List Mgmt. Brady Rawlings | Head of Football Talent (Recruitment, LM & TPP)

So you'd prefer that we did nothing, took pick 2 and then a couple of selections in the 60s and be happy with it?
Successful trade period there mate.
Gee if only we had a pick in the 20s…

Rather overpay more than any club in history and be the laughing stock of the comp..

The chance of a pick 20-30 being successful is quite low - once no one took our offer after the first 12 selections that offer should’ve been off the table.

Additionally, why didn’t the trade include Richmond’s next pick? Instead it’s so undervalued it’s beyond ridiculous.

Gee if only we had a pick in the 20s…

Rather overpay more than any club in history and be the laughing stock of the comp..

The chance of a pick 20-30 being successful is quite low - once no one took our offer after the first 12 selections that offer should’ve been off the table.

Additionally, why didn’t the trade include Richmond’s next pick? Instead it’s so undervalued it’s beyond ridiculous.
becuase richmond figure they can trade rd2 2024 for a future 1st

And it’ll turn out like the chance he took on CCJ and Biggie… and he’ll do something else dumb next year (after we finish bottom 2 again) and you’ll say the same thing.

Imagine being happy with the club and the decisions it has made over the past 5 years that have made us the worst in AFL history.
Imagine being that delusional and biased that you are happy for the club to be terrible and a laughing stock just so you can defend the club at every opportunity.

In other words buddy you clearly don’t give a **** about the club if you just blindly defend everything.
You complete Nuffmuppet!!

I never mentioned one thing about OTHER decisions!!

I looked at this decision in isolation and isolation alone.

Blindly defend everything? No. But what I wont stand for are Nuffies holding each and every decision to account. Focusing on the negative. I'll SUPPORT each decision they make, even if I don't agree with it.

Hahaha. Wonder why we are the worst side in AFL history and went backwards last season?

Your solution.. I’ll support every decision.

Do you enjoy the club being shit and a laughing stock?

Hahaha. Wonder why we are the worst side in AFL history and went backwards last season?

Putting everything on one bloke is ridiculous. Word was Noble put pressure on the CCJ trade to get it done, and the numpty wouldn't go to the Pre season draft. And what is the obsession about being upset about Biggie. We gave up nothing for him really, just a list spot, to see if we could develop him. Who did we miss out on by giving that spot to Biggie for 1 year?

Time will tell as always.

FWIW I'm not as hung up on the moves in this draft as others. I see this:

• Club has brought in Parker, Daniel & Darling
  • Club has drafted (IMO) its last intended pointy end of draft mid sized player for the rebuild of the core
  • Club is signalling: internally to its football dept & players, as well as to supporters and potential recruits from other teams that we are done rebuilding. Not done building, but the bones are there, the structure is ready

We have drafted accordingly and put collateral from 2026 on the table to ensure that as this team matures the KPP depth is starting to come through behind the existing team (including players like Dawson, Goad, Maley last year).

I don't mind it, about time the club put up or shut up and I reckon as supporters / players we're over being easy beats every year. This is a team admin agreeing and saying it is time.

Bring on 2025.

And how will you 'SUPPORT' these decisions that you don't agree with? Will you go on social media and call people Nuffmuppets for having the same opinion as you?

You bet I will.

Hold these intellectually challenged dribblers to account.
Let me get this straight. You are calling people who hold opinions you agree with intellectually challenged. Not because of the opinions, of course. But because they express them rather than show support for decisions you both disagree with. Is that it?

Were you raised in a cult?

I have to admit this decision is a head scratcher but I will reserve piling on Rawlings until this has panned out
It has panned out. Pile on. What are you waiting for?

Even if we win the flag next year and Whitlock is the next Carey that won't be down to Rawlings' brilliant trading. The sum of this trade and the Daniel one is swapping our F1 for Daniel and an F2. It's a shocker.

This is your time to shine.
Lay the boots in with your negative posting crap.
This is a great day for you.....

Me.

Did we go a long way to finishing our midfield rebuild with FOS? Tick.
Did we add much needed experience with Darling Daniel Parker? Tick.
Did we improve our KP depth with Whitlock? Tick
Will MW learn from following Darling around for a couple of years? Tick.
We still have 2 second rounders to trade for a first next year.
Or hit the draft again for another KP player tonight.

But you just keep posting how sh1t everything is. Pathetic!

It has panned out. Pile on. What are you waiting for?

Even if we win the flag next year and Whitlock is the next Carey that won't be down to Rawlings' brilliant trading. The sum of this trade and the Daniel one is swapping our F1 for Daniel and an F2. It's a shocker.
This is basically what we've arrived at. People like this poster who won't even consider that they might be wrong if we win a flag and the kid we just drafted becomes an all-time great. They'll find reasons to argue that they were right all along and we would have won 10 flags if only we did what they say.

If we win a flag then I wouldn't care if we'd traded away a winning lottery ticket in exchange for a can of beans. We would have succeeded in our primary objective, and nothing else would matter.

That said, perplexed is correct in his assessment of the trade when he says "the sum of this trade and the Daniel one is swapping our F1 for Daniel and an F2. It's a shocker."

That's accurate. And there's just no scenario where you can 'sell' that as a savvy trade. It puts pressure on Whitlock. It puts pressure on our football administration and recruiters. It puts pressure on Caleb Daniel. It puts pressure on our entire team in 2025, because if we finish at the bottom of the ladder again it will have been for nought. And any hope of priority picks will be dashed on account of us having chosen to trade away our own first round pick.

I support the club wholly (and even those of you who don't like me much surely can't question that). But 'support' for this club doesn't mean sycophantic approval.

This trade is hard to defend because it's difficult to point to any concrete upside that isn't massively outweighed by the enormous cost and associated risks.

If you manage to function being this dumb and gullible then fair play to you.

The price paid was about the most excessive in pick trading history. It’s like Richmond were playing a computer game with the difficulty turned down.

We wanted Tauru and people some were happy to use the F1 to get him… to then just throwaway a top 4 pick (at best) for someone no one else wanted in the first 26 selections 😄

We are rightfully a laughing stock of the whole competition. Richmond fans must absolutely worship Brady and the ground he walks on.. CCJ and Biggie trades and now this 😂

And the same people going ‘oh it’ll work out we had to do this’ are just apologists who will defend anything the club or Brady does. Despite all the **** ups and unprecedented levels of performance (in historically bad levels) the same people think that everything we do is a masterstroke.. rinse and repeat, decision after decision, year after year.

We’re a joke and deserve to be viewed as such. If any other club did this the same people defending it would be absolutely laughing at the other club. Ridiculous levels of delusional bias going on with some in here.
Spot on Creed. We have finished bottom 2 over the last 5 years. We had the worst 100 game stretch of any club ever in VFL/AFL History. Oh but we have aced this trade period. You just watch. Meanwhile if you revisit 2020 you will notice guys we traded into the club like Atu, Young and Stephenson are no longer at the club. Some imbecile no doubt suggested we aced those picks at the time. I wonder what they think now? Plus draft picks like Laz and Spicer are no longer at the club. Some couldn't believe they were still available! And poor old Phillips and Ford barely survived with one year deals. :stern look

But no. Wank. Wank. Wank. "We did great!" Please. Give us a spell with your imbecilic takes of how it is the player, not the draft pick that is important. Polish that turd. Deflect and do not accept reality. Meanwhile guys like Creed and my goodself having been bitching for years about Rawling and co. Why is that? Because he and Claytons have been an abject failures. Bottom 2 for the last 5 years ring a bell? Anyway as much as those 2 are morons, Viney signs off on 4 year deals for Fisher and Cat Stephens and allows us to trade pick 25 for a midget who was on the outer at the Dogs and has the kicking penetration of Pee Wee Herman in the bedroom. The Footy Department is a mess. Some of you clowns really struggle to see the truth that is staring you in the face. :stern look

It isn't that hard to understand. We basically drafted Whitlock with a pick we started with before trading it for Daniel then buying it back at a loss. Nobody that I can see has a problem with drafting Whitlock, the issue is the way we have mismanaged the trades.

It really isn't. Doesn't matter who sticks their nose in or okays it, this was a list management decision, or rather a series of them. The list manager takes responsibility for that.

Clarko is responsible for the crap game plan. You can't blame Brady for Northball.
Brady is responsible for the ridiculous trading decisions. Stop trying to hide him in a bureaucracy.

Clarko famous for delegating decision making. Clueless.

It isn't that hard to understand. We basically drafted Whitlock with a pick we started with before trading it for Daniel then buying it back at a loss. Nobody that I can see has a problem with drafting Whitlock, the issue is the way we have mismanaged the trades.

No, the issue is you implied that you don't care if we win a flag, you'll still consider this terrible business. You've attached your ego to an outcome that doesn't even serve you. That's pretty sad, dude.

Bit personal for a pretty reasonable post, even if you don’t agree with it.
Old mate started off a post with don't matter if we win a premiership, then blah blah blah. I think that warrants a fierce response. Anyone who puts their opinion above us winning a premiership has their priorities in a pretty ****ed up place.

Old mate started off a post with don't care if we win a premiership, then blah blah blah. I think that warrants a fierce response. Anyone who puts their opinion above us winning a premiership has their priorities in a pretty ****ed up place.
I think you misunderstood the point he was making which as I understand it was: bad strategy with a good outcome = arse. Doesn’t make it good strategy. I’m sure he would be as happy as any of us to win a flag.

If we're staring down another bottom two finish after round 10 then I suspect a few people should be anticipating a tap on the shoulder, including the coach and head of football.
If we don't start trying to win games and only focus on preserving our great draft hand, I know one bloke who will be out the door.....

His initials are LDU.

Old mate started off a post with don't matter if we win a premiership, then blah blah blah. I think that warrants a fierce response. Anyone who puts their opinion above us winning a premiership has their priorities in a pretty ****ed up place.
No I didn't, you are being willfully disingenuous.

List Mgmt. Brady Rawlings | Head of Football Talent (Recruitment, LM & TPP)