Roast Bucks Starts The Booing Debate

Should the thread be shut down

• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

I’ve always admired your posts TRS, for you depth of knowledge, insights and persuasive opinions but I reckon you’re on the wrong side of this one.

Clearly a LOT of people GAF about this matter. So many that our team coach and captain, and club CEO (an old school “hard man” if ever there was one) felt the need to issue a joint statement condemning and apologising for the behaviour of a subset of fans yesterday.

I am personally tired of the perpetual Collingwood supporter stereotype - ignorant, uneducated, dentally-challenged and backward. Aren’t you?

Shouldn’t we all strive to break away from that perception and make Collingwood the best, inclusive, modern, aspirational footy club it can be, both on and off the field?

Our coach, captain and administration all seem to think so.

Perhaps I’m a bit too cynical these days, but it struck me as a business decision. Granted, I’m sure the club would rather we didn’t boo, because of the negative press it now attracts. However if the crowd for whatever unknown reason decide to boo both Papley and Buddy, and the media somehow choose to reverse engineer that to be about racism because one of those two people is indigenous, then I don’t want any part of their agenda.

The Goodes booing was targeted, protracted, deliberately intended and ultimately wrong, and I don’t agree with it. This in its current incarnation is something different but we’re being whipped up into a frenzy, being told it isn’t.

It would not surprise me if Buddy demanded an apology from the club.

Without using inflammatory language, I think they were saying that they condemn racism and anything that could be misconstrued as racism.

And I think they were also subtly saying “FFS Pies Army, please stop putting us in these sorts of positions, because we don’t want to have to continue to apologise for and defend things that we have long ago tried to distance ourselves from.”

I don’t think Buddy gave 2 ****s about the booing and for sure would not have demanded an apology.

Perhaps I’m a bit too cynical these days, but it struck me as a business decision. Granted, I’m sure the club would rather we didn’t boo, because of the negative press it now attracts. However if the crowd for whatever unknown reason decide to boo both Papley and Buddy, and the media somehow choose to reverse engineer that to be about racism because one of those two people is indigenous, then I don’t want any part of their agenda.

The Goodes booing was targeted, protracted, deliberately intended and ultimately wrong, and I don’t agree with it. This in its current incarnation is something different but we’re being whipped up into a frenzy, being told it isn’t.
I do agree. Buddy cops booing in probably 1 game this year. Goodes, and now JHF copped it every game from every club each week. There’s a big difference here.

If the Pie fans target a GWS player next game (please not an indigenous player) will it then put to bed that it is all racially motivated?

Maybe Pie fans feel they are giving the team an advantage by targeting a specific top player from the opposition?

It may be as simple as that. Or at least for 95% of those who boo.

Reckon he nailed it.

“At best, it was a begrudging acknowledgment of the sustained brilliance Franklin has brought against Collingwood and at worst, it’s ignorance and bigotry.“

Yes it was a small minority that did it…but buddy did nothing in that game to stir up that sort of response ( unlike Papley and a few teammates). It was overblown and unnecessary….and petty. Not necessarily racist but given the history of course it will be seen that way. Just stop it.

Edit….. dammit Figgy beat me to that quote. Booooooooo

My god Hutchy and Caro are idiots.

After all of that dribble, she still comes out with “North have every right to boo Horne-Francis.” What are we supposed to do, pass around every player’s rap sheet to the media so they can decide in advance how much booing is allowed for each player?

The whole situation is laughable.

My take having given it a little further thought over the past 24 hrs is a two parter:

1. **** you if you booed Buddy.
2. The AFL needs to get tough on this and prohibit the unsolicited* booing of indigenous footballers by implementing sanctions. First offence a $50k fine and second offence point’s deductions.

The second point will get the interest in this post so to elaborate I don’t believe Sunday’s booing was entirely racially motivated. The problem is that like the Moira Deeming situation scum of the earth types use it as a vehicle for promoting their bigoted views. To preempt what I know will be the inevitable response take note of the circumstances in which the booing occurs because it is almost exclusively in matches involving interstate clubs.

Greene will be booed this week and it’ll be nowhere near the issue the Buddy one was and same with Papley no one cares. The booing has dominated the footy news cycle for 24 hrs when all the focus should have been on the incredible crowd (71,000 is outrageous for a miserable Sunday arvo v an interstate opponent) we all deserved a pat on the back for that, but it was completely overlooked not to mention Mihocek’s heroics. **** you for booing a champion.

*a practical example of what I mean by unsolicited is that Buddy did nothing to deserve that. Rioli getting booed when Port next play Essendon in Melbourne is a different scenario entirely.

Thanks to the mod who changed the shameful thread title. And fixed up the font at the same time.👍
Seemed appropriate in hindsight given he is essentially the one that’s triggered it.
Wonder which click bait merchant might have put him up to it 🤔

I do agree. Buddy cops booing in probably 1 game this year. Goodes, and now JHF copped it every game from every club each week. There’s a big difference here.

If the Pie fans target a GWS player next game (please not an indigenous player) will it then put to bed that it is all racially motivated?

Maybe Pie fans feel they are giving the team an advantage by targeting a specific top player from the opposition?

It may be as simple as that. Or at least for 95% of those who boo.

Which club was the first one to start booing JHF?

Never mind the fact that buddy dropped Murphy with an elbow and the fans that saw this were the ones booing him. Standard grub fare from Bondi buddy

I understand being angry with Sydney supporters for treating Ginni so badly last year and with the Sydney players collectively (and Papley in particular) for their physical treatment of Daicos yesterday but how and why did that spontaneously morph into the widespread booing of Franklin?

Why him specifically? And why did it catch on so widely around the ground?

I don’t think it did. To me the booing of Buddy sounded like it came from the bottom of the Olympic Stand. The booing of Papley sounded like it came from the depths of my soul… and the entire MCG.

Never mind the fact that buddy dropped Murphy with an elbow and the fans that saw this were the ones booing him
Thank you, be nice to know when that occurred.
Maybe someone can then postage the footage?

Do we get a list from the club on Friday of which GWS players it is permissable to boo on Sunday ?

No we only get an extended “no boo” warning on Friday, final “no boo” lists are determined an hour before the game.