Roast C4[2]Yo`DooR's - Wall of Shame vs. Essendon

One thing that I am concerned about (and always have) is Fev's attitude. I know he is there to kick goals BUT surely he should turn around and have a look. A couple times other Carlton players were shouting and pointing for him to turn around and have a look, but he just walks to his mark in some type of selfish trance, ignoring all.

But the cream on cake for me, was when he took a mark, with Judd streaming past, shouting for the quick hands. Fev totally ignored him. To me this is at Stephen Milne level.

Thank god Judd is leading from the front as Captain and not Stevo or Fev!!!!

PS Well done to both Jacobs and Kruezer who battled all night.

As much as i am shatered today...I think we were getting ahead of ourselves and needed that kick in the ar*se to say "Wake up, we still have a long way to go till we beat the top teams in the AFL"

Fevs kicking basically was the difference...

Our backline really missed Jamo and Scotland last night, cant believe we dropped Scotto...

Positive: We had an absolute shocker, Fev Kicked 5.7, Gibbs, Murph and Hadley had no influence, Umpires were terrible, we didnt play to our gameplan and we still should have won...Thats the difference this year i think and something which will get me over this feeling of loss...

Go Blues

As much as i am shatered today...I think we were getting ahead of ourselves and needed that kick in the ar*se to say "Wake up, we still have a long way to go till we beat the top teams in the AFL"

Fevs kicking basically was the difference...

Our backline really missed Jamo and Scotland last night, cant believe we dropped Scotto...

Positive: We had an absolute shocker, Fev Kicked 5.7, Gibbs, Murph and Hadley had no influence, Umpires were terrible, we didnt play to our gameplan and we still should have won...Thats the difference this year i think and something which will get me over this feeling of loss...

Go Blues

Fevs kicking was not the difference. We won the last 2 without Fev being the dominant forward and thats the way it ought to be. Besides he got his 4 goals. We would be stoked if he got 4 a week. 88 is a great result, tell me a team that wouldnt be happy with an 88 goal forward.

The difference was our mids and forwards did not hurt them or pressure them.

Footy is played in the head. Most teams are at a similar fitness level, have similar skill sets although there is clearly a difference between quality lists and average lists but attitude will trump fitness and skill every time. EVERY TIME.

And we did not have anywhere near the desire required to be considered a top side. I dont subscribe to this wake up call rubbish. We did all the talking (coaches, players, fans) in the lead up and served up that rubbish after qtr time. The players went to the first break with the job done. Most of them had mentally clocked off and were on the way home. The wake up call if you want to subscribe to that theory was the second quarter. We went into the shed down at half time. If ever there was a break to snap out of your slumber there it was, and after half time we got more of the same, pressure and a few goals to keep in it then relax, someone else will step up, we have this under control. Well we didnt, and it is clear to see we need mental toughness. That is the big missing ingredient now.

There was no one player, it was a collective mindset. We need to get that ruthlessness back into our game. If we had of repeated the first and gone in at half time 40 points up as we should have, and then piled it on in the third we would be up there with the Cats, Hawks, Bulldogs and Saints but we still have a ways to go before we can claim that. And next week we face a stern test.

Bitterly disappointed today, the reality check was not with the players it was with the fans, like me that had us travelling better than we really are. We did not lose the game by 4 points in my mind, we lost it by 64 points, the difference between the result we should have had and the result we got.

Too many damn bloody front runners/downhill skiers ... esp Kade Simpson ... That was the worst game he's played for the club I feel ... Pathetic start to the season.

And yes Ratten is the bitch of the Albino ... I think it's embarrassing really he has an 0-3 record against Knights ...

Yeah, word up to Scott McLaren. He gets by unnoticed living in the shadows of Razor Ray, but he's probably the softest umpire going around. His career should've been finished when Hird singled him out on the Footy Show. God knows how he's survived this long... :thumbsdown:

I can handle losing games of football. 1 team wins, 1 team loses. That's what happens. But I am so sick of these maggots flat out dictating the course of play. It's killing footy! :mad:

C4 some great posts of late and agree with many of the points but the list could be a lot longer and yet I am unsure if we judge on 1 game or many. Simo has been great in rnd 1 & 2.

Not sure which game you were watching round one. I was in the third tier of the Ponsford, and Simmo was a greater chance of hitting me on the chest than any of his teamates. He was terrible, and only got back into the game when Richmond had practically given up.

Anyway let's talk footy.....

Number 1 person to roast: Brett Ratten (Congratulations, come and claim your prize..)
Instead of putting numbers around the ball, pressuring the sloppy skills of the Dons, we played this behind the ball zone shit, basically rolling the red carpet out across the corridor. How many times did the Dons drop a mark, miss a target, slip over, fumble, etc.. and no one was within 20 meters of the contest. And I'm not talking about the back pocket... this is the midfield! With the players we had, I reckon I could've easily coached them to a win. Ratten, never flood again. Play man on man. If you have to flood, flood the midfield for God sakes. Especially against young, raw opposition that you can easily out-muscle.

Next is Garlett. I've been calling for his head since I saw that ridiculous mo' against the Kanga's in the NAB Cup. Simply, for an aboriginal, he has horrendous skills, body work, and decision making. Yarran carves up the 2s, looking a million bucks and this down hill skier has somehow managed 3 games. - GET HIM OUT NOW!

Grigg..... Obviously you've been chomping at the bits to return to the seniors, right? Wrong. Unsighted tonight. Scotland would've been handy... So would've Carrazzo actually.

Chris Johnson..... you are simply our Jordan McMahon. You can kick a footy, but the opposition exposes your defensive game week after week. Compared to a similar player in Houlihan, you are junk!

The Fab Four/ Five / Whoever else has an inflated ego... (not Judd): You boys obviously red the papers last week, so make sure you read them again this week... enjoy your medicine. Here's a hint for the future - Judd doesn't read newspapers :cool:

(this post actually felt really good!)

Anyway let's talk footy.....

Number 1 person to roast: Brett Ratten (Congratulations, come and claim your prize..)
Instead of putting numbers around the ball, pressuring the sloppy skills of the Dons, we played this behind the ball zone shit, basically rolling the red carpet out across the corridor. How many times did the Dons drop a mark, miss a target, slip over, fumble, etc.. and no one was within 20 meters of the contest. And I'm not talking about the back pocket... this is the midfield! With the players we had, I reckon I could've easily coached them to a win. Ratten, never flood again. Play man on man. If you have to flood, flood the midfield for God sakes. Especially against young, raw opposition that you can easily out-muscle.

Next is Garlett. I've been calling for his head since I saw that ridiculous mo' against the Kanga's in the NAB Cup. Simply, for an aboriginal, he has horrendous skills, body work, and decision making. Yarran carves up the 2s, looking a million bucks and this down hill skier has somehow managed 3 games. - GET HIM OUT NOW!

Grigg..... Obviously you've been chomping at the bits to return to the seniors, right? Wrong. Unsighted tonight. Scotland would've been handy... So would've Carrazzo actually.

Chris Johnson..... you are simply our Jordan McMahon. You can kick a footy, but the opposition exposes your defensive game week after week. Compared to a similar player in Houlihan, you are junk!

The Fab Four/ Five / Whoever else has an inflated ego... (not Judd): You boys obviously red the papers last week, so make sure you read them again this week... enjoy your medicine. Here's a hint for the future - Judd doesn't read newspapers :cool:

(this post actually felt really good!)

I think the youngsters need to go back and play in the VFL to get more experience. Anyone apart from me notice that Mitch Robinson seemed to look lost, especially when he had to look at who he had to man up on

The rookies in the team looked noticeable tired last night (Robinson, Garlett, Jacobs). Throw in Grigg (who was noticeably underdone), and Stevens who compensated for his lack of match fitness by not doing any defensive work all game, and we were slow and weak on the defensive side of the ball.

The young guys supplied us with great enthusiasm and passion in the first 2 games. But that enthusiasm fades the longer the season goes on, and all of a sudden Garlett is simply the 110th player picked in last years draft...

Horrible coaching by Ratten last night. Didn't select a replacement for Jamison and totally ruined our backline structure. Ran Grigg in the midfield for a lot of the day; Hadlee had been brilliant the last few weeks. Allowed Gibbs to rot in the back pocket rather than moving him into the midfield. Still hasn't eliminated the selfishness from Betts and Fevola - both passed up opportunities to find an open team-mate in scoring range in the last quarter to blaze away for glorious behinds.

Oh well - its a long season, and we're off to a decent start. But next week will be a real test.

I guess we never learn, but our egos got in the way last night. Believed their own PR and tried to have a shootout (again) when it's been proven we can't match them in a shootout.

Not sure what was Ratts' thinking of leaving Gibbs in the backline last night - perhaps he was still feeling the affects of having the flu during the week. Who knows!

Just a thought, if he was so concerned about Monfries, then why not bring Armfield in for that specific role, and leave Gibbs in the midfield. After 34 touches against Brisbane, I would have thought he'd be right back there at the opening bounce.

I've decided the player we give to the gold coast is Nick Stevens. I feel sick seeing him in the navy blue. He has no heart at all....

And Mr. JR but don't worry the Stevens and JR lovers will run you down.

In all seriousness we were in front in every stat on the ground, we smashed em in the clearances, possessions, contested possessions, Marks, inside 50s and we lost by four points. Poor kicking cost us the game i dont think it was a lack of endeavor, sure a few players had stinkers, Fev, Simmo, Gibbs was down but the stats don't lie, we laid less tackles this week because we controlled the ball for the majority of the game!! Couldn't finish em when it counted and they played out of their skins, that is the best win they will have all year, they are ordinary, and thats why it hurts!! Should've won, stats say we should've won but we didnt, we mentally were not there even though the key indicators say we were!

This is one of those losses that leaves you disappointed but not disillusioned.

We kicked horribly and they played their hearts out, and still it is less than a goal difference.

Any star will have a bad night. Chance just doesn't favour them or whatever. Nothing to get too upset over - just move on to the next game and let the coach sort out any remaining issues.

This is one of those losses that leaves you disappointed but not disillusioned.

We kicked horribly and they played their hearts out, and still it is less than a goal difference.

Any star will have a bad night. Chance just doesn't favour them or whatever. Nothing to get too upset over - just move on to the next game and let the coach sort out any remaining issues.
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Exactly what I was thinking after I read the article, felt good, then asked myself why Hird would put that article in the paper the morning we play Essendon, and hoped it wouldn't work...

Their old stars getting better and tougher with age like Richo, leading from the front...in the uncompromising environment which does not allow for bottoming out this talented tough group still may have another flag in them...

I'll get straight to the point and list the aspects of tonight that dissapointed me:

• Jordan Russell - Everybody's favourite whipping boy, did SFA tonight and made even the most basic of skill errors when under virtually no pressure whatsoever. Andrew Lovett not onlypulled his pants down, but had his way with him for the entire night.
  • Kade Simpson - Fair dinkum mate, learn how to kick the bloody thing. I'm sick of watching week after week of you strolling into the forward 50 only to miss and register a behind. Yes, you're outside ... Yes, you can find space ... No, you can't kick for goal on the run.
  • Brendan Fevola - 4.7 is a rubbish return for a full forward who had his way all night with an undersized, rubbish full back. You do everything else right, chase, mark, harrass etc - but you missed some vitals goals tonight.
  • Scott McLaren - You are a pathetic little man who probably has never rooted a girl under 160 kgs. Your bias against all things Carlton makes me sick - and I wouldn't piss on you if you were on fire - or slow down if I saw you cross the street.
Honourable mentions: Simon Wiggins' goal kicking, Nick Stevens attitude and desperation, Paul Bower's decision making, Brett Ratten's selection policy.

"Wall of Shame" for a 4 point loss. Congratulations on the over-reaction.

We lost, sh1t happens. No-one goes through undefeated. We lost to them twice last year too but beat Collingwood twice and the Bulldogs, that's football. All teams lose to sides they shouldn't. It's more about how they learn and bounce back. We don't need a "Wall of Shame" rubbish.

"Wall of Shame" for a 4 point loss. Congratulations on the over-reaction.

We lost, sh1t happens. No-one goes through undefeated. We lost to them twice last year too but beat Collingwood twice and the Bulldogs, that's football. All teams lose to sides they shouldn't. It's more about how they learn and bounce back. We don't need a "Wall of Shame" rubbish.

Bingo we have a winner !

Roast C4[2]Yo`DooR's - Wall of Shame vs. Essendon