News Bradshaw quits the Lions

I didn't ask if you cared where our coach is taking us, I asked if you liked where your coach is taking you guy's?

Seriously though do you like the out come of trade week or do you think it has been a backward step?
Are you joking, we won the trade hands down. Fev is great and i love him but the fact is he is our oldest player. If and its a big if Hendo can become half the player Fev was then we have won no matter what.

Lets say (though it probably wont occur) ...

If we take Bradshaw with #43 in the ND and Robertson with #10 in the PSD

That could perhaps be a stronger forward line than if we still had Fevola, could it not?

FF: Betts Bradshaw R. Robertson
HF: Garlett Cloke/O'hAilpin/Kruezer/Henderson M. Robinson/Yarran
What a waste of picks for players who might give us 1 or 2 years, we still need to pick for the future. offer Bradshaw good money and get him in the PSD or not and forget him. He is just cream on a cake.

Hey we're never going to be 100% happy with the turn of events. We're not privvy to the internal workings of a club.

You'd be happier with the deal you eventually struck. I'm happy to get Fev, but would have loved Bradshaw to stay. He has been a ripper.

We'll know more about this deal in a year's time. Interesting to see how you fare with pick 12.

I think, & maybe the Blues supporter's can correct me here, that Carlton are paying a fair whack of Fevola's salary ? The way it stood, Brisbane probably couldn't afford to pay all of Fev's salary plus keep Rischa & Braddy.

Now that Braddy is gone, there's rumour's now that the Lions have some cash to chase Ball. This would not have happened if we were paying all of Fev's salary I think.

One thing for sure...I'll never whinge about the Lions having a quiet trade week ever again. Leigh Matthews seemingly took a week off during trade week.
Ok it is very simple mate you guys have a new contract with Fev nothing to do with Carlton, we are paying 0 of the money for you to house him and feed him.

new contract the old one has been torn up.

The Australian says today Bradshaw headed to Syd

I would be surprised if Bradshaw went to Sydney. It is highly unlikely they will play finals in the next 2-3 years, so Bradshaw would be finishing his career on a low note.

Sydney lost 6 of their last 8 games in 2009, with the 2 wins in that period coming over Melbourne & Richmond. Among those 6 losses was a 10 goal smashing by us, despite Jessie White & Ryan O'Keefe having big games. There was nothing in those games to suggest the next group of young players is ready to step up.

There is nothing to suggest that Bradshaw's inclusion would improve the Swans line-up, because their problems lie on other parts of the ground than their forward line, not the least being the loss of Jolly, with Seaby & Mumford being relied on to fill that hole. Their midfield is slow, although one of the hardest working in the competition. Unfortunately hard-working midfields aren't good enough in the modern game. They also need a bit of pace & a touch of class (see Geelong).

Bradshaw may not end up at Carlton, but the only reason he would end up in Sydney is because Roos & co are unwilling to bottom out to enable a proper rebuild of the playing list in the near future & will try and sell Bradshaw an imaginary vision.

What a waste of picks for players who might give us 1 or 2 years, we still need to pick for the future. offer Bradshaw good money and get him in the PSD or not and forget him. He is just cream on a cake.

Surely there is some need for experience too, would it not be handy to have guys like Bradshaw and Russel Robertson around the club, especially if Nick Stevens were to retire...

If Bradshaw gets to us in the PSD then great. If not, it's no big deal, we'll just develop the current talent we have. Shouldn't be considering wasting draft picks on him though. Also not a fan of Robertson. Bradshaw is a very good forward who stands up in big games, Robertson is a medium forward who doesn't. Better option would be to get KP forward gametime into young players like Kruezer, Henderson and Pick 12. :)

I personally am stoked with where our coach and footy department is taking us. I honestly had a few doubts over Ratten earlier, but his stance on laying down the law at Carlton is fantastic and just what the club needed. He has not been afraid to drop any of Ohailpin, Scotland, Stevens, Cloke, Garlett, Betts and now has had the balls to trade off Fevola, even though he is a Carlton icon. He and the footy department have made these decisions, although tough at the time, for the benefit of the football club. Carlton is looking more and more professional all the time. The party days of the 2000s are over. Carlton Football Club is now about winning games of football, winning finals and having a shot at the no.17.
Trading Fevola, although hard and it is very sad to see him go, is the best thing for Carlton Football Club. I don't know if past administrations would of had the balls to do so. Go Blues!
We are Carlton . . . #@!% the rest!

well said we are the big winners out of this as a club and that is what it is all about we are growing stronger all the time

Go Blues

Word on the street is that Carlton are willing to upgrade their offer to a three year $1.3 million offer with $750k being paid in the first year. This prices out everyone but the Sydney Swans.

Sydney are said to want him desperately. However, because of their position of not being able to contend for a premiership in the time frame that is the remainder of Bradshaw's career he is hesitant in going there.

So it's pretty much either Carlton or Sydney. Sydney get him against his wishes or he goes to Carlton because of the first year salary.

I wonder if the front loaded contract hinges on the AFL's take on Stevens' injury.

I guess if he ends up at the Swans, we'll be forcing them to pay him a lot. A bit of justice after the terrible way the Lions treated the guy. :)
The whole thing seems a bit odd.I thought he wanted to move back to Victoria??? Why would anybody in his situation,family man with 4 kids move to Sydney for three years just for the money when he could get a decent wage in Victoria by a few clubs and then uproot again and move back to Victoria after the three years to settle back home????:confused:

I suspect the main reason he left was to get away from the Lions. Pretty hard to play for a coach after what Voss did to him. Plus with Fev on board, he'll struggle to play forward. Smart move on his part. Lions are the big losers out of this. :)

OK maybe I should rephase the qustion.
Do you think Carlton is closer to winning a flag in 2010 than you were in 2009?
In other word's do you feel your team has gone forward on the field (not off) or backward's?
I know getting rid of Fev was good for the club and I do feel you guys got a good deal, although I think it's a win-win, you will be better off long term, but we are better off short term.
The question is whether Carlton supporter's are happy with there club's direction.
I am a very happy lion's supporter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would be surprised if Bradshaw went to Sydney. It is highly unlikely they will play finals in the next 2-3 years, so Bradshaw would be finishing his career on a low note.

By the sounds of it, it doesn't matter if it's a high or a low note, just as long as there are a lot of notes in his last contract.

Was also mention that he was not that keen to return to VIC, so SYD could have another + for them.

OK maybe I should rephase the qustion.
Do you think Carlton is closer to winning a flag in 2010 than you were in 2009?
In other word's do you feel your team has gone forward on the field (not off) or backward's?
I know getting rid of Fev was good for the club and I do feel you guys got a good deal, although I think it's a win-win, you will be better off long term, but we are better off short term.
The question is whether Carlton supporter's are happy with there club's direction.
I am a very happy lion's supporter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'll tell you how I honestly feel. I was one of Brendan's biggest supporters. Loved him to death and will always cheer for him, except when he's playing Carlton.

However, having said that, there was a strong possibility that with the strength of the other clubs presently (namely the Western Bulldogs, Geelong, St Kilda and Adelaide) that Carlton was never going to win a premiership in the next two, maybe three years which is the window of opportunity that Fevola presented to the Carlton Football Club (namely his prime). I believe Brendan Fevola from 2009 is the best that Brendan will ever be, the pinnacle of his AFL career. While I'm not anticipating a quick tail off from this point on I believe his play will begin to deteriorate from this point on slowly, but that he will have two, maybe three near All Australian years left.

The way that the Carlton forward line was this year with such a heavy reliance on one forward that it was not conducive to premiership football. Carlton also have a large number of small forwards, midfielders and running defenders that are capable of scoring 10-25 goals plus in a season (Eddie Betts tops out the list with 40-45 goal per year capability, perhaps Waite if used in the forward line has the ability to score 50+). The way that we used Fevola limited the opportunities that these players had in scoring goals. Simply put, I don't believe that premierships and Brendan Fevola at Carlton were a plausible theory. Had Carlton altered their attacking plan to the point that it was conducive to premiership football then I believe Fevola may have become a similar situation to Terrell Owens and the Dallas Cowboys. In that Fevola knew that he was ALWAYS the number one target (much too often) and that to change the game plan would mean that his role would decrease significantly. Whether or not he would ever have been accepting of that is neither here nor there and we'll never know. However, it had the possibility of not being a tenable situation. Carlton did the wise thing (even without the off-field dramas and Brownlow Medal night) and traded him at his high point for maximum value (which I believe they got).

The trade for Fevola saw Carlton get a player that fits right into the plans going forward. A young player with the ability to be a superstar of the competition and a first round pick that could possibly land Carlton another player in that age mix who can be a part of a much larger premiership window.

I believe Carlton had all their eggs in the Brendan Fevola basket. Now that we've traded him we're open to an entirely new direction where a lot of the pressure is off of everyone. Most recent premiership sides haven't had a champion full forward for the reasons I state above. I believe Carlton has the premier young midfield (born 1986 and younger) in the competition. I believe that we will have opportunity to win the premiership at least once, if not two or three times in what remains of Chris Judd's career.

Purely on the short term, say 2010, I don't believe that the Carlton Football Club was a premiership contender with Fevola. Certainly I don't believe we are now. However, long term, I believe we strengthened our core to the point where I would be disappointed if by the start of the 2019 AFL season (so 10 full years from now) Carlton had not added two premierships to the trophy case.

Finally, I don't believe even with all of the additions that Brisbane is in the class of a Geelong or a St Kilda. In my opinion they're still a class below that of the Western Bulldogs. They're marginally (very marginally) ahead of where Collingwood is. To lose Bradshaw for basically nothing (even if you land a player in the PSD of solid calibre) has the potential of hurting you FAR more than adding Fevola ever did. To complicate things the fact that you gave up a potential star key position player AND your first round pick to get Fevola make things worse. Everybody understands why Bradshaw walked out on the Lions and it had nothing to do with money. It was a slap in the face for all of his years of hard work. Your president, board and coaching staff may say that Brisbane has a positive culture but with Bradshaw walking away it gives away the true identity of the Brisbane Lions Football Club and believe me, it needs as much work as our club ever did.

. Everybody understands why Bradshaw walked out on the Lions and it had nothing to do with money. It was a slap in the face for all of his years of hard work. Your president, board and coaching staff may say that Brisbane has a positive culture but with Bradshaw walking away it gives away the true identity of the Brisbane Lions Football Club and believe me, it needs as much work as our club ever did.

Great post Ytoojae..The Lions would be licking their wounds right about now .

Yet in this article from yesterday's Hun, "Carlton are the favourites to lure him south..."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/daniel-bradshaw-quits-brisbane-lions/story-e6frf9jf-1225787618590

Where Bradshaw will end up is anyone's guess, but in the meantime the Hun will get a fair bit of mileage from this story.

I wonder if Daniel has considered he has about 3 years left in the game and one of his suitors has the best young midfield in the comp and highly likely to be playing finals in those 3 years and the other exists in an NRL market

News Bradshaw quits the Lions