Bomber Thompson - back to the bombers?

Interesting to read about 'secret board meetings'. My undestanding was simply that after the review, Essendon got in contact with BT and advised him they were unlikely to renew Sheedy's contract and asked whether he would be interested.

Given his bitterness at the time he had talks with the bombers and they agreed 'in principle' that if Sheedy was not renewed he would be their preference and vice versa. No contracts were signed etc but a verbal undertaking was made.

I have heard nothing re 'board room' meetings. Based on my info Essendon are waiting for BT season to end so they can formalise the deal. If BT renegs Daniher will come in as Choco has said no. Essendon are getting toey as they are struggling to be seriously considered for trade deals due the lack of a coach. The Judd situation has hightened this tension.

Linda my darling please leave the footy news to the real people who know what’s going on at Bomberland.

Stick to making 70’s movies.

Daniher whether it be Neale or TD are not an option.

What about the fact it's been reported (on Footy Classified last night) that Bomber has said directly to his players that he isn't going to be a career coach and wont leave Geelong to coach another side - he's going to get into other business ventures once he's finished his coaching. How does this sit with you and is Bomber just plain out lying to his playing group?

Linda my darling please leave the footy news to the real people who know what’s going on at Bomberland.

Stick to making 70’s movies.

Daniher whether it be Neale or TD are not an option.

Seeing you 'know' whats going on- whats your take on what supposedly was said by Bomber to the Geelong players then?

Essendon FC will unofficially appoint Mark Thompson as coach for seasons 2008-2011 for 3.5 Million Dollars over 4 years after a secret board meeting tonight.

Magnificent achievement by the Dons to secure a quality coach and vindicates the decision to not re-appoint Kevin Sheedy even though he has been a masterful coach in the past.
This one of the best coups in AFL/VFL history. Probably rivals Carlton getting Barassi.

how are you so certain of this?

Interesting to read about 'secret board meetings'. My undestanding was simply that after the review, Essendon got in contact with BT and advised him they were unlikely to renew Sheedy's contract and asked whether he would be interested.

Given his bitterness at the time he had talks with the bombers and they agreed 'in principle' that if Sheedy was not renewed he would be their preference and vice versa. No contracts were signed etc but a verbal undertaking was made.

I have heard nothing re 'board room' meetings. Based on my info Essendon are waiting for BT season to end so they can formalise the deal. If BT renegs Daniher will come in as Choco has said no. Essendon are getting toey as they are struggling to be seriously considered for trade deals due the lack of a coach. The Judd situation has hightened this tension.

If no Bomber, please no Daniher, whats he done? apart from get fired and lose in a Grand Final to us! Hardwick or McKenna after BT...:thumbsu:

Seeing you 'know' whats going on- whats your take on what supposedly was said by Bomber to the Geelong players then?

Its a smokescreen so the Geelong players quite rightly focus on the flag attempt. He's not going to say play for the Cats jumper etc whilst on the other hand declare he's jumping ship.
Like many things it's all about perception.

Very professional from Mark Thompson and another reason why Essendon have targetted him to be coach for seasons 2008-2011.

He's making it up. He's also clearly avoiding the question I'm putting to him which refutes his claim.

You don't want to lose Bomber do you!!! How are you so sure that this info is wrong? Do you have any info to say otherwise? or just your opinion!:cool:

Its a smokescreen so the Geelong players quite rightly focus on the flag attempt. He's not going to say play for the Cats jumper etc whilst on the other hand declare he's jumping ship.
Like many things it's all about perception.

Very professional from Mark Thompson and another why Essendon have targetted him to be coach for seasons 2008-2011.

Lets just assume for a minute you're right.

So how tight is this circle that actually know about this deal then? They'd all be pretty thrilled about your spilling of the beans all over the place then wouldn't they?

You don't want to lose Bomber do you!!! How are you so sure that this info is wrong? Do you have any info to say otherwise? or just your opinion!:cool:

I'm not sure he'll stay. I am just so used to seeing people on this site that claim to 'know' this and that for it to just end up as bollocks with some anonymous poster trying to get some attention.

Call me a sceptic but some random poster called BomMbErsRuleZZ!! (or something similar) on BigFooty might not be a realiable source.

Lets just assume for a minute you're right.

So how tight is this circle that actually know about this deal then? They'd all be pretty thrilled about your spilling of the beans all over the place then wouldn't they?

People at Essendon aren't too fused either way as they know Bomber is coming regardless.
It should be Geelong people who should be concerned should it be revealed in the media.

My concern is for Essendon and our club not Geelong FC.

People at Essendon aren't too fused either way as they know Bomber is coming regardless.
It should be Geelong people who should be concerned should it be revealed in the media.

My concern is for Essendon and our club not Geelong FC.

You talk like the entire Essendon membership got a memo outlining how you've snared Bomber. How Many People Actually Know This For A Fact?

You talk like you've got all this inside info but then just trail off with generic comments like 'people know this' nonsense. Lets be honest here - you don't have to name names or positions but how do you know?

Here's my take on it. You joined up yesterday and thought you'd just make up some silly story that you 'know' whats going on just to stirr up a little fun. Thats exactly whats going on. I'm calling you on it now.

You talk like the entire Essendon membership got a memo outlining how you've snared Bomber. How Many People Actually Know This For A Fact?

You talk like you've got all this inside info but then just trail off with generic comments like 'people know this' nonsense. Lets be honest here - you don't have to name names or positions but how do you know?

Here's my take on it. You joined up yesterday and thought you'd just make up some silly story that you 'know' whats going on just to stirr up a little fun. Thats exactly whats going on. I'm calling you on it now.

Well you could be right or I could be right ........ I feel happy with the information I know.

Good luck to the Cats for the flag as they deserve it after a wonderful year.

This moron from Glenbervie (where the hell is that!) did not start the thread I did!

He has just jumped on board and might be trying to put petrol on the fire but there is a fire there. I heard they chatted and agreed in principle but whether it has progressed as this blow in suggests remains to be seen.

Logic says they are after a coach who is still involved in finals, logic says that Bomber is the best fit. Combine that with the rumours and I reckon it is a pretty strong probability.

Could also be someone from another finals club,located somewhere close to the MCG.

This moron from Glenbervie (where the hell is that!) did not start the thread I did!

He has just jumped on board and might be trying to put petrol on the fire but there is a fire there. I heard they chatted and agreed in principle but whether it has progressed as this blow in suggests remains to be seen.

Glenbervie is right where Windy Hill is! ;)

What the Bombers told Thompson earlier this season is the same as they told Harvey, Williams and Danniher. Mark hasn't agreed to anything, and the Essendon board haven't "snared him", they have simply approved the contract package that can be offered to Mark in the recruiting pitch once his season has finished with us.

Re: Bomber Thompson - back to the bombers

Mate, Chris Judd just proved to the football world that money and success isn't everything.

no, he proved that money and success isn't everything to Chris Judd, who happens to achieved everything in football it's possible to achieve and collected pots of cash doing it. And good for him.

Ask a 22 year-old player on the fringe of the seniors if money and success aren't everything...

From what i know:

What the Bombers told Thompson earlier this season is the same as they told Harvey, Williams and Danniher. Mark hasn't agreed to anything, and the Essendon board haven't "snared him", they have simply approved the contract package that can be offered to Mark in the recruiting pitch once his season has finished with us.

only time will tell... i have to admit he is starting to get me conned it to actually beleiving we will get him... people saying bomber would not leave geelong for essendon obviously dont think things through.. essendon is arguably the most successful club in history and has a history of luring people in who others think are ungettable

Like who, for instance. Lately you've only lured the unwantable.

The BS Advertiser - Tuesday 18th September, 2007, 1:40pm

In another shock to the football world Mark "Bomber" Thompson, coach of the Geelong football club is set to announce his intention of leaving Geelong to go and coach the Essendon football club.

Quoting the audio we took from a phone conversation with his manager...

"I want to go home, they have to realise that outside of footy I'm a son, a father, a brother, a friend and an X-husband. If the Geelong football club was known as the Essendon football club I would have signed a 10 year contract below market value. But such is life!"

The ripples of his departure will produce shockwaves as Geelong finished the AFL home and away season in first place and with a win this weekend against Collingwood would give them a Grand Final birth.

Bomber intends on announcing this once the Geelong season is over.

If Geelong do happen to win the Premiership he is thought to be deciding to announce it on the winners' podium when he and the Geelong captain collect the premiership cup.

In an excerpt we found of his speech in a Geelong gutter....

"Firstly I would like to thank the boys for winning this for us. Secondly to the Geelong board and all those supporters that wanted me sacked .... F### You!" (Give the bird, and smash the cup Moses and the 10 commandments style).

JJ1978

The content of this article may not be factual.

Bomber Thompson - back to the bombers?