• Yes

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

Tell that to some posters right here
Isn't that what I did?

I was there and there was not at any point crowd carry on about something Buddy did. It was a complete shock when the boos started at his very first possession.

Given JHF’s Dad is indigenous the North fans better be careful booing him this weekend
Do you know how stupid what you just said is?

The motives of the crowd booing JHF are obvious and will not be confused with racism.

That's the whole point!

Isn't that what I did?

I was there and there was not at any point crowd carry on about something Buddy did. It was a complete shock when the boos started at his very first possession.
Did he shove Maynard’s face in to the fence in the prelim ? We should applaud those actions ?

I don’t think it did. To me the booing of Buddy sounded like it came from the bottom of the Olympic Stand. The booing of Papley sounded like it came from the depths of my soul… and the entire MCG.

Agree re the Olympic Stand

How about the vast majority of decent Pies fans help try and educate the morons amongst us?
They'll respond with oppositional defiance and it'll make the issue worse. This needs to be handled with the more gradual cultural shift that McRae's previous stance was aiming for.

Did he shove Maynard’s face in to the fence in the prelim ? We should applaud those actions ?
So you reckon that was the reason? (even though you have exaggerated what actually happened)

The point is, which I will repeat again, is that I don't think it was racially motivated either but I reckon some of our fans who booed ought to have considered how it would look as it was very obvious to anyone with active brain cells that it was going to become a story.

As soon as the first boos came my family (who were actually there) all looked at each other and went "uh oh, what's that about? - this is going to be an issue". I reckon most people were probably the same.

So you think the pie fans booing had racist intent ? Wow.
No one(with a brain) is saying that - because it is impossible to know. But once again, it isn't about the intent. It is about how it might have been received.

There was a group of students down from Alice Springs that was out on the ground supporting the Pies before the game. About 20 or so - losing their minds at being at the ground, the size of the crowd and how cold it was. Now I wonder how they felt when Buddy started copping boos from the get go. If even one of them started wondering, "why are they booing Buddy? Is it because he is indigenous?", then isn't that a crying shame?

So don't do it. Put bluntly, don't boo indigenous players. Yes, you might say special rules are being applied to indigenous players. Yes, but they need to be, because of all the previous garbage they have copped.

In this example, the motives of the booers aren't particularly relevant.

Rightly or wrongly, it's been universally declared that the Goodes booing was racist. Thus when Buddy gets booed for no obvious reason, it's very understandable for the indigenous players and the community to feel that the booing is racist and thus be offended by it.

They'll respond with oppositional defiance and it'll make the issue worse. This needs to be handled with the more gradual cultural shift that McRae's previous stance was aiming for.
Why are the vast majority of decent folk defending or siding with the idiots and the ignorant?

Anyway, it's all done now.

In this example, the motives of the booers aren't particularly relevant.

Rightly or wrongly, it's been universally declared that the Goodes booing was racist. Thus when Buddy gets booed for no obvious reason, it's very understandable for the indigenous players and the community to feel that the booing is racist and thus be offended by it.
Some of our players may have been offended by it too.

No one(with a brain) is saying that - because it is impossible to know. But once again, it isn't about the intent. It is about how it might have been received.

There was a group of students down from Alice Springs that was out on the ground supporting the Pies before the game. About 20 or so - losing their minds at being at the ground, the size of the crowd and how cold it was. Now I wonder how they felt when Buddy started copping boos from the get go. If even one of them started wondering, "why are they booing Buddy? Is it because he is indigenous?", then isn't that a crying shame?

So don't do it. Put bluntly, don't boo indigenous players. Yes, you might say special rules are being applied to indigenous players. Yes, but they need to be, because of all the previous garbage they have copped.

They were from Alice Springs? They were so excited, I was really pleased for them. They were jumping out of their skins, and you love to see it.

I hope this subsequent furore - evidenced on here by some of the dumbest and most ignorant posts I’ve ever read on Big Footy (and that’s saying something) - didn’t ruin the experience, or the memories they take home.

Why are the vast majority of decent folk defending or siding with the idiots and the ignorant?

Anyway, it's all done now.
I'm siding with the idiots, as I think booing is fine. I agree with Sideswipe's sentiment to not boo indigenous players, as it will cause offence due to referencing past racism. But the whole thing is bigger, with knobs in the media trying to define a line about when you can and can't boo. The booing of Toby Greene will be this weeks story. And I thought the clubs statement was odd - as they didn't make it about Buddy being indigenous - they made it about him being a champion, so we're getting this strange message that booing is really bad and offensive, but it's ok to be bad and offensive if the bloke isn't a champion - only the champions deserve respect.

Isn't that what I did?

Fair enough - I believe you - some insisting otherwise

Papley bowled over Nick at the very start of the game btw and started a fight. Did you miss that?

The point is that Franklin was not involved in any incident that would normally result in being booed and that some of our dumbarse ought to maybe have a think about how things might look.

Btw, has anyone on this site actually admitted to being one of the people who booed??

Everyone seems to be jumping up and down about the poor old booers and how misunderstood they are and how it's an infringement of "muhhhh rights" yet claim that they weren't the ones doing it.

How about the vast majority of decent Pies fans help try and educate the morons amongst us?
It’s an absolute certainty that a decent percentage of those defending the booing were in fact booing themselves, but don’t have the integrity to own it. They’d prefer to hide behind their keyboard rather than learning from their mistakes.

Anyone with a shred of decency would understand why booing Franklin is wrong.

The Goodes saga had a profound impact on the Swans and Indigenous players in general.

The leadership of our club recognise this and have done the right thing.

The alleged Murphy incident sounds like a flimsy excuse.

The broader issue of booing is also pretty straightforward. Sustained booing of a single player is vindictive. There is no need for it.
Although, it's possible to cite numerous instances where players have been booed throughout a game for a single aggressive or dirty act against a player. I don't recall or didn't see the incident with Murphy so can't comment on its potential impact on the boo factor.

I'm siding with the idiots, as I think booing is fine. I agree with Sideswipe's sentiment to not boo indigenous players, as it will cause offence due to referencing past racism. But the whole thing is bigger, with knobs in the media trying to define a line about when you can and can't boo.
Aren't i talking about the people booing an indigenous player?

That's the whole point of what I'm saying. I'm exactly on page with Sideswipe.

Im confused. Did we invent booing or something yesterday? What a *n typical media load of s**t

It's Collingwood we invented everything negative and get no credit for anything positive.

Woke sanctimonious sanitisation will drive the passion from the game and apathy will set in with the crowd resulting in a slow death of the game.

It's Collingwood we invented everything negative and get no credit for anything positive.

Woke sanctimonious sanitisation will drive the passion from the game and apathy will set in with the crowd resulting in a slow death of the game.
We're getting record crowds this year mate and playing the most exciting footy in the league.

The media mostly love us. Opposition fans even admire us.

We are the biggest ticket in town.

Stop the negative hyperbole

Some female ABC Radio commentator was asking whether the league should act - as in, at the time, by like, calling off the game. Stopping play and saying 'Hey! You've booed too loudly, too long and at the wrong type! Game's over. You can all go home! Bye!' Hopefully Aussies wouldn't be so accepting of this draconian solution that they'd turn meekly on their heels and exit the MCG.

I'm siding with the idiots, as I think booing is fine. I agree with Sideswipe's sentiment to not boo indigenous players, as it will cause offence due to referencing past racism. But the whole thing is bigger, with knobs in the media trying to define a line about when you can and can't boo. The booing of Toby Greene will be this weeks story. And I thought the clubs statement was odd - as they didn't make it about Buddy being indigenous - they made it about him being a champion, so we're getting this strange message that booing is really bad and offensive, but it's ok to be bad and offensive if the bloke isn't a champion - only the champions deserve respect.

Booing wasn't racist to begin with nor is it now agai st Buddy.
Racist people don't boo they directly attack the player personally.

Booing is used to put off the opposition players especially ones the crowd feels will impact the game against your side.
Or to show displeasure in an action that player has done.
Franklin has a long history with both destroying our club on field and using his physicality to both legally and illegally smash our smalls. Hawks unsociable team.

It is not a skin colour attributed thing. Buckley Hird Voss Ablett jnr Hodge Judd Jobe Watson (who received the worst weekly Booing in history even had goodes boogate look minor).

Some players are disliked not for skin pigment but actions on field, the fans slowly build a dislike of them even if they are champions.
Others a squeaky clean that are very inoffensive by their play and speech, like Pendles! but hell even he was booed and that was not even during the game.

Not booing someone because they are of a certain race is a racist action in itself.