Shame we didn’t end up with their f1Get Brady on the blower to kings management as Stkilda are imploding
There was no other obvious number 1.To be fair i cannot remember to many on here un happy when we drafted him.
It should still give us enough talent on the list to be a decent outfit. We will need to bring in more senior players from other clubs, it's not just all about the draft IMO.There was no other obvious number 1.
Daicos and Darcy not available. Finn Callaghan, Mac Andrew, Josh Rachelle, Josh Ward. These players were never going to supercede Horne.
For me the club had no choice but to take him and try and make it work.
He just blindsided us all by being an unbelievable piece of s**t.
I’ll be honest. We have chosen the worst 3 years to bottom out and hit the draft. No one from the 2020 and 2021 draft pool sticks out as genuine guns. Yes there has been glimpses but that’s it.
2022 looks a little better than recent years and there was no Covid interruptions thankfully.
I think 2023 will be the best draft since 2018. There was hardly any misses in that one. But we just need to get decent talent through the door and quickly.
If Comben doesn’t come on we’ll need to target a free agent key forward. May still need to CCJ isn’t a viable alternative.It should still give us enough talent on the list to be a decent outfit. We will need to bring in more senior players from other clubs, it's not just all about the draft IMO.
We need to look to bring in another KPF obviously and look at some wingers also.
Hopefully we improve next year under Clarko and we see more players like Logue looking to come across.
Rawlings needs to start making some strong moves with recruitment, because not fecking up isn't a job well done.
I've personally had enough of us being a basket case.
Yep. Could be worse, he could have turned out to be a dud and we only realise 8 years too late and get nothing for him in free agency.JHF was a sunk cost, people need to get over it. We got rid of a cancer who didn’t want to be here and got a decent return. Chasing our losses based on emotion would have just cactus us even more
I reckon we need one regardless,O
If Comben doesn’t come on we’ll need to target a free agent key forward. May still need to CCJ isn’t a viable alternative.
We didn’t “lose” 2022 pick 12. We got 2022 pick 2 instead of pick 8, along with Port’s 2023 first round pick, which is a good chance to be better than mediocre, in a draft everyone rates as much stronger than this year. Their 2022 pick without the mega deal was in the weeds, and instead we get to pick the player we rate as the best this year.I still don't think the JHF was a good trade. Clubs were forced to involve future picks because Port didn't have the capital, they should have got rid of a player to get some more draft capital before we traded with them, like other clubs did.
West Coast parted with 2, 40 and Rioli for pick 8, 12, Port future 2nd, Port future 3rd. The chaff plus Rioli seems to balance itself out so it seems like they were happy with with 8 and 12 to lose 2. Port didn't put enough in for this, they are pick 12 short imo. They should have had to acquire a first round pick from someone else.
GWS parted with 3, 12, future 2nd (Collingwood) and got 1, 53, 57 so 3+12 was about what they paid to move to number 1 and it is what they offered us prior to the mega trade. We lost that 12.
I think it is the main reason we got dudded, we lost a first round pick, or future first out of that deal by putting them together. Everyone juggled future picks so Port could throw in their mediocre future picks.
We should have just done the deal between Port and WCE AFTER they got another first round pick, or equivalent currency to satisfy Eagles.
I am glad we got 2+future 1st instead of 8+future first and more chaff. but we blinked in terms of what Port would paid because we entertained scenarios where Port didn't bring in more to the table.
You can tell by the language, they act like they got him cheaply, and they did. They managed to get a #1 pick mega talent after 1 year and with s**t picks and they didn't even have to cough up a mediocre player.
JHF was a sunk cost, people need to get over it. We got rid of a cancer who didn’t want to be here and got a decent return. Chasing our losses based on emotion would have just cactus us even more
No current season stats available
We didn’t “lose” 2022 pick 12. We got 2022 pick 2 instead of pick 8, along with Port’s 2023 first round pick, which is a good chance to be better than mediocre, in a draft everyone rates as much stronger than this year. Their 2022 pick without the mega deal was in the weeds, and instead we get to pick the player we rate as the best this year.
Also “chaff” is unnecessarily pejorative - they can become higher picks or they can become good players (see Paul Curtis).
So your point is? LDU had a better education? Relevance?That's true but Judas had two years playing SANFL and left school in year 9 (?). Yes he was a part time milkman-child-baby but he was almost a full time footballer for two years before getting to us. LDU obviously impressed at U-18s, school footy etc but did year 12.
No the point is that JH-F has essentially been a professional footballer since he was 15. He had no school commitments and did a part time job. He was free to work on every aspect of his game, including his tank/running. And he was playing senior football in the SANFL. Yet in his year with us, even before he started tanking, it was clear watching live that he couldn't do the transition running required, couldn't keep up with opponents. He was far from a ready made AFL footballer.So your point is? LDU had a better education? Relevance?
Seriously, what rubbish.No the point is that JH-F has essentially been a professional footballer since he was 15. He had no school commitments and did a part time job. He was free to work on every aspect of his game, including his tank/running. And he was playing senior football in the SANFL. Yet in his year with us, even before he started tanking, it was clear watching live that he couldn't do the transition running required, couldn't keep up with opponents. He was far from a ready made AFL footballer.
LDU has taken time to build his tank while in the AFL system. But he had commitments from 15-18 - going to school and all that year 12 demands. He wasn't playing professional footy until he got to us.
OK Fabian.Seriously, what rubbish.
No the point is that JH-F has essentially been a professional footballer since he was 15. He had no school commitments and did a part time job. He was free to work on every aspect of his game, including his tank/running. And he was playing senior football in the SANFL. Yet in his year with us, even before he started tanking, it was clear watching live that he couldn't do the transition running required, couldn't keep up with opponents. He was far from a ready made AFL footballer.
LDU has taken time to build his tank while in the AFL system. But he had commitments from 15-18 - going to school and all that year 12 demands. He wasn't playing professional footy until he got to us.
OK Fabian.
He’s done an enormous job since being with us.So, what do we rate Brady's trade and draft period?
Started off with picks 1,55,66
Lost JHF
Finished up with Logue, Tucker, Sheezel, Wardlaw, George, Harvey, Drury, Free, Howe, Turner.
2023 picks F1(North), F1 (Port) ,F3 (North), F3(Dees), F4 (Haw)