• Parkdale Vultures

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Mazenod

Votes: 0 0.0%

Well, it's goodbye from Rupo. It is sad, but at the end of it all it had to happen sooner than later. As good as Hampton were today we were shockingly horrible. Disappointing, but i still think relegation and promotion is one of the great things about the amateurs. Personally i loved the fact we have been a part of "c" grade for two seasons and hope we can bounce back in 2009. We have alot of work to do , a huge congrats to BT on winning there final today. Now they are a great suburban club with some exceptional people, none better than ugly with his 5 goal haul today.

Great stuff by Mazenod, just as good as a win from them to see Ajax drop down to 3rd.

Horrible first 2 & a 1/2 quarters at Melbourne High. It took until half way through the 3rd for us to shrug off MHSOB, full credit to them they gave it everything.

Well 2nd spot has come to us, now the big test will be the 2nd Semi against the Rovers who gave Rupo a C grade send off in style.

2 hard 2 make sense of dis grade. oakleigh n hampton looked gone then both have big wins. r they only good at skiin downhill? can't win da tuff games. ajax were the form team and lost 2 weeks ago and nearly again on saturday. maybe now ormond r da 1s to watch? who knows? melb high been good til saturday then got pumped. rupo definitely pathetic 2 lose by 150. n friars pretty ordinary goin out without much fight. parky win was a suprise. they b gettin flogged b4 this week. winnner of hampton n ormond 2 play ajax in granny.

predictions?

Ill go with HR over ajax in the GF .

If oakleigh can get up against ajax after a couple of weeks ago.. ill be impressed -however it will be much closer this time i suspect.

And a close one this week b/w ormond and HR.

Having said that its really is anyones game... time will tell

2 hard 2 make sense of dis grade. oakleigh n hampton looked gone then both have big wins. r they only good at skiin downhill? can't win da tuff games. ajax were the form team and lost 2 weeks ago and nearly again on saturday. maybe now ormond r da 1s to watch? who knows? melb high been good til saturday then got pumped. rupo definitely pathetic 2 lose by 150. n friars pretty ordinary goin out without much fight. parky win was a suprise. they b gettin flogged b4 this week. winnner of hampton n ormond 2 play ajax in granny.

Ajax has won 7 of it's last 8 games and only went down to MHSOB on the last kick of the day.. Along the way they have defeated fellow finalists Hampton, Oakleigh and Ormond.... good form I would think going into a Final's series???

can't agree maz , You beat Mazenod by 2 after they lost to Whitefriars, "c" grade is impossible to pick. I have'nt put much sense to half of the results this year, what i will say there is nothing between all sides in the finals and it will come down to momentum, effort and belief on the day. Unlike Geelong who would be at 1.07 for the flag i think all sides would be equal favorites, it is like deciding between Phelps, Bolt and Suzy Wilkes, and i would take Wilkes personally and physically.

I reckon we could be in for one of the most exciting & unpredictable finals series in years. Any one of the 4 sides could win the flag. Disregard home & away form, because this is the 'real stuff'-finals footy. This is what every team plans for as far back as October/November 2007, to play in finals & win the premiership. If I was a punter, I'll find it difficult to decide which team to pick for the premiership, seeing that C Section had more upsets & also finding it difficult to follow each team's form leading into the finals, so unpredictable were the results.

KB, Mazenod lost to Friars and bounced back with a win over Hampton before running Ajax to within 2 points. Friars game was probably a reality check for them and they needed 2 big wins to pinch a spot in the 4. Hard to argue with him given they won games against Oakleigh & Ormond away. Pretty impressive run into the finals especially answering the Mazenod challenge.
Good effort by our boys to finish a game clear on top after being humiliated in a D1 GF last year. Similar could be said about Oakleigh playing finals straight out of D1. Might I add after both were considered to be the weakest of promoted teams in recent years.
I personally believe there's very little in it. On each of their respective days all 4 sides are going to be tough to beat. Let's just hope Hampton's next 2 are 2 of their best.

dont discount the krushers just yet

As far as history goes the krushers are undefeated in the last 4 finals series they have competed in. Lots of 3, some 4 time premiership players in that side......

dont discount the krushers just yet

As far as history goes the krushers are undefeated in the last 4 finals series they have competed in. Lots of 3, some 4 time premiership players in that side......

I can assure you Ajax won't take Oakleigh lightly....
Finals are always tough and teams take the field on an even basis, forgetting wins/losses through the season.
Ajax easily accounted for Oakleigh a few weeks ago, but that was then !!!
Should be a great game .

From Today's Age:

THIS is it, footy's fateful time of year. In the Ammos, the drama is heightened because every division of 10 teams is so tight. Tiny margins often decide the battles to make the finals or avoid relegation.

In A-section on Saturday, Old Brighton hosted Old Xaverians in a final-round match in which the winner would make the four and the loser would miss out. If Old Brighton won and results fell its way, the Tonners would move up to second.

The crowd at Brighton's Beach Road Oval was the largest in many years, well over 1000. The match was a beauty, featuring tight, intense footy. Old Brighton led all day but could never quite shake the visitors.

Like the old Port Adelaide teams in the SANFL, Xavs exert a mystical power that makes their rivals lose possession or miss goals in big matches. On Saturday, Brighton missed a couple of shots in the last quarter, while Xavs took their chances to edge away and win by nine points.

On the siren, the Xavs players celebrated as if they'd won another flag. Captain Tim Fleming, the former Richmond midfielder who had sat out the game with a hamstring injury, celebrated in that time-honoured Australian way of grabbing the coach, in this case Simon Lethlean, and putting him in a headlock.

The players sang the song: "We are the boys from the Old Xavs …", to the tune of the old Fitzroy song with such gusto that they nearly blew the roof off the tiny Brighton rooms. Lethlean played in five A-section premierships with Xavs, but nothing compared with the emotion of this win. Xavs president Simon Hunt took 10 phone calls that night that said the same thing.

Before the final round in C-section on Saturday, Ajax (second) led Ormond (third) on the ladder by 0.7 of a percentage point. The Jackas would have to defeat Mazenod at Elsternwick Park by more than a goal to ensure that they remained ahead of Ormond and secured the double chance, while Ormond took on Melbourne High School Old Boys in South Yarra. At three-quarter-time in the battle across the suburbs, Ajax led by 13 points, while Ormond led by 12.

But in the last quarter, Ajax struggled to keep out a fanatical opponent, which was striving for a place in the four, and did well to hold on and win by two points. Ormond went berserk in the last quarter to win by 50.

Ajax had won its game but had dropped to third and into a cut-throat final. The Ajax players got the word only seconds after the siren.

Captain Jason Ritterman called them in and urged them not to moan. They had done all they could by winning. A new season was about to begin.

Must be short on newths items. Could've written an article on me. That'll increase their thsales.

Capt Ritterman asking his players not the moan. Hahaha! thSpare me! It's like telling me not to enjoy a thsauthsage thsizzle on thSunday arvo with a wide range of thsauces. Worthcestershire, thsweet & thsour, thseafood, thsatay.... the list goeths on.

Must be short on newths items. Could've written an article on me. That'll increase their thsales.

Capt Ritterman asking his players not the moan. Hahaha! thSpare me! It's like telling me not to enjoy a thsauthsage thsizzle on thSunday arvo with a wide range of thsauces. Worthcestershire, thsweet & thsour, thseafood, thsatay.... the list goeths on.

you're a ****wit

I dont even get the 'TH' before words anyhow.

Firstly I like to say WOW to the season Poll... Ruperts at 49% bow bow.

Secondly,

Jascave... great job again this year, you're a man of great passion and you're a greaty footy person all around.

I saw you again at Gerry Green on sunday... still working... but couldn't get over to say hi. Next time fella.

Keep it up and best of luck for the Rovers.

With the VAFA Vote Count almost upon us, now it's time to pick who you think will win the L.S.Zachariah Medal for season 2008.

My tips:

1.S.Keleher (Ormond)
2. H.Taylor (MHSOB)
3. M.Chamberlain (Mazenod)
Outsider: M.Martinov (Ormond)

With the VAFA Vote Count almost upon us, now it's time to pick who you think will win the L.S.Zachariah Medal for season 2008.

My tips:

1.S.Keleher (Ormond)
2. H.Taylor (MHSOB)

Don't write off Dukes Ajax....he only played about 14 games and it took him a week or two to warm up after his pre season injury ... He has put in some stunning performances..Ritterman always catches the umpire's eyes and he could poll well.

Taylor MHSOB was outstanding, but may not have played enough games ??...He is tops!!!

My tips:

1.S.Keleher (Ormond)
2. H.Taylor (MHSOB)
Digs all the way!

predictions?
hampton vs ormond
The game will be decided by the running players... look for the little Ting number 21# to have a big day on the far wing. great running player with strong hands. closse all day with rovers to strong. by 4 goals. good luck to both teams... go the jacka

I've seen "Digs" 3 times this year and he is the most over-rated player in the competition. Is more than likely a great bloke and perhaps he used to go better than he does now but on what i've seen he's not that much. Doesn't get his own ball, plays in the back half yet never mans up, and just gets the ball and kicks it long. Saying that, it would not surprise me one bit if the umpires continue to give him votes and reputation and the name gets him another B&F.

Bring on your bullshit comebacks Gunn Footballer and whoever else....