which particular word you mean based on the context you are using it in.

If you are going to swear, swear like you ****ing mean it :)

Exactly Dram ... when people write f**k or the like, they are announcing 'hey look, I am swearing ... take notice', almost as though it is not flowing normally. I would prefer the board not become a cesspool but from time to time, a genuine angry rant where these things flow off the fingers and the swear filter kicks in to cater for your brain snap, does occur.

I'll start by saying I wasn't aware of an automatic swear filter, so me saying 'f***' or the like was purely because I had no idea something does it automatically. :p

I've got two (minor) complaints;

1. The harshness on opposition supporters on these boards. I completely understand banning those who just want to cause trouble, but it seems that a bit of banter here and there is usually dealt with rather harshly on these boards in comparison to other teams. Maybe a bit more leniency is required.

2. Carlton trolls. Obviously people on these boards are going to be biased towards Carlton (derpa der) but it's pretty tiresome seeing a number of posters shooting down almost anyone who has an unsavoury or negative comment towards the club. This is a discussion forum and people should be entitled to their opinion.

Obviously there are a few who post nothing but negative drivel, and these posters are quite simply pathetic.

Honestly I reckon we have some of the better mods out there, but there's just a couple of things I think could be handled better. :thumbsu:

Mickelboy

Not sure if you were a swear filter offender or not. I rarely take down names, just see things and comment on them.

As to your two queries.

1. Give an inch and they take a mile, is a pretty apt stance for us most times. We should encourage respectful, articulate opposition input at all times, which is why I don't want the locals attacking just any opposition posters.

From time to time we invite banter in dedicated threads. We will do so again coming into xmas (it's tradition). However there is no need to invite slagging off and putdowns in day to day threads as the lines become too blurred. This sort of banter is the precise reason Bay 13 exists and depending on how bad, the main board, gameday board and others can also be used. It's our home, and generally speaking, nobody comes into our home, steals our beer, kicks our cat and takes a dump on our couch.

2. Unsavoury comments are fair game. Negative comments are all about context. We strongly discourage those with an axe to grind, who do some persistently. Look back a couple of years and you will find many derogatory Jordan Russell threads and posts. It was repetitious, it was abusive, and ultimately it was wrong.

I can handle constructive criticism. We do want to see balance though. A poster who is 95% negative towards a club they are supposed to be supporting will raise queries. It's not as though someone can't pretend they are a supporter and infect the board with their negativity if they wanted to.

We are all different and so leeway is given, but there are limits.

I also am dubious about posters who set themselves up as being superior supporters through arrogant dismissal, especially those that are mostly negative.

Negativity does not need to mean arrogance, rudeness or destructiveness.

I think alot of posters here are probably a bit unfriendly to other supporters who may jump into this forum (From another team) and are quick to snap.
Yes it is our board, but if there making their view we are reserved to make an opinion of it but take it with a grain of salt.

I read way to much negativity regarding other posters from other teams, even though we get bagged alot in Bay 13, it's all in good spirit.
Have a laugh poke some fun but just keep it in line.
Ps. i won't be posting pictures until i get my buddy.

Exactly Dram ... when people write f**k or the like, they are announcing 'hey look, I am swearing ... take notice', almost as though it is not flowing normally. I would prefer the board not become a cesspool but from time to time, a genuine angry rant where these things flow off the fingers and the swear filter kicks in to cater for your brain snap, does occur.

is fk ok? Sorry not being smart ass. Its just Ive been typing that for eons now and its automatic. Not trying to dodge any filters etc

I'll start by saying I wasn't aware of an automatic swear filter, so me saying 'f***' or the like was purely because I had no idea something does it automatically. :p

1. The harshness on opposition supporters on these boards. I completely understand banning those who just want to cause trouble, but it seems that a bit of banter here and there is usually dealt with rather harshly on these boards in comparison to other teams. Maybe a bit more leniency is required.

2. Carlton trolls. Obviously people on these boards are going to be biased towards Carlton (derpa der) but it's pretty tiresome seeing a number of posters shooting down almost anyone who has an unsavoury or negative comment towards the club. This is a discussion forum and people should be entitled to their opinion.

Obviously there are a few who post nothing but negative drivel, and these posters are quite simply pathetic.

Honestly I reckon we have some of the better mods out there, but there's just a couple of things I think could be handled better. :thumbsu:

I completely concur with this. Sometimes the reaction to opposition supporters is cringe-worthy. Especially when the response consists of nothing more than "this is our board, get the **** out!", without a shred of commentary or constructive criticism of what the opposition poster was saying.

But beyond that, this attitude even extends to Carlton supporters. There is definitely a clique in this board and if left as it is, I think you're going to end up with less posters rather than more. In the end, one definitely gets the feeling around here that if you're not one of the "chosen few" you might as well not bother.

Maybe it's always been thus, but in the 12 months or so that I've been lurking on this board I've noticed a definite pattern of new or infrequent posters popping up only to be driven away again, leaving the same bunch to continue to brow-beat whoever dares pop their head out of the trenches.

At the same time ODN, I'm not really sure what a mod can do about it. I guess I'm just putting it out there for posters to consider.

is fk ok? Sorry not being smart ass. Its just Ive been typing that for eons now and its automatic. Not trying to dodge any filters etc
Err I dunno. Maybe it wouldn't even be noticed. Case by case basis I guess. It's more about people who make the effort to type the appropriate number of characters to highlight what they are trying to say.

It's just a BF rule overall and we probably haven't been pushing it as much as we should.

Mickelboy,

In regards to the opposition posters, they get what they deserve. If they come in here and want to have a serious discussion about Carlton, specifically, or football in general, then they will get serious mature responses but a lot of opposition supporters think that they can come in here and treat our board like it is the bay and get treated accordingly.

The worst offenders seem to come from one of about 3 teams, Essendon, Collingwood and Richmond. There are a couple of Hawthorn and the West Coasters who regularly get a card in here but on the whole most of the supporters from opposition teams are not to bad.

Some of our supporters on here are now so gun shy of opposition comments that we dont bother to wait and see if the opposition supporter is being serious or is just trolling. It has been a long 10 years and the other teams and the media have been kicking us constantly while we have been on the deck and now that we are getting back up to where we belong, the serial trolls seem to be wanting to get in a last few kicks before we are back on top again.

Err I dunno. Maybe it wouldn't even be noticed. Case by case basis I guess. It's more about people who make the effort to type the appropriate number of characters to highlight what they are trying to say.

It's just a BF rule overall and we probably haven't been pushing it as much as we should.

ah k, cheers mate. Like i said, its certainly not deliberate if I do it

I beg to differ on this point. We do tend to come down harshly on opposition supporters who invade our board during the season, after we have suffered a loss, but if you have a look at the current Carlton v Richmond thread (& the ones from recent years) we are quite lenient with opposition supporters. This also tends to be the case in preview threads on our board during the season.

I will admit I sometimes cringe at the treatment meted out to opposition supporters by some of our locals, but quite often it is a case of giving back what some of our locals have copped on other team boards (I know two wrongs don't make a right, but I understand where the anger/frustration comes from).

At the end of the day we try & moderate our board in the best interests of the locals because they are the ones that are here regularly & keep the board moving. There are other boards where robust discussion can occur e.g. Main Board, Polls Board, Gameday Board etc & opposition posters can vent their true thoughts about our club on these boards.

Spot on point 1. & 2.

The problem on this board is definitely the existing click some posters have. Until that is fixed it will discourage quality contributions from new and irregular posters.

I also 1000% agree with the posting of crap that is just not funny. Thread after thread gets taken over by the usual suspects posting stupid pictures and the like. It is a footy forum - occassion humour is fine but we are here to discuss football!

I think our board shows more leniency to outsiders than other boards. Frankly I think a big part of what makes Bigfooty work is the balanced or counter-balanced opinions between supporters and the competitive banter that goes on because of it. I think without those opinions, a group of like-minded supporters regress into one-eyed zealots where different/irrational thoughts are condemned. -> See TalkingCarlton, or the Norf board on Bigfooty.

The problem on this board is definitely the existing click some posters have. Until that is fixed it will discourage quality contributions from new and irregular posters.

I also 1000% agree with the posting of crap that is just not funny. Thread after thread gets taken over by the usual suspects posting stupid pictures and the like. It is a footy forum - occassion humour is fine but we are here to discuss football!

You don't fix cliques and cliques are perceived things anyway. Whenever you get groups of people that respect each other's opinions and have been around a while, they are going to more of a natural affinity with each other. Discourage that and you stifle a genuine community.

These groups probably need to step back and let others have a voice. Hear them out before condemning them.

Unfortunately, there is nothing new under the sun and posters tend to become nameless and faceless and the same old arguments become frustrating, even though it might be the first time a poster has used it.

This thread is a classic example. I have said these things before, but I recognise that not everybody has had it said to them, and so I spend time going over it again and giving people the benefit of the doubt.

In jokes and photos here and there, occasionally break up tension IMO, but that is a perceived thing too, depending on whether a poster thinks they are the butt of an in joke.

There have been numerous posters that started out independent, saw how people interract, then joined in and also participate in frivilous joking. I have no desire to stamp out mucking around. I don't envisage the forum ever being purely about serious football discussion, with no time to experience other human emotions. Those that don't appreciate joking around should easily be able to filter that out.

Sometimes in the middle of a serious thread, a joke is made, it gets sidetracked for several posts, but does not derail the actual subject matter, which can be easily recovered. Rather than be overly officious with these things, we let them play out.

It is more cyber bullying stuff we would like to stamp out. If someone says something that is dubious, they are never allowed to forget that and return to normal posting, even if they want to. That's when in jokes probably go too far, and are more nasty than they are funny. We can do better than that.

FMD, heaven forbid we develop some online friendships and connections and have some fun in the meantime.....abhorrent thought :thumbsdown:

These are my main concerns and they relate more to the posting style of our own supporters, than outside posters.

1. Carlton posters that when an opposition supporter comes to the Carlton board and makes a statement that we may not like, it is received by, piss off back to your own board.
(This could also be a relaxation slightly of the Moderators)

Personally, I enjoy the banter between opposition supporters, in real life and on forums. It adds to my personal enjoyment the constant banter, I feel like it is a poor response when someone just simply says get back to your own board. Surely you can think of something more intelligent than that response.

While I do agree you cannot let trolls come in and pot the team, I just think there are a few posters that just use the troll statement to remove the need to form some intelligent reply.

Maybe the addition of an opposition supporters can post here thread, where they have a little more latitude to play with the Carlton fans, while not heading towards the crap of Bay 13.

2. Carlton posters that attack anything slightly negative, Carlton does have some issues like any team and it is important to be reflective. There are some posters I feel that just attack the poster with 1-2 lined responses, instead of mounting what they feel is a counter argument.

---------------------------------------------

I think these are my main gripes on this board, to be honest they're mostly related to Carlton posters than outside posters.

Board discussion